Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 119 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"design is a disaster"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ridiculous long queue from international departure. Only one scanner. Disorganized chaos. They feed any and all priority boarding ahead of 200 other people with a continuing growing line. Common sense would have at least 2 scanners operating. I dread having to use the Calgary airport. The design is a disaster. Shiny clean and new does not take the place of safe fast and efficient. You need to add another 1 hour to your schedule if your stuck using this airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a failure of design"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I am dumbfounded every time I enter the newly renovated and extended YYC. I had truly hoped for a world class facility. Unfortunately, it is a failure of design and engineering. It is am embarrassment for a capable and innovative city. Either one must be willing to walk long distances or ride a weird and in frequent commuter service with pedestrian crosswalks that confuse most travellers. I am presently in the Vancouver Airport and, regrettably, I recommend it to all travellers over the Calgary airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"what an unnecessary hassle this was"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is very nice and clean however on a different topic, I came to visit from the states, it was the worst customs/border patrol experience I have ever had. If you’re ever visiting Calgary from outside of Canada and fly in, you better have a story to tell them about your plans because I was stuck here for an hour after my flight landed due to them thinking I was suspicious for whatever reason when I was just coming to Calgary for a solo tourist adventure trip and to see a few friends. Meanwhile I travel to British Columbia frequently and have never had an experience that took this long to clear. I told the border patrol lady at the kiosk as much information as I could to describe the purpose of my trip and she made me go through secondary inspection, while they can see on my passport I have visited the country multiple times and have never had any past issues getting in on previous trips, I also have a clean record. Thankfully I was cleared after I went through the secondary inspection and that officer I spoke to ended up being fair with me but what an unnecessary hassle this was. Gave me a headache. I understand they have a job to do but YYC border patrol needs to chill out. I’ve never felt this uncomfortable coming to Canada nor have the border patrol officers questioned me in such an intimidating way before.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"terminal with signage issues"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Yesterday I was connecting from Las Vegas to Kelowna through Calgary. After scanning my passport and declaration document I continued past a arrogant border security agent and headed straight instead of turning left for connecting flights. I walked 2 steps past the ropes right past another security officer when my wife behind me said I was going the wrong way and need to go left. When I proceeded back the other way the security guard with a snicker had told me I could not go back. I asked him if he was joking and he was not. He told me that I had crossed the "imaginary" line and I could not go back. The border security agent came over (from 10 feet) away and verified I crossed the imaginary line and could not go back. I told both of them they were crazy. I was than directed through secondary security where the Chaos continued. I cannot believe the absolute waste of tax payer money I had witnessed through this experience. If this is what Canada has turned into, it is one big joke, and a personal bank machine to Government. I was told by another security agent this is a new terminal with signage issues that no one will address because they don't want to admit a mistake.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"final product this disfunctional"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Unbelievable in this day and age with all the fantastic airport examples in the world that Calgary ended up with a final product this disfunctional. Ridiculous distances between connections. Signage is poor and confusing. Barely time to stop for anything to buy even with a reasonable connection time. Customs was an absolute confusing mess last time through from the US, even with Nexus. I live in BC and often connected through the Calgary hub over the years to save time in the air travelling east. My advice for Bc residents connecting is go through Vancouver. That will be my first choice from now on until Calgary figures out how to make things better
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Wake up YYC Airport!"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This is the absolute worst airport I have ever been through for security. I live in Calgary and have Nexus and Gobal Entry which doesn’t matter at this airport. It is absolute chaos! They ask you to put your laptop in a bin and off it goes then another bin for purse and shoes. Getting to the other end there are 15 Apple laptops and people are just picking up random laptops. Every time I come through the new international terminal I ask why do they not respect Nexus and have a separate line and I get some clever response from one of the rude security people. Wake up YYC Airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Very impressed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Nice airport. Very impressed that they have named the people managing vehicle traffic as ambassadors. Particularly good experience one staff member who was polite, engaging, respectful of the circumstances of passengers being picked up. Great employee!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"It was absolute chaos"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | YYC's new terminal is not up to par considering it was just built. The multiple gates leaving from one area is confusing if there are two flights going ahead of you as the screen doesn't show your gate (this happened the last time I was there). Also, a message was playing over the PA system for another flight at the gate as our flight was trying to board, the flight attendant had to walk out and scream over the announcement for the other flight to get zones coming up. It was absolute chaos. The area is also only equipped with about 8 outlets on one row of double sided seats. For the large area and multiple flights it is completely inadequate and passengers who all use their phones constantly were frustrated. I could understand if this was an older area, but newly purpose built is another story. The food options in this end are limited. There is a small stand with chips, drinks and the usual and the sit down bistro by the C gates has a small menu of foods. I was right by the kitchen and couldn't hear anything but microwave buttons so I asked before I ordered about one of the items I was interested in and they said it was microwaved. I don't know about all the options. I opted for the Soup, it was ok. Good point about this bistro is almost every table has a stand with usb chargers. Staff were friendly as well. Airport staff were friendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"tremendous inefficiency"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Easily the worst large airport in the country. Total confusion and long delays always in security. Huge walks to get to gates due to poor layout. Outdoor tarmac walks in brutal weather. No direction on confusing gate locations. Nexus line waits behind other non pre screened passengers. Why does Calgary refuse to participate in the pre-screening of airline travellers? Tremendous inefficiency at one of the handful of Canadian airports that in theory supports the program. Clearly untrained staff. Why does screening take so long if few of these employees have a clue? Just let everyone through with a wave. We pay an airport improvement fee? For what?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"need a lot of time to make a connection"

(Cayman Islands)

Trip Verified | Air Canada booked me on a flight from Edmonton to Calgary on AC8149, with a connection to Chicago on AC4022. Bags were ticketed to Chicago, but they only issued tickets to Calgary and said that it was a United flight US5656 to Chicago and they would issue the tickets in Calgary. I got to Calgary, very long long run to the exit and United check in, and they had already closed the flight and gone (one hour before departure). No flight, no bags no airline staff in Calgary, airport hotel stay, left next morning early on United but no bags at Chicago. Missed Cayman connection, another airport stay and one week later still no bags from United or Air Canada. You need a lot of time to make a connection at Calgary, and check that Air Canada are not selling you a code share flight. Never again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no