Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 286 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"awful airport to transit through"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | An awful awful airport to transit through. Immigration treats you like animals, ventilation is close to nothing, the airport seems to never be on track with time, packed with people and the cleaning is horrendous, the inside looks like a forcefully decorated prison facility. It would be generous to call this an airport. To top it off: a bottle of water bought from inside the domestic airport can’t be taken to your international flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"astonished by the horrible conditions"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am so astonished by the horrible conditions at this airport. Omicron in the US and people running around maskless. The charging stations seems to be from 2005. There is zero social distancing. Every bar in the place was so jammed with people you would think it was 2018. I have flown through this airport before and thought it was pretty old and poorly run. Now, in the middle of a pandemic and the poor management is shining like a hazard light.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"this is incompetence, terrible management and a black eye for our city"

(United States)

Trip Verified | You would figure that of all the problems we face in Chicago that at least we could get the ATM tram up and running again. But alas no luck there. Mayor Lightfoot blames this on the pandemic and Canadian boarder closing (contractor) but I remind her that the completion date was originally 2019 before the pandemic. More recent testing showed that the trams had problems in winter weather. Did we forget to mention that we have that in Chicago? As a 100,000 mile a year traveler based here, I'm saying that this is incompetence, terrible management and a black eye for our city, its inexcusable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Almost no one wore a mask"

(United States)

Not Verified | Almost no one wore a mask. Airport police walked right past people without masks and said nothing. This place is a covid petri dish. Long lines in which no one social distanced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Train Shuttle has not been working for years"

(United States)

Not Verified | The Train Shuttle has not been working for years and so you’re forced to catch buses between Terminal 5 and the other 3. Buses that frequently get caught up in traffic jams. Now for some bizarre reason they’ve put the Covid Test Site far away on the Bus Terminal meaning a huge long ride if you discover you need to take a test. This wouldn’t be so bad if the train system was working. Unfortunately I live in Chicago and am obliged to use this awful place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"tables were also dirty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I hope I never have to use this airport again. The staff was rude as I went through security. They assumed I knew their procedure and barked at me with what to do. Finding an outlet to charge my phone wasn’t easy. Was at a table and an entire side had dead outlets and USB ports. The tables for eating and charging stations were also dirty. Did not look like they had been wiped down all day. Is covid not on the rise again?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Incredibly nasty employees at this airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Incredibly nasty employees at this airport. They are treating the travelers with disrespect. Yelling at me and a group of my friends was their way to get documentation for travel on a domestic flight from Europe. The same at baggage check. I have been to a lot of airports but this one was the worst of the worst. Being treated like a criminal or prisoner is not something I’m used to or enjoy. The wifi was not working and the waiting area was covered with trash. And internet was not working. Shame on you that you employ such nasty people! There was not one employee who would be kind and greeting with a smile. Shame on you that you don’t keep the airport clean. I will always avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolute garbage airport!"

(Germany)

Not Verified | This is an absolute garbage airport! There's directions to a drive thru covid testing center for travellers that doesn't exist! I spent a half hour looking for this imaginary testing site. Of that wasn't bad enough when i dropped off my rental car there were no signs to the covid testing center anywhere in the airport! So i kept wandering around asking where i need to go getting conflicted directions! For those of you who don't know its in terminal 2 across the street from the Hilton in the bus shuttle center. I hope that saves you a headache and a back ache. There was at least one nice employee that helped me but most of the staff are always rude! If you can avoid this airport! They tried telling me i needed a PCR test when the country guidelines clearly said antigen is acceptable for my destination. If i listened i would have had to pay an additional $375 on top of the outrageous price of $120. In Germany they sell a similar antigen test for 3 euros or around $5. If you can avoid ohare do it!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the service has improved significantly"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have flown several times through O’Hare. Overall, the service has improved significantly but be ready to walk and leave enough time for transit. The food options improved significantly as well. One problem however for international is the transit between terminal 5 (where most but not all international flights leave) and the other terminals - the train between these terminals has been under construction for several years with no end date set (which is absolutely bad management) so avoid international travel if you until the work is done.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"No organization, no information"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst ever. 3 hours in line to leave. I will never fly here again. Mexico was put together better. No organization, no information. The worst airport I have ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no