Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 96 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst lounge I've ever visited"

(France)

Trip Verified | No Immigration officer were there at the transit booth, I had to wait for 30min to have another officer bring me to the main Immigration line. After this, well the duty free is basically empty of any interesting items. The bar had no waiter. Hippopotamus is dodgy, microwaved food. The first class Mastercard Lounge is the worst lounge I've ever visited, with 30yo couches, a total F&B of 3 croissants, 4 oranges, 6 water bottle, a lonely yoghurt and 30 plastic wrapped pieces of bread. Agents are rude and busy looking at their phones. As for WiFi, good luck getting the OTP if you don't have an Egyptian number. In any case that'll just grant you 30min.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This is not the way to treat visitors to the country"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | I was travelling to Dubai on flight MS 905 from Cairo at Terminal 2 on 9 July 2021. The immigration supervisor at terminal 2 was rude and harassed me by doubting my passport and was extremely rude. I am a frequent traveler and never been disrespected like that. I complained to another supervisor and he apologized and told me that he will speak to this arrogant and ill mannered individual. The immigration male supervisor at terminal 2 was not old and came to the immigration counter after being called by an inexperienced female immigration clerk at the counter. This is not the way to treat visitors to the country who bring and spend money. Be grateful and have some manners. This is the way duty is done by professional immigration people around the world. Do it with Egyptian people, not with selected international travelers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Efficient, courteous and well designed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew into Cairo from Addis May 17/18 on Ethiopian arriving 01.30. Brilliant. Out in 40 minutes. Everything quick and efficient. Two little points. Meeters and greeters are outside. eg my Guest House car. SIM cards available. Vodafone open. But not given any info on topping up etc.. Departed May 29th. Egyptair to LHR. Cairo Airport was brilliant. Efficient, courteous and well designed. At first security check 30m inside T3 you need to show ticket and passport, digital on phone ticket OK, this is before you are allowed into Check In area. Check in quick and courteous. Needed my PCR test cert and UK PLF printed out. Immigration check very quick. You then emerge, after normal shopping mall into airside cafeteria with breakfast options on a clear menu. Excellent choice. 3 price levels. 5 min Q for gate security check which was very thorough including everything out of your pockets. Then huge gate area with plenty seats. Took off 10m late. Readers bear in mind when looking at reviews on Cairo and Addis Ababa that it is mainly the unlucky ones who complain. I found Cairo to be excellent. Best airport to go through since Singapore 1993.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"If you want the tourists back you have to improve very much"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Even the airport is full with scammers. So many police and nobody is taking it seriously. The cleaners will let you smoke in the invalid toilet and so many want to take your luggage but what they really want is your money. Too bad Cairo. If you want the tourists back you have to improve very much.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport I have ever come across"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever come across, very embarrassing. Airport staff shamelessly hustle you for tips. From the moment you got through screening, to check in, to boarder control. At some point I refused to tip and they marked my passport so that I would go through further checks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Australia)

Not Verified | The whole experience was terrible. On arrival, getting a taxi from the airport to the hotel was a big task. Everybody tried to get business from you. There was no standard fee charges. You have to negotiate the fee. It was terrible. 5 days later, on departure, the experience of checking in was even worse. It was hard to find the the right place for check in. The people wearing the uniform was telling me no check in, but going to next gate I was told ok. The whole thing was a mess. Everywhere in the airport people could ask you to show your passport. There are no areas to sit while waiting for boarding.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The airport is overall clean"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival, most international tourists are looking for visa on arrival and surprisingly you should proceed to bank counter for the visa (without any sign showing "visa on arrival"). After immigration, the money exchange counter is at one end, while the telcos are at the other end. The airport is overall clean, however, cleaners around some washrooms may ask you for money (for those who are not aware, they might think that's the fee to use washroom).
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"he started asking for money as tips"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Big airport, good immigration staff but some were always looking for tips. My arrival was good, immigration officer was good. In my departure from Terminal 1, I came across a bad experience. I had 2 small trolley suitcases that I was carrying, one male staff member came and insisted I take an airport trolley and I thought it was their rule. I paid 20 EZP as per schedule. It was only 20 meters that he pushed the trolley and then he started asking for money as tips. I refused to pay as I didn't have that much EZP. After checking-in my suitcases, I found one suitcase broken on floor and unorganized. None of the airport staff or the airline staff informed me of anything even though I was sitting in front of them. I did not get any answers from any of the staffs. I am sure it was the guy behind this situation who was asking for the tips. The airport authority must change their attitude towards the tourists. Airport shops were too expensive. Food were also expensive and not too good. Wifi does not work if anyone doesn't have a local mobile number.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport authority must change their attitude"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Big airport, good immigration staff but some were always looking for Bakhshish (Tips). My arrival was good, immigration officer was good. In my departure from Terminal 1, I came across a bad experience. I had 2 small trolley suitcases that I was carrying, one male staff member came and insisted I take an airport trolley and I thought it was their rule. I paid 20 EZP as per schedule. It was only 20 meters that he pushed the trolley and then he started asking for money as tips. I refused to pay as I didn't have that much EZP. After checking-in my suitcases, I found one suitcase broken on floor and unorganized. None of the airport staff or the airline staff informed me of anything even though I was sitting in front of them. I did not get any answers from any of the staffs. I am sure it was the guy behind this situation who was asking for the tips. The airport authority must change their attitude towards the tourists. Airport shops were too expensive. Food were also expensive and not too good. Wifi does not work if anyone doesn't have a local mobile number.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"some of staff are helpful and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Looks like a military base, numerous check point until you finally board the plane. Officials made a case because we did not have our boarding pass (they were to be collected at check in desks). Although some of staff are helpful and friendly they are exceptions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 96 Reviews