Detroit Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 69 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a very nice airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is a very nice airport. It is clean, modern and there are of plenty of places to eat and shop. If you are lucky you might see the famous water fountain. Even the seats in the gates are comfortable, a rarity for an airport. I will be happy to fly there again, even if for a layover.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a middling airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit is a marginal airport with oddly assorted amenities. Shopping and dining opportunities abound, but travelers aren't typically there for the high-end options. Airports exist to connect travelers to their flights, with an offering of convenient quick-stop amenities for a bite to eat and a beverage of your choice. DTW appears to have been laid out with good intentions, with features like the quick elevated tram and plentiful people movers. Nonetheless, the airport lacks adequate quick-stop amenities that the hurried traveler depends upon. Furthermore, those amenities shut their doors/kiosks well before the final flights have delivered the last weary travelers, leaving them with no option for a snack or drink (other than vending machine). The hiring practices at the airport, particularly the TSA agents and ticket counter personnel, are also marginal. These folks seem to think that being surly is part of their job description. There are exceptions to this blanket statement, of course, and those gems are truly valued. Also, the curbside baggage handlers and Skycaps are typically quite friendly and courteous. (Of course, those gentlemen are often tipped for handling bags.) The security lines are often long, but the floors and facility itself are clean. It looks good. Once through security, it is easy to get to your terminal. Overall, a middling airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"shortage of wheelchair assistants"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | I was flying to Amsterdam and I requested wheelchair assistance. I was told to sit close to the check-in counter and they will come. I waited for half an hour and decided to slowly and with difficulty walk towards the wheelchair assistance counter. When I got there with my daughter, we saw several customers screaming at the lady at the counter. They have been waiting for so long and nobody came to push them. Many were frustrated. Some decided to limp the whole way to the gate as they did not want to miss their flights. When I got to the counter the lady at the counter had my name already and there were so many passengers ahead of me, all waiting in frustration and anxiety. My flight was 6.15 pm and by the time we got a person to push me through, it was 5.30 pm. I barely made it to the plane after the security check. With this delay, I did not have time to stop for restroom or buy some food before the flight. I would say collectively in 2 locations my wait time was 1 hour just for the wheelchair service. And it was 1 hour only because 3 passengers ahead of me decided to limp to their gates and remembering my trip to Texas in July it was the same problem. There was not enough wheelchair assistance to push people who have difficulty walking or unable to walk. Worried that I may miss my flight with my daughter who was flying with me to Texas in July, pushed me as we had our own wheelchair. But this trip, I am on my own and I am depended on assistance. Why is there an acute shortage of wheelchair assistants? Looks like it was not an issue yesterday only. The anxiety caused to these people who are helpless and also I wonder how many people missed their flights and how many planes waited longer than they should for them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Very friendly employees. Arriving with a rental car and a quick bus transfer at the terminal, terminal very clean with clear and easy signage, security check took a few minutes with very friendly employees - they have the time to chat with the travellers a few sentences, after security check there are some fast food restaurants and enough seats to take a rest, a very pleasant experience
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a big thumbs-down"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hey DTW, I know it's hard to believe, but there are airplane flights that take place after 9PM. So arriving at the North Terminal as flights are delayed until 11PM, yet every single restaurant and bar in the North Terminal closes at 9 does not make for happy travelers. That plus the lack of places to charge one's phone equals a big thumbs-down.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"not hard to be parent/child friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | My 2.5 year old son and I flew from Detroit to Greenville 12/25/2018 with Delta airline. I knew going in that DTW would be even busier with it being Christmas. When I got inside, the check-in kiosk for Delta did not recognize any of my information. This occurred in Greenville when I flew to Detroit on 12/21/18. I stood in a very long line for 30 minutes before reaching the check-in agent. The check-in agent could not help me at all and said I needed to go stand in "a special line." So, I go and I stand in another line, this time for maybe 15 minutes. Remember, I have a toddler, a car seat, and a carry on bag I am trying to handle by myself. This special check-in employee was able to check me in. Apparently because I had a minor flying with me, that is why the kiosk would not allow me to check-in. Then I was told that while they could check the car seat for free under Delta policy, I would need to walk to the other side of the Delta check-in terminal and place it with the oversized luggage. Now I had to walk across the terminal to drop the car seat off and then walk all the way back to the other side I started at in order to go through security. Again, remember that I am one adult trying to manage a car seat, a toddler, and a carry-on bag. I finally get back to the other side of the check-in terminal and to domestic security check. Thankfully we were able to get through security rather quickly. Then you have one TSA agent who was literally having almost every bag in his line be checked. I had a back pack and a carry-on that needed to be checked, which means additional wait time because only one person was there going through items. I know TSA has to do their jobs, but this agent was flagging almost every bag going through (I watched him with the bags before and after ours). Yes, I had toys from Christmas morning we were trying to get home to SC. I have flown in and out of Detroit numerous times to visit my family in MI. I have never experienced such frustration and utter anger with Detroit as I did yesterday. Dtw is not made for parents who are flying solo with a child, plain and simple. There are no courtesy strollers or luggage carriers with a child seat attached. When I expressed my frustration to a Delta agent about being a solo parent trying to fly with a minor and being told to wait and then walk all over the airport, all I got was backlash about how everyone has to do it. It is not hard to be parent/child friendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I really like this airport."

(United States)

Trip Verified | Overall I really like this airport. Easy to get to and easy to navigate. However, I am traveling today and at the security checkpoint I encountered two especially nasty workers. One woman was taking the boarding passes and DL’s. She mumbled something and I was next in line. So I asked if I should come to her. She rolled her eyes and repeated “next in line” with a sarcastic tone. Why so nasty? I did nothing offense. The next worker was another woman telling people to take shoes off and stay with your belongings until they go on the conveyor to be x-rayed. She apparently was tired of saying take your shoes off, so she mumbled (loud enough for everyone to hear) “I am apparently just talking to myself”. While these incidents may not seem like a big deal, they do reflect on the airport and set the tone for people’s trips. If you don’t like your job find another.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"plenty of restaurants"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | It's a very modern airport that is ready for possible extensions. The tram in the McNamara terminal makes it very easy to move in the terminal. The airport is very spacious, enough seating and plenty of restaurants and shops. There is also free WiFi that works well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"overpriced shopping mall"

(United States)

Not Verified | Airport or overpriced shopping mall? I travel quite frequently for work and Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW) is one of the most ridiculous places I transit. This airport seems to consider itself some sort of luxury shopping experience instead of a place to board or change airplanes. Walking through the airport you will notice large selection of expensive name brand stores and high priced restaurants. You will also notice a sever lack of quick and useful concessions. I can't speak for all travelers, but I myself rarely have time during my 1 hour connection time to have a nice sit down dinner at PF Changs and then do some browsing at Swarovski Crystal. What I do have time for is to stop at a food concession that will have my order ready in a reasonable amount of time and maybe for a nice cup of coffee. Neither of these is a possibility at DTW. The severe lack of of basic food/beverage concessions is appalling. Any concession that would be considered "quick" is never quick in DTW. The biggest reason is because of the lack of options the lines at the "quick" places is often out the door and these places are generally understaffed. On example is the Starbucks located in the A terminal. There are 2 Starbucks for 76 gates, each staffed with 2 under motivated individuals. I have seen lines with over 20 people in them while not surprisingly the Hugo Boss store next door is completely empty. Detroit Airport needs to figure out its true purpose. The purpose of an airport is to provide paying passengers the opportunity to get a bite to eat and a coffee while attempting to make a connection that has most likely been reduced because of weather or some other reason. It is not to sell MAC cosmetics and running gear.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No help for the handicapped"

(United States)

Not Verified | No help for the handicapped at this airport. The disaster started with a 40 minute wait for my arriving plane to get a gate for us to debark. In 60 years of flying, in airports all over the country, I've never had to wait more than 10 minutes for my plane to get a gate. Then finding that my connecting flight was in another building and I would "just have to go downstairs, through the tunnel and upstairs to the other gates," the gate clerk scoffed at me when I said that would take 40 minutes with my arthritic knees. He didn't offer transportation, I had to ask for it. Apparently there are no golf carts or trolleys for the mobility disabled at the airport, as there are in every other airport I've visited. He ordered a wheelchair, which took 20 minutes to arrive. In spite of everyone's assurances that I would make it, the plane left without me when I was only a gate and a half away. No one ever attempted to contact the departing gate to let them know that a crippled passenger was trying desperately to get there on time. Other than the wheelchairs, which are slow and take an inexcusable amount of time to arrive, this airport makes no attempt to accommodate mobility handicapped persons. There were no electric carts traveling the length of the interminably long tunnel between C and A terminals, and none that I could see at gate level either. Again, something I've seen in all but the smallest airports. This is not a place a mobility disabled person would want to travel through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 69 Reviews