Dalaman Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 101 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disgusting, rude, impatient people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We returned from Dalaman airport yesterday as we do every year, because we own an apartment there, but the experience at Dalaman Airport yesterday was horrendous. Every time we depart from Dalaman airport we find the staff very rude, miserable, not at all friendly. Yesterday I was travelling with my 13 year old autistic son and on entering the airport where you have to get your luggage scanned, I sent my daughter through first, my son second whilst I was loading cases on the scanner and as I turned around this security guard was body searching my son without my permission. My son has sensory issues with his autism and to have a complete stranger body searching him was too much for him to cope with. I turned around and shouted “stop stop”, “you need my permission first, give me time to explain to him what’s going to happen”, she said “we need to search him”, I said “that’s ok but give me time to explain to him why you’re doing this”. They were so rude and ignorant about it they just said “we need to search people”, I said “that’s ok, that is fine I understand but my son has autism I need to tell him what is going to happen”, they just threw their arms in the air and said “forget about it”. Obviously they have no understanding of people with autism but also too impatient to take time to help someone cope. My summary of the airport staff is, disgusting, rude, impatient people who need training in customer services and working with the public.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport that I have travelled through"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is possibly the worst airport that I have travelled through. The food and beverages are vastly overpriced with a basic bigmac meal being over £12.00. You are "randomly" selected for security searches and children are taken and searched without the parents consent. They can provide no basis for their "random" selection and rely on a default of "the British government says so". The staff are arrogant and apparently subject to no accountability.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Dreadful restaurant choice"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival was quick, but finding a wc involved a cross continent trek. Leaving, a Q checkin nightmare, with Thomson staff completely out of their depth & incapable of communicating with public. Incompetent check in staff and broken equipment. Security after security check. Dreadful restaurant choice, the pits. Went to gate, again too few toilets & dirty, not maintained. Another security check, herded about with NO information. Board says to ask, so I asked. Zero reply. Just bureaucracy. RIP OFF for a bottle of water. Happy to leave.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Put us off ever returning"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Can only endorse everyone's complaints about this airport. 4 queues. Asked for passports and tickets each time. Searched, x-rays, hand luggage searched. Lastly prior to boarding. Totally unnecessary. Filthy inadequate toilets and facilities. Expensive food and drink. Insufficient seating. No air conditioning. A totally third world experience. Put us off ever returning.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very disappointed with this new terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I used this new terminal expecting it to be better than the old one, how wrong I was. You have to walk vast distances in this airport to get anywhere and at 75 years old it was very tiring for me. The food outlets are expensive and the toilets (when you find them) are a disgrace. There are not enough clear signs directing you to gates, toilets. Very disappointed with this new terminal, it is certainly not an upgrade on the old one. Because of the vast walking distances Travelator’s should have been installed. Most of the staff are miserable and quite rude.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"50 minutes for our luggage"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Do not use this airport!! We have waited more than 50 minutes for our luggage. Kids buggies were left last so we had to sit 50 minutes with kids in our arms and wait for luggage. Hope they will see this review and improve
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disgusted at the treatment given"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I wish to say that I am pretty disgusted at the treatment given to me at Dalaman airport on Friday 7th June this year. Was travelling back with husband after a lovely holiday in Oludeniz, had already been through 2 security checks with no problems, then had to endure a 3rd at the gate, my husband was waved through, but they stopped me and asked me to empty my handbag and hand luggage which I was happy to do. They swabbed and found a trace of something flammable, I had no idea what this could be, but a very verbally aggressive male security guard shouted at me that they were going to search again, my husband tried to intervene to tell them that I was autistic and therefore finding it stressful, but the guard shouted at him that he was speaking to me, not him. Eventually they found it was a tiny avon perfume sample in my make up bag that I had forgotten was there, all in all a very stressful experience after a lovely relaxing holiday, I know they have a job to do, but dont think it was necessary to be quite so rude to someone with obvious difficulties.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Cafe counters understaffed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Only one toilet for the entire departure terminal? During holidays. What sort of customer service are they offering their passengers. Cafe counters understaffed and too expensive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely upset at the staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was extremely upset at how the staff at this Airport treated our 14 year old daughter as well as myself and husband. After 2 weeks unwinding in Turkey, our holiday was ruined just as were trying to board the plane. After going through the numerous main security checks, a further ‘random’ security check were being carried out on persons handpicked by the security staff. Our 14 year old daughter was plucked from us by an incredibly rude member of the security staff and ordered her to join a line up for a further security check. Her bag was rifled through by members of staff, who had no respect for her personal belongings. Her personal possessions were swabbed as well herself being swabbed, which is incredibly invasive for anyone, let alone a 14 year old girl who has been taken from her family in a crowded airport with no explanation. Unbelievable, before invading her personal belongings and personal space, at no point were we, the parents, asked for consent in this intrusive search method to take place. Whilst the above as taking place, I attempted to ask what the extra checks were looking for, as any concerned mother would. However, due to the language barrier, I was greeted with a tirade of angry shouting and myself and my husband were being physically pushed away from our daughter by the security staff. As this was taking place, we heard the last call for our flight to Birmingham over the Airport tannoy. The security staff continued to push us towards the gate and told us to get on the plane without our daughter. What parent in their right mind would leave their 14 year old daughter to be searched in a foreign airport and board their flight home? We were gobsmacked and prospect of missing our flight increased the intensiveness of the situation. It almost seemed like there was an ulterior motive to the search. Before this experience, my daughter was very wary of flying and being able to come on this holiday was a massive step in resolving her reservations of flying. However after this experience, her anxiety is still at an all-time high, even after having been back in England for 4 days.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security was rude, arrogant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We were told to go to Gate 40A. When we got there told the TUI plane was late and gate 40A still had Jet2 passengers in there. Told to come back later. Paid exorbitant prices for drinks while waiting at the new terminal. No toilet tissue, not checked regularly. Finally got into Gate 40A for men and women to be separated for yet another security check. Third one. The security was rude, arrogant and just in the wrong job. Couldn't speak much English, didn't ask, just ordered. Pulled everything out of bags, ordered iPads to be removed from covers. Had no respect for passengers or their items. You don't have to go through these unrelenting, ongoing security checks at Egyptian or Tunisian airports, so this is really off-putting. We don't have to go through this in English airports. If Dalaman needs to do all these checks then again at the Gate then they need to get rid of the current female and replace her with a respectful and more professional woman.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no