Cancun Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 59 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff very helpful"

(France)

Trip Verified | Departed from terminal 4 on a early Aeromexico flight. The terminal is very clean, and the staff very helpful. The queues were non-existent, but it was 5 am so not a very busy period.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Don’t buy tequila at duty-free"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Don’t buy the tequila at the duty-free shops here if you have a transit. My husband and I asked the lady at the duty-free shop if we could take it with us through the security because we had connected flight in Houston, US. She said yes if it’s wrapped in a special bag by them. Well, we had to throw away two bottles of tequila while in the US, because the bottles didn’t pass the test, it was something with the container. So buy earlier and put them in your check-in luggage. Too bad the personnel at the duty-free shops didn’t inform us correctly. It is a waste.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airport at any cost"

(United States)

Not Verified | Do yourself a favor, avoid this airport at any cost. You can spend your vacation at more civilized place. We waited 2 hours just to pass the immigration. Airport staff are unhelpful and very rude and neglected. Very poor system and no mangement at all. These people must have a sick pleasure watching thousands of people lining up to get into the line. I wish I could have a return flight right there. I am going to file a complaint to airport, people who suffered at Cancun airport on 3/10 Sunday from 12-3pm should do the same. I am going to fight until airport officials apologise to me officially.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I will never go back"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had the worst airport experience of my life arriving at Cancun on Feb. 17, 2019. The line to get through immigration was extraordinary. But, even more extraordinary than the length of the line was the number of officers they had processing travelers. In a room packed to the gills with what had to be more than 5,000 people, I counted less than 10 officers, and maybe 20 empty booths. Further, there was absolutely no organization and the lines to just get into a line, were total scrums - nobody to help, nobody to direct people. The crowd was hot, angry and getting more desperate with every passing minute. The prospects of a stampede or fights were palpable. People were passing out and kids were wailing and fainting. What is really inconceivable is that immigration knew long before what volume of people would be arriving that day and time (obviously every flight is scheduled long before and they receive passenger manifests) but the immigration service was still so unprepared. We waited for at least 2.5 hours, but we were lucky - I have no doubt that many people waited 4,5 & 6 hours that day. It was disgrace and I will never go back. Why would I risk starting off what is supposed to be stress-free, relaxing vacation with that kind of experience when there are plenty of beautiful beaches in the Caribbean?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"not friendly to breastfeeding mothers"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is not friendly to breastfeeding mothers who travel without their infant. I have travelled before with my breastpump and ice pack for milk with no issue. This time instead of bringing my milk back I pumped and dumped but wanted to bring my ice pack back with me in case I needed to pump and bring milk back from the airport and they would not let me and made me throw my ice pack away.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"customs line takes forever"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrival at Cancun Airport is poor. Customs line takes forever and you are not allowed to look at your phone while in line. It’s so bad and takes so long that it is a deterrent for us to travel back to Mexico.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"very busy everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Terminal 4, opened Oct 2017. Our bags were delayed by 4 hours due to airport hold door being stuck. The baggage area has a very poor mobile signal, even for local carriers, no Wi-Fi, no public phones and no facilities that were open apart from a toilet. As usual lack of info caused everyone stress. I think there was an ATM was was not working. The luggage carousel were very short. The majority of the car hire booths were closed including our, Mex car, with no information on how to contact them. A badged guide gave us some assistance but I am sure he was complacit with the taxi overcharging we suffered so beware! There is supposed to a inter terminal shuttle every half hour, if it turns up it was a small minibus. Signage overall is very poor. On departing we arrived again at terminal 4. The only place to find a seat if your bag drop etc is not open is the restaurant or Starbucks, again no public Wi-Fi or public phones about. Getting through security was easy but why everything is manual in a new terminal beggars belief, the trays are stacked near the x ray machines so help yourself, push them to the machine. The trays are stacked and then someone has to trolley them back, not efficient for a modern airport. Through the usual duty free shopping arcade, priced in US $ then into the terminal. More shops, food places which seemed expensive and it was very busy everywhere, only real seating was at gate areas. Again no Wi-Fi airside! We were given a survey to and asked about Wi-Fi, said there was a reason but they weren’t saying what! No water fountains anywhere that I could find, obviously want you to spend money on more plastic waste.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
4/10

"no signage or map to help you out"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Arrived at terminal 2 and the appearance is not the best, it seems a little dirty and run down. There are going to be a lot of people selling you tours, taxi rides and car rentals, but just ignore them. Terminals are far from each other and there’s no reliable way to move between each other (everyone told us there’s a shuttle that goes around every 30 minutes) so taxi drivers take advantage of the situation and charge up to 30 USD to move you to another terminal, and there’s no signage or map to help you out. Expect most things to be twice as expensive as anywhere else, so bring some snacks with yourself if you don’t have access to a VIP lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"food options expensive but of reasonable quality"

(United States)

Verified Review | Extremely busy at the airport and check-in at preferred counters for AA was fairly slow. Similarly slow through immigration and security. Departure hall very full and seemingly at capacity. Long queues for ladies toilets and few places to sit. Food options expensive but of reasonable quality. Boarding announcements were difficult to hear over the noise of the terminal. Didn't detect any WiFi service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"cost of any food at the airport is ridiculously high"

(United States)

Verified Review | The cost of any food at Cancun airport is ridiculously high, comparable to Switzerland prices! $17 US for a burger is outrageous. And all food places charge the same. There is no need to gouge visitors so badly, and leaves a negative last impression as we depart. For an inexpensive country it is really fleecing visitors. Add to that no public bus service to the airport and it seems that they grab every last dollar they can from tourists. There are many other places to visit in the world that don't take such advantage of visitors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews