Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 172 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Calgary has some of the worst security staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ridiculous security measures. Global entry means nothing. US citizen returning to the US from Calgary. Chosen for electronic screening pre-security and was asked to remove the plastic protective cover from my laptop. It wasn't enough to remove it from the laptop case. I have travelled a fair amount and have never been searched to this extent or seen or heard of anyone else having to do this. I had a hard time removing the plastic snap on protectors so I had no problem calling for the manager to help me get it off since the security staff member would not assist. I went through the regular security check with my bag and got my bag checked again for baked goods. I disliked the attitude of the security staff doing the electronic check. Very very annoying. Going through the Customs officer was a breeze as usual. It's just getting there through security that continues to be an irritating ordeal. In my experience, Calgary has some of the worst security staff in all of my international travel. When I say the worst, I mean the attitude and the power mongering.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"some of the worst security staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ridiculous security measures. Global entry means nothing. US citizen returning to the US from Calgary. Chosen for electronic screening pre-security and was asked to remove the plastic protective cover from my laptop. It wasn't enough to remove it from the laptop case. I have travelled a fair amount and have never been searched to this extent or seen or heard of anyone else having to do this. I had a hard time removing the plastic snap on protectors so I had no problem calling for the manager to help me get it off since the security staff member would not assist. I went through the regular security check with my bag and got my bag checked again for baked goods. I disliked the attitude of the security staff doing the electronic check. Very very annoying. Going through the Customs officer was a breeze as usual. It's just getting there through security that continues to be an irritating ordeal. In my experience, Calgary has some of the worst security staff in all of my international travel. When I say the worst, I mean the attitude and the power mongering.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Long queues to fill your water bottle"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The water in this airport is undeniable! Long queues to fill your water bottle, a basic, only to find that you can't drink it as it tastes so bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"very stressful start to our vacation"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We took our granddaughter on her first international trip. Security had her so afraid I thought I might have a meltdown to contend with. Two female staff took turns YELLING for everyone to remove their belt, shoes, etc. WHY? We felt like we were suddenly in the military. It is possible to be friendly and kind yet firm when necessary. We understand some people are difficult or don't listen. SOME. Not everyone. It was a very stressful start to our vacation. Quite disappointing considering there are many kind volunteers and staff at this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"inadequate wheelchairs and staff"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My husband required mobility assistance. In Phoenix at departure the assistance was amazing. Calgary was extremely disappointing due to inadequate wheelchairs and staff. We would have waited thirty minutes for assistance. I chose to push my husband myself. The walk is unnecessarily long without any electric carts to assist. We passed an unmanned cart being charged - no one in attendance. When we departed on Sept 22 the lack of seating at the gate was beyond reason. It was like this last year and despite previous complaints we see no improvements.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Constantly under construction"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Horrible airport. Constantly under construction both inside and out. Usurious airport improvement fee. Terrible design. Terrible internal systems. Plan on pulling your hair out before you are done. Avoid if you can!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Wow wasn’t expecting this!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Upon arrival from the US we enter an empty wing, we come across a sliding door. It doesn’t automatically open. One man decided to pull them apart with his hands after a few moments so we could get through. Walking in a direction to customs (just guessing), all machines are down. Fill out via paper form fine. Customs guy showed no emotion, almost like a robot. Walk out, literally no one. Ask the one employee I find where’s the Uber pick up, she gives me the wrong directions. They do not allow pickup for arrivals. Coming back to go home to the US and immediately greeted with a line at check in since we always have an issue as my last name contains an apostrophe. Somehow make it through (do not check bag) to security. No TSA pre check. There is literally only one security line for all American flights. I forgot to take off my shoes and they send me through the wrong metal detector. The security agent somehow didn’t notice me when I walked through so I had to take off my shoes and go through again. Never seen a worse security line. Customs officer seemed out of it and didn’t stamp any of our passports or even check my mom’s. Make it through and am greeted by a duty free shop with no signs. Walk past that after yelling (couldn’t see any workers of course) how do I get out of here and see a Burger King and a Starbucks. Starbucks worker was nice and efficient. Make it to the terminal. Seating fills up fast and you’re cooking in a glass box. Make it on airplane. No ground crew so we had to wait 20 minutes for that. I held my breath till we got in the air. I was so afraid the flight was going to be cancelled like it was for those going to Vegas. Thank god I am out of there. Do not check bags and if you need assistance, completely avoid. How sad for Calgary, will not be visiting again. Just fly into Edmonton and drive. Also the rental car service is 3x the price compared to rental car services in downtown Calgary. Wow wasn’t expecting this!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Very inefficient"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst security check we’ve ever experienced. Very inefficient. They patted down 3 people and held up the entire line until each person was done. Then they had a queue of bags that had already gone through that had to be rechecked and only one person checking them. When they finally got to my laptop and cpap they said the cpap had to go through again even though the person at the start said it didn’t need to come out. We’ve traveled all over the world and never have seen it this bad. New training and procedures are needed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst airport experience ever. The workers and security personnel are completely unprofessional and rude. Barking orders at people without providing direction and in an unfriendly manner. Very, very, terrible service provided from the YYC airport. Every other airport that I have been to around the world has not been this inefficient or unprofessional. Do better, management, and train your employees properly. I departed for my flight with my husband in the AM of July 8th, 2022.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport security are horrible"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Calgary Airport security are horrible. This review would be full of expletives but I don’t want it to get taken down. Flew into Calgary and had to exit the secure area to try and change a flight. I was travelling with a small potted rose (a gift for my mother with sentimental value) and I called CTSA prior to flying out of ottawa and they said I can request a manual search to avoid the plant going through the x-ray machine (which causes mutations in plants). The Ottawa staff happily did the manual search. In Calgary, when I went through security, the workers at security did not believe me that CTSA said it was OK, and after much back and forth I was forced to put it through the x-ray machine, despite this not being an issue AT ALL at the Ottawa Airport. One worker even said “I’ve seen plenty (of plants) go through and they’re all fine.” Obviously this worker doesn’t see any damage to plants because she only sees them for the 5min it takes to go through security, not the weeks and months after when the real damage is exposed. I hope you’re happy you double checked that dangerous pot of dirt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no