Denver Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 169 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is absolutely filthy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport is absolutely filthy! The women’s restroom needed to be cleaned hours ago. Overflowing trash receptacles with paper towel. Unflushed toilets. Dampness in the air. Gate A32 had mice and they appeared to make themselves at home. The food, on the floor, dropped near the garbage can will always attract mice. Dirty carpeting from multiple, untreated spills. Overall, a very disheartening experience. I will try not to fly out of this airport ever again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most confusing airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | After going through an enormous queue to security screening, I began to load the baskets with my items. Only then did a staff member come by and say that people with "metal in them" should use another line. This should be posted and people informed much earlier. Additionally, this was the most confusing airport I have ever been in, very poorly designed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute worst designed airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This has got to be the absolute worst designed airport I have ever been in and Ive traveled all over the United States as well as Europe. Never have I been so confused as to the layout and how to find anything. You have signs with arrows going every direction saying all Gates and then north security, south security, arrows going up down left right East terminal etc none of the signage is clear or obvious. I had to ask a security person who was equally unclear and vague and could hardly speak english. After going through the 85 minute long security line which started all the way at the beginning of baggage claim, wrapped around all baggage claim areas ( blocking people) into another area where you had to walk past the skinny little dividing wall with barely enough room for people to roll their carry-ons, people trying to get their luggage had to cut through the line. The serpentine line literally filled up the entire floor of the bottom portion of the airport. Once you got dumped out after walking through the screening machine they were yelling at you to get out of the way get out of the way while you're trying to put your shoes on your jacket on get your purse etc. And then there was no arrow no clear direction which way to go where to go it was the skinniest narrow pathway having to step over fans and obstacles all in the way to go into an area that's not obvious what that area is. Having never been to this airport before I was unaware of the passenger trains that take you from terminal to terminal. Once I realized that was the deal I figured that out. The lights were out on some of the gate signage signs so it wasn't clear which direction to go once I was dumped out at the appropriate terminal. And to make matters worse as I stood in line to board the airplane for Southwest the signage at the front telling you which row and which boarding group you were in was broken it kept flip-flopping back and forth so nobody had a clue which line they were to stand in or whose turn it was to get in line. Once on the plane I thought was home free but no the pilot seemed to be lost when he was on the tarmac he went all the way to one runway then did a u-turn and it seemed as if we were going in circles maybe there was a change in the wind direction and that was necessary but seems sort of odd that you wouldn't know which way to go.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very disappointed"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very disappointed. Went to eat at the sandwich/ice cream shop by gate B54 on the United B concourse and we saw one of the employees prepping food with her disposable gloves on, the problem was she was touching her mouth eating food while prepping the food. This is a serious health violation. I was shocked! I asked to talk to the manager, in which I did, but he didn’t seem to concerned! Very disgusting! After seeing that we decided to go eat somewhere nicer. So we chose Elways. The food wasn’t bad but the problem was the lady bussing the tables, thought it was ok to use the same bar towel for multiple tables and if that wasn’t bad enough, she was wiping the seats off before wiping the tables! Terrible. Also the bathrooms I went into were disgusting!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"more time on the tarmac than on a flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | On the tarmac for over an hour each way, more time on the tarmac than on a flight. Modern air travel is a disaster and I will avoid ever flying again as it is a nightmare and there is zero help or accountability. I hope all these airlines fail they deserve it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport is absolutely disgusting"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport is absolutely disgusting. The gate where my first flight was dropped off (in the B80s) looked straight out of the 1920s. No monitors to check, musty and smelly, barely any space to move. I had to walk to about B40 to see a monitor to check my connecting flight. Even in the "nicer" parts of the airport, there is absolutely no space. Tiny hallways with excessive crowding. It is near impossible to get through with so many people going in different directions. Good luck finding a table to eat at, or anywhere to sit for that matter. The bathrooms everywhere are absolutely atrocious. Stalls with no locks, doors don't shut, poop and toilet paper everywhere, empty toilet paper rolls and empty paper towel dispensers. Every time I went into a restroom there was someone in there "cleaning" it, but toilet paper and paper towels continued to be empty and I never saw them actually clean or sanitize anything.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"add some more restaurants please!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely worst airport for number of eating establishments. I travel through Denver twice a week every week and there are 20-50 people in line at every restaurant. They need to keep up with the growth in passenger volume - add some more restaurants please!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Total chaos and incompetence"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I hate incompetence, always have. I try not to complain but this experience was too much. I returned from London through Denver International Airport (DIA) - one of the most modern airports in the USA. Total chaos and incompetence. This was my 4th international arrival this year but my very first ever at DIA. I pity passengers having to deal with this mess in the future. It was horrible; a mess of chaos, poor design, and execution. If this is a preview of summer travel, God help the travelers. We landed on a United flight from London Heathrow. United scheduled my connecting flight for about 90 minutes, which should have been enough time to make the connection. We even landed early. The trouble started shortly after leaving the plane. There were two escalators going to the next level. At the top of the escalator everyone was funneled into a small doorway (wide enough for two people) in a very small area leading into a massive corridor. There was a logjam at the top of the escalators; people could not move forward but the escalator kept bringing people up. I had one foot of space between the escalator and the person ahead of me. I was pushed into the back of the person ahead of me, quite forcibly by the guy behind me. Pretty soon more passengers were banging into others, some ladies fell, and other passengers tried to keep new arrivals from falling. Very dangerous, unnecessary safety breach. We made it through the doorway to be in a corridor with probably well over 1,000 people milling about. (I later learned that 12 international flights landed in about a 45 minute period). The line abreast was about 20+ people and 200 yards long ahead of me, pretty much at a standstill. We moved slowly toward some unknown destination. At the end of this mess was one entry point that could handle a few (2-3) people at the same time. Passengers were jostling to get into the entry. We then noticed this entryway was for a serpentine maze of about 30 twists and turns. Looking behind me I saw the crowds getting bigger. After 20 minutes I came to the end of this queue. Get this - it led to one exit staffed by one (1) Custom and Border Protection (CBP) officer. OHer sole function was to look at your passport cover and point you right (US passport) or left (foreign passports). Seriously. How stupid. Despite numerous signs telling passengers to have their passports ready, many passengers didn't. Instead of telling them to step aside, the agent patiently waited for them to go through their luggage to find it. A second agent stopped by for a minute and then left. Why not have signs way, way back in the corridor to avoid this? I took the escalators down to another massive queue. More waiting. Finally interviewed by a CBP officer. This didn't take long. Claimed my bag, rechecked it, and then wondered into another abyss. We had to go through TSA security again. I have PreCheck - I saw signs for it but not for the entrance. People were looking everywhere for the entrance. I ended up having to backtrack 100 feet to find a not so obvious sign. Six people ahead of me. None, again, none of them had PreCheck but were just as lost. The agent was in good humor when I made it to him - his comment was something like "Wow, an actual PreCheck passenger!" I think poor signage had a lot to do with it. I made it to my gate just as the plane was boarding. What a mess!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
1/10

"stood in line for a security check for 4 hours"

(United States)

Not Verified | We arrived at 3:00am for a 5:30am departure. We stood in line for a security check for 4 hours with two of 8 security checks open on a weekday! One lady sent us (and at least 2,000 other customers) to the wrong check line, refused to give us directions to the correct security check. For being an international airport who’s capable of checking thousands of national and international customers a day.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
5/10

"The airport is a mess"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is a mess. Unless you fly weekly, you must plan your arrival and departure well. We departed downtown Denver using the morning RTD train from Union Station. It was fine. Discharged from the RTD train to take a huge steep escalator (if not working use the Westin elevators), to the cold open air Westin plaza and into the main terminal to catch the robo shuttle to terminals A, B or C. You better know which one you want. Got off at terminal B to be greeted by a huge network of TSA security cordons. Where is airline baggage check-in? Asked a TSA Agent nice enough to point us the directions- down the hall, up an elevator to the UAL counters. Checked baggage in, then around the counters, down an escalator, and back to the madness of the security lines. Everyone in a mad rush. Take your time and stay calm. Airport lacking signage. I have been in big domestic and intl. airports without Denver Intl.'s problems. Be prepared.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no