Charlotte Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 120 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst signage, staff, rideshare pickup and generally the poorest airport you can imagine. Luggage took 30 mins to get. Bathrooms not clearly marked. Someone should get fired for allowing this airport to exist in this disorganized form.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely awful experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our flight to Dublin was cancelled due to mechanical issues, which is completely fine because I’d rather be on a safe flight. However, we waited on the plane for an hour before being told we would be moved to a different plane. Once we walked back into the airport, we were then told that the flight was completely cancelled which lead to a mad dash to the one attendant at the desk to try to change flights. No announcement was ever made about vouchers, where to pick up luggage, etc. We have waited in this line for answers for 3 hours. We tried calling American Airlines representatives who told us just to speak with an attendant in person. Just recently we were told to go collect our luggage near baggage claim. Currently, two of our family members are waiting to receive our luggage from a woman who said “There are only 5 employees pulling bags out, the other 50-100 have already clocked out and gone home.” I would say horrible miscommunication if there had been much communication at all. All that was needed was an overhead announcement stating where to pick up bags, wait in line to rebook flights, will email vouchers, or something to that extent. Absolutely awful experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I’ve ever seen"

(United States)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I’ve ever seen! Charlotte is at least 20 years behind other real category x airports. The following is a list of cons because there are no pros to this miserable airports. No Seating accommodations for passengers who are stranded overnight which happens frequently for the slightest amount of rain. Only one bathroom on the entire 2nd-floor ticketing level. One bathroom for thousands of people. They’re so smart they put the smoking section right on the curbside which permeates the entire airport. All of the lines for food or drink are always packed. It’s always hot. They turn off their escalators so you have to climb stairs with your luggage. TSA is incapable of properly staffing their checkpoints which create massive waits! This due to the mistreatment of employees. Extremely narrow walkways in the concourses and again limited restrooms. They built a new concourse in A terminal and didn’t have the presence of mind to put seating for people to eat their food. Always traffic outside due to the dumb physical layout of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"needs to be some management improvement"

(United States)

Not Verified | There are so many problems with every aspect of this airport. I'm going to list problems with some no-cost or low-cost solutions. 1) Concourses are narrow, so pedestrian traffic is a mess. People are constantly bumping, almost bumping, crossing in front of, and getting behind slow people. Last night, a member of the cleaning crew had parked a rolling garbage bin in the middle of the concourse (E) and was off to the side having a casual conversation with a vendor. This caused many pedestrian issues, in an already stressful environment. Solution: train cleaning crews about traffic in the concourses and how to treat customers better and NOT block their paths. 2) Continual gate change for arrivals, and - what seems like - confusion for the airplane waiting to pull into the appropriate gate. I don't know how much larger airports are so organized, but CLT needs to have systems in place for parking planes quickly at their gates to get people to their connecting flights on time. Last night in Concourse E Gate 17 (6/13/2019), 5 breathless passengers showed up to catch the last flight to Columbia SC that day. The unconcerned gate employee told them the doors were closed, and there was nothing he could do. Their incoming flight had been blocked from their gate for a time, making them late to the Columbia flight and that flight pulled away without them. super simple, cheap solution: have a gate ready for each arriving plane. If a plane has passengers for connections, communicate with their connecting plane's crew to please wait 3-5 minutes for the passengers to arrive. 3) Some of the slide-walks weren't working, and you need that extra boost in speed to reach long distances between connections (see above). Solutions: maintain existing equipment and keep it running. 4) Lots of trash, lots of people working who seemed to not want to be there, and boarding queues crowding the already narrow corridors - there needs to be some management improvement at this airport. All of this makes me feel less safe flying.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrendous walking times"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What a disaster. Airport is overcrowded with many rude employees that could care less about the traveling public. Many areas under construction with carpeted areas being difficult for travelers to move their bags. It is clear that the runways and traffic control are stretched which results in numerous cascading delays. Not enough seating - horrendous walking times - surly employees.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the rudest I have met to date"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. I had a layover there coming from Germany. I am traveling with two service dogs. I had to get my luggage (even though it was checked through to SFO). When I got down to luggage claim one of those sniffer dogs they have, a small beagle (could have still been in training and I am not faulting the dog at all) went crazy seeing my dogs. I got yelled at by it's handler over the concourse that I need to pick up my dogs? and what kind of service dogs these were. I responded politely that this is a question she was not allowed to ask and that I felt uncomfortable yelling my disability over the airport. Her rude response was that there were probably just emotional support dogs and needed to be carried by me that for sure they were not service dogs like hers. Well no as your dog is not a service dog! It is a working dog, which is supposed to stay calm under any circumstance. Finally got it all finagled and re-checked my bag when I got to the 2nd very rude and obviously bored customs agent who asked me for the paperwork on my dogs. I hand him all the paperwork with the Aphis paperwork (shot verification) laying on top and hs rudely asks where is the rabies paperwork? Right there under your darn nose. I do not see it. Oh just go through I'll take your word for it. People at this airport are the rudest I have met to date and I have travelled a lot in my past. Rude and belligerent. Never again Charlotte.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It was a horrendous experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Charlotte is my home airport and as a business traveler I don’t have any problems. But I flew in with my 84 year old mother who had requested wheelchair assistance. After waiting over 30 minutes no one ever came. The airline got me a wheelchair but they are not allowed to transport passengers other than to and from the plane. I pushed my mother in a wheelchair while managing 3 bags. It was a horrendous experience. Topped off by over an hour to get the bags. I have to say the services at the airport are highly lacking. The parking personnel are wonderful!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the absolute worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never been through such a ridiculous international experience in all of the other airports I have flown through. I get off my international flight 20 mins early. Then have to go down and claim my baggage that should just go all of the way through. But no, I have to wait for two other flights that got there after us, before our bags came down. Then had to go re-check my bags, then go through customs for US again, then had to go back through TSA Check in with my carry on again. Then, finally get down to my flight, in which half of the walking escalators are not working to find I've missed my flight. This is the absolute worst airport I've ever been to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"walking distance are ridiculous"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the worst AA hubs. Each visit, there are at least 3 to 4 moving walkways and escalators under repair. The walking distance are ridiculous ie from E concourse to B concourse. No shuttles. And certainly encounter broken walkways. Food choices are awful. Get I'll every time I eat here. Most inefficient security of AA hubs. 1 TSA precheck open on a Monday morning with no less than 30 minute wait. Staff is rude. At another check point asked if i could leave shoes on since TSA pre and was rudely told this is not a TSA checkpoint. Every major airport in the US allows for shoes to stay on (but electronics out) and allow walk through scanner when boarding pass marked. Not the inefficient rude people in Charlotte. Horribly under seated in their waiting areas. Never enough seats. Wall to wall standing people in aisles and halls. This airport should not be a hub. They have no concept of efficiency or courtesy! I avoid them like the plague but sometimes have no choice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The most garbage airport I've ever been in. Flew in from SFO one of the busiest in the country and these goons here were delayed on my landing (30 mins), theres no seating, food service were rude, TSA were rude, no transit for their gigantic airport, outlets to plug in phone run at such a low voltage you cant fast charge your phone, they somehow didnt have room for everyone to bring their carry on luggage on the plane (how is that a thing?) And my flight was delayed over an hour and a half. Beer was $10.71 (more than SF?). People running everywhere absolute chaos. Dirty and construction everywhere. I will never travel to this dump site again, avoid at all costs, pay more if you have to, warn your friends and family
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no