Denver Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 116 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Dirty and dingy feeling"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dirty and dingy feeling. Nasty smelling. Signage horribly placed and sometimes misleading - worst I've ever seen in an airport, I think. The wonderful light rail station shouldn't be hard to find, but this airport makes it hard to find. The baggage carousels take inordinately long to deliver the luggage. Unclean restrooms. Disgusting seats from the moment you check in with your airline to the moment you leave your gate. Gruff and mannerless TSA agents, even by TSA standards (then again, it is Colorado, which is arguably one of the U.S.' least friendly states). Even TSA Pre-Check passengers wait longer than in Pre-Check lines in other airports, I can also attest to how terrible the lines at DIA are for non-Pre-Check holders. Boring and unoriginal options for snacks, dining and drinks for such a large airport. At least the inter-terminal tram is clean, efficient and dependable, and, as I said, that light rail station is such a nice asset. Friends don't let friends fly in and out of Denver, y'all. I've never liked this airport, but my most recent experience really did me in with it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"getting frustrated with the lack of service"

(United States)

Not Verified | We are really getting frustrated with the lack of service and having things work they way they should at DIA. I understand things can go wrong but today, all of the following happened: 1) Escalator stopped when going down. Small girl was thrown to the ground and was hurt. 2) Got on train to go to baggage - did not go anywhere. After 10 minutes - we had to walk to baggage claim. 3) Waiting for baggage - when it finally started to come out- it got stuck and took someone 10 minutes to fix. Get your act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"train the officers to be better"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately, I encountered traffic on the way to the Denver Airport to catch my departure flight home. I got there later than desired, but was still going to make my flight. However, as I was going through the Tsa screening (I had my stuff on the belt, next in line to go through security), my lane and a handful of others stopped operating. This was around 5:00pm on 10/18/2019 The TSA officers made no attempt to explain to the people in line what was going on. Instead, the officers in my lane kept laughing and cracking jokes about "the supervisors not doing their job". They should be more sensitive and considerate of all the anxious people waiting to get to their flights. One guest in the lane next to mine remarked that his plane was leaving soon and he might miss his flight, to which the officer sarcastically replied, "That's unfortunate." without even giving the guest a glance. Another guests 2 kids had passed through the security gate right before the machines stopped, so he approached the officer after about 10 min and asked if the kids could come back through to stand in line with the parents so they wouldn't be waiting alone. The same officer mentioned above replied in an aggressive manner that "they've been randomly selected and they'll be selected again when they come back in." What he's saying is not wrong. It's how he said it that rubbed me, and undoubtedly the father, the wrong way. You could tell the father was annoyed because he simply didn't want his kids to be alone. My negative experience was mainly due to 1 or 2 officers, but there is obviously a work culture that tolerates this kind of behavior. There were other officers around that said nothing to correct the abovementioned officer's rude behavior. I have traveled a lot in my life, and can deal with a bit of rudeness, but this was over the top. Please, train the officers to be better people, which in turn will make them better employees. The Denver Airport processes many, many people each day, and bad employee behavior should not be an impediment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"looks like it’s been through a demolition"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have travelled in Denver over 15 times per month on average (since this airport was built). It’s the worst run airport I have been through. Escalators are broken consistently (perhaps 1/5 trips I make), bulbs are out in the elevators, and to make matters worse the major construction to shift security upstairs (complete remodel) has come to a halt. The contractors were recently terminated. Currently the terminal looks like it’s been through a demolition. On a good note the train that runs from Denver works well. On a bad note even the long term parking is expensive ($18 per day) and the shuttle buses run infrequently. This airport is run by the city of Denver.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Why do the folks from Colorado tolerate this!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience! First, getting thru security was a nightmare because a screener was being trained. They discussed every bag! No attempt was made or any consideration given to travelers missing their flight. Second, no gate information is available until you get to terminal a, b, or c. So that is not helpful when United flies out of more than one terminal. I had to take a second train ride. Third, I had to use terminal b. It has 95 gates! And guess which gates are at the end? Local flights. What a way to treat guests coming to spend money in this state. Why the taxpayers put up with that I will never know. I don’t understand how voters put up with that. Last, United treats their customers like crap with broken down planes, gate changes, delays, outrageously bad customer service. Why do the folks from Colorado tolerate this!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"utterly bad experience"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | I am a frequent traveller and familiar with quite harsh airport proceedings. But what happend in Denver Airport is inacceptable. Arriving at the security checkup with a broken arm in a cast and therefore quite handicapped I was treated in an extremely impolite and despiteous manner. The security officer shouted impatiently at me to move my luggage myself on the moving floor, his female colleague barked at me in bad slang with a ferocious face and pushed roughly around without any explanation when she was controlling me. When I was through they had much fun controlling my husband in the same rude and extensive manner, impeding him purposedly to help me collect my items. We gave no comment to them to avoid things getting even worse. This was an utterly bad experience, I felt rather like a head of cattle than a like human being. The behavior of such incompetent staff is a shame for Denver and is by no way worthy of an International Airport, but gave us the impression of a deepest ignorant and uneducated province.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage was confusing and incomplete"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I took the light rail from Union Station to the Denver Airport on 9/3/19 for a flight to Salt Lake City at 2.25pm. This was the worst experience I have ever had at an airport in all my travels. There is ongoing construction going on at this airport and this construction probably has a lot to do with my horrible experience. Trying to get from the point where the light rail ended at the airport to finally arriving at my departure gate was a pretty bad experience. The signage was confusing and incomplete while navigating around all the construction. The route to my gate was circuitous and aggravating. I had to stop and ask for help more than once. One employee apologized for all the craziness - she said the original company that was contracted for the construction work was "fired", and the city is now back to the drawing board finding a new company to do the job. This experience has left me with a bad taste, and until that airport construction is done, I would suggest you avoid flying out of Denver airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"When possible, I'll avoid Denver"

(United States)

Not Verified | I found Denver Airport very difficult for travelers to use and I recommend anyone who has to use it to leave lots of extra time and be prepared to be frustrated and treated rudely. The signs are poorly placed, when they exist. On arrival, finding the rental car shuttles was very badly marked. When I had finally gotten my car - the rental car offices are several miles away - and returned to the airport to pick up my daughter, one of the traffic officials was very unpleasant. There were no other cars in the row I was in or the next row, which were both permitted lanes for picking up passengers. There was room for easily 20 cars. I was typing in the address we were going to into Google Maps, and he came over to insist I leave. We had been there for less than 3 minutes. On departure, we had to walk a very long distance to the gate. If you have any mobility problems, request a wheelchair. Security was very badly run. There were 3 lanes open, but only 2 staff to check boarding passes and IDs. The middle staff member made no attempt to be sure that the left two lanes alternated, and no one bothered to change the lanes to two lanes. When I mentioned the problem to him, he said it was the travelers' fault that they weren't alternating because they were stepping up too fast. The lines at the food counters and in the convenience stores were very long because it is a very busy airport. The staff at the food counters and convenience stores were very nice and helpful. But don't count on having time to get food between flights. When possible, I'll avoid Denver.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"screening process is a zoo"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Under construction. The screening process is a zoo. Only comparable to maybe Atlanta. The TSA people are rude. The amount of walking you have to do is crazy. So many passengers traveling for 6 am flight and only one place open for food or coffee. Even the gift shop to get a water had a very long wait. Also very complicated process to get a rental car. Allow plenty of time to get shuttle and car.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor organizational abilities"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Every time I come through here there's some kind of delay. I have spent anywhere from two hours to overnight on numerous occasions because the poor organizational abilities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no