Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 88 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport authority must change their attitude"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Big airport, good immigration staff but some were always looking for Bakhshish (Tips). My arrival was good, immigration officer was good. In my departure from Terminal 1, I came across a bad experience. I had 2 small trolley suitcases that I was carrying, one male staff member came and insisted I take an airport trolley and I thought it was their rule. I paid 20 EZP as per schedule. It was only 20 meters that he pushed the trolley and then he started asking for money as tips. I refused to pay as I didn't have that much EZP. After checking-in my suitcases, I found one suitcase broken on floor and unorganized. None of the airport staff or the airline staff informed me of anything even though I was sitting in front of them. I did not get any answers from any of the staffs. I am sure it was the guy behind this situation who was asking for the tips. The airport authority must change their attitude towards the tourists. Airport shops were too expensive. Food were also expensive and not too good. Wifi does not work if anyone doesn't have a local mobile number.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"some of staff are helpful and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Looks like a military base, numerous check point until you finally board the plane. Officials made a case because we did not have our boarding pass (they were to be collected at check in desks). Although some of staff are helpful and friendly they are exceptions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"never had any problem using the airport"

(Egypt)

Not Verified | I'm a foreigner living in Egypt, and I use Cairo airport regularly. I have used Terminals 3 & 2, but never Terminal 1. The airport has a few minor quirks, and airside can be a bit dull, but I've never had any problem using the airport, which for the most part is modern and efficient. My flights almost always leave on time - more reliably so than in most European and North American airports. The closest thing I've ever had to a 'problem' was when I was told that my Egyptair flight was leaving from Terminal 2 instead of Terminal 3, but it's a very short walk between the two, and it was easy to shake off the two touts along that walk who wanted to 'help' (I just told them I live in Cairo; even if you're a tourist, try the same trick - tell them you live in Maadi or Zamalek if you want to sound more convincing). Here are some tips from a regular traveller for making your Cairo Airport experience smoother and more enjoyable: 1) If you're a tourist, always make sure that you have your USD$25 tourist visa fee in cash in advance of arrival - and in US dollars rather than the equivalent in another currency (they apparently take euros as well, but before I had residency I only ever used dollars). You have to pay for your visa sticker in cash at one of the bank windows right before the immigration desks, and then take both sticker and passport (separately; don't attach the sticker yourself) to immigration. 2) When leaving the airport, there is a security checkpoint and screening before check in. Remove everything from your pockets (and put it in your bags) before you go through security, except for your passport and a printout of either your boarding pass or your itinerary confirmation to show the security guard. Don't rely on using your mobile phone to confirm that you have a flight; always take a hardcopy of confirmation. In Terminal 3, there are individual security checkpoints at each gate (which is highly efficient, and greatly reduces queuing times). Terminal 2 has a single security checkpoint area between passport checks and airside, which is more traditional, but can lead to longer queues. If possible, arrange for someone to meet you at the airport to drive you to your destination. Also confirm where at the airport you're going to be met. Most drivers/greeters can only meet you just outside the terminal, though some can be found right before immigration and just after baggage claim, which can be confusing for first-time visitors. If you can't be met, Cairo also has Uber, which can take a lot of the stress out of worrying how much a taxi is going to cost (though the airport pick-up area can be hard to find). 5) Never let someone take one of your bags from you, or offer to help you carry your bag. If someone offers you unsolicited help before check in (when leaving) or after baggage claim (when arriving), decline. Arabic for 'no thank you' is 'la shukran'. Remember that the overwhelming majority of Egyptians are kind, generous, and helpful, and that Egypt is a wonderful country. Do not assume that the small number of easy to ignore touts at the airport are representative of Egypt - and don't let them ruin your trip!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a horrible representation of the country"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a horrible representation of the country. The employees are trying to swindle American and European travelers. The place where one should feel the safest feels the most vulnerable. Egypt was a wonderful country filled with people who were eager to show us a great time. They were warm and friendly and proud of their nation. This airport feels like an entirely different country altogether. My passport was held for ransom of $40; the security charged $150 just to walk through. Security was asking select travelers “how much money do you have?” And they are only respectful to those who are native or speak the language. The airport itself is chaotic, unkept, and much of the shops are unfriendly. This is not the Egypt I was introduced to and came to love. This needs to be rectified if they expect travelers to ever return or give a good recommendation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"ruined our experience to Cairo"

(United States)

Not Verified | Tipping out of control. It’s a hustle. Guy loading the bags tried to get money from me. Then, 2 other employees at the bathroom were hustling customers for money to use the bathroom. Then, a woman tried to enter the stall while my wife was using the bathroom asking for money. All were airport employees. This ruined our experience to Cairo.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible start to Egypt"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I had to pay a £50 bribe to a policeman. They only accept USD or EU currency for the VISA and I only had Egyptian money. All of the ATM's in the security area were broken so a guard took me through security without the visa and told me to withdraw £100 from an ATM in the arrivals areas - £50 for the visa and £50 for him, he then took me back to security where I could buy a visa. I felt very intimidated and ripped off. What a horrible start to Egypt
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the absolute worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the absolute worst airport I have ever been in. I have lived in developing countries and traveled from airports in those countries - including provincial towns in Siberia and Kurdistan in Iraq - and so far no experience has been as bad as Cairo. I have transited through Cairo twice in the past week and both times were truly awful. It is bad enough that even though I prefer to save money any way that I can and often that is through less enjoyable airports, I won’t do it again. My first experience at Cairo airport was a week ago. I was transiting from Tunisia to Iraqi Kurdistan and withdrew money. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get cash in Kurdistan, so I wanted to get money first and exchange it during my long layover. The atms only give Egyptian pounds. None of the currency exchanges would allow me to change them to dollars even though they had signs displaying that they would. They told me if I got a visa and went out to arrivals, I could exchange it there. I was nervous enough about accessing dollars I went ahead and did that since I had a very long layover. When I went to arrivals, they told me no, in departures there is a currency exchange that will give dollars. That was a lie too. When I went past passport control and into the departures area, I was told that nowhere could I exchange that money. When I arrived in Kurdistan, my checked bag had my toiletries and other containers opened up and poured messily into my bag like someone was looking to see if I had anything worth taking. Maybe this wasn’t them, but I’m inclined to believe it was. Unfortunately for them it was only dirty clothes, because I carry anything sentimental or valuable in my carry on. My second experience has been awful as well. Flying from Erbil on Egypt Air (also a horrible airline) and to Canada via Amman on Royal Jordanian. I was told I’d need to get my boarding pass in Cairo. They gave some random airport worker my passport, and it went from one random airport person to another with no explanation. I was escorted to the transfer info area where the person holding my passport will not allow me to leave and will not return my passport. I am very worried at this point if I will get my passport back or my boarding pass before my flight. It has been 4.5 hours since I had anything to eat or drink - or used the bathroom - but I am afraid to leave because the guy keeps wandering off with my passport in hand, and I am afraid it will really disappear if I leave since he refuses to give it back. I have tried to communicate using google translate but he refuses to give information or answer basic questions. I had really thought about visiting Cairo during this trip, but these experiences at the airport make me never want to return to this country, even just to transit. Horrible airport. Maybe the country itself is not like this, but I’m okay with never finding out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is slightly above average"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is not in the top but sure isn’t as bad as some expressed, please note that the airport has 3 separate terminals, the oldest one is not good but I understand there is planned renovations. The other 2 terminals are fairly new, good and clean, there is some miss organization but I have seen way worse in Major Airports. Overall, the airport is slightly above average and you can have decent time and reasonable waiting / process time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the worst international airports"

(India)

Not Verified | One of the worst international airports I have been to. The food court is just for its namesake with no options for vegetarians. Highly overpriced soft drinks, like 10 times the price. Staff do not speak adequate English. Washrooms are not cleaned and the tables are always dirty. Last but not the least, the interiors are very old and unconvincing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lots of security checks"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Have free WIFI but you need a telephone number to get confirmation code via sms. Waited 40 minutes to get checked baggage. No sign to show how to get to terminal 3, to terminal 2 and needed to ask security staff instead. Lots of security checks and no battery in carry-on baggage. Few restaurant at duty free shop area in international departure area. Better to walk around gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 88 Reviews