Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 342 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“Avoid this airport”

(United States)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport, disaster at every opportunity. I understand it’s a very big and busy place but management has their heads so far up their keysters they can’t see the light of day. Make a strategic effort management take a step back and replan, redo and re-execute the entire operation from beginning to end. Give the customer what they need and deserve.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

“staff not willing to assist”

(United States)

Not Verified | Unable to find an outlet that was functioning to charge my phone, staff not willing to assist, very dirty, multiple gate changes and poorly updated on gate changes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It was unfriendly, confusing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My husband and I were traveling home from European vacation. Our flight itinerary included a connection to final flight home (Orlando) through O'Hare. The entire experience was a complete cluster with no clear direction or informative staff. The process for visitors to exit the customs area from international arrivals was embarrassingly long and lacking in clear directions. I was chatting up a baggage handler to get some logistical direction for how to proceed from the customs verification area. The long, long line of people trying to get out of terminal 5 and make their way toward connecting flight terminals or even to exit airport was appalling. There should have been multilingual employees serving as ambassadors to assist passengers who did not speak English well or at all. We had to pick up our luggage and literally re-check it AND go through security protocol all over again as if we had just walked in off the street to begin our journey. We had to interrupt airport staff from personal conversations to ask for direction! We had to ask several times from more than one person who we assumed worked for the airport, which way to get to our terminal (had to move from terminal 5 to 1 to catch connecting flight), which way to TSA pre-check for security, and which line to get in when there appeared to be redundant, contradicting signs. There needs to be some intensive review of the entire customer experience for this airport. It was unfriendly, confusing, and left much to be desired for welcoming international guests. Logisics is #1 need followed by customer service training as #2.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Confusing and absent signage"

(United States)

Not Verified | Better than Midway, but that’s an extremely low bar. Confusing and absent signage. Not enough elevators for people with disabilities or strollers. Some staff extremely helpful while others couldn’t care less. This place can be hectic and crowded on any given day, but overall it seems disorganized between check in and baggage. I would say the biggest issue is spread out layout, and need to travel really far to get to one place and then another. Missed more than one flight because elevators were full and people standing around in line blocking walking paths. Needs to be streamlined and simpler. Who designed this corn maze of an airport anyway?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shocked by the level of degradation"

(United States)

Not Verified |   I didn't use ORD for several years and was completely shocked by the level of degradation. Now it's third world class. I Will try to avoid flying from Chicago in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff refused to help me"

(United States)

Not Verified | The staff refused to help me find the airport train. She said she didn’t have time for that. Actually make me cry. Reminded me of when I was picking up my mother there years ago, and was yelled at by an employee for pulling up and waiting for her. Who do they think pays their salaries? Get a different job if you can’t be kind!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff just kept screaming at people"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | On our first trip to America we had our layover at Chicago O’Hare both coming and going. When we arrived we were surprised that the queues weren’t as long as we had feared and the man who checked our passports were nice enough. Going through security a woman kept screaming “Step up! Step up!” so we avoided her at all costs. The personnel just kept sighing and seemed really annoyed to have to deal with passengers. On our return flight they were even worse. I wasn’t allowed to accompany my daughter as I had the previous time. She has social anxiety so that wasn’t very pleasant for her. The staff just kept screaming at people what to do and were super rude. I get that this is their job and they do this every day, but most people don’t fly every day and being nicer shouldn’t be that hard. When we had gone through security and arrived at the international terminal we went to buy some water and sandwiches at a self checkout and some guy asked us if we needed a bag. When I said no he said in a super angry tone that he still had to see that my payment went through. I guess we looked like criminals? I went to the bathroom and got looked in. Finally managed to get out. Same thing happened to my daughter later in the day. We had an 11 hour layover and all the seats were really uncomfortable. I hurt all over when we finally got in our plane. (That the guy in front of me had his seat fully reclined the whole 8+ hour flight is another story) We were in Arizona for 10 days and didn’t meet a single rude person in all that time and the personnel at Phoenix Harbor were very pleasant. Extreme difference between the two airports. Doesn’t make me want to ever visit Chicago.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"so many rude staff"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I thought Pearson airport was bad, but Chicago may be worse! Never met so many rude staff, except for that one gentleman who works for United who assisted us rather than forcing their rules on us. The other staff couldn't care less, the attitude of another was just another level when we had simply asked for directions. Apart from their unprofessionalism, the walk from arrivals is so long. The design of this Airport just sucks. I have no other words, except that this experience definitely deters me from ever visiting Chicago.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most unorganized, ridiculous airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I just want to get off my plane. We landed over 40 minutes ago and we are stuck in a holding area. They have sent us to 3 gates already and each one has a plane already in it. This is the most unorganized, ridiculous airport I’ve ever flown in or out of!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"just want to get out of this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | So cold, everyone is complaining. Food is terrible but most airports have terrible food now. Seats are very cold and uncomfortable. The air smells bad, I just want to get out of this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no