Canberra Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 35 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Well, that was horrid"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arriving is easy, everything is close by and there are rarely any crowds. Departure. Well, that was horrid. The security belt is obviously designed for business people on a day trip. Only enough room for a couple of trays. So I was trying to balance three trays in my arms to get them across to the belt with others cutting in front of me. Then my bags went through. I could see the security lady pointing at my e cigarette and battery on her screen, now I know they are allowed in carry ons, however she had a young man search my bag. At no point did anyone talk to me. I told him where these were. Meanwhile, it confused me as I did everything right. I felt like a criminal and I was embarrassed. Finally, when that was sorted I looked for the water fountain to fill my bottle. Gone. So I had to buy water. Sat in the hard seats then and eager to leave this disappointing airport. They have a huge sign saying they want to be the best small airport - they are dreaming. The airport is not tourist-friendly - it is probably best only for business people on day hops
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Professional courteous security"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Professional courteous security. Definitely a credit to the management and the leadership team. Well done. Definitely recommend the team for their professional approach and execution of their duties
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"sloppy security checkpoint staff"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Nice spacious airport let down by having really rude, unkempt and sloppy security checkpoint staff. Dining options were quite good but could do with an additional bookshop / general store.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"nothing much to do"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A lovely small airport but needs more signage. On arrival we had no idea where to go to get our bags but common sense told me it was downstairs. There should have been clear directions. We went down steps as we didn’t know where the escalators were. The bags arrived pretty fast. We hired a car, all hire car places are just outside the terminal building. Departure was easier. Security is not well set up as there is nowhere to prepare yourself for the scanning. It must cause delays at times. However there is a significant boredom factor with nothing much to do. However the big windows looking out to the runway are nice. The washrooms were clean and there were places to fill a water bottle. Limited choice of food options but it is just a small airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"service is terrible"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Nice new shiny airport. But service is terrible. Parking and pick ups are confusing. Having to wait 40 minutes for my bags after my flight is not good enough, get your act together Canberra.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Hopeless for a solo traveller"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Hopeless for a solo traveller with multiple suitcases. Rental car office located a distance from terminal. Can enter easily (step and no self opening door). Drop off rental car need to access car park via a lane labelled no entry authorised vehicles only. The boom arm lifted though. No trolleys in carpark. No trolleys in entry area. No continuous bench area to unpack laptop, steelcaps etc into multiple baskets then slide onto conveyer, must lift each desperately. People were very helpful. Loved the interactive screen in arrivals (enjoyed watching the kids have fun). Airport very much designed for business travellers with carry on only. Poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed by confusing parking"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Picked up a relative from the airport this morning was quite disappointed by the confusing parking arrangement. There is a large area for pickups but it was blocked off with directions pushing people into the car park which then charges you. Bad vibes from an otherwise seemingly nice looking Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"Didn’t have to wait long"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Easy airport both arrivals and departure being quite small yet very attractive. Didn’t have to wait long for my bag. Hire car offices are all outside the terminal, but very easy to negotiate finding the car and the exit. Returning, security staff were pleasant however there was next to no room to prepare bags for the conveyer belt which was inefficient. Directions, didn’t see them, although not really an issue being a compact terminal. Every time I’ve been here my flight out has been delayed and Sunday night was no exception. The toilets are kept clean and very modern however there is little to do there except stare blankly out the large windows to the tarmac. We had to board (Virgin) via narrow short steps being a prop plane, which could be an issue for some.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"staff could be a little more friendly"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Whilst the airport is new and spacious, staff could be a little more friendly and helpful. Poor services with food and beverage during the departure process. Coming in early morning there was a long queue to clear customs. Perhaps additional staff so passengers don't have to wait for 30 minutes. First impressions were bad. Then to top that off the flight crew from Singapore Airlines tried to express through customs and were sent back to the end of the line of waiting passengers. Really!? I've never seen this occur anywhere in the world. The staff have been working all night and do this for a living. I'm sure not one passenger would begrudge them exiting quickly. Get your act together Canberra. You're an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Get your act together Canberra"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Whilst the airport is new and spacious, staff could be a little more friendly and helpful. Poor services with food and beverage during the departure process. Coming in early morning there was a long queue to clear customs. Perhaps additional staff so passengers don't have to wait for 30 minutes. First impressions were bad. Then to top that off the flight crew from Singapore Airlines tried to express through customs and were sent back to the end of the line of waiting passengers. I've never seen the his occur anywhere in the world. The staff have been working all night and do this for a living. I'm sure not one passenger would begrudge them exiting quickly. Get your act together Canberra. You're an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews