Catania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 35 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"second time with delay of 5 hours"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Second time in CTA and second time with delay of 5 hours. This time with a lost connection and absolutely unhelpful staff that in the case of a delay disappear and don't answer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of business acumen"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | It is astounding that management at Catania airport has not got the business acumen to display a large sign at the passport control for Gates 19-22 (described as overflow Gates on signage in the airport) advising passengers that there are no restaurant, coffee and barely any toilet facilities once you pass passport control. There were hundreds of passengers crammed into holding area for these gates with nothing other than a small duty-free shop (you could eat chocolate or cantucci) and a drinks and coffee vending machine. There were families and older passengers with small children who could not sit down let alone get anything to eat- that lack of business acumen by the airport managment is clearly impacting the restaurants and other retailers that would benefit from the extra business if the airport managment had the foresight to advise passengers of the lack of facilities at these gates. In addition, the airport management are damaging the reputation of Sicilian Tourism to treat visitors in this manner and for me and my wife it certainly took the good out of what was a really wonderful holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"there was nothing to complain about"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having read the reviews before leaving UK I was rather apprehensive about our return flight (outbound we went via PMO: Palermo) In practice, the airport was fine. The check in queue for SN: Brussels Airlines moved relatively slowly - there was only one fully experienced person there plus a trainee - it was far from clear what their supervisor was for apart from talking on his phone. But everyone got through in good time. Security had three lines running - Tuesday mid-morning, which was adequate for the task. Airside there were plenty of seats, reasonable shops, clear information screens, and a better catering offer than many places. Boarding was handled to a similar standard as other airports and we left on time. Looking at some of the other reviews I realise they were written at the height of the summer season - but I have to say that at the time of our travel, there was nothing to complain about.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

"terminal building is too small"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is the worst European airport I have used for departures. I counted 7 airlines departing within the hours we were at the airport, approx 1500 passenger. The terminal building is too small to handle this number. Every one of these flights had passenger held in the terminal queuing on walkways 1.5 hrs in queue to board a flight. shop look OK,some food shop to buy snack and the shops had queues as well. No problems with arriving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an utter disgrace"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | This must surely be the worst airport in Europe and much of the world. No seats, rain leaking through the roof of the departure bulding and not being cleaned up - I saw a woman slide and fall heavily. There’s an enormously long, and totally mysterious line extending the length of the departures building beyond the security check. No information is provide as to what this 200 yard line is for: amazingly it’s for passport control for departures. It takes an hour and a half to reach the control booths. Under no circumstances will I ever use this airport again. It’s a disgrace, an utter disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"45 minutes for our baggage"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Just waited over 45 minutes for our baggage to come through - everyone of the Dublin flight very unhappy with the delay. Other flights came in after ours and their cases came through promptly. Had to ring my taxi company and advise that we were still inside waiting on our cases. Unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Such a humiliating experience"

(Romania)

Not Verified | I had to wait in a queue for passport control along with other 300 people for hours. There was nobody working for passport control and everyone was actually waiting for someone to show up and start checking documents. Finally, after 1.5 hours, 2 men started checking the passports. After a while they decided to close again, although there were still many people waiting in line. There were no messages with info posted for the passengers. Nobody knew how long we were going to wait. I am never coming back to this airport. Such a humiliating experience. I do not recommend it. Not to mention lack of cleanliness, no water nor soap at the toilets. Exagerated prices for dutyfree, goods and drinks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"absolute rubbish"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As previous reviewers have stated, up until you get to passport control, it all seems okay, but then there is a huge queue and nobody at the desks. When questioned staff say ‘10 minutes’ but that has been the same answer for already 40 minutes. Restaurants consist of a rubbish snack bar with very few seats. Signs to a pizzeria lead you to a construction site. Absolute rubbish!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolute nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | An absolute nightmare, mostly because of its size. It is one of the most crowded airports I have ever travelled to. Stay away if you can. While agents do the best to assist you, there isn’t enough space to accommodate the number of flights and passengers. Checking in take more than one hour, renting a car more than two hours!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very long queues"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Very long queues especially for passport control at gates 19 to 22. Still had not opened just 50 minutes before departure. Overcrowded. Poor restaurants. Overall a very weak performance. I have visited 6 airports this year and this is by far the worst. Would not encourage me to return to Sicily.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews