Dalaman Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"wondering what just happened"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We travelled from the UK out to Dalaman with few problems. We had a fantastic family holiday at the Hilton Hotel Dalaman, where all staff fantastic. The problems were all in regard to the jouney home through Dalaman Airport. We had private transfers and arrived with 3 hours to spare, which I am glad we had as it took all of our available time to get through the multiple queues and checks. We were travelling with two young children, 6 and 3, we queued for an hour to check our bags in and unfortunately over the four checked bags were 4kg over on our weight, I understand this adds cost to fuel etc, however the £48.00 charge was not simple to pay. Instead of being able to pay on a card like is usually the way now days, I had to leave my wife and children at the counter, walk the length of the terminal to find a cash machine, which only paid out in TL, but the check in desk wanted British pounds, so then had to find the exchange desk, ask for the amount of TL I would need to withdraw to cover the exchange back into British pounds incurring charges. Meanwhile my wife had here passport taken away and told she would not get it back unless we paid the money, please bear in mind the bags had already been tagged and sent. This was not a smooth operation and felt like a scam. Once this ordeal was over we moved onto passport control, 30 min queue, no issues at this point. Onto a second security scan and check, another 20-30 min wait, at this point the security gaurd found it funny to joke with me that there was a problem with one of the bags and it needed to go back through the scanner, I asked what the problem was and she spoke back to me in Turkish and just pointed at the scanner, I made it clear I did not understand what she was saying/asking of me, did it need to go back through the scanner? At this point she switch to English and said, (no problem you can go) and laughed, as in it was funny to give me a bit of hard time (what was all that about). Meanwhile my wife is waiting with our two young boys at the side wondering what is going on. Next stop was the rip off food area, all in Euro's and nowhere to sit, did not wait here long and thought best to head for the gate and just try and chill for a moment and sort the kids out. At the gate (34) another security check, this time wife and children were taken to one side and I was searched, swabbed for what ever knows and the bag was empitied, even though been through two scanners already. Finally we were through and sitting for about 15 mins waiting to embark the plane wondering what had just happened.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just simply awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Just the most awful airport in the world. I will never travel back to Turkey. Food expensive, disgusting toilets, no seats, queues, just simply awful. Spoilt my holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"all staff were rude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very poor customer service, which included breach of confidentiality and security. For example, searched/emptied bags in trays and repacked mine with another persons boarding card and passport. This left me having to seek out someone who would understand 30 mins before the passengers scheduled flight. This was more difficult to explain from language barrier and when the penny dropped them rushing off to try and ensure the person got their flight. In addition, due to being a blue badge holder and requiring assistance - all staff were rude and if it is not their specific job role or airline nobody is prepared to assist in anyway - just say nothing to do with them and walk off. No email address appears available for customer service as the the one online just bounces back and I wonder why.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Really awful place"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Utterly dreadful airport. We went through 8 queues to depart and it took 2 hours. There’s no signage so people are wandering around lost. The ladies wc’s are crouchers which is ridiculous given the terminal is new. The flight was delayed due to passengers stuck in the airport trying to get through the queues. Really awful place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"you'll have to wait in line"

(Turkey)

Not Verified | All the terminals are brand new. The old terminals were so old. The toilets are small, almost every toilet has 3 Alla Turca toilets, which is a bit disturbing, so you'll have to wait in line. The design is really cool. But not much space for green.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"there is a lack of signs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I travel to Dalaman at least twice a year. Arriving at Dalaman is reasonably straight forward with the only delay being the queue's at passport control. Usually no more than 10 minutes. The problems are all associated with departure: 1) New airport terminal just opened but not able to handle on-line check in which means that you have to queue for check in with all those wishing to check in hold baggage. Usual time to check in takes between 30 and 60 minutes. From check in you join the queue for 2) Security and passport control. Delay usually takes between 5 and 15 minutes. 3) Finally airside there is a lack of seating to encourage you to go and eat the very very expensive fast food. All cheap nasty snack/burger/pizza type foods. In duty free everything is priced in Euros but you can pay in Turkish Lira as well. If you pay in local currency they will exchange the price from Euros back to Lira but of course they would have to exchanged from Lira to Euro before the point of sale thus shoppers will suffer an additional exchange loss. In the new terminal there is a lack of signs identifying "Departures" and the terminal gates. For travellers to Britain there is additional security at the gate which has resulted in fewer seats.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"now it’s even worse"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | All that work and now it’s even worse! Before it was hugely over priced with no comfortable seating. Now it’s overpriced but a bit more affordable if all you like is junk food. The only seating, if you didn’t want to pay £3 for a little bottle of orange juice at a cafe with decent seating, are filthy fast food round tables with hard seats or the old wooden slatted seating they had before, not even an upstairs to get away from the chaos. Empty fast food boxes on every surface, toilets filthy and no-where to sit comfortably for 3.5 hours at 1am. It’s definitely all about channelling people through shops and food outlets now. Bit gutted really, the worst part of our holiday as usual.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"a huge improvement"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | After hearing some worrying comments I was a little apprehensive about using the new Terminal 2 at DLM, however it seems that those are mostly directed at "bulk holiday airlines" and them not arranging or being unwilling to stump up for enough staff from Havas. Therefore this is based our experience on Easyjet, both arrival and departure were middle of the day. Arrival - landed 15 minutes early walked 2 minutes from the airbridge to passport control, walked 2 minutes to reclaim, waited 10 minutes, got bags, walked 2 minutes to the front of the terminal, realised it was at least 10 degrees hotter outside, met our driver and got in the minibus. Total time from chocks to Merhaba = 30 minutes. Departure : arrived 2.5 hours before std joined a small queue for 4 check in desks as advised by the lady greeting you, exactly 2 hours before std all 4 desks opened along with a 5th for speedy boarding and special assistance (handy as we had both in our party) A wheelchair arrived quickly and we were fast tracked through passport control and security (not very long queues though) and into duty free. As always DLM duty free is expensive, and if it's just cigs, vodka or gin you want then get it on the plane (if available). Into the departure lounge anf you're spoilt for choice Subway, KFC, Maccys, BK, Popeyes, kebabs all averaging about 38 lira for a meal, i'll confess to not having used the Havas operated snack and drink shops as they have been historically extortionate. There is a large central smoking area, essentially an outside space, newly planted and enclosed with glass walls, which is a massive improvement on the old terminals smelly corridor. There is still enhanced security for hand luggage and electricals, but it was of a random sample and efficient, fast and friendly. Boarding was also well organised including speedy boarding and SA passengers. Overall, a huge improvement on the old building.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Still not enough staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Really am unclear as to the point of the new airport. The old one was fine and at least you knew what to expect. It looks almost identical just bigger. Still not enough staff at all points from entering airport to getting on the plane. Very hot as suspect utilities are now larger at airport bigger. Sensors on luggage belts cause major delays in getting luggage as it seems that as passport control is so slow, those at the back of the queue are not there to collect their luggage and so it goes round and round with very little luggage coming off. I couldn’t find the ramp to wheel suitcase out of airport and had to carry down steps. Meet and greet confusing Re transfers. Only nice people in the whole debacle were in duty free. I travel at least 12/year to Dalaman so whole thing very wearing.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I’ve ever been in"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever been in. On departure they security check you confiscating all water and liquids. Then I was directed to Thomas Cook check in where there was 4 check in tables for 6 departing flights in a 1 hour 30 minute time slot. The airport is medieval there was no AC, queues were unbelievable and staff were so slow people were late for flights as gates closed. People were sick due to the heat and standing for so long in such a congested and crowded space. Thomas Cook and Dalaman Airport must hold responsibility for this. The Thomas Cook English staff stood around like statues uninterested and ignorant and why can’t they put more desks on. After that there was another security check still no AC where there was another massive line The only time I didn’t feel ill was when I got back to the UK.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews