Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"My experience at Cairo International Airport haunts me"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My experience at Cairo International Airport haunts me, so I will not visit that beautiful country again. Leaving many of the irritating things that I went through at the Airport aside. The staff are so arrogant and annoying that they will not correctly respond to anything you ask. The worst thing is the staff ask you for a bribe openly to do anything, whether you want your luggage to go through security or check-in. There is no dedicated place where they check your luggage, my luggage was opened, which is fine, they should check it in detail if they think anything is wrong. But my luggage was opened on the floor, and everything was removed and kept on the floor. The entire line was stopped till this thing was going on, and my luggage was kept on the floor like an exhibition, after which I had to pick up everything from the floor. There were a lot of things wrong during arrival as well, but it was tolerable, but my experience during departure made me feel repulsed to even travel to Egypt again. PS: it is a beautiful country with amazing food, and you should visit it once at least.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"travel procedures were fast"

(China)

Trip Verified | The travel procedures were fast and comfortable, the immigration officers were very fast in stamping my passport in entry and exit, the treatment of the staff was friendly. The airport is clean and has good restaurants, and the bathrooms are clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I will surely try to avoid travelling there again"

(Greece)

Not Verified | I am a marine engineer and my work requires travelling abroad very often. I have been to many airports and I can say for sure that Cairo is the worst of them all! First of all it's cleanliness is below average and the airport staff are rude when you are asking for information. The worst part though is the check that is being done before you enter to your gate area. Due to work I have to carry with me an electronic device (Ultrasonic Thickness Device). I was not letting it go with my check-in baggage because I don't want to risk any loss of it. In every airport I don't have any issues with it. In Cairo they asked me about it and said it is illegal and they have to destroy it saying that it is enlisted as non-carry on equipment. I told them that nowhere on the Cairo airport site does it say about it being illegal to be transferred to carry-on baggage and after a long talk he said to me that he will do me a favor to let me take it but next time he will destroy it. I will surely try to avoid travelling there again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no real problem resolution at all"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Shocking service as we had a wheelchair person in our group and they did not find the chair, causing the whole group to miss tours. PR person said their feedback would happily surprise us but they just passed us on to the next person and their offer was enough to purchase 2 x cooldrinks at the airport. Follow up communication reads "but we tried-so so sorry" -but no real problem resolution at all
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"do yourself a favour and fly somewhere else"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This airport is the worst airport ever. They gave you only 30 minutes free Internet and that's it. Seats are not comfortable. The employees trying the whole time to get money from you. Transit in Cairo? Please do yourself a favour and fly somewhere else.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible employee customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Just terrible employee customer service. Abysmal attitude by all airport employees. Security staff extremely rude and demanding. Frisking everyone like a prisoner. Just have not seen this bad of an airport since back flying internationally this year. If they want business and tourist visitors, they need to change the customer service quick. Airport is hot and not clean. Restrooms smell and need service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"intimidating, persistent and totally unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As with other reviews on this site I endorse and reiterate the horrendous harassment both arriving and departing Cairo International Airport which is intimidating, persistent and totally unacceptable. Arrival: A suited man holding a walkie-talkie approached me as soon as I passed through security/immigration introducing himself as working for the Government's Tourism department and could arrange a taxi and tours of Cairo and Egypt. I advised I'd already arranged a limo pick up from the airport as well as sorted my tourist trips with the hotel's concierge. Despite being told this he followed me to the baggage carousel and stood right next to me continuing the pressure of offering a taxi or tours despite my continued rejections. He even tried to take my luggage off the baggage carousel stating he was trying to help. He continued to follow me to, and surprising through, the Customs 'Nothing to Declare channel', still pushing his offer of a taxi well into the arrivals hall. Clearly having this freedom of movement and access meant he was indeed a person of some authority in the airport. This harassment continued even as I exited the airport and was on the pavement awaiting my driver. Departure: As noted in other reviews the luggage handlers putting baggage through the security scanners before you even get into the airport and to the check in counters demanded with menace, that I pay them for putting my luggage on the scanner conveyor belt. This was done with 2 handlers shielding each other from being seen or overheard in the presence of the armed security guards. Having advised I had no money only cards I was abruptly told both "Now!" and "ATM!" These jokers seriously thought a tourist would leave the queues to find an ATM to pay their extortion. Having passed through the metal detector and awaiting my luggage being screened one of the two handlers who'd asked me for money came around to take my luggage off the conveyor belt and menacingly gesticulated to me while stating he remembered me from the other side, starring intensely at me while doing so. This was further intimidation with the purpose to extort money from a tourist. This guy even pursed his lips towards the security guard, blowing a kiss, clearly as as an unconcerned gesture to the security guard that he and his actions could not be challenged and an insult to the guard. I took my bags and went to check-in for my flight out of Cairo.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no need for such harassment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have visited Cairo a few times pre covid and it was terrible service then. The police/immigration officials are rude and keep asking stupid ethnicity questions about my father's/grandfather's and my background and even though I am a British national with a British Passport. They then seize my passport and conduct further checks as if I'm not a genuine passport holder. However this time in March 2022 they have become even worse and were very rude and abrupt with very little understanding of the English language. When I returned to fly out the Policeman at the door at Terminal 3 asked to see my passport and ticket which I showed him. He let all other Egyptian passport holders through without checking any other documents. He then pretended to read my e-ticket and said I needed to go terminal 2. I explained to him that my ticket said terminal 3 and terminal 2 was London Heathrow my arrival destination. He refused to listen and ignored me so I persevered and then after a while he let me through saying " Oh London, No Paris". I said it says London Heathrow clearly and walked passed him. I was stopped again when checking bags through and one guy even asked for a TIP! I don't know what for but I said NO. At the immigration desk same ethnicity questions and passport was seized and checked before finally being allowed through. In these modern times as there is no need for such harassment and rude behaviour.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Complex airport security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Transited in this airport. I was really dreading it but not too bad. Went through security checks again despite being airside which is of concern if people can randomly enter the airport or were not properly screen in regional airports. Food selection options OK - much better than I thought and reasonably priced. A fair range of shops for the size of the airports. Limited seating downstairs near international departure gate and like sitting in a windtunnel but if you take the escalator upstairs to where the museum is the area is very nice. Comfortable seats and warmth. Chaotic boarding don't even think priority boarding/business class is applied. Complex airport security again especially for airside. I really do question the consistency of staff and their understanding of security procedures. Gave up on the wi fi situation. Very clean toilets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Don't ever try to transit Cairo"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The worst airport ever. They don't have a charger port, no internet connection unless you have us dollars on your hand .A 30 minutes of internet will cost you 2 dollars and an hour is 6. The staff are not friendly and accommodating. Don't ever try to transit Cairo.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no