Detroit Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"the proper social distancing is not happening"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The problem here is that there are several people who are not wearing masks. There is no security at the 'check in' level and the proper social distancing is not happening either. This is a setup for an outbreak to happen anytime. Its like people don't even believe there is a pandemic going on. What do they believe is happening I wonder and why isn't there someone to enforce the mask rule. My wife is in the 'vulnerable group'as she has just gone through Cancer treatments recently and there is nothing we can do about this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Idiotic food and beverage staffing management"

(United States)

Not Verified | Idiotic food and beverage staffing management. Covid excuses: One poor overworked worker responsible for managing a full bar plus long line of customers for Grobbel's sandwiches. Poor woman at Grobbel's isn’t allowed to take orders so has to wait for the overworked one to get to her customers before she makes their sandwiches. Separately, the Starbucks in Terminal B has a rude closed sign with no info on alternatives. Probably 400 customers a day are confused and misdirected, and their irritation is invisible to you. Clean it up.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport was extremely disappointing"

(United States)

Not Verified | We had a four hour layover here (added by the airline after reservations were made). This airport was extremely disappointing. Very few places open. In the 5-6 hours we spent here (delays!), I never went in a clean bathroom, never saw anybody cleaning anything. I tried to use some hand sanitizer. It was empty! Our gate was changed several times. Nobody told us anything to keep us apprised. They just sent us a text. If your phone was still in airplane mode, that would do no good. Right now, we are still waiting to board. Nobody is even at the counter and we are supposed to depart in 13 minutes. We've already been delayed 5 times.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"it is seamless, clean, and very efficient"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is amazing. I was connecting from a very small airport from a regional flight. I step off the plane in concourse b. I then go through the underground tunnel to connect to Paris CDG. I take the tram and stop at chick-fil-a. The tram is very nice and quiet with lots of room. I stop at the skyclub and it is one of the best I've ever seen. You can walk, take moving walkways, or the tram. The airport is very efficient from connections with seats for everyone. If you want to shop there are stores there too. The McNamara is the only terminal I've been in and that will be the only terminal I will use. If I have the option to connect through here, then I will go for it, because it is seamless, clean, and very efficient.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no apology, no comment, no eye contact"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Purchased 2 products from The Wall Street Journal across from A19, one expired. Took it back to bring it to their attention. However the clerk merely threw away the expired one and found one on the rack not expired and left the remaining expired products to be sold. I asked if he was going to pull expired products, however I received no apology, no comment, no eye contact. As to how expensive products are (Price gouging) for us that travel routinely this is despicable behavior. I will be contacting the FTA to start the investigation process.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very nice airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is a very nice airport. It is clean, modern and there are of plenty of places to eat and shop. If you are lucky you might see the famous water fountain. Even the seats in the gates are comfortable, a rarity for an airport. I will be happy to fly there again, even if for a layover.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a middling airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit is a marginal airport with oddly assorted amenities. Shopping and dining opportunities abound, but travelers aren't typically there for the high-end options. Airports exist to connect travelers to their flights, with an offering of convenient quick-stop amenities for a bite to eat and a beverage of your choice. DTW appears to have been laid out with good intentions, with features like the quick elevated tram and plentiful people movers. Nonetheless, the airport lacks adequate quick-stop amenities that the hurried traveler depends upon. Furthermore, those amenities shut their doors/kiosks well before the final flights have delivered the last weary travelers, leaving them with no option for a snack or drink (other than vending machine). The hiring practices at the airport, particularly the TSA agents and ticket counter personnel, are also marginal. These folks seem to think that being surly is part of their job description. There are exceptions to this blanket statement, of course, and those gems are truly valued. Also, the curbside baggage handlers and Skycaps are typically quite friendly and courteous. (Of course, those gentlemen are often tipped for handling bags.) The security lines are often long, but the floors and facility itself are clean. It looks good. Once through security, it is easy to get to your terminal. Overall, a middling airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"shortage of wheelchair assistants"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | I was flying to Amsterdam and I requested wheelchair assistance. I was told to sit close to the check-in counter and they will come. I waited for half an hour and decided to slowly and with difficulty walk towards the wheelchair assistance counter. When I got there with my daughter, we saw several customers screaming at the lady at the counter. They have been waiting for so long and nobody came to push them. Many were frustrated. Some decided to limp the whole way to the gate as they did not want to miss their flights. When I got to the counter the lady at the counter had my name already and there were so many passengers ahead of me, all waiting in frustration and anxiety. My flight was 6.15 pm and by the time we got a person to push me through, it was 5.30 pm. I barely made it to the plane after the security check. With this delay, I did not have time to stop for restroom or buy some food before the flight. I would say collectively in 2 locations my wait time was 1 hour just for the wheelchair service. And it was 1 hour only because 3 passengers ahead of me decided to limp to their gates and remembering my trip to Texas in July it was the same problem. There was not enough wheelchair assistance to push people who have difficulty walking or unable to walk. Worried that I may miss my flight with my daughter who was flying with me to Texas in July, pushed me as we had our own wheelchair. But this trip, I am on my own and I am depended on assistance. Why is there an acute shortage of wheelchair assistants? Looks like it was not an issue yesterday only. The anxiety caused to these people who are helpless and also I wonder how many people missed their flights and how many planes waited longer than they should for them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Very friendly employees. Arriving with a rental car and a quick bus transfer at the terminal, terminal very clean with clear and easy signage, security check took a few minutes with very friendly employees - they have the time to chat with the travellers a few sentences, after security check there are some fast food restaurants and enough seats to take a rest, a very pleasant experience
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a big thumbs-down"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hey DTW, I know it's hard to believe, but there are airplane flights that take place after 9PM. So arriving at the North Terminal as flights are delayed until 11PM, yet every single restaurant and bar in the North Terminal closes at 9 does not make for happy travelers. That plus the lack of places to charge one's phone equals a big thumbs-down.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews