Dhaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 56 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"this practice needs to be stopped"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I arrived at this airport in the mid-morning. Immigration was relatively easy and there was no form filling. I already had a visa obtained in London and so I sailed through immigration. My bag arrived on time and I walked through the Customs green gate. I was to be met on arrival but the young guy who greeted me turned out to be a "helper", meaning that he expected a tip to take me outside the airport and call the driver. He was wearing a blue uniform. In the time waiting for the driver, I managed to get money out of an ATM with my helper's help. The cost to me was $4 as a tip which I do not resent but this practice needs to be stopped.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"I did not have any trouble"

(United States)

Not Verified | The negative reviews of this airport have been highly exaggerated. Bangladesh is a third world country, so no, it's not quite up to the standards one would expect from a big international airport - but it's really completely fine. I did not have any trouble getting through immigration or customs and didn't have to pay any bribes nor was I ever approached by someone who attempted to bribe me. The Bangladeshi people are the best part of Bangladesh and that's true of the airport as well - at least from the perspective of an English speaker. Many of the staff speak English, and were all polite, friendly, and welcoming. The airport was reasonably clean, and there were a few bugs (though it's not infested by any means). There's plenty of space. It can get a little hot though, as it is poorly air-conditioned - but it's not any worse than any other airport in other poor countries. Once you are out of the "official" airport you do need to be careful because there are some scammers (mostly unaffiliated with the airport) running around who will try to get you to put your bags on their carts and then charge you exorbitant fees to get your bags back. As usual when travelling to a place with a lot of poverty, don't engage with these people and you will be fine.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"do not communicate with each other"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | We landed at 1630, had to wait at the visa at arrival desk for 3 hours, a lot of that time was wasted because the airport staff and immigration officials do not communicate with each other. We had to explain our situation 10 times over to every person that came along. There is no system, nothing is computerised, lots of officials came with similar forms, and we had to handwrite them. We didn't know what was happening and why we were waiting so long, as no one explained anything. Also hardly any immigration officers spoke decent English, that is unacceptable for an international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is clean"

(Bangladesh)

Not Verified | Good. The sky lounge is very satisfying. The airport is clean. If want to buy things from the airport then there are many shops after and before the immigration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"functional and hassle free"

(United States)

Not Verified | Airport looks and feels shabby but is otherwise functional and hassle free. Lots of people around. On arrival, the flight was met by a bus for a short ride to the terminal. Visa on arrival facility was straight forward with minimal paperwork. Evidence of hotel reservation was needed. The counter for visa on arrival is separate from the other immigration counters and is clearly marked. I had no checked luggage and thus cannot comment on the efficiency of the baggage system. Had arranged for a hotel pickup and there was a person with a sign waiting. On departure, I obtained my boarding pass from the airline desk and went through immigration with a card that had to be filled out. Security check was simple. Once through there are a large number of shops selling liquor and local handicrafts as well as a number of eating places. Ample sitting space. I used a bathroom. It was clean. Departure was through a jet bridge. The "free" wi-fi was impossible to access, my iPhone could not connect. I was fearing a negative experience at this airport, instead it turned out to be a normal airport to travel through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there were no announcements"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | During departure we had to stand with children and all our luggages in a long queue outside the main airport building! I was advised to pay bribes to the security guards to skip the queue. "If you follow the rules, you will miss the plane". Some people skipped the queue, apparently by paying bribes to the security guards. People were angry at the security guards as they were allowing certain people skip the queue on different pretexts. Another person skipped the queue by showing a card (which was impossible to read) that he is from special branch of the police! In the gate to the plane, about 400 passengers waited and waited, and there was no announcements or displays about whether the flight was delayed or not. Even after one hour delay there were no announcements. The ground staff did not say anything more than that they are waiting for busses to take the passengers to the plane. The scene was chaotic as many passengers shouted at the ground staffs. The plane was one hour delayed but no explanation was given as to why this happened.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Some very positive improvements"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | Some very positive improvements, clean and spacious, more toilet facilities and clean, many options at the duty free with reasonable prices, actually for the visitors to Bangladesh, Dhaka airport duty free is the best place to buy souvenirs on return. Food quality has improved, so as the Lounges, you can actually get cheese cakes there! Overall good, much much better than before when they didn't even had decent lights inside the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Needs many improvements"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Dhaka is not a big airport but facilities very limited. Immigration process was very quick. But baggage delivery took more than half an hour. Ground stuff are not professional. They don't want to help without extra money. Bathrooms are not clean and with old fittings. Needs many improvements to reach an international standard.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"bureaucracy is arcane"

(Malaysia)

Dhaka Airport is an awful place. Immigration on a power trip. Airport service staff demanding payment for assistance to a group of travellers. Just to direct them to the check in counter. Avoid coming here if you can. Queues are chaotic at entrance, deliberately so you pay extra to clear faster just to make your flight. Bureaucracy is arcane. Don't worry, they treat their own nationals just as bad or worse.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lousy and expensive food"

(Malaysia)

Just some of my observations on Dhaka Airport during arrival and departure. Wi-Fi not working. Immigration was so far good. Lousy and expensive food and limited options. Duty free comes with limited options. Moderate range of choices for liquor and cigarette lovers. Didn’t notice any variety in chocolates. I really do doubt the ventilation process of the smoking lounge. IF you want to smoke then I suggest you don’t need to buy cigarette as the moment you enter to the zone you will be exposed to terribly intensive passive smoking (I’m a social smoker by the way). No airport entertainment seen. Just only one LCD TV was on (CNN was running) but people didn’t seem like to bother about it. Waited for 30 mins to enter just inside of the airport due to 2 out of 3 doors were closed. Only 1 door was operational and after highlighting this to the security team they didn’t give any attention. I think the baggage handling is improvised a little bit. Last time they used to throw the luggage from the cart to the belt. But as there are not too many aircraft landing at a same time, the handling seems so far good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews