Catania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It's so horrible it's nearly funny"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | It's so horrible it's nearly funny. Must be one of the worst airports in the world. Extremly bad staff, extremly nasty sellers, few shops with no or extremly expensive selections, Dirty, overcrowded, toilets closed, no seats and the staff working must have gone some sort of anti charming course. If you had a nice experience in Sicily, avoid Catania Airport. Very unpleasant last experience from Italy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the biggest problem is lack of seating"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | I've been in many airports and I don't think this one is really that bad, overall the biggest problem is lack of seating on arrival zone and the dirtiness, toilets really could be in a better shape. Q times were really fine and staff were nice and helpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is closed from 12-4am"

(Slovakia)

Not Verified | Arriving to the airport after midnight. They kicked us out of the airport as believe it or not the airport is closed from 12-4am. Not able to drink coffee, buy water or go to the restroom, everything was closed. Any cafeteria was even provided for people waiting for they first fly outside if the airport no restroom anywhere. After 4 when they again opened didn't want to let me in and were screaming as i was not having a flight, and I could not use the restroom. The only option was to wait outside of the airport all night. Welcome to Sicilia - looks like not an Europe with this customer service
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dirtiest airport I've ever seen"

(Albania)

Trip Verified | The dirtiest airport I've ever seen. No one cares about covid protocols. People smoke in the bathroom. Bars and places where food is served very messy and dirty.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airport in Europe"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The worst airport in Europe. No air-conditioning, no wifi access, all flights were delayed, I have never seen such dirty toilets and so much garbage everywhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"incompetence of police on departure"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Immigration control was easy. Very quick but a week later I have never encountered such useless people. Totally outside the airline's control. My flight to Gatwick was scheduled to leave at 13:30 and the checking process didn't start until 13:10 by two bored looking police officers. My week long holiday in Sicily was really good. The only bad thing was the incompetence of the police on departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A horrible and obviously discriminatory experience"

(Romania)

Not Verified | Outrageous! A horrible and obviously discriminatory experience. Passengers of 3 non-Schengen flights are left to wait in line for more than 45 minutes until someone from the staff arrives at the passport checkpoint. Of course, the plea continues with the mournful attitude of these people who, despite the situation, exchange impressions on WhatsApp and talk to each other. In addition, low cost airlines operating in Eastern Europe and other non-Schengen areas are assigned the worst ports and areas in the airport. I don’t care what contracts exist between the airport and the airlines, but I would suggest taking action in this regard.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This has to be one of the worst airports in Europe. The flight was half an hour delayed by the slow outbound passport check process. Very clearly the staff were being deliberately slow and extremely bureaucratic. The airline indicated that they would feedback to the airport management but having flown out of this airport many times I doubt anything will happen. The passport check agents were even asking passengers to provide alternate photo ID despite the lateness of the departure which was only because of this process. The airport is otherwise crowded and affected by bureaucratic slowness in all other aspects (although security checks aren't that bad).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"long queue for passport check"

(Italy)

Not Verified | One of the worst, long queue for passport check (more than 20 minutes) without possibility for elderly ones and for people with mobility problems to skip the queue ... everyone in a big, huge line. After this we waited another 40 minutes for luggage. Cleanliness not for an international airport standards.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly dreadful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is a truly dreadful airport. Check in and security were slow but by no means worse than many others. However, having gone through security there was an 80 minute queue to get through passport control. When asked why the delay the airport staff were rude and hostile. Facilities were generally poor and not up the standard you would expect from a European airport. Sicily and Catania are delightful but I wouldn't travel there again through Catania Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews