Dublin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 220 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"ruined our outward journey"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Security staff manner. I have to say I never met people like I did in their position before. As my wife and I came to place our items in the plastic bins for scanning, the guy organising things said to me the plastic bags with toiletries etc got to be sealed, now I had tried sealing them but couldn't and they were the airport bags. Then he started, if they're not closed they ain't going, my wife and I tried to seal them, he said to my wife, you're not even trying, as she has rheumatoid arthritis she was unable and I am ok and I couldn't seal them.Then he said to me loudly, look back, do you not feel embarrassed holding up all those people behind you. After all the hassle he said, go on, we went through totally humiliated. Just to say we are not old, ie 50, are Irish and live in Ireland. Very disappointed and people like this certainly wouldn't make anyone feel welcome coming or going. Basically ruined our outward journey, upset.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I hate it a bit more each time"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My comments refer to Terminal 1. Horrible airport. Arriving, after a long walk you reach a long queue for passport control. It's a pity that they don't have some way of knowing when they're likely to be busy as it's common to have a massive queue for passport control with half the booths shut. If only there was something like a flight schedule they could look at for planning. Departure is just as bad. Frequently really long queues for security, while half the lines are shut. Everyone is crammed in to make as much room as possible for shops. Sitting down and having a coffee near the gates is a nightmare with constant shouting of gate announcements. By the time you get to your gate you're only too aware about the rules, as you hear them being blasted out at you for every departure for every gate. I fly through Dublin airport on average twice a month and I hate it a bit more each time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"decent, friendly, clean"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I fly regularly back to Ireland, mostly via Dublin airport and almost always with Aer Lingus, so usually arriving and departing from T2. I really like the terminal. It's quite fast to check-in, though security screening is hit and miss, sometimes really fast, sometimes taking more than 15 minutes. Everything is expensive to eat / drink but there is a decent selection to choose from. Overall, it's easy enough to get around and find somewhere to sit near the gate. Toilets and general areas seem to be well kept, staff are quite friendly, but often with a good dose of Dub banter thrown in. Compared with Gatwick, Heathrow, Newark, JFK, Tegel, CDG and a few others, I'm happy enough with Dublin T2. It's not a patch on Zurich, Schipol, Barajas T3 or Hong Kong though. If anything, I'd like to see more places for charging my laptop / electronics (the free wifi is pretty good, btw). But overall, as an airport, it's decent, friendly, clean, and easy enough to get around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"treated terribly at the safety check"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Me and my friend were treated terribly at the safety check. Was made fun of in front of all the other people there because we did not know that we were supposed to push our luggage all the way to the machine. We are used to it rolling by itself. Anyway, they could have told us. Instead they made us go back and talk to this horribly rude man who I am sure has never smiled in his life. He also treated our luggage as badly as he treated us. My friend and I work in customer service ourselves, and would never treat people like that. Disrespectful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"unhelpful and rude staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible airport. Coming from an EU county with a connecting flight, we were directed outside the terminal and had to go through security again. All terminal seating is uncomfortable after 20 min. Long lines, unhelpful and rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really ruins the trip"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst!! Non Europe passports in one huge line. Over an hour wait to enter the country arriving from London. Staff rude and unhelpful. Was so looking forward to visiting Ireland, but this really ruins the trip.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"A pleasant experience indeed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Great airport! Lots of seating for waiting - comfy seating at that and a good choice of food/shops, friendly staff - quick movement through customs and unlimited free WiFi! A pleasant experience indeed!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"appalling attitude of the security staff"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified | Being Irish and now having lived abroad for many years, one always looks forward to returning home around three times a year. I have seen Dublin Airport grow and see the volume of people going through the airport over the years but it is plainly clear that the management are unable to grow their mindset to increase facilities. Whilst all terminals are over crowded to the point of being stressful, actually grubby and lack any sense of calm it is the staff that need to be brought into training for customer care. I have noticed any one of them from check in, operations and lets not forget the appalling attitude of the security staff. These security staff are rude, arrogant, appear to work at their own pace. Why is it that it that are unable to identify liquids from solids with personal Hygiene products and you can only fit about two bottles under a 100 ml in one bag, stupidity. I travel about three times a month globally and it only appears to be Dublin that I ever get pulled over for a test along with every other third person,thus creating long queues, re testing your bag leaving you stand there for another 15 minutes as they forget your bag. It is getting worse and is now bordering on a feeling of dread going through it. Shameful and as an Irish person reading these posts, shameful to the Irish peoples true nature of friendliness and kindness. The CEO is clearly out of his depth.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff very unhelpful and rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have been to many airports and generally try to find the postives in everything. However, I was unable to do that with my expierence at the airport in Dublin. The staff were very unhelpful and rude. When I approached a staff memeber simply asking her help, she responded by saying “Depends on what you want”. Because she was rude and unhelpful, I tried to take my question to the ticket desk and the man there told me that my problem has nothing at all to do with him. He did not offer any help but went on with his work. While checking in, I found the attendent helping me also rude and unhelpful. She even scolded, unsmiling and without comment, simply pointed to the direction she was suggesting I should go. I was deeply saddened by the encounter with the employees at the Dublin airport. It was my very first time in Dublin and I found that everyone was kind, friendly and helpful with the exception of the staff in the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we were stuck on the runway"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Flight arrived 30 minutes early but we were stuck on the runway for close to an hour to taxi to gate. Ground handling failed to deliver the entire flight’s baggage - unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no