Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 88 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"the staff inside are very friendly"

(United Arab Emirates)

It is a nice airport especially terminal 3 the newest one. I am a member of Egypt plus and they gave me access to the VIP lounge. Area and entertainment is excellent, I enjoyed the 3 hours spent inside. Cleanliness is okay and the staff inside are very friendly. Price of service is okay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United States)

I was in Terminal 3 for a morning flight to Istanbul. I was very impressed with the airport cleanliness and facilities. The duty free shops had plenty of good and moderately priced merchandise. Moreover there were several food outlets all with good quality and satisfying different tastes. This airport is also good for transiting passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Austria)

I think I was surprised to experience such a modern airport in Africa I fly frequently to different cities in Africa and I mostly face terrible and hard times with every flight. Last week I flew Egyptair to a transit in Cairo with a connection to Lagos. The airport is clean nice well organized and easy to move in.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Turkey)

I passed through Terminal 3 when flying from Istanbul to Luxor and was pleasantly surprised. On arrival the visa windows were well signposted and immigration quite efficient. I made my way to the Domestic floor without being hassled by anyone indeed there only seemed to be about a dozen people in the whole Terminal. Quiet clean plenty of places to sit or get coffee water and something to eat. On return from Luxor I just followed the signs for connecting flights and went quickly through security only to find my Egyptair flight to Istanbul was delayed by 55 minutes. But there were shops to look at and decent looking food outlets too.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

"refreshments are served continuously"

(Saudi Arabia)

On our return from Cairo to Riyadh with Egyptair, we were in International Terminal No.3. The Cairo international airport lounge is located on the 3rd Floor in the Departure Hall. After Passport Control, turn left to Zone E and proceed to the end of the corridor. It functions 24 hours daily. The lounge is just an open hall with many tables and chairs. Refreshments are served continuously that include different kind of bread rolls, sandwiches, pastries, Arabic sweets, coffee, tea, soft drinks and water bottles. There is also a TV broadcasting sports or news at one end. Besides, there is also a news-stand with quite a lot of local newspapers. Free WiFi was an added bonus. The chairs were very comfortable. There are separate restrooms which are maintained immaculately. It did not have shower, though everything was so spotlessly clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Egypt)

The old terminal is nice but it needs more improvements in facilities and entertainment. It also has a nice apron view. The new terminal is excellent but more facilities are needed. All lounges are 3 stars they don't have showers and alcohol.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Greece)

I was amazed to find the airport very clean and comfortable. At first I was very worried about what I would find as I had a 6 hrs layover in between flights. Most comments I had read online were very negative. However upon arrival I was pleased to find a fairly new and modern airport facility. All employees were very accommodating bathrooms were clean and food venues were great! The only negative aspect of my experience was the lack of proper internet. Although there is free WiFi it is so slow that it does not work.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

"a few hours here was fine"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Transit in Cairo. First time in years and was nervous given other comments. But it was easy. Handy tip make sure you buy water from the big duty free and get it sealed in an approved plastic bag if you want to take it on the flight. Seating pre gates is limited. Toilets clean but small and busy. No water fountains for drinking. All flights announced and security (pre boarding) efficient. Overall a few hours here was fine. Didn’t use WiFi
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"never had any problem using the airport"

(Egypt)

Not Verified | I'm a foreigner living in Egypt, and I use Cairo airport regularly. I have used Terminals 3 & 2, but never Terminal 1. The airport has a few minor quirks, and airside can be a bit dull, but I've never had any problem using the airport, which for the most part is modern and efficient. My flights almost always leave on time - more reliably so than in most European and North American airports. The closest thing I've ever had to a 'problem' was when I was told that my Egyptair flight was leaving from Terminal 2 instead of Terminal 3, but it's a very short walk between the two, and it was easy to shake off the two touts along that walk who wanted to 'help' (I just told them I live in Cairo; even if you're a tourist, try the same trick - tell them you live in Maadi or Zamalek if you want to sound more convincing). Here are some tips from a regular traveller for making your Cairo Airport experience smoother and more enjoyable: 1) If you're a tourist, always make sure that you have your USD$25 tourist visa fee in cash in advance of arrival - and in US dollars rather than the equivalent in another currency (they apparently take euros as well, but before I had residency I only ever used dollars). You have to pay for your visa sticker in cash at one of the bank windows right before the immigration desks, and then take both sticker and passport (separately; don't attach the sticker yourself) to immigration. 2) When leaving the airport, there is a security checkpoint and screening before check in. Remove everything from your pockets (and put it in your bags) before you go through security, except for your passport and a printout of either your boarding pass or your itinerary confirmation to show the security guard. Don't rely on using your mobile phone to confirm that you have a flight; always take a hardcopy of confirmation. In Terminal 3, there are individual security checkpoints at each gate (which is highly efficient, and greatly reduces queuing times). Terminal 2 has a single security checkpoint area between passport checks and airside, which is more traditional, but can lead to longer queues. If possible, arrange for someone to meet you at the airport to drive you to your destination. Also confirm where at the airport you're going to be met. Most drivers/greeters can only meet you just outside the terminal, though some can be found right before immigration and just after baggage claim, which can be confusing for first-time visitors. If you can't be met, Cairo also has Uber, which can take a lot of the stress out of worrying how much a taxi is going to cost (though the airport pick-up area can be hard to find). 5) Never let someone take one of your bags from you, or offer to help you carry your bag. If someone offers you unsolicited help before check in (when leaving) or after baggage claim (when arriving), decline. Arabic for 'no thank you' is 'la shukran'. Remember that the overwhelming majority of Egyptians are kind, generous, and helpful, and that Egypt is a wonderful country. Do not assume that the small number of easy to ignore touts at the airport are representative of Egypt - and don't let them ruin your trip!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"so much quality is missing"

(Egypt)

I have travelled many times via Cairo Airport, especially the Star Alliance Terminal 3. I have to say that so much quality is missing, considering the fact that this is an international airport. For example, at the passport check / control, there are no lines or single files, people are just pushing each other. In terms of the airport environment, the staff are friendly and the airport itself is clean and free from any noticable garbage on the floor. Terminal signs are very clear and easy for one to easily navigate around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Thailand)

Flew BKK-CAI-BKK and for arrival as well as for departure all went perfect with some minute issues. On arrival all went without a hitch from arrival (bussed to terminal) passport control and bags were delivered fast. The T3 is used by Egyptair and Star Alliance. Modern and airy. Official taxis at 6 am refused the official taximeter price but there was no other option. Departure was all right but the crowds at the first X-ray and checking the tickets as only passengers are allowed to the Check In counters. So many people and bit of chaos. Watch your bags as they seem to send them through the scanner and you end up stuck by the metal detector for your turn. Once you cross that everything else is s breeze. Check in took seconds passport control fast. Air side several interesting shops but I have to say they are truly expensive. So shame on you Cairo airport charging for a small 500ml bottle of normal water 25EGP when it costs roughly 1.5EGP. Second X-ray and documents check when entering the gate itself. The gates are well placed but there is no place to sit if the gate is still closed.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Pleasant modern airport not too big and not too small. Journey to and from Cairo is always fraught a shrug is the common response to asking how long you should allow but let's hope the Metro promised for next year materialises on time. But why can't the toilets have soap? And be less smelly? Why can't the "FreeAirportWifi" work? Why do the scamming porters who clamour to push your luggage 30 meters whether you protest or not and then ask for money apparently do so with the airport's blessing and wearing an official looking uniform? These are all national stereotypes but better airport management would roll them back a bit and encourage tourists back to Egypt.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is slightly above average"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is not in the top but sure isn’t as bad as some expressed, please note that the airport has 3 separate terminals, the oldest one is not good but I understand there is planned renovations. The other 2 terminals are fairly new, good and clean, there is some miss organization but I have seen way worse in Major Airports. Overall, the airport is slightly above average and you can have decent time and reasonable waiting / process time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Terminal 1 is a bit chaotic but small and friendly enough to get through without too much trouble. With an early departure our hotel had prepared a breakfast selection bags for us all which along with our tots we had no difficulty with at any of the myriad security checks. Well done Cairo T1.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Thailand)

Flew in and out from Cairo airport with KLM (Business Class). Skyteam flies to terminal 1 (the face lifted old terminal with no sky bridges). Its a nice terminal since T2 is in complete renovation and I suspect they will return there and T3 is only Egyptair and Star Alliance. Arrival was on time but many passengers as there were 2 planes from Saudi Arabia. Bags already waiting and out in no time. Taxis hunting for arrivals so a good idea to avoid them and take an official taxi to avoid rip off. NO Sky Priority for any Business class passengers. Departure was a breeze at check in. No priority fro C class passengers at passport control. Couple of nice shops and cafes. The C class lounge is quiet and nice with non-functional internet which managed to irk most guests. The holding boarding gate is too small to hold a full B777 so it caused great discomfort to passengers and the numerable carts and wheelchairs. Very claustrophobic. Bussing to and the terminal is OK. T3 is far better to handle crowds and is up to par with other international airports. T1 is functional but needs a little help.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Australia)

I flew into and out of terminal 3. Check-in was ok with a little wait and some confusion over which was the right desk to check into. My main issue was with the price of the food drinks and duty free. I know airport prices are usually high but this was ridiculous. A bottle of water which costs 1.50 EGP in the street cost 10 EGP - a very high markup indeed. Main message - eat before and bring drinks/snacks for the terminal/plane. On arrival we had to jump on a bus to get to the terminal itself from the plane but after that the passport area was easy to pass through (we already had a visa) baggage collection no worries and then customs didn't even bother to check our bags. As others have said the most annoying part of arrival is the tour guides/taxi drivers you run into after leaving the arrivals area. Yes the airport should at least keep them out of the terminal and have a proper system to deal with taxis. Try to pre-arrange transport if you can and if you can't ask the place you are staying for a fair estimate of a taxi fare and only get in a taxi that agrees to your fare. If you are after an experience and not sweat the small stuff you will be rewarded greatly.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Cairo T3. Arrival from Sharm for connection to Heathrow. Incoming aircraft parked at a remote stand and we were bussed via what seemed a circuitous route to the terminal. Followed directions for flight transfer to reach emigration; this takes place in a small room with just a couple of desks and embarkation cards are only handed out as you enter this room. Cue lots of passengers suddenly dropping bags and scrabbling around for pens passports and flight details. Emigration officers rather brusque. Once processed proceeded into the main terminal building which is modern slick and attractive with all the facilities you would expect. Only complaint – gate for flight to London hadn't been opened when I reached it and there was limited seating in the pier outside. Once open security again rather brusque but plentiful seating at gate itself.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Flew to and from Cairo Intl T1 the old renovated terminal for all international airlines T3 is for Egyptair and star alliance which I try to avoid as much as possible since it is big and crowded T1 is small and sometimes can get congested as well but in my view still better. Arrived and bussed to terminal since there are no air bridges here arrival hall is a very small claustrophobic room not the cleanest however surprisingly didn't queue much for passport control. Waiting for luggage felt like forever taxi drivers trying to grab you and your luggage is still an annoying issue departure was a better experience. I prefer the coziness of T1 still in good shape and has a decent food and beverage outlets and small nice duty free though very annoying with the non stop flight announcements for departure and arrival I wonder why it was only in Arabic. Still better than the chaotic T3 and lets wait and see the outcome of the major renovation of T2.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Thailand)

Flew in and out from Doha. Terminal 1 is pleasant even though there are no jet bridges. The check in used to be mainly in the main hall (which is still there) but they decided to open 10 more at the back side and its quite a tight fit and very uncomfortable when it fills up with passengers. You definitely need to jump over many to get to passport control. Cairo is knows with every single staff trying to get some tips. Standing by the gate that clearly says "Doha" they ask me whether I am flying to Doha and as I reply yes they extend their palm and wish me a pleasant flight "and wait for a tip". I'm half Egyptian so I am used to it but can get real annoying after a while. Passport control is fast. Avoid Duty free that has nothing special. cafeteria exorbitant and overpriced. Word of advice. The gates are very very small so in case your flight is full and a wide body aircraft try and be one of the last to get to gate as its filled to the brim and very uncomfortable. When boarding starts everyone is everywhere.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United States)

Very poor Shuttle Service between terminals. We had to change buses between 2 Terminals. No instructions given the bus just stopped and driver got off. Passengers we looked at each other what should we do now? OK we changed buses on to the desired terminal then we are dropped off across the entrance in a parking lot not in front of the terminal entrance. So off we go pulling our suitcases. What ever happened to the people mover? No clear signs for Shuttle nor for the train between terminals.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(India)

Visited Cairo for a conference at a glance during arrival the airport seemed ok clean not at all crowded Immigration was a breeze with only 1 counter operating out of about 30 counters toilets were clean and I was out of the airport in about 30 min. The real problem started when I was departing. Be prepared to get tired of hearing the word "baaksheesh" which means a tip. Every person you see shall approach you for a tip even if it is their duty. The airport doesn't offer free drinking water facilities you have to buy it. Announcements were excellent and they went the extra mile to announce in the language of the destination for International Flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United States)

On most of my trips here in Egypt I have encountered extremely nice Egyptians. Today I arrived at the airport to leave and a guy came up to me as I am walking through the security check at the front asking me if I was flying with Lufthansa. He was wearing an employee tag over his neck so I thought he is an airport employee being helpful. I said yes and he grabbed my luggage set it down next to him and asked me for money. At this time another man came by also wearing tags and the younger one says "give him money". I gave the older man 20 Egyptian dollars. He proceeds to say "give him (younger guy) money too". At which point I said I don't have anymore money. He kept pressuring me saying US dollars will be okay too and I kept saying I don't have any. He pestered me all the way to the check in counter while holding on to my luggage almost hostage. After I told him many times that I don't have any more money he dropped my luggage on the floor and left. If Egypt wants to revive their tourism they really need to do something about this situation because now I am much less inclined to come back the next time I have vacation. What a terrible experience! Other than that the airport is new although not too fancy. Quite a selection of shops you can go to and food.
Queuing Times N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Singapore)

Cairo terminal 3 is spacious with great Star Alliances lounges and efficient check in/immigration facilities. It took less than 30 minutes from touch down to be on a cab to town.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Arrival in Terminal 1 was disappointing building seemed old and was rather crowded. No organised lines whatsoever and complete chaos. However departure from same terminal (Terminal 1) was a different story. Departure seems very new large LCD screens displaying flight information organized check-in desksmany immigration kiosks. There were many food outlets such as McDonald's Starbucks Cinnabon etc. The airport-facing side of the waiting area is all glass which enables you to watch all the planes. Hopefully issues concerning departure will be solved with the opening of Terminal 3 this month.
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Flying Dar-es-salaam to London last week I had to transit for 5 hours in Cairo. They gave all transit passengers to London a free city tour of Cairo for 3 hours! Lunch was also included which was a take away lunch box from a local restaurant. They even sorted out all the visa formalities for all of us.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Arrived in original older terminal. Old dilapidated and poorly signed. I'm not sure where I was supposed to obtain a visa (I had one already in my passport from consulate at home). Baggage gathering was straightforward but a little chaotic. It took me a good half hour to get my luggage. Departure terminal was fine. Beware of crooked people who pretend to be airport staff but are just looking for tips. Otherwise modern airport after you go through security. McDonald's Star Bucks and a few other shops. Smoking is permitted in certain areas and one room.
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Simply the most chaotic airport well not as chaotic as Jeddah airport however as a reputable country like Egypt should have a better terminal than this joke small claustrophobic building since the 1960s the most annoying issue was the people harassing you for taxis and limousines and for luggage assistance why it is not organized like everywhere else. 3 passport control desks during a busy period of the day with so many flights going everywhere queue felt like forever duty free is ridiculously expensive more expensive than market prices and than any other place in the world. Basic facilities in terms of cafes and restaurants dirty bathrooms couldn't even use it. How this is an airport in a country with tourists from everywhere. Have to use it every few months as family lives there.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Zimbabwe)

Arrived from JNB early morning. Very expensive and poorly laid out. Unsmiling staff and very long queues to transfer. Toilets were filthy with no toilet paper or soap and no attendants around to ask for help.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United States)

Going through the much-touted terminal three there was nothing open for a morning departure - save for Duty Free and a handful of snack bars. Surprisingly I encountered no shakedown attempts from employees but then again the airport is understaffed. Arrival in terminal 1 was uneventful but still confusing. It's not as if you'll have many other options if you're flying to Egypt and are on a tight schedule.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
4/10

"very inefficient"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | My first impression of the aiport building was "wow, it is huge and new". The moment I entered the airport and went to the security control, every single nice impressions vanished. I was really disappointed to the airport staffs especially the security control. The line was very long. They didn't tell us that there is a special line for women and men. My group and I queued up in the wrong line since there were no sign or information about women's line. Very inefficient. The nightmare continued. The security officers didn't tell us to take off our sneakers. The tray to put our small bags, shoes, or jackets were not enough. Therefore, people put their jacket and shoes directly to the scanner machine. Could you imagine that we have to wear the jacket that already dirty because of those shoes? The line for immigration also very long. I flew red eye and the airport was full. They only have 2 or 3 booths opened. It was truly not efficient and wasting time. The only nice person I met in this airport was the Oman Air ground staff. He was the only guy who smiled and talked nicely to me when I checked in my bags. I hope the airport management could train their security staffs to be nice and welcoming so people would be happy to comeback to Egypt. As a gateway to Egypt, if the staff are rude, people might think that most Egyptian are the same which is not true at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lots of security checks"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Have free WIFI but you need a telephone number to get confirmation code via sms. Waited 40 minutes to get checked baggage. No sign to show how to get to terminal 3, to terminal 2 and needed to ask security staff instead. Lots of security checks and no battery in carry-on baggage. Few restaurant at duty free shop area in international departure area. Better to walk around gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Norway)

Cairo airport must be the most awkward airport in the world. I have flown through all 3 terminals so I know it quite well. There is no point in referring to the appalling terminal 2 as it is no longer in operation. The quality of staff and security processes are the biggest issues in my opinion. Regarding the staff there seems to be a scam between airport officials and taxi drivers to hand you over to the drivers that will rip you off. If you can prearrange transport you will be able to avoid that. There are 2 members of staff at passport control. The first will look at your passport and put the visa sticker on it and the second one will stamp it. And they both sit side by side. You have to security scan your suitcases before you check-in which causes absolute chaos. The stories are endless about this airport. On the up it is a clean airport modern and spacious with good duty free and good dinning options. And I have to say I have seen some improvements over the last 2 years which shows that Egyptians are making an effort to improve it.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
4/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Denmark)

A new terminal has been added to the old one - that means that when you arrive and remote parked there is a quite long drive to the terminal. As everything in Egypt arrival can be quite stressful you need to buy your entrance ticket (visa) by the exchange offices you might as well change money at the same time. Then you go through passport/visa control and then luggage area. you might be asked again for a passport check before leaving the airport. Coming out of terminal please hold on to everything you have as strangers will grab your luggage without asking and expect a tip. Even if you have an ordered transfer they let the strangers take it - everybody makes the most out of emptying the tourists pockets. In case you are arriving at international and need a connecting domestic flight it can be a bit tricky but follow the signs and ask your way to a small corridor - which by the way is a very popular praying area. When you arrive at the airport terminal touts will round you up and ask if you are flying Egyptair (it is the Egyptair terminal so of course you are) they pretend they are VIP handlers and take your luggage to first security screening demanding money before you enter. Check in is slow. Until you reach your plane you will be subjected to 4-6 security checks and many of them ask you to pay tips - even cleaning staff will follow you into the toilets handing you toilet paper and ask for money. There are shops and eateries which are overpriced. Use all Egyptian pounds before entering the terminal- they do not change it back. When boarding first you go through security screening then one person checks your boarding card and passport then you walk 1 meter and a new security person checks your boarding card and passport - and before you enter the airplane another security person checks your boarding card.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Canada)

Arrived late at night on Air France and were towed to a remote gate. Bussed for ages to Terminal 3 for customs. The agent was cold and rude not pleasant after a long 2 days of flying. He only gave some of our group arrival stamps which was strange. The terminal itself was beautiful and very western except for broken toilets in the bathrooms. The next morning the 5am Egyptair to Aswan. The terminal requires security to reach check in then once again at the gate. I don't think they even looked at the first screening. The airport was clean and very modern. Boarding through the gate was strange as a man opened the door and simply said "time to board" not through a PA system or anything. Departing on Air france a week later through terminal 1 was crazy. People can pay security a few dollars to jump ahead cutting our group of kids into chunks. Check in was painfully slow but that is the airline's fault. Customs heading out was fast and the man gave me a strange look for not having an arrivals stamp. At the gate one metal detector was there to screen our airbus 330! Again 5 pounds and passengers were escorted to the front of the line. We were then bussed out to our plane back to the civilized world.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

"waiting areas are pretty boring"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I arrived and departed Cairo Airport several times.My experiences were always quite similiar. You arrive at the airport and you have to go through immigration. Visa is easily obtailable, but then you need to wait. Sometimes nearly one hour until you can finaly reach your immigration desk and can enter the country. With luggage I've never had a problem, but then, before leaving the airport, you need to go through customs check, where they select people to put their luggage through an x-ray. As a European, I had never have my luggage inspected. Even when I wanted to declare that I have more bottles of alcohol with me than allowed, custom officials kept sending me away. So I gave up and walked through the green corridor, nobody seemed to mind. Then starts the hassle, as Cairo Airport has a public transport connection, but people at the airport will just deny it! Actually, from T2 or T3 you need to catch a shuttle bus (running irregular intervals) to get to a bus station and from there take a bus to Cairo. Very inconvenient, so try to get a taxi. This is quite difficult, as drivers will always try to rip you off. From the airport to Tahrir Square or Dokki, 150 EGP is the local price, as a foreigner, getting a deal for 200 EGP is fine, 250 is also okay. Problem: Upon leaving the airport, taxi drivers need to pay at a toll gate, and some will insist you pay it, which was never agreed in the first place. Fun fact: If you are going to the airport, they will also insist you pay extra. If you need to go to central Cairo, that can become a painful ride, as streets are congested, best case 30min, worst case 2 hours to Cairo. (It can take 2 hours even when arriving at 1 a.m.) On the way back you will have similar problems, only in Cairo you have more power to negotiate. Beware: Some drivers are too stupid to find the airport. If you want to make sure, everything is okay: Download Uber Egypt App before getting to Cairo and use Uber. Taxi drivers complain about Uber, but they do not realize if they charged "sensible" rates or did not change their price during the ride, they would not face this problem. When picking up people, you are not even allowed to enter the airport building or stay on the same side. You need to stand in a large crowd of people waiting for your people to arrive. Hated it. When you made it back to the airport, you will be greeted by "helping hands", that will take your luggage out of your hands and start moving it to security check. Last time I just started shouting at them to let my luggage free. They want a "tip" for their service, like every Egyptian. That is okay, but they will not settle for anything less than 20 EGP, which is, by Egyptian standards, way too much. (If you tip ordinary people 5 EGP, they will be very happy). Then security guards insist you showing them your ticket, passport is enough. So always carry a copy of your ticket on your smartphone or in your bag. Then it is check-in time, which I have never had a problem in Cairo. Passport checks can be slow or can be fast, but it is usually faster than entering the country. The duty-free and waiting areas are pretty boring. Before your gates open, you need to sit on a few metal benches. Before entering your gate, there is another detailed security check, only whole airplane needs to pass through one lane, so terribly long queuing. Airport needs a subway and more security lanes
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"some of staff are helpful and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Looks like a military base, numerous check point until you finally board the plane. Officials made a case because we did not have our boarding pass (they were to be collected at check in desks). Although some of staff are helpful and friendly they are exceptions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there is no real management"

(United States)

Mass confusion. The airport itself is huge and seems to offer limitless potential, but there is no real management and the employees, as well as those who are not but pretend to be, simply do as they please. There are endless, and pointless, security checks (the machine no was even operating in one case) as well as countless inspections of documents, but no one even so much as glanced at my photo. The worst part are the touts and hustlers who roam around pretending to be airport employees and offer to direct you in and out of various lines, naturally for a tip. If I was spotted at LAX posing as an airport employee and directing people when in fact I am not an employee, I'd be in jail in under thirty seconds. It was absurd. The condition of the toilets is totally dependent on who is assigned to clean them, some were sparkling while others were filthy. Food selection in the food court was mediocre and priced at levels equal to any Western airport, which meant ridiculously expensive by Egyptian standards. There really aren't enough seats in the main departure areas so you need to move well away from the gates just to find a place to sit down. This place was just bad news.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

What a difference a Terminal makes. Terminal 2 still is a joke and an embarrassment. Terminal 3 is the first time I felt like flying to Cairo and actually landing in an airport that is closer to standards. The new terminal is however used only by Egyptair and Star alliance. The terminal building is airy and clean sufficient amount of shops and cafes walking distances are not that far. The access taxiways to the terminal takes ages so the planes taxing was around 25min! The negative points are more because of local habits. For the first time I met a female passport control officer who was rude for that I am taking 2 stars off. Only passengers can enter the terminal building even the waiting areas. If you are not a passenger then you have to "buy" a ticket which is a bit annoying as they sent us 600m away to a stall to get the ticket. I realize that this is to control the crowds and the "taxi drivers" who hunt for arrivals but this is not the way to do it. Only passengers are allowed al the way to check in counters! Check in agents helpful and a young crowd. So I guess its a far better place than I have experienced in an Egyptian airport.
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Lebanon)

On 28/11/2014 I arrived to Cairo Airport on an MEA flight bounded from Beirut. The whole situation is in chaos. The smell in the airport is terrible. Immigration officers as well as customs officers are extremely rude and stubborn.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Arrived from JFK to CAI new terminal. Facilities were neat immigration fast customs a bit confusing . Long wait for luggage but finally arrived. Terminal building was nice modern signage sufficient staff a bit disorganized but finally everything fell in it's place.
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

I have flown a number of flights through the new T3. Better traffic control outside newer/modern look alcohol available in bar/restaurant many gates with walkways fairly efficient check in and passport control departing. The bad - business class lounge (they just opened a second Egyptair this last week) are poor - the attendant told me they would be opening up a nicer one in a matter of months frequently claim a gate is open when it isn't so you walk all the way and are stuck in a hall with a bunch of other people in front of the closed gate (and you have to go through security again) and on arrival the scene at passport control is pure chaos! I spent 30+ minutes in the business/first class line because they allowed individuals with group passports (5-10 passports in a stack) to cut ahead of the business and first class passengers in line! The other lines were extremely long and extremely slow. And also bad is you still get stuck using a bus despite them having open gates and the drive from plane to terminal is a good fifteen minutes. So overall I'm pretty disappointed and actually preferred terminal one with its McDonalds Starbucks and Cinnebon (none of which have a franchise in T3).
no
3/10

"chaotic and not clean"

(United Kingdom)

It's chaotic and not clean. They got free wifi some poor shops and a few duty free shops. Smoking areas are available but are not used as they remind me of a bad sauna and most of the people smoke outside. Myself I am a non smoker so I find this pretty disturbing. The few lounges they got are very spare and crowded. Food is poor. Internet inside the lounge is poor. Toilets are old and filthy. No shower possibility at the lounges of the main hub of a star alliance member airport. This is poor. Security is poor and rude. Ground staff are ok but slow in operation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(United States)

Arrived at 2am from Amsterdam. Immigration was quick and easy. Bags arrived quickly. Went to airport shuttle without any issues. However the departure from Terminal 1 was horrible. From the moment I was dropped off I was hounded with offers to "help". Additionally the airport employees are definitely part of the scheme to mis-guide you leading you to a position where you feel like you have to pay someone to get you to the correct place. The trip to Cairo was great but the lack of organization and the constant attempts to take money from you really soured the departure.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"ruined our experience to Cairo"

(United States)

Not Verified | Tipping out of control. It’s a hustle. Guy loading the bags tried to get money from me. Then, 2 other employees at the bathroom were hustling customers for money to use the bathroom. Then, a woman tried to enter the stall while my wife was using the bathroom asking for money. All were airport employees. This ruined our experience to Cairo.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Never again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Do not expect special assistance to be available. There were two people coming off the flight from Luxor and I was unfortunately one of them. We were connecting with the flight to London Heathrow. We had to wait for nearly half an hour for one wheelchair to arrive and then we were hoisted to the ground which took another few minutes. The man took my companion in the wheelchair but not myself. My carer tried to tell him that I would be unable to walk very far. He did not speak any English so could not understand. He then set off very fast and we had no idea whether he would come back or not. I decided I had to try and walk and follow him which is lucky I did as he was going off work in any case. We then followed the man with my friend in the wheelchair and myself struggling to keep up to a seating area when he informed us in sign language that he was finishing work - in other words he expected a tip. He did not get one as he was most rude not waiting for me and not slowing down. There were some smartly dressed people around but no sign of a wheelchair. We asked where the assistance was - this man told us to sit there and wait so we waited 15 minutes. He obviously had no intention of helping us. People were so rude and arrogant. We then decided we had to go without the wheelchair to the security check which was a distance from the seating area labelled special assistance. We had to stand for about 15 minutes while they allowed people from the other queue to join what was the fast track queue. We then had to strip most of our clothes off and they even asked me to remove my rings. After security we were told to sit in a seating area at the gate and wait for the wheelchair to come. We were then told we couldn't sit there in sign language - no sign of a wheelchair. Eventually with minutes to spare a man appeared with one wheelchair for three of us. It was obviously a mistake to require special assistance and they want to increase the number of tourists! Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a horrible representation of the country"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a horrible representation of the country. The employees are trying to swindle American and European travelers. The place where one should feel the safest feels the most vulnerable. Egypt was a wonderful country filled with people who were eager to show us a great time. They were warm and friendly and proud of their nation. This airport feels like an entirely different country altogether. My passport was held for ransom of $40; the security charged $150 just to walk through. Security was asking select travelers “how much money do you have?” And they are only respectful to those who are native or speak the language. The airport itself is chaotic, unkept, and much of the shops are unfriendly. This is not the Egypt I was introduced to and came to love. This needs to be rectified if they expect travelers to ever return or give a good recommendation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The airport is a pain!"

(Egypt)

Trip Verified | The airport is a pain! While the infrastructure is not bad, service and cleanliness are appalling. I fly a lot and dread it every time I need to go through Cairo Airport. Security staff is not organized and makes a mess even out of the shortest queue. The lounges are low quality in terms of food, cleanliness, and facilities. The entire process is a pain to go through. This becomes even more apparent when comparing the airport to the one on the other end of the flight. I really hope that someone puts pressure on the airport and also on Egyptair for that matter to fix their issues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very bad service"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Service must be improved as it’s the reputation of Egypt! When we arrived to Airport to the departure sale i totally agree about the security check points but I refuse being dealt with a bad manner from security and luggage boy and at the end waiting for a tip after doing nothing even I carried my bags by myself, I was surprised when I saw the self check in machines woow that’s amazing in Cairo as we used to use it in most of the Airports around the world and I happily got the print out of my boarding pass after leading me to a very rude officer which he refused to take my luggage’s and he is working in the online check in counters and simply says I will not take more. After queuing for me here for about 15 minuets you need to go to another queue in a very rude and non professional way at all, people must know that this is their job and working in the biggest airport in Egypt is simply representing Egypt and it has to be well represents. I left the queue upset looking everywhere to queue in another queue for Dubai flight whoever I have my boarding pass with me , it’s a big joke to see guys carrying the luggage’s for some tips to other Guests steps in front of you and not following the queue , nothing organized at all , rude way! It’s really disappointed to see these very bad service in the Airport that’s represents your country and honestly I will definitely take another Airline next time and will never recommend it to any of my friends
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Belgium)

The airport is very badly sign posted and I found myself getting lost more than once something that has never happened to me in an airport before and I am a frequent traveler. You are often pestered by staff for a tip for even the most basic service. The selection of souvenirs was poor surprising given this is Egypt. The security arrangements seem illogical as you are screened by security twice just yards apart before check in. There is also a serious shortage of seating which is an issue if you are traveling with old or infirm people. Make sure you pre-arrange a pick up when arriving as fake cab drivers swarm around you on arrival if you appear to be looking lost.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

My return flight from Cairo has left a bit of a sour taste. I think that "tea money" or bakshish was requested virtually on each step from check in till boarding which is something I haven't experienced yet in CAI airport before. It started when I flew from Munich to Cairo T3 where I had a 2 days stop over. Passport control was fast which is great after that and 2 meters from passport control a police officer re-checks your passport to see the entry stamp. You go to puck up your bags and there it starts. When you see your bag and go to get it then you find a couple of guys trying to help you forcefully and then expect tea money as they specifically said it. I go through the "green zone" which practically isn't that green as everyone is being controlled. Check passport again and open bags. close bags and "welcome to Cairo any chance for tea money sir?". The arrival hall is empty as all waiting people were kicked out for some reason or another. My departure for Bangkok was definitely an experience. I will count passport checks and tea money from my check in to boarding! TO enter the hall and the check in area then you have to be only a passenger - so I got my passport checked and the gentleman wished me a pleasant flight and some tea money. I go to Xrays to enter the check in area so I get my passport checked and the officer smiled and asked if I had any tea money. I go to check in that took longer than its supposed to. Each check in counter has a gentleman to help the bags on the scales. Since I had only a small bag I helped myself and my passport checked and tea money was asked by the helper. I proceed to Passport control and go through with ease. I proceed to the gate where the passport is checked and went again through x rays while boarding at the door the passports were checked again and I was once again asked for tea money. I was annoyed by that stage - going through he airbridge to the plane and what do we have there - a gentleman controlling my passport I mean security is a good thing but this is a bit weird. I would like to rest assured tourists will be spared much of the tea money (not a guarantee) since I am part Egyptian and look so. So the terminal can be as clean and modern as can be but his has topped any experience that I had.
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

The arrival in the new airport went very smoothly but the international departure hall is a total mess. There is a separate Star Alliance/Egyptair business section giving the privilege to have longer queues than in the economy main hall. Signs are confusing plenty of people around trying to "guide" you for faster processing against a tip in all a miserable place.
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Chaos seems to be the order of the day at this airport for arrivals and departures. Give yourself lots of time for check-in. Road access is very circuitous could not find indicators/screens to advise of arrivals and departures in Terminal 1 arrivals hall transfers from one terminal to another was convoluted. Be aware of Islamic holidays and other special times when the crowds are checking in.
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Egypt)

Truly one of the most awful airport experiences I have encountered. From the minute you land you are hassled by 'officials' offering taxis trips to pyramids. Trying to get free shuttle bus from terminal 3 to terminal 1 you will be told there isn't one a taxi will offer to take you the 2km journey for $10 which should only be $2. Airport staff grab your bags and take to x-ray machines and then expect a gift. As somebody who lives in Egypt I try to avoid this airport and would rather fly out of Sharm to England.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Went through terminal 2 on flight to/from Doha on Qatar Airways. On arrival I was hustled by various people who wanted to "help" me find a taxi etc. even before immigration. This terminal is a mess! The building is old and run down. On the way home food was poor and overpriced and staff are either not interested or looking for some kind of tip. Really it's not a pleasant place to spend two hours and does not give a good first impression on arrival. On the other hand I flew domestic on EgyptAir through new terminal 3 building during my visit to Egypt which was a much better experience although signage and announcements were lacking. Keep an eye on the boards as they can change without warning!
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Cairo Terminal 1. BA requested our presence three hours before the 8:35 AM departure and I duly showed up. The security people however did not start screening until 2.5 hours before so a long single form line for all classes was the result. In fact apart from the check-in counter nowhere in the entire process of boarding are there dedicated First Business or Elite Customer lines. The BA check in staff were unaware of the arrival terminal change in Heathrow (not T5 thank goodness but T4). I found out as I was trying to understand where my connecting Heathrow Delta flight to Atlanta was departing from (turned out to be T4 as well). The Cairo International terminal BA uses is old.A new terminal is in the process of being built which surely will bring a better quality pre-flight experience. As it is BA offers the use of a generic lounge which is small with very old and not entirely clean looking furniture and a TV tuned to Al Jazeera. There are two old nondescript standard and not entirely clean fridges carrying somewhat cold water and soft drinks. There was nobody manning the bar and there was no food apart from nuts despite this being an early AM departure. There was free wireless internet. I went out to find some breakfast and ended up in a coffee shop which served fresh croissants. The terminal offers some shopping but many were closed at this early hour. The lighting in the terminal is harsh and the use of tiles everywhere creates a sterile and impersonal cold atmosphere. Boarding was the worst chaos of all. All passengers were hoarded into a pre-boarding area. The two BA representatives scanned all boarding passes but did not offer any assistance to people in wheel chairs (there were about 5 on this flight) or people with small children. A lone police man started checking passports when the door for boarding opened and it was each man woman and disabled person for themselves… A shambles. All in all the fact that a new terminal is being built is absolutely necessary. But for the time being you might be better off traveling on one of the Sky Team airlines as they depart from the already opened new Terminal 2.
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Germany)

Perhaps some travelers are satisfied by a new airport building. I am happy if I must not stay at any airport for longer than necessary. Cairo is a very bad example for ignoring customers. My flight from Nairobi with Egyptair was delayed almost 90 minutes! There was no explanation and wrong information from airline staff. It would have been no problem to get the connection flights. But Cairo seems to want to avoid delays in their statistics. So they sent the connection flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"generally not a nice airport"

(Canada)

Arrived at Terminal 1. Luckily I had a service meet me. No one in front of me at the bank to get the visa. A few lines for immigration that moved well. No problems with immigration. Luggage fairly prompt. Departure Term 1. Metal detector at entrance, before check-in at gate and even frisked on entering plane. Check-in was very fast. No real line at immigration. Departure gate area is small and not user friendly. Only saw one place to eat. People sitting everywhere. You can't get into gate until an hour before your flight. Note - walk all the way to end of the corridor and there is a seating area on your right. One of the worst places to wait for your plane. Now Term 3 is quite different my rating is for Term 1 but Term 3 is wide open. Lots of seating (upstairs) til you go down to the lower level. New airport and bus to planes? Generally not a nice airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport has deteriorated tremendously"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | The airport has deteriorated tremendously over the past years. Security checks take a long time, bathrooms are very dirty, the food is low quality (but still expensive!), and staff are not friendly. This is a real pity as the airport had been managed very well at some point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible start to Egypt"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I had to pay a £50 bribe to a policeman. They only accept USD or EU currency for the VISA and I only had Egyptian money. All of the ATM's in the security area were broken so a guard took me through security without the visa and told me to withdraw £100 from an ATM in the arrivals areas - £50 for the visa and £50 for him, he then took me back to security where I could buy a visa. I felt very intimidated and ripped off. What a horrible start to Egypt
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Absolutely horrible! Upon arrival before passport control aggressive touts approach you form all sides trying to get money for helping you trough immigration or for organising taxis. Completely unnecessary "help"! Departure hall chaotic and people smoking every where. Filthy toilets stinking from far away! Hard to understand how a country with tourism being so important and with special tourist police doesn't do anything about the airport!
no
1/10

"nightmare of an airport"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Where to start, this is possibly the worst airport ever on this planet? I have been living in Egypt for two years, and this was my weekly nightmare when coming in and out for a business trip. People everywhere try to take your luggage from you, starting from outside the terminal. To enter you need to queue in the middle of the street, where tens of people try to push forward, and bored police people ask to see your passport and then go trough the pages, of course not checking anything. Then you queue again to screen your luggage and all the suitcases are pushed on top of each other while you need to remove your shoes in a super dirty floor to pass by a non attached metal detector where you get the first of the many pat down. Does not matter if you have phone, wallets etc the police person will look at your passport and want to see a print of your itinerary or reservation. Digital does not count apart if you do not convince them. They will sometimes ask if you have money as there is a limit of cash that can exported. Finished this you need to queue for the boarding pass and fill in a forms that none will ever read. Another queue at passport control and after you get a stamp another police guy will check that you have been stamped. The airport is then dirty, with filthy bathrooms, and everything smells of smoke of cigarettes. Lounges are the worst as well and the food is expensive and dirty. No place to seat and usually very cold inside. Finally another queue at the gate, where there is another luggage control where people working there do not know any rules about security. Sometimes they try to take batteries off you, other times there is something else. You just smile at them and usually everyone passes. The metal detector is not really working, as they will do anyway a pat down to each passenger. Of course remove your shoes again in a even dirtier floor. When you finally make it on the plane they will check again your boarding pass if travelling with EgyptAir. And sometimes another police will check again your stamp on the passport, why not? Arriving is not nicer either. The first thing I remember was the smell of cigarettes when you go into the terminal. Then you need to buy a 25 USD sticker, and be prepared to have it in cash and do not expect change, unless you want to be fooled. A colleague of ours, once, paid 60 USD. Then you queue for the stamp, another police will check again your stamp, get your luggage and queue again for customs guys that look at all the pages of your passport (or pretend to), pretend to know what you have by touching the exterior of your suitcase and raising it. Finally you are out and hordes of taxi drivers will try to take your luggage from you by force or lure you with some "great offer" or "limouisine". If you stay at a hotel that offers it, organize a meet and greet and then maybe finally leave this nightmare of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it hasn't improved in 10 years"

(Australia)

Probably one of the worst airports I have been to. It hasn't improved in 10 years. The arrivals terminal is poorly signed and gives no information on how and where to buy an entry visa. Taxi drivers are permitted to harass you before you even have passed customs. On departure it is not much better, long queues to check in, to pass through immigration and to board the flight. was lucky enough to be told two completely different things about 10 seconds apart when boarding, just held everyone up even longer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no lines, people pushing"

(India)

Cairo is possibly the worst airport I have travelled through. The entry was like entering a market with no lines, people pushing and no one to maintain order. The police at the entrance are callous, disorganised and don't care - taking an age to do anything. In departures, the only seating available is in each gate which only open 50 minutes prior to departure. If you check in early you either stand around or go to the food court. The announcements are mostly in Arabic even though Cairo is frequented by tourists. No aerobridge which is pathetic and hellish for anyone with mobility issues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Generally dirty and unsafe"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. Over staffed by people trying to rip you off. A seeming lack of management, and goodness knows what is getting through security. Generally dirty and unsafe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is plain and very dirty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I can not say enough bad things about this airport. I’ll start with the worst, the airport staff. They take luggage out of your hand without asking and pester you for tips for transporting it 2 meters to the x-ray machine when I’m perfectly capable of doing it myself. Security is the worst! I came for a parachuting event and brought my parachute as hand luggage. It is both safe and permissible to do so, and I have never had problems at any other airport. I had the proper documentation and permission to do so. They were unbelievably ignorant, extremely rude, and not willing to listen to you. My gear was extremely expensive and the reason I carry it on is to protect it because it can’t be fully reimbursed through airline if lost. Not only did they force me to check it in after a long argument but they did not allow me to wrap it in plastic to protect my very expensive gear. There is a huge chance of my gear being damaged, thrown around and dirty! Due to the fact that my safety handles could have been dislodged I’m going to have to get it professionally inspected and my reserve parachute repacked before using again. The airport is plain and very dirty, the food horrible. A lot of the airport smelt like cigarette smoke. I bought two unreasonably expensive muffins and they were hard as a rock and completely stale. Disgusting. Then I tried the pizza, the worst pizza I have ever had. Over priced and tastes horrible. Shame because outside of the airport I enjoyed Cairo so much! This airport is the sole reason I probably won’t ever return to Egypt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

I arrived and departed to Madrid on IB and also domestic on EgyptAir. Signs and announcements are confusing was given wrong departure gate and staff are unresponsive and unhelpful. Terminal sheathed in decaying white ceramic makes it seem like an old WC. It took 2 hours to get past security and immigration long queues and total chaos and no food except one cafe with sweets and bread both not recommended. Very hungry. Domestic Arrivals much worse. No working signs at all in baggage reclaim only 2 working belts for all flights so luggage split across more than one belt extremely over crowded and no information. Wasted 90 mins locating luggage. Touts all around arrivals to "help" with luggage taxis whatever. No control or rules at all. Very aggressive hassle in taxi area. New terminal should now be open may be better structurally but I doubt will help resolve biggest problem of general disorder and confusion is worker issue not infrastructure. New metro line will avoid taxi touts though. Not recommended for transfer passengers but if flying onward in Egypt or to/from Cairo no real choice.
no
1/10

"shaking us down for money"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived 3 hours early for a flight to Greece. We checked in online but we’re not issued boarding passes as the airport requires you to check in in person. So we get to the first security gate right at the entrance of airport and they tell us the check point is a closed for economy and that we cannot pass thru until an hour before our flight. Then they say that they will let us pass, they can open the gate now. They proceed to grab our bags and pass them thru security and then ask for money. We go thru security to get to the check in area, but then the security agent stops us and starts looking thru our bags then demands money in order to let us pass. That the airport is a business, so the agents who are checking our bags are shaking us down for money. Absolutely ridiculous! You expect this at the tourists sites but not at an international airport by the staff. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport authority must change their attitude"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Big airport, good immigration staff but some were always looking for Bakhshish (Tips). My arrival was good, immigration officer was good. In my departure from Terminal 1, I came across a bad experience. I had 2 small trolley suitcases that I was carrying, one male staff member came and insisted I take an airport trolley and I thought it was their rule. I paid 20 EZP as per schedule. It was only 20 meters that he pushed the trolley and then he started asking for money as tips. I refused to pay as I didn't have that much EZP. After checking-in my suitcases, I found one suitcase broken on floor and unorganized. None of the airport staff or the airline staff informed me of anything even though I was sitting in front of them. I did not get any answers from any of the staffs. I am sure it was the guy behind this situation who was asking for the tips. The airport authority must change their attitude towards the tourists. Airport shops were too expensive. Food were also expensive and not too good. Wifi does not work if anyone doesn't have a local mobile number.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"totally useless security personnel"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | Very promising new Terminal 2, even has air bridges. Unfortunately they have not updated the rude, ignorant and totally useless security personnel. We live in the vain hope that something positive happens in future. In the meantime just grit your teeth and prepare for a couple of hours wishing you had taken Valium.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

One of the worst transit-airports ever. Flew business class from Amman to Cairo (with Royal Jordanian) and on to Nairobi (with Kenya Airways). Upon arrival a bus took me to one terminal where I had to wait ten minutes before boarding another bus to another terminal where I had to hand in my passport and had to wait 25 minutes (no explanation given) before my passport was returned to me. I then boarded a third bus which took me back to the other terminal. There the whole thing started again. Handed in my passport and e-ticket to immigration and had to wait for over half an hour (people smoking all around me) before I got my passport back this time with boarding pass. All with all a very time consuming procedure. The business class lounge is very small and asking for a drink feels like asking a big favour. Staff very unfriendly. All with all this airport is not to be advised for anyone flying in/out with two different airlines.
no
1/10

"Queuing times very slow"

(Portugal)

Not Verified | We used the domestic terminal where most tourists in other resort towns of Egypt arrive to tour the capital city of Cairo, mostly by chartered domestic Petroleum Air Services flights from and to Sharm el-Sheikh and Hurghada. The terminal itself was clean but showing signs of ageing and no wifi compared to the international part of the building. You could smoke on a not materially limited area at the bar. Queuing times very slow. Security staff at the airport's entrance very unfriendly, yelling rather than speaking. The air conditioning was also too cold when compared to the outside temperature.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Simply one of the worst airport experiences in my almost 50 countries traveled. Everyone very unfriendly and confusing at the security gates. All toilets extremely dirty. Also I can't understand why they have to take your only lighter (every other country lets you take one (not more) and then you go to a smoking lounge where only the security guards have lighters and are clearly keeping them for themselves.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Probably the worst international airport - absolute mess in all aspects. Huge queues for immigration on arrival and chaotic baggage collection with no clear boards mentioning the flight name. Airport full of touts to assist in passport control taxis hotels etc and no one seems to be bothered to control or regulate them. Departure was worse and resembled a cattle market to put it mildly. Huge queues everywhere from baggage screening to check in to passport control. No clear announcements and all boards are totally worn out. Total disregard for smoking rules thru out the terminal. No places to sit before check in. Toilets are very dirty and unmaintained. Duty free is a joke with items priced several times the price outside and first class lounge ridiculous. Hardly any food on offer and in noon all I could see was stale bread and pastries from morning. An absolute shame for a country which houses so many tourist marvels and attracts millions every year. Probably thats the reason no one is bothered at any cost people have to use this airport to come to Egypt. If there is any ranking less than zero I would give that!
no
1/10

"chaotic, smelly and uncomfortable"

(United States)

As a multi-million mile traveler that has been to over sixty countries and hundreds of airports I can safely say that Cairo is near the bottom of all the airports I have visited. The security is a joke, mostly security theatre, with uniformed officials asking for your passport and then leafing through it without looking. Then there's a massive and disorganized security queue where "helpers" sequester your passport and move you to the front of the queue just to ask you for money (and they won't return your passport unless you pay up). All in front of an uniformed official, which "feels" every single person going through the disconnected metal detector, without stopping to check when he feels something in your pocket. Completely useless. The lounges are poor and the air is toxic, given the number of people smoking (yes, inside the airport terminal and lounges, and it is sanctioned given that there are ashtrays everywhere). Cleanliness is OK, and signage is acceptable, but there's nothing to do at the airport. Also, I've been at CAI 4 times, with different airlines, and the 4 times my flight left with a significant delay, so there may be a pattern here. Announcements are loud and mostly in Arabic, preceded by a very loud "Ding Dong" that hurts your ears. I guess it has to given the level of noise in the airport in general. Not much to do once inside, there's no public wifi and shops are sparse and with little selection. In all, chaotic, smelly and uncomfortable. Not a good experience for a country that is supposed to live off tourism.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"cannot recommend Cairo airport"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | As a frequent traveller, I cannot recommend Cairo airport. Confusing at the parking, poor directional signage. Harassment from vendors, taxi drivers and luggage assistants. First airport I've had to pay for using a trolley. Chaos at the first security check. Dirty floors and / or carpets and you have to remove your shoes for screening. Impolite officers and not familiar with safety standards and rules. Messy check in, long queues and too much interference. Local passengers are waved in front, jumping queues. Passport control time consuming. Duty free poor selection. Restaurants over priced and very poor food quality and service standards. Lounges are dirty. Very poor standard toilets and dirty. Disgraceful smoking areas. This airport has many issues just need someone to take initiative to solve the huzzle around travelling, apply a service attitude, price value for restaurants. Clean bathrooms, proper employee behavior. It's a shame with all the issues of shortage of holiday makers that safety issues have been solved, however the first and last impression for the sadly few visitors are not. Please do something it's in the airport's best interest.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst international airports"

(India)

Not Verified | One of the worst international airports I have been to. The food court is just for its namesake with no options for vegetarians. Highly overpriced soft drinks, like 10 times the price. Staff do not speak adequate English. Washrooms are not cleaned and the tables are always dirty. Last but not the least, the interiors are very old and unconvincing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"sight that is not to be missed"

(Germany)

Not Verified | This airport is hilarious as long as you don't have to catch a flight. I surely recommended visiting (but not flying from here). Wifi is hilarious, security is slow but lax, the queuing times per desk are ridiculously slow even at three in the morning when there is hardly anyone there. It can happen that staff are just looking up from their computers and admitting defeat with a sigh of "broken". After passing security and going to the gates you can buy water and what not, but then you turn a corner for another security check, where people have to throw away their beverages en masse. However, not to worry, I simply started "finishing my water" and walked away while they processed the next guy. Still had plenty left and just put it back in my bag. After the sign with your gate (lets say G3), there follows another sign saying: G1-G10 this way. Funnily, this way leads you right into the plane!! Actually had to ask if I am in the right plane. I am writing this review before receiving my luggage, so there is plenty of opportunity for prolonged hilarity. Cairo airport, certainly a sight that is not to be missed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"first impression of great disappointment"

(United States)

Not Verified | 1. It's the only airport in the world where everyone smokes - even the guards, but no one uses the smoking rooms, making the air unbreathable. It made me very sick. 2. Every person who works at Cairo International Airport is not properly trained in airport procedure. When I was leaving Cairo, the check-point guards kept asking me for my boarding pass though the airline check-in where tickets are issued was on the other side of the TSA/check-point. I'm obviously a foreigner (European) and have a foreign passport, which I showed them. Why would they need to see a ticket which is impossible to get at the airpot entrance?? 3. Guards charge a fee to enter the airport to wait for family - even if you yourself just landed but at the other terminal. 4. Terminals are not cohesive. Terminal 1 is practically in another town, away from terminal 2. My wife who was flying in from a different country after visiting family had landed earlier than me, so she had to take a taxi from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2, and they didn't let her wait inside. She had to wait outside with beggars who aggressively harassed her. That is when they charged her to re-enter the airport despite her showing them that she just landed at the other terminal. 5. They would not let me exit Terminal 2 to go to Terminal 1 to get to my proper flight. Since I had landed at Terminal 2, I thought I'd be departing there as well, so that was my error, but they handled it so poorly, I nearly missed my flight. 6. Terminal 1 is very, very dismal. Terminal 2 looks like a normal airport. Why is this? Why does Terminal 1 have people washing their feet in the bathroom sink? And why do I have to pay to use the bathroom in Terminal 1, but not Terminal 2? It makes the traveler's first impression of Cairo one of great disappointment. 7. Terminal 1 Arrivals has no wifi, no place to charge your dying phone and nothing to eat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Come on Egypt. You can do better than this"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | This airport is a disgrace to Egypt. If the country wants to attract tourists back it needs to completely overhaul it, including ensuring corruption-free and polite process administration. The whole thing is a mess but the absolute worst part is the main area security staff. They simply ask you for money and seem to target young westerners in particular. Having been asked for money and having refused, I then watched while one security guy searched through my son’s bag, while still sitting at his screen station, looking for, finding and then opening my son’s wallet. On finding it completely empty (luckily my son had given all his money to me) my son was allowed to pass. Check in was ok apart from a man shouting at the line for reasons that no one could work out. On to passport control and a gym chewing, un-smiling, not sure why I bothered to get out of bed young woman was who we met next. The service is the cafe area is very poor. Long lines and the place is very dirty. When you get to the gate there is a better security process but no indication that there are male and female lines until you find yourself nearly at the front of the wrong line. The few helpful and pleasant staff that we came across must find it so difficult that their reputation is damaged by what is clearly a systematic “I don’t care” approach. Come on Egypt. You can do better than this. Your country and people are warm and welcoming. Let the airport be a proud gateway to this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Pakistan)

Upon arrival before passport control touts approach you trying to get money for helping you through immigration or for organizing taxis. Completely unnecessary help! Departure hall chaotic and people smoking everywhere. Filthy toilets. Hard to understand how a country with tourism being so important and with special tourist police doesn't do anything about the airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

I am using Cairo airport on a regular basis (T1 and T2) and it is not really an enjoyable place to get through. CAI is just disorganised people jump queues crowd control at departure is inexistant signage is inconsistent and the chaos at passport control (Terminal 1) is something worth being filmed although immigration officers do an obvious effort to be polite on arrival. Options for transport to the city vary between shabby taxis and being ripped off by so called limousine agencies. No trains or decent buses are available. Terminal 3 has recently opened and let's hope that is gives a better image of the country.
no
1/10

"a horrible experience"

(Australia)

Unverified | I have been to more than 25 airports worldwide and Cairo has by far been the worst experience I have ever had. Immigration officers are extremely rude and unapologetic. Workers are tricky. They always expect tips. It is a nightmare and a horrible experience to travel through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the absolute worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the absolute worst airport I have ever been in. I have lived in developing countries and traveled from airports in those countries - including provincial towns in Siberia and Kurdistan in Iraq - and so far no experience has been as bad as Cairo. I have transited through Cairo twice in the past week and both times were truly awful. It is bad enough that even though I prefer to save money any way that I can and often that is through less enjoyable airports, I won’t do it again. My first experience at Cairo airport was a week ago. I was transiting from Tunisia to Iraqi Kurdistan and withdrew money. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get cash in Kurdistan, so I wanted to get money first and exchange it during my long layover. The atms only give Egyptian pounds. None of the currency exchanges would allow me to change them to dollars even though they had signs displaying that they would. They told me if I got a visa and went out to arrivals, I could exchange it there. I was nervous enough about accessing dollars I went ahead and did that since I had a very long layover. When I went to arrivals, they told me no, in departures there is a currency exchange that will give dollars. That was a lie too. When I went past passport control and into the departures area, I was told that nowhere could I exchange that money. When I arrived in Kurdistan, my checked bag had my toiletries and other containers opened up and poured messily into my bag like someone was looking to see if I had anything worth taking. Maybe this wasn’t them, but I’m inclined to believe it was. Unfortunately for them it was only dirty clothes, because I carry anything sentimental or valuable in my carry on. My second experience has been awful as well. Flying from Erbil on Egypt Air (also a horrible airline) and to Canada via Amman on Royal Jordanian. I was told I’d need to get my boarding pass in Cairo. They gave some random airport worker my passport, and it went from one random airport person to another with no explanation. I was escorted to the transfer info area where the person holding my passport will not allow me to leave and will not return my passport. I am very worried at this point if I will get my passport back or my boarding pass before my flight. It has been 4.5 hours since I had anything to eat or drink - or used the bathroom - but I am afraid to leave because the guy keeps wandering off with my passport in hand, and I am afraid it will really disappear if I leave since he refuses to give it back. I have tried to communicate using google translate but he refuses to give information or answer basic questions. I had really thought about visiting Cairo during this trip, but these experiences at the airport make me never want to return to this country, even just to transit. Horrible airport. Maybe the country itself is not like this, but I’m okay with never finding out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"huge bottleneck of people"

(Spain)

What a total disaster of an Airport. Huge bottleneck of people squashed into the security area. Then a bottleneck to check in, then a bottleneck mass questions to pass Visa and passport inspection. Then a another slow passport inspection by a solo staff member. Then another before going to your gate - awful design. Very bad management. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Complete nightmare avoid this airport at all costs. Badly laid out and staff are rude and unhelpful. Overpriced food dirty bathrooms generally unpleasant. Smokers everywhere. Unfortunately had to spend a total of 11 hours there - never again. Pyramids are not worth this.
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Egypt)

Cairo Airport Terminal 1 is one of the worst travel experiences I have encountered. Everything about the terminal is unpleasant; from arriving at the terminal to boarding your flight or indeed arriving at the terminal and leaving the terminal is beyond comprehension. What makes it more astounding is carriers such as Emirates, Etihad and Qatar Airways operate into the terminal. Bring on the new terminal, but when will it be completed?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

Cairo Airport customer review

(Spain)

For an airport which is less than 5 years old and which was (presumably) purpose-built for its home carrier Egyptair CAI is a horrific experience. The terminal is built in a V-shape with F and G gates extending along the arms of the 'V'. H gates are for flights accessible by bus and the gates are downstairs at the base of the V. There is no real holding area where passengers can wait for their flights except two largeish restaurants. As a result the arms of the terminal (i.e. the F and G gates) are severely crammed with passengers awaiting flights. The layout of each arm means that access between the restaurants and the F/G gates re often blocked by passengers queuing for flights and every available seat was taken. I visit the airport twice in September. On the first occasion I was changing from Egyptair to Ethiopian (both international flights) and had to hand in my passport for it to be checked by immigration. Surely this contravenes the laws of international transit? I then had to go back downstairs to international arrivals to pick up my passport and get a re-issued boarding card one hour before departure of my ET flight. On the second trip I was changing between MS flights so I thought "great no problem". However my onward boarding card was handwritten and was forced to join the long international transit passenger queue by some unpleasant jobsworth. There were around 10 people behind the counter but only one was actually doing any work. It was only when a second official asked if anybody had an onward boarding card that I managed to queue-jump and get a re-issued printed boarding card quickly. Internet access is available outside one of the several lounges for Star Alliance Business/First class passengers. Finally there is a smoking room opposite gate F2 but this was simply disgusting: dirty too small and with just three chairs. If an airport is going to offer smoking facilities to its guests it should either do it properly or not at all.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Cairo Airport customer review

(Malaysia)

Flew from KL arrived with Emirates at CAI Terminal 1. This terminal is awful. Upon arrival people rushed to the immigration where only 5 counters were open both for Egyptians and foreigners resulting in long queue. Immigration officer was just rude threw my passport after stamping it. Waited for about half an hour for my luggage. Toilet beside the carousel dirty and disgusting. Before exiting the airport custom officer requested to see my passport and scan my luggage. After scanning them they asked for "tips" and won't let me pass through after I pay them some money. That's not it after exiting the terminal annoying taxi drivers started to surround and trying to take away my trolley. Thank god I had someone waiting for me. When we reached to our car two men out of nowhere came and grabbed our luggage and put them into the boot and then asked for tips. This whole arriving experience was nightmare. Overall it was a bad arriving experience after you have flown for 10+ hour flight.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no