Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 85 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a horrible representation of the country"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a horrible representation of the country. The employees are trying to swindle American and European travelers. The place where one should feel the safest feels the most vulnerable. Egypt was a wonderful country filled with people who were eager to show us a great time. They were warm and friendly and proud of their nation. This airport feels like an entirely different country altogether. My passport was held for ransom of $40; the security charged $150 just to walk through. Security was asking select travelers “how much money do you have?” And they are only respectful to those who are native or speak the language. The airport itself is chaotic, unkept, and much of the shops are unfriendly. This is not the Egypt I was introduced to and came to love. This needs to be rectified if they expect travelers to ever return or give a good recommendation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"ruined our experience to Cairo"

(United States)

Not Verified | Tipping out of control. It’s a hustle. Guy loading the bags tried to get money from me. Then, 2 other employees at the bathroom were hustling customers for money to use the bathroom. Then, a woman tried to enter the stall while my wife was using the bathroom asking for money. All were airport employees. This ruined our experience to Cairo.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible start to Egypt"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I had to pay a £50 bribe to a policeman. They only accept USD or EU currency for the VISA and I only had Egyptian money. All of the ATM's in the security area were broken so a guard took me through security without the visa and told me to withdraw £100 from an ATM in the arrivals areas - £50 for the visa and £50 for him, he then took me back to security where I could buy a visa. I felt very intimidated and ripped off. What a horrible start to Egypt
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the absolute worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the absolute worst airport I have ever been in. I have lived in developing countries and traveled from airports in those countries - including provincial towns in Siberia and Kurdistan in Iraq - and so far no experience has been as bad as Cairo. I have transited through Cairo twice in the past week and both times were truly awful. It is bad enough that even though I prefer to save money any way that I can and often that is through less enjoyable airports, I won’t do it again. My first experience at Cairo airport was a week ago. I was transiting from Tunisia to Iraqi Kurdistan and withdrew money. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get cash in Kurdistan, so I wanted to get money first and exchange it during my long layover. The atms only give Egyptian pounds. None of the currency exchanges would allow me to change them to dollars even though they had signs displaying that they would. They told me if I got a visa and went out to arrivals, I could exchange it there. I was nervous enough about accessing dollars I went ahead and did that since I had a very long layover. When I went to arrivals, they told me no, in departures there is a currency exchange that will give dollars. That was a lie too. When I went past passport control and into the departures area, I was told that nowhere could I exchange that money. When I arrived in Kurdistan, my checked bag had my toiletries and other containers opened up and poured messily into my bag like someone was looking to see if I had anything worth taking. Maybe this wasn’t them, but I’m inclined to believe it was. Unfortunately for them it was only dirty clothes, because I carry anything sentimental or valuable in my carry on. My second experience has been awful as well. Flying from Erbil on Egypt Air (also a horrible airline) and to Canada via Amman on Royal Jordanian. I was told I’d need to get my boarding pass in Cairo. They gave some random airport worker my passport, and it went from one random airport person to another with no explanation. I was escorted to the transfer info area where the person holding my passport will not allow me to leave and will not return my passport. I am very worried at this point if I will get my passport back or my boarding pass before my flight. It has been 4.5 hours since I had anything to eat or drink - or used the bathroom - but I am afraid to leave because the guy keeps wandering off with my passport in hand, and I am afraid it will really disappear if I leave since he refuses to give it back. I have tried to communicate using google translate but he refuses to give information or answer basic questions. I had really thought about visiting Cairo during this trip, but these experiences at the airport make me never want to return to this country, even just to transit. Horrible airport. Maybe the country itself is not like this, but I’m okay with never finding out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is slightly above average"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is not in the top but sure isn’t as bad as some expressed, please note that the airport has 3 separate terminals, the oldest one is not good but I understand there is planned renovations. The other 2 terminals are fairly new, good and clean, there is some miss organization but I have seen way worse in Major Airports. Overall, the airport is slightly above average and you can have decent time and reasonable waiting / process time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the worst international airports"

(India)

Not Verified | One of the worst international airports I have been to. The food court is just for its namesake with no options for vegetarians. Highly overpriced soft drinks, like 10 times the price. Staff do not speak adequate English. Washrooms are not cleaned and the tables are always dirty. Last but not the least, the interiors are very old and unconvincing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lots of security checks"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Have free WIFI but you need a telephone number to get confirmation code via sms. Waited 40 minutes to get checked baggage. No sign to show how to get to terminal 3, to terminal 2 and needed to ask security staff instead. Lots of security checks and no battery in carry-on baggage. Few restaurant at duty free shop area in international departure area. Better to walk around gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shaking us down for money"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived 3 hours early for a flight to Greece. We checked in online but we’re not issued boarding passes as the airport requires you to check in in person. So we get to the first security gate right at the entrance of airport and they tell us the check point is a closed for economy and that we cannot pass thru until an hour before our flight. Then they say that they will let us pass, they can open the gate now. They proceed to grab our bags and pass them thru security and then ask for money. We go thru security to get to the check in area, but then the security agent stops us and starts looking thru our bags then demands money in order to let us pass. That the airport is a business, so the agents who are checking our bags are shaking us down for money. Absolutely ridiculous! You expect this at the tourists sites but not at an international airport by the staff. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Simply one of the worst airport experiences in my almost 50 countries traveled. Everyone very unfriendly and confusing at the security gates. All toilets extremely dirty. Also I can't understand why they have to take your only lighter (every other country lets you take one (not more) and then you go to a smoking lounge where only the security guards have lighters and are clearly keeping them for themselves.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"first impression of great disappointment"

(United States)

Not Verified | 1. It's the only airport in the world where everyone smokes - even the guards, but no one uses the smoking rooms, making the air unbreathable. It made me very sick. 2. Every person who works at Cairo International Airport is not properly trained in airport procedure. When I was leaving Cairo, the check-point guards kept asking me for my boarding pass though the airline check-in where tickets are issued was on the other side of the TSA/check-point. I'm obviously a foreigner (European) and have a foreign passport, which I showed them. Why would they need to see a ticket which is impossible to get at the airpot entrance?? 3. Guards charge a fee to enter the airport to wait for family - even if you yourself just landed but at the other terminal. 4. Terminals are not cohesive. Terminal 1 is practically in another town, away from terminal 2. My wife who was flying in from a different country after visiting family had landed earlier than me, so she had to take a taxi from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2, and they didn't let her wait inside. She had to wait outside with beggars who aggressively harassed her. That is when they charged her to re-enter the airport despite her showing them that she just landed at the other terminal. 5. They would not let me exit Terminal 2 to go to Terminal 1 to get to my proper flight. Since I had landed at Terminal 2, I thought I'd be departing there as well, so that was my error, but they handled it so poorly, I nearly missed my flight. 6. Terminal 1 is very, very dismal. Terminal 2 looks like a normal airport. Why is this? Why does Terminal 1 have people washing their feet in the bathroom sink? And why do I have to pay to use the bathroom in Terminal 1, but not Terminal 2? It makes the traveler's first impression of Cairo one of great disappointment. 7. Terminal 1 Arrivals has no wifi, no place to charge your dying phone and nothing to eat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews