Cardiff Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 104 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"would highly advise people to stay away"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The service there was horrible, we waited so long to check our luggage and when we did we had 2 kg extra which we shouldn't have had, they didn't inform this information to us and kept the luggage and they charged us £50 and when we said we would minimize the weight of the luggage. They charged us this amount for only 2 kg and it was only 1 luggage, they didn't inform us and took the luggage, we clearly said we could take things out to minimize the weight but they said too late. We didn't know it weighed more but we even asked if we could lose the weight but they didn't listen. Overall because of this, I do not think this airport is really good and in the future I will go to a better airport, I do not recommend this airport to anyone and would highly advise people to stay away.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"screaming orders out at passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Monday 5th August, 6.25am flight to Corfu. Approaching baggage/security check all we could here was this lady screaming orders out at passengers as she directed them to different counters. Short stocky blonde lady, early 50's take a look around at your colleagues, they were clearly disturbed as much as passengers with the way you were speaking to us. As I passed through the scanner myself, I said to two other members of staff "Why is she behaving like this"? They genuinely shrugged their shoulders. Is this regular behaviour from this lady, if so, someone put her on afternoon shifts as she is clearly not a "morning person". The only positive I can say about her is she is in no way discriminative, everyone got the same treatment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"came up against the most officious security officer"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I’d love to able to write something positive about this, my local airport but alas this isn’t the occasion. Travelling with my son who is autistic but in no way challenging in his behaviour we came up against the most officious security officer in the passenger search area. My son was wearing his highly visible “autism puzzles” wristband which proclaims they are working in partnership with Cardiff Airport. All was progressing well until the officer demanded my son push a tray being used by another passenger forward into the search machine. My son had already pushed his own tray forward and was confused by this brusque instruction and when I interceded the officer’s response was it wasn’t his job to do this. He then petulantly turned on me demanding I empty my pocket as this sharp eyed Sherlock had observed a handkerchief which he insisted must be x-rayed. This experience encapsulates the mountain CWL have to climb to rid themselves of the entitled and self important attitude which is now all pervasive since they were recipients of the ill judged handout from the Welsh government. It is difficult to avoid the conclusion that CWL’s desire to facilitate the travel of disabled passengers is nothing more than a shallow marketing exercise which clearly hasn’t been communicated effectively to their staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not even got enough parking"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tried to book 2 weeks parking in August. Nothing available. This is an airport that is trying to increase passenger numbers, but they have not even got enough parking for the low number of passengers they have got at the moment. Rubbish service, they need to put someone in charge who knows what they are doing. I checked the same dates at Bristol - 4 options available. Wonder where I will fly from next time??
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Terminal Signs 12345
no
2/10

"staff were not able to control the passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport experience ever! I was taking a flight from Cardiff to Faro with my two children and husband. When we arrived around 4am for our flight at 6am the airport was the busiest I;d ever seen it, there were about three other flights all going off around the same time as us, queues were massive and people seem very stressed. I went straight to airport assistance as we had requested this for my son who is autistic, Cardiff proudly portray themselves as working in partnership with autism. I was given very bad advice at special assistance, I was told that there was no one available to help me at present and as it was so busy I may be better off just joining the queue unassisted. I did this and when we finally checked in our baggage we joined another extremely large que for security and passport control. During this queue I again noticed a section for special assistance and so I told a member of staff, he then guided me through a gate and placed me right by the queue for scanners, there was only one working and at this point we suffered at least three passengers directing abuse towards myself my daughter and my husband. I have never before been the target of such anger merely because staff were not able to control the passengers and perform their roles adequately, I had to argue with about three people justifying my sons disability. Once I got through passport control I complained to staff who just offered me some sympathy! In Faro airport the opposite was true, I received special assistance from beginning to end with the staff member staying with us through the whole process. I am ashamed to be British and ashamed to be Welsh!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrendous experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely horrendous experience! Never in all the years I’ve been travelling have I been so utterly disgusted by poor service in an airport. Queues for an hour at check in! Lady at the desk didn’t have a clue what she was doing. Added to that, never will I fly with Ryanair again! The first and definitely the last.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rubbish service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rubbish service. Tried to book car park, nothing offered for meet and greet or long stay, only off site with Holiday Extras in August 2019. Do not believe this. Will fly from Bristol next time as they are much more efficient!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"found the airport to be quite user friendly"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I traveled into and out of Cardiff Airport in June 2019. I found the airport to be quite user friendly and compared to some of the reports I've read a pleasant surprise. A couple of negatives the one pound coins needed for the baggage trolleys seems rather tight and petty. Although it's close to Cardiff and the M4 it isn't easy to get to and from unless you have a car. Even in a car there seem endless roundabouts and traffic lights to get through. Check in was fine, I arrived in plenty of time. The security on departure seems over zealous compared to say Heathrow and would if the Airport were busier lead to very long queues. The shopping was okay, toilets were adequate, seating in the new departure lounge was fine, I didn't try the food outlets or WiFi. As I said at the start not an amazing airport but it did the job it is after all a small regional airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"refused to use the self check in"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We have recently returned from a our holiday in Sorrento, travelling in a group of six. On departing the Uk, we were absolutely appalled, by the changes made to the check in procedure. We arrived two hours before, the queue to check in was nearly up to the entrance door to the airport. “Self check in”! What is it coming to for a package holiday, there was one check in desk open with a lady sitting doing nothing, as this desk was only for people who had not checked in on line. There were also people travelling to meet a cruise ship, where a member of staff took forever to sift through a load of luggage tags for each person travelling, when he could not find something for a passenger, he left the desk for ten minutes, whilst three other members of staff just stood around talking and doing nothing. I complained to one if the ladies, who finally stepped in to get the queue moving. When we travelled last September, there were two check in desks open, two staff and no queue! Now four staff plus one on desk, and a complete nightmare, I fail to see how this is an improvement. I refused to use the self check in machines and requested assistance, not a great start to our holiday. I am travelling to Tenerife on 5th July, and am dreading the check in, I have never felt so disappointed in Cardiff airport. I thought baggage collect time was bad, but this is a whole new level. I have never been one to complain, however felt I had to write to tell you about our experience, In the hope improvements will be made....Bring back the old check in procedure, it worked.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a shocking experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shockingly bad arrival procedure. You have to walk for 15 minutes to get to passport control only to find the toilets just before are closed. Passport control was a joke, mine didn't work on the self scan so I was referred to somebody to check it who didn't even look at my face before sending me through. Finally able to use a toilet 25 minutes after getting off the plane. Baggage took another 15 minutes to come out and onto an belt which had out of order on it which was very confusing for everybody. Overall a shocking experience for an international airport and not one I'll use again despite only living 12 miles away!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no