Charlotte Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 198 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a lack of help everywhere"

(United States)

Not Verified | Awful. American Airlines was supposed to assist me with my handicapped wife, and I had no help. Also, there was a lack of help everywhere, not just American Airlines, but Charlotte Douglas altogether was disappointing!!!!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have been at"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This has to be the worst airport I have been at. My husband is an amputee and is in a wheelchair. The TSA agent practically stripped searched him. They checked Eve aspect of his wheelchair and the cushion that he sits on. They were asking him to move this way and that way. The whole process took aver 15 minutes. After I put my personal belongings on the belt, I was asked to go to another area, away from my belongings to go through the scanner. We did not have this experience when we flew out of the airport in our home state. It’s amazing that this country is letting in all these illegals but we are tax paying citizens and have to go through this like he was a criminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"way too much walking between gates"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst hub airport I have ever been in. There is way too much walking between gates. I arrived at gate C9 and departed from Gate E40. I walked over one mile and it took me 20 minutes of fast walking, including using their crappy moving sidewalks, some of which weren't working. Been here many times, and it's always the same. From my airport in Tennessee, I can take American through Charlotte, or Delta through Atlanta. I will pay more in the future to go Delta through Atlanta. Never again American/Charlotte. Never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Not my recommendation"

(United States)

Not Verified | Same disaster and chaos as the last 6 years. Parking ok, terminal and services disaster, no shops, no waiting area, construction as the last five years. Not my recommendation.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is congested"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived at Charlotte on a layover from Rome. The airport is congested, nowhere to sit, and flights has been moved three times with no reasoning. While the airport does not control the airlines while at the airport people are sitting in the floor everywhere and trash is strewn about. Will avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly crowded and a safety hazard"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I am on a multi stop vacation, visiting friends and family for the first time in 4 years because my family lives in New Zealand (US expat). We arrived from Salt Lake City on a delayed flight, but we thought "No problem! We will have 2 hours until our next connection to Pittsburgh." At the terminals, there were thousands of people but only enough seats for about 30 people per gate so hundreds of people were crowding into the concourse. Even more people sitting on the ground around the concourse and many more waiting in line at American Airlines customer service - so it was incredibly crowded and a safety hazard. There wasn't enough seating in the food court, either. Almost every flight was delayed or cancelled. Our flight was supposed to leave at 8:30pm (already delayed) and we didn't actually leave until about 11pm. The floor was dirty and smelled like urine (likely from all the pets/service animals standing around). The women's bathroom had a broken unusable door and a long queue. To add to this, despite having 5 hours to get my bag on the plane, 1 of our 3 bags didn't make it to our destination. We had been travelling with 2 adolescent children all day and everyone was very tired and unimpressed with Charlotte over all the airports we've been to so far. It has a Cinnabon (one of the places on my list) and a bunch of other food choices, but good luck finding a place to sit. The wifi worked for me, but not my husband.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Just be aware of prepayment"

(United States)

Not Verified | CLT Parking Reserved self parking express and arrived 1 PM at CLT and parked (no advantage to long term parking plus shuttle). In airport we cancelled our flight to Denver due to weather delays. We left parking at 6 PM but now unable to get refund for prepaying the remaining 4 days after trying on line and on the phone Ripoff since we have spent several hours trying to do this. Just be aware of prepayment and no chance of refund (just imagine prepay for a 2 week trip !!!)
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Just absolutely horrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely horrible. Signage is confusing, not just for me, but others around me. People working seem unable to give directions without yelling out repeated information that has nothing to do with the questions asked. That or acting like they are completely ignoring you while gesturing. They made us take out our laptops from our bags and from laptop sleeves, both things I haven't had to do in years. They informed us of this by just yelling to take our time and hurry and remove everything. "Remove what? Liquids?" Response: "take your time and hurry and remove everything." "Ok, so my liquid? All electronics?" "take your time and hurry and remove everything! But not that! Keep liquids in your bag! Laptop out! Hurry up!" Just absolutely horrible. I get through security, try and board the plane. In the time I checked in (about 6 hours prior) and selected my seat (which I really just confirmed because the plane was full and it wasn't the worst seat) they changed my seat. Like, my digital boarding pass was invalid. Then they told me that my bag was too big and that I was required to check it. I have flown 5 flights in the last 3 days. Not once did they question it. The person in front of me had a larger bag in every dimension. I compared it as I stood in line behind/next to them for 10 min. They got on with no problem, and when I asked the ladies about it, they just ignored me. American has been changing everything about my trip constantly (example with the seat). I am unwilling to part with my bag because of this. I will never see it again. They print me a check bag tag even though I tell them not to. I end up removing a pair of jeans and two flannels which I put on, so I can zip it more. I ask, "Can I get on the plane now?" She walked away and threw away my checked bag tag. I asked again, "Can I get on the plane now?" She looks at me. I gesture at the bag, and ask again, "Can I get on the plane now?" And she finally whispers, "yes.". Why lady, why? I am not a reactive person. I haven't reacted about anything on my trip that has been now 72 hours of traveling. I've gone with the flow, I've been respectful. I just don't know how to deal with people sometimes. All ratings below should be 0 or 1 if 0 isn't allowed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Outdated, filthy, horrible signage"

(United States)

Not Verified | I fly all over the United States often 3 plus times a month and have been to airports in big cities and small. This is by far the absolute worst. It is shocking that Memphis, TN has a far better looking facility than this one. And please, spare me "all the constructions and improvements" that is taking place. There is a serious lacking of decent places to eat, the seating is awful and the infrastructure is typical of anything in North Carolina...non existent. You waited far too long to start expanding folks. Just like the roadways around the State and yes, I can say this because I'm from here. Outdated, filthy, horrible signage, no direction as to which line to get in to check in, and some of the worst communication amongst airport personnel of what's what, where to go/not go, etc. American needs to seriously reconsider this as their hub.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if you can"

(United States)

Not Verified | Travel 2-3 times a month just short of 3 million domestic. This is one of the worst airports I have ever been thru. I cant say even one neutral item, in a word horrible. No seating, no restaurants, dirty/filthy, very rude people, although the American staff I dealt with was good. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no