Catania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 43 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Appalling airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Appalling airport from start to finish. Inadequate signage, counters, boarding controls - everything was an absolute nightmare. I think it’s one of the worst airports I have ever visited. Staff also looked harassed and rude because they seemed aware of the hopeless conditions in which they worked. What a disaster.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disgrace of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This really is the most disgraceful airport in Europe, considering it’s the 6th busiest in Italy you would think there would be at least some standards but sadly not. On entering the airport I noticed the McDonald’s at the far end and not much else. Decided to just get through security and then have something to eat rather than going to McDonald’s there and then. Security was quick and I was looking forward to grabbing a bite to eat and maybe doing some shopping...the reality was quite different. Once through, you have a choice of two ‘deli bars’, a few small shops and that is literally it. There are nowhere near enough seats either. On seeing this, I decided I would head up and pay into the lounge instead so I could relax with a drink and a bite to eat. On arrival, I was told you don’t pay into the lounge but get access other ways (assuming this is first class ticket holders etc), I can’t say I was too disappointed as it was absolutely heaving with people and a lot were standing as again, not enough seating. In the end, I just sat and read a book until close to boarding time. Gate 20 is through passport control unlike most of the other gates and once through you can’t get back out. Unfortunately I found out my plane was delayed only after going through pp control so was stuck in a greenhouse like area with one tiny shop and that’s it. I love Sicily and will definitely return but it absolutely will not be via this disgrace of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Europe's worst airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport should be nominated for Europe's worst airport of 2019. I've traveled extensively in my life, so did my wife, and Catania airport is comparable with those you find in the poorest parts of third-world countries. Just one of the many tortures passengers are put through: The connection between the gate and the aeroplane is operated by 6 flights of stairs, attached to the exterior of the airport building. There was no elevator. Elderly and children were exposed to 40 Celsius for about 40 minutes for lack of coordination. The criminals who manage this airport should not be allowed to operate such a business.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"chaos at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrendous and dangerous chaos at passport control. One out of six manned passport control booths to service a queue of circa 500 people in departures on gates 19-22. No control, organisation and passport control and airport security knowingly allowed the situation to build over 2 hours. Never known a situation like it, dangerous and negligent. Rude staff in cafe, appalling food and hygiene standards, utter disbelief this is the parting memory from an otherwise wonderful holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I’d avoid this airport at all cost"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is like a third world airport. Restrooms are poorly maintained. Many toilets did not flush. no toilet paper. Disgusting. I’d avoid this airport at all cost. The people who maintain this airport should be fired.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"far too small to handle the number of passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I have ever been to in my life. Absolute chaos and far too small to handle the number of passengers. We arrived 2 hours 20 mins before our flight and we are still here queuing. We have not sat down the whole time. First we queued an hour to use the Bag Drop. Only four staff at bag drop/check in desks. In reality it didn’t matter whether you had already checked in or not it was all the same queue. Staff continuously making sub queue-jump-queues the whole time too, for people whose flights were leaving imminently. This slowed the queue down even more and meant that they were continuously calling out sub queues as the main queue moved nowhere! Chaos. Then queued for security. Then for passport control (have never queued separately for passport control when departing an airport). There are very few seats when you get through to the gate so queued again at the gate for 20 minutes - and counting. In short, awful airport very poorly run, leave lots of time!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not too much after security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Small airport, not too much after security. You can not buy cigarettes in the duty free, but can do in another shop. Toilet was dirty. The queue for the passport control was like a never ending story, took 25 minutes. Staff could improve their english knowledge. There was one very friendly young guy at security, the rest was rubbish and even dreadfull. Not a smile or anything. Boarding was ok.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Useless airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Shocking! Flying with EasyJet to London Luton we approached the check in 2.10 hours before departure to be told we had to go to the back of the queue again because the flight wouldn’t be open more than 2 hours prior to the flight. This was in a clear contradiction to the departure board, which told us to check in! Useless airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"second time with delay of 5 hours"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Second time in CTA and second time with delay of 5 hours. This time with a lost connection and absolutely unhelpful staff that in the case of a delay disappear and don't answer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of business acumen"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | It is astounding that management at Catania airport has not got the business acumen to display a large sign at the passport control for Gates 19-22 (described as overflow Gates on signage in the airport) advising passengers that there are no restaurant, coffee and barely any toilet facilities once you pass passport control. There were hundreds of passengers crammed into holding area for these gates with nothing other than a small duty-free shop (you could eat chocolate or cantucci) and a drinks and coffee vending machine. There were families and older passengers with small children who could not sit down let alone get anything to eat- that lack of business acumen by the airport managment is clearly impacting the restaurants and other retailers that would benefit from the extra business if the airport managment had the foresight to advise passengers of the lack of facilities at these gates. In addition, the airport management are damaging the reputation of Sicilian Tourism to treat visitors in this manner and for me and my wife it certainly took the good out of what was a really wonderful holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 43 Reviews