Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 119 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"only one line doing the security checking"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Longest lines you have ever seen in your entire life! There was a 1:30 hour line at the security screening gate where waiting passengers upwards of an hour got into a verbal altercation with the airport personnel, almost to the level of a fight. They had been standing in one of the longest lines I have ever seen. Why was this line so large? Very simple. There was only one line doing the security checking for all these passengers, creating a bottle neck. Its obvious on Sunday mornings Calgarians do not bother to come to work until much later. They just make the passengers pay for it, by holding them in monstrously long lines. Why would they care? Calgary Airport would rank as the worst airport I have ever been to. (A) Unfriendly (B) Unhelpful (C) Do not care about international trallers (D) Are there to harass international travellers. I would not recommend Calgary Airport to anyone, anywhere. No Directions, no guidance, just sheer incompetence on display. Abject unapologetic incompetence.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"all beyond expectations"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the best Canadian airport I have been to till date. The ambience, officials working, cleanliness, police officers and food stalls were all beyond expectations. The battery operated buses between gates are an absolute delight. The driver would even smile and wave at you if you're taking a picture. Keep it up.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"staff on a power trip"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | After waiting in an exceedingly long line at Calgary security, I was pulled aside by a very young inexperienced girl with no common sense. She took all my lipsticks & travel size items and dumped them into one of the dirty trays that all the boots etc are placed in. After going through all my personal items she told me that the mascara was considered a liquid and I would have to throw items out. I was simply flying back to Winnipeg from Calgary as I have done many time before but I guess I was never lucky enough to get the staff that was on a power trip. I ended up having to board the plane without my tiny hand sanitizer & eye drops for very dry eyes. To make my trip complete on a bright sunny day, as the WestJet plane sat at the gate, we were delayed. No word on why but it appeared that one of the crew was late arriving to work for flight WS738. However the good news is that everyone was safe because my mascara was being held at security.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"have not had a good experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Unfortunately I have not had a good experience at this airport. I have been through many times over the last several months and Ground crews seem to be the biggest slowdown. Often the arriving plane needs to wait for crews. De-icing is a major problem, and causes major delays This is Canada, and flying in winter conditions is the norm that other airports handle adequately. I have seldom been on time with a flight through Calgary. Unfortunately it seems for now I will need to avoid this airport until it gets it act together!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"poorly run and a design disaster"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airport is poorly run and a design disaster. I arrived from the US and needed to go through customs and then a connecting flight. Once the aircraft landed the door and hallway maze starts. Some passengers go the wrong way and get lost. Very few people are available for directions, most often other travelers have to help out. Then customs another poor design. It was busy big lineups and complete chaos. Then the shuttle to move people, big lineup and no shuttles in sight. This airport has become a very poor place to transit. I try to use Vancouver or Edmonton airports because they are much better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"What a horrible terminal"

(Canada)

Not Verified | What a horrible terminal. Obviously the people in charge of setting the specifications for the airport instructed the designers to build cheap. There are no moving sidewalks. There are no tables, where one can work while waiting for one's flight. I found some of the security staff rude. One pushed the tray at me and nearly knocked my phone and papers to the ground. I'm sitting here looking down E. It reminds me of a parking lot with glass on the side. There is an absolute lack of seating throughout the terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"series of soulless corridors"

(Canada)

Not Verified | On November 18, 2018, for the first time we used one of the new domestic gates (C72), apparently part of the new international terminal. This rating applies only to the new "C" gates - the rest of YYC is as good as ever. What a disappointment. First the good news - distance to the gate was reasonable, corridor was bright & clean, and plenty of windows, and seating seemed to be (barely) adequate. Plenty of people were standing, but probably some were standing by choice. As usual, Westjet staff seemed to be doing their best, with a good attitude. Bad news - Inadequate toilets. For all the domestic gates C70-C79 there was a single facility. In the Men's there was 1 urinal and 3 stalls, 3 sinks, one good hand-dryer. The whole place was cramped, and often there was a line-up. My wife reports the Women's is identical except of course for 4 stalls and no urinals. - Practically no services - one nice little bar with adequate seating and a few TVs. - Crowded feeling - only a few feet between the toilets/bar on the left, gates and seating on the right; and the line-up for the gates filled these few feet. By comparison, Heathrow and LAX sometimes get a bad rap, but the worst I've seen there is so much better than YYC-C72. And YVR is vastly more pleasant and comfortable. Nowhere near the airplanes. Once we finally went through the gate line-up, we walked maybe 200m in a series of soulless corridors with little or no signage to reach the plane. It felt like an old Dr. Who episode, or like something out of Kafka. Perhaps in consequence, although boarding started about 40 minutes late, take-off was about 55 minutes late.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"design is a disaster"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ridiculous long queue from international departure. Only one scanner. Disorganized chaos. They feed any and all priority boarding ahead of 200 other people with a continuing growing line. Common sense would have at least 2 scanners operating. I dread having to use the Calgary airport. The design is a disaster. Shiny clean and new does not take the place of safe fast and efficient. You need to add another 1 hour to your schedule if your stuck using this airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a failure of design"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I am dumbfounded every time I enter the newly renovated and extended YYC. I had truly hoped for a world class facility. Unfortunately, it is a failure of design and engineering. It is am embarrassment for a capable and innovative city. Either one must be willing to walk long distances or ride a weird and in frequent commuter service with pedestrian crosswalks that confuse most travellers. I am presently in the Vancouver Airport and, regrettably, I recommend it to all travellers over the Calgary airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"what an unnecessary hassle this was"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is very nice and clean however on a different topic, I came to visit from the states, it was the worst customs/border patrol experience I have ever had. If you’re ever visiting Calgary from outside of Canada and fly in, you better have a story to tell them about your plans because I was stuck here for an hour after my flight landed due to them thinking I was suspicious for whatever reason when I was just coming to Calgary for a solo tourist adventure trip and to see a few friends. Meanwhile I travel to British Columbia frequently and have never had an experience that took this long to clear. I told the border patrol lady at the kiosk as much information as I could to describe the purpose of my trip and she made me go through secondary inspection, while they can see on my passport I have visited the country multiple times and have never had any past issues getting in on previous trips, I also have a clean record. Thankfully I was cleared after I went through the secondary inspection and that officer I spoke to ended up being fair with me but what an unnecessary hassle this was. Gave me a headache. I understand they have a job to do but YYC border patrol needs to chill out. I’ve never felt this uncomfortable coming to Canada nor have the border patrol officers questioned me in such an intimidating way before.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes