Dublin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 312 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"you will not be helped by staff"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Upon going through security at Dublin Airport, I was called to one side and asked if I had a Kindle in my bag. I said yes and the lady (who did not ask me to remove the kindle myself nor did I see her taking my kindle out of my bag) said "ok it has to go through the scanner again". I retrieved my bag and only when I was sitting on the aircraft did I realise my kindle was not in my bag. Annoying as this experience was, I sought out to get my kindle back. I went onto the Dublin airport website and followed the steps. I filled out the form and was emailed a couple of days later stating my kindle had been found. However, I was given zero information on how to get my kindle back. I called the number on multiple occasions, it was never answered and just an automated message saying I should go to the website. I had already done that!! I emailed a couple of times and got no response. I persevered and finally got a response with "you have to organise it yourself". After many attempts and blunt and confusing responses, I was given a number. With no explanation of what the number was and no instructions on how I could get my item returned to me. I called the number and its a courier service and was quoted €45 and €10 handling fee from the airport. Insane price that I cannot afford! So I am left with no kindle now. The lack of information provided was appalling!! I am disgusted with how this all played out. And the price to have my own item returned to me is downright disgraceful! A word of warning to everyone who visits Dublin airport, if you lose your items, you will not be helped by staff to get them back/it will cost you a fortune!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"Dublin Airport is understaffed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The lines at Disney World have nothing on Dublin Airport. When I arrived from the US, there was a 40 minute line for non-EU citizens to get their passport stamped. I waited so long that by the time I was through, my bag was already waiting for me at baggage claim. But that was nothing compared to the chaos that awaited me when I departed Dublin. There was a line just to get into the building, and a longer line to check-in. There were automated bag drops, which got me out of the check-in line, but they were poorly advertised and most people had to wait in the lengthy line. The first security checkpoint wasn't bad, and the waiting area at T2 was actually nice. But for those traveling to the US, there was a surprise second security checkpoint, with 10-15 loops before going downstairs and looping around 3-4 more times for good measure. Once through the surprise second security checkpoint there's a US Customs checkpoint so that you don't have to clear Customs when you land, and that was very fast by comparison - I have Global Entry and was through in under a minute. But overall, I was left with the impression that Dublin Airport is understaffed and too small for the number of passengers traveling through it, especially for passengers going to the US.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Worst airport experience ever. Gate changed more than 3 times without notification. Flight was then delayed by more than an hour without any explanation. We had to sit in the plane for 45min on the tarmac, just waiting, again without any explanation. I loved the city but I probably won’t be flying here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"is not near as bad as it may seem"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I have seen many devastating reports on this airport, so I want to stay ojective - the airport is not near as bad as it may seem. Arr and Dep at Terminal 2. This building is kept clean. But it is way too small to handle today's traffic volume. The pier we had to use is very long, and has rolling floors which can be out of order. You need to be a good hiker. The gate areas lack adequate seating capacity, so you see people sitting on the floor. No jetties provided, all jet planes docking here need airstairs. Meaning you go down them, walk to the building, and take escalators up again. The services took ten minutes to bring a single airstair to our plane. Border control was swift. Baggage delivery took ONE hour from blocks-on until we got our suitcases. Departing; A Sat. morning after the holidays. We could check-in online but not print baggage tags. The line at bag-drop was not long, and the staff was friendly. Time: 20 mins. Security check took 7 mins, with friendly staff unlike some reviewers have said. There was a great but too small coffee shop with fabulous coffee and sweets in the central waiting area, with long queues at times, as well as shops, all nice and tidy but too small. Boarding was sluggish. It looked like the ground handling service was (as usual) "short of staff". The plane was not ready until 10 min. before pushback schedule. Many passengers had to check apparently "oversize" hand luggage, which had been ok with the airline (Swiss) coming here from ZRH. This slowed the boarding process further. Because of a lost slot on British traffic control we had to wait until 25 mins. after the scheduled time to get pushback clearance. Taxiing took a full 20 minutes, which is totally inefficient with idling engines. Too much traffic for the single runway. The new one did not seem to be in use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"minimum facilities for the passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It’s a very busy airport with minimum facilities for the passengers. Seating arrangements are such that there’s 1:4 people competing for every seat. Unfriendly and rude ground staff. Surprisingly the international ground staff was rather far more cooperative and considerate than natives (without prejudice-it’s only my personal opinion). The height of hospitality is that if you require special assistance, there’s only 50% chance that you would get it adequately! Only few charging docs available to recharge mobile phone. Long ques at toilets and no water dispensers anywhere even in the hottest days!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience"

(Norway)

Not Verified | One of the worst airport experience ever, and I've seen many. Very noisy and crowded. Endless queuing. Poor selection of quality food. Ground personnel uninspired. Avoid this one if you can!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the rudest airport personnel ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | After a lovely trip to Ireland we encountered some of the rudest airport personnel ever. It was quite apparent from the staff’s demeanor that they disliked their jobs and viewed the passengers with contempt. Some examples of the rudeness include one of the attendants for checking luggage yelled to me that he was not open when there were no signs that would indicate otherwise, cashiers at the Market talking about customers, attendants yelling at passengers when they were confused about where to go etc. It was surprising considering everyone we have met during our trip in Ireland has been helpful and friendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appalling nonchalance regarding the security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I noticed a bag abandoned at the airport and I reported it to a Ryanair staff member, who said he had reported it to airport police. However no one came to investigate this bag, we were at that gate a further hour. In this day and age this is an appalling nonchalance regarding the security of all passengers at that area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"I would recommend"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | The security lines were quite fast in terminal 1 and the staff were kind. The check in was easy and the cleanliness of the bathrooms was amazing. I would recommend
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"shocked by the state of it"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We arrived in Dublin airport terminal 1 and was shocked by the state of it. It is primitive in comparison to terminal 2. Passport control is small and extremely cramped. The ceiling has tiles missing exposing cable and plumbing. Corridors are narrow and cramped. Toilets in the arrivals area, baggage collection and meeting area are filthy, stink of urine and by the looks are not regularly cleaned. This is in stark contrast to airports like Singapore, Doha, Dubai that have the toilets cleaned like e revolving door. Come on, get you act together Dublin. This is not a good look for visitors to Ireland. The departures area is a bit better though, more modern and visually appealing. Still, the toilets could be done with better upkeep. Having used both T1 and T2 in Dublin, T1 is like stepping back in time. The whole arrivals area is in stark need of a refurb, this includes the walk to passport control and onward to arrivals. Not a good look!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no