Charlotte Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 127 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"agents are rude"

(United States)

Not Verified | Unfortunately the previous reviews are correct. The agents are rude, my flight was delayed 3 times, and changed gates twice for the same flight. Truly the worst flying experience, I've had. Please someone fix CLT. I was warned by frequent fliers. They were right.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid CLT at all costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I have ever been to in United States. My incoming AA flight from LHR was forced to wait for the gate to be ready once we arrived, and then once at the gate, we had to wait again to de-plane because Customs (Immigration/CPB) was backed up. Once we reached customs, it took over an hour to get through due to long lines and literally one CPB Officer processing inbound US Citizens. Once we were past Baggage Claim and Baggage Re-Check, the transfer from Concourse D to Concourse E took a ridiculous amount of time as the "Moving Sidewalks" were non-oprational. Once we finanlly arrived in Concourse E, the food and drink options were horrible (Burger King and Panda Express? Seriously?) Then our connecting flight was delayed due to late arrival of inbound flight, again because of poor Ground Operations. Finally, once we boarded, we were delayed again due to taxiway congestion. This is the most poorly managed airport I have ever traveled through and I will never book another flight through this airport. The levels of mismanagement were far worse than even bad Third World airports. Avoid CLT at all costs. You're welcome.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport I have been to. They are cramming too much traffic into a terrible, cramped airport. There are horrible lines for everything (bathrooms, food, rental cars, tsa, ticketing), nowhere near enough seating or food options and the whole place feels like a greyhound station. I will seriously alter my travel plans majorly to avoid ever coming here again. Its bad for the Charlotte economy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the airport offers nothing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We have been traveling thru Charlotte for years. Never realized that late night flights, there are no amenities available. Really? Your flight is delayed, your stuck and on top of that the airport offers nothing! No food, no drinks, not even a vending machine? This airport is a poor example of an “international” airport. As with the airlines customer service is literally in the toilet. There needs to be an airport that cares about the folks that pass thru whether it’s a few minutes running to your connection or stranded for hours on end. Step it up, please!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"astonishingly "blah" airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Charlotte Douglas is the most astonishingly "blah" airport that ever existed. The offerings of shops and restaurants are "blah," with no discernible North Carolina-specific flair. The layout and architecture of the terminal I was in was "blah," due to white and beige everything, low ceilings, and construction zones abounding. The carpeting and the seats were more "blah" than those found in a doctor's office, only far dirtier and more heavily used and aged. The ticketing gate agents were "blah"; no one remotely rude but no one particularly smiley. The WiFi sucks. North Carolina itself is far from "blah"; maybe its flagship airport shouldn't be!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Customs is a mess"

(United States)

Not Verified | Customs is a mess. Over an hour already. Thousands of people, 20 kiosks - a real mess and embarrassing experience. Won’t fly American again. Fun watching crews and global passengers laugh at the zoo.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"an excellent place to enter the United States"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Charlotte is an excellent place to enter the United States, if you have a choice. The customs area is very compact, and it's a short walk from the gates to the passport checkpoint. With Global Entry and a Carry-On bag, I went from jetway through the entire process and through security back into the passenger terminal in 20 minutes. I don't think there's any other major hub where that's doable. The rest of the airport is decent. On the plus side, it's a decent size - not as massive as Atlanta, but big enough to be able to stretch your legs if you have time to kill. There's also a good selection of food and drink at the airport, though prices are high. On the other hand, American schedules a lot of short connections through the airport, so you may not have time to enjoy the amenities. And note that a lot of the gate areas are under construction, and they can get very crowded, so be prepared to stand for awhile. Overall, I much prefer Charlotte to Atlanta and a lot of the other hubs. But it's not quite elite yet.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst signage, staff, rideshare pickup and generally the poorest airport you can imagine. Luggage took 30 mins to get. Bathrooms not clearly marked. Someone should get fired for allowing this airport to exist in this disorganized form.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely awful experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our flight to Dublin was cancelled due to mechanical issues, which is completely fine because I’d rather be on a safe flight. However, we waited on the plane for an hour before being told we would be moved to a different plane. Once we walked back into the airport, we were then told that the flight was completely cancelled which lead to a mad dash to the one attendant at the desk to try to change flights. No announcement was ever made about vouchers, where to pick up luggage, etc. We have waited in this line for answers for 3 hours. We tried calling American Airlines representatives who told us just to speak with an attendant in person. Just recently we were told to go collect our luggage near baggage claim. Currently, two of our family members are waiting to receive our luggage from a woman who said “There are only 5 employees pulling bags out, the other 50-100 have already clocked out and gone home.” I would say horrible miscommunication if there had been much communication at all. All that was needed was an overhead announcement stating where to pick up bags, wait in line to rebook flights, will email vouchers, or something to that extent. Absolutely awful experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I’ve ever seen"

(United States)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I’ve ever seen! Charlotte is at least 20 years behind other real category x airports. The following is a list of cons because there are no pros to this miserable airports. No Seating accommodations for passengers who are stranded overnight which happens frequently for the slightest amount of rain. Only one bathroom on the entire 2nd-floor ticketing level. One bathroom for thousands of people. They’re so smart they put the smoking section right on the curbside which permeates the entire airport. All of the lines for food or drink are always packed. It’s always hot. They turn off their escalators so you have to climb stairs with your luggage. TSA is incapable of properly staffing their checkpoints which create massive waits! This due to the mistreatment of employees. Extremely narrow walkways in the concourses and again limited restrooms. They built a new concourse in A terminal and didn’t have the presence of mind to put seating for people to eat their food. Always traffic outside due to the dumb physical layout of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no