Cape Town Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. Entering the country took 2.5hrs in a queue after travelling for 13hrs, departures as bad with queues of 1.5hrs to get through security. Seriously, for an international airport I’m disgusted.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Longest I’ve waited anywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Waited in queue for 2 hours for passport control after getting off an 11 hour flight. There were only 4 of the 18 desks open. Longest I’ve waited anywhere in the world and really bad first impression.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Received a lovely welcome"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Received a lovely welcome from airport staff the moment I stepped off the plane. Several international flights arrived together meaning passport control queue was long, however it was well managed and moved quickly. Got a South African SIM for phone from very helpful Vodacom sales assistant directly outside arrivals area. Car hire pick up slow, but only because computer system needed restarting and staff apologetic for the wait. Overall a very hassle-free experience from friendly, relaxed personnel - they could teach their counterparts in Jo'burg a thing or two!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"no way to go back out"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Line up for early morning flight was not long at all. The scam to watch out for is tax refund for visitors from other countries. We were told at check-in that tax refund happens after passport verification. So we went through security and passport verification. Went up to a counter clearly labeled as tax refund. We were then told the paperwork has to happen before security check-in. Also there is no way to go back out! Don't expect the folks at the tax refund desk to be helpful. Simply kiss that amount good bye.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"light, bright and airy"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Arrival 9 am, 28 August on Singapore Airlines from Singapore via Johannesburg. As the number of passengers disembarking was small and then seemed to be no other international arrivals at this time we sailed through immigration, luggage collection and customs, from leaving aircraft to in arrivals hall less than 20 minutes. We then went upstairs to check in for our flight to Port Elizabeth. This was ok and only took 10 minutes to get through security. Not much to look at or buy airside. Bus to aircraft. Departed for Singapore on 11 am flight on 9 September. Left car at Avis and had a porter cart our luggage to check in. It is about 5 minutes walk, but I'm glad it wasn't raining as there is not much cover. Check in was very quick and there was no one waiting (!) at security and no one waiting (!) at immigration, so we were in the lounge 3 minutes after checking in. The international departures is light, bright and airy with a good view of the airport. Not a big selection of food and beverages places and limited shopping but quite adequate. I was last at Cape Town airport in December 2000 and the rebuild leaves only small bits of the original terminal. This is a great airport for entering and leaving South Africa. But - take note - changing money at the airport is as complicated as becoming as astronaut. This is not the airport's fault but the fact that it took longer to change $500 to ZAR than it did for both arrival and departure formalities makes me wonder what happens to all the information collected from people changing money.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"I can not complain"

(Czech Republic)

Not Verified | Rychlé odbavení - ceny dostupné - žádná komplikace. Přílet i odlet proběhl naprosto bez problémů - nemůžu nic vytknout,personál ochotný a letiště čisté. - zásuvka na dobití telefonu (nemohl jsem nic najít). - Quick check-in - Prices available - no complications. Arrival and departure was absolutely no problem - I can not complain, staff willing and the airport clean. - socket to charge the phone (I could not find anything).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"perfectly adequate airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a perfectly adequate airport. Its really positive reputation may have raised my expectations rather high going in, though, so I have to admit to being a tad underwhelmed. Arriving was easy, and I sailed through immigration, baggage claim, and customs. It then took me a while to find the counter for my airport transfer in the rather confusing arrivals hall, but people were very helpful and friendly. When it was time to depart, getting from the curb to the gate went smoothly. Once I was in the departure area, though, there was not that much on offer: a few smallish shops and one central bar/cafe totally lacking in character (the amiable waitstaff notwithstanding). To be fair, there was a sign indicating that renovations were ongoing. It was hard to determine the extent of the area being developed. Here is hoping that it is extensive and that the end result will be worthy and more representative of this fantastic city and country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"People were missing flights"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Leave plenty of time as there is a very long slow queue after security for passport control in departures. Took over an hour and half to get through this one stage. People were missing flights and there’s no information to let you know what to expect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"queue stretched back 35-40 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | At 17.00, Feb 24th 2018. The passport queue stretched back 35-40 minutes to virtually the baggage scanning. There are 14 passport booths. Remarkably they had a paltry four of them open. Various airport staff observed the ridiculous queue but nothing changed. There are more than 4 immigration officials in Cape Town airport. They can’t produce some “specific to this day” excuse because they know that the same old flights go every day and the same queuing experience often happens. The airlines, and indeed the retail outlets should complain bitterly, they are paying customers. This is a country where labour costs are not prohibitive so sorting this sort of issue in any case. The contrast to experiences in oriental Asia where airport staff would be agast to see such a poor impression being given of their country could not be more stark. Get it sorted and show some damn pride in your country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"let down by dreadfully slow immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a good airport let down by dreadfully slow immigration, both on arrival and departure. There just weren’t enough desks staffed for the number of passengers arriving and departing. It’s a shame because all other aspects – check in, security and baggage reclaim – were very quick and efficient. In the international departures area there is a good range of shops, but only one restaurant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews