Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 235 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"will not be traveling through ORD again"

(United States)

Not Verified | I can overstate how truly awful it is to have ORD as a connection point for an international flight. The degree of disorganization, coupled with the overall sprawl of the airport, makes for a bad experience. The bussing of passengers between the international and domestic terminals resembles something analogous to cattle being herded into a milking contest at the local county fair, the signage indicating what to do and where to go is very minimal and confusing. Between the bare-bones number of TSA screeners on shift and being selected for additional screening/pat down, I missed my connecting flight by two minutes. The airport workers made it very clear through their half-mumbled non-responses that they did not give even care about trying to help me identify who I should speak to regarding the situation. If it were possible to rate the airport staff as a zero I would do so. I will not be traveling through ORD again under any circumstances unless it is my final destination for a trip, I would recommend to others to do the same.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff are rude incompetent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Staff are rude incompetent and had no empathy to passengers. They have no system in clearing passengers and did not care if they are late to their connecting flights. Took hours to get processed and had no translator for foreign speaking passengers. Tokyo airport who’s staff speaks little English will put this airport to shame. Staff on their cellphones instead of attending to passengers. Not courteous at all. They ate the worse. A lady asked a staff member if there is another line as she is getting late for her connecting flight. The response she got was “everybody has a connecting flight. The nerve of these people. I think they are taking their uniforms too seriously to intimidate passengers. If this represent the people of Chicago tourism would collapse in this city. They are not professional and needs to take a course on customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will definitely avoid this connection in the future"

(United States)

Trip Verified | If you want to get a stroke definitely fly through this poorly staffed and designed airport. I think to get a job here you need to write in your resume that you just don’t give a damn about people needs and feelings, I’ve never experienced such ruthless and humiliating way of treating people when they are shaking and sweating begging them for help, I wasn’t alone and you feel like they move and talk in a slow motion, talking on their cell phones (are they allowed to make personal phone calls on a clock?). Going from terminal 5 to the domestic terminals is a horrific nightmare if you have a short connection, you probably will miss your flight, the driver of the bus was collecting employees on her way to my terminal after I’ve asked her politely how long would be a drive that I’m afraid not to make it to my gates. I’m sure my review will not change anything and the way this administration hires its people, but I will definitely avoid this connection in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What a terrible experience. Upon arrival, there was no wait to find a kiosk for printing luggage tags and boarding passes, however, after that there was a 45-50 minute wait just to drop your luggage off. The line was so long that it looped through the concourse making it confusing to know where it began/ended. The people who were supposed to be helping were pushy and short as if we were inconveniencing them and not the other way around and several people missed their flights because of their mess. Tsa workers were continually shuffling which security areas were open which made the wait longer (a couple who arrived 30 minutes before me made it to the same gate at the same time because they had gates closed just as they were about to enter security twice). It was just unpleasant, unprofessional, and disorganized. For context, I fly out of LAX 2-3 times a year and this airport made LAX seem like a well oiled machine.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a pretty unpleasant experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Concourse C, while beautiful, is sorely lacking in places to enjoy an adult beverage. There are only 3 places to get a drink which is absurd in the today’s world of having to arrive to the airport exceedingly early. The bars are packed - total madhouses, which makes for a pretty unpleasant experience. It’s time to come up to par with other more sophisticated airports. And, I can’t imagine the revenue they are missing out on! Get it together O’Hare!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

"are all gates really booked"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never been able to fly out and reach a gate on time ever. How is it so difficult to find gate every time the flight lands Don’t they know about the arrival, are all gates really booked?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What an awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | What an awful experience, I will never book a flight to Chicago O'Hare again. We waited around two hours once off our Norwegian flight to go through to passport control. You have a self serve machine where you have to put information into and then queue again to do the very same. The women who are supposed to be helping you don't and the two I came across were so rude. I asked a question and the young girl looked at me, turned around and walked off! I am horrified to think that they are in a job! If this was London Gatwick or Heathrow Airport they would not be in a job! We had similar timing issues at the airport for our departure where there were just four men checking the security on all international flights going through terminal 5! Very disorganised. O'Hare being a large hub airport and looking at other reviews here, they should take on the feedback and learn from this in moving forward. First impressions has left a lasting impression where I will not be returning!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"We will not be returning"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Traveling is already a stressful occasion. Here are some tips to make it easier on people. The attendant that is supposed to check if flyers are “pre-checked” or not should actually do their job. A guy behind us literally said they aren’t sure if they’re pre-checked and she never stopped to explain or check his pass or anything. she just hurried him along in line. Some people are first time flyers. Be patient, be helpful, do your job. help educate them so next time things can go smoother. Next — allow families/groups to stay together. When one attendant is pulling one-by-one from three different lines, the person or people I am traveling with could be very far behind me. This is not conducive with groups of minors. It can be scary and allowing them to stay together is a small courtesy that could be extended to help out. Teach your workers patience. It was terrible here. Back home our airport is respectful and understanding, this was a huge shock for my group and I. We will not be returning. It’s about to be a long day and this experience has made it longer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Landing here was a truly awful experience! Took nearly 3 hours to get through immigration! It took another 45 minutes to queue up for the bus to take me to a different terminal! The airport is so badly organised, an actual joke. The staff there aren't interested in helping they just roll their eyes and give you short answers to get rid of you! No organisation, no customer service Avoid avoid avoid, I know I will be in the future!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"security lines are a nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | You need to arrive an extra 30 minutes earlier than you usually arrive if traveling through O’Hare. The security lines are a nightmare. I have been flying through O’Hare for 20 years and the problem only seems to have gotten bad over the last 3 years. When you arrive to the airport, you’ll be surprised to see that there’s a line out the door for TSA. This line takes minimum 30 minutes to go through. Once you’re past a certain point, you see how much unused space there is & start to wonder why they’re not using that space for TSA.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no