Cairns Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not one smile in sight from any of the staff"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I arrived in Cairns at about 4.30am from Japan as I had a connecting flight home to Sydney. Overall a pretty bad experience and I was glad to be out of there. Imagine coming off an 8 hour flight, having been up for a total of about 20+ hours at this point, just excited to get home and not one smile in sight from any of the staff. As my partner and I were walking towards our baggage claim carousel, we were met by a gentleman checking declarations forms. "Do you have your card on you?" - his tone and body language made me feel like I was being approached by a policeman after I had done something wrong. After checking our cards, we walked probably another ten steps and were met with another gentleman and a lady asking to check our cards. I said that the previous gentleman had checked our cards already but the woman still proceeded to hold out her hand for our cards. I was so tired at this point that I just handed them over. Again, not a single smile, she just handed the cards back over and looked past me to check other people's cards. I'd like to point out, this was early in the morning and there were probably only 10-12 people in baggage claim at this point. My partner and I get through customs and head towards the food court to grab a bite and wait for our flight home. Not a lot of options at all for an international airport. Food was ridiculously expensive, even for an airport so we decided to go to Hungry Jacks which was reasonably priced. There were probably only 4 or 5 people in front of me in the line and it took them 45 minutes to get our food out. There was a manager there yelling at the staff for orders, which I understand in that environment. What I don't understand is - she was the one making the mistakes, giving people the wrong orders as I saw people repeatedly come back and say their order was wrong. Her yelling was visibly flustering the young staff and I felt sorry for them. In the end my meal ended up being wrong as well, including a burnt chicken patty. At that point, I was just so fed up and ended up eating only the chips. The toilets were pretty embarrassing, smelly and outdated. The signage is confusing and not adequate enough. This airport needs to accommodate the tourists, catch up with the rest of the world and have multilingual signs. This is a major tourist airport and you don't have signs in other languages where most of the tourists come from (Chinese/Japanese)? Yet we expect (and most often get) English signs around airports around the world? Train up your staff and invest in updating the.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"absolutely disgusting"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This international airport is absolutely disgusting. I've been to many airports around the world but this one was the worst. Toilets are worse than in third world countries and the cafe in arrivals is very poor quality. The girls can't make a nice coffee and there is a very limited choice. Not surprised that airlines don't want to fly here.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Awful treatment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst staff! Awful treatment on the check-in. As if flying isn't stressful enough. These people are unfriendly, pushy, simply awful experience. I am glad I never have to fly to Cairns again!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"flights always delayed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Being frequent-flyer is easy to pick things what’s right and wrong in the airports. Cairns airport was with very limited choices for food before Hudson cafe came in. We thought it will improve choices and services but it made it more worse. Even if you to check in before time you cannot do your duty free shopping and get a cup of coffee and relex because of slow service at Hudson all long queues bad service bad food menu. Since they’re open till today I never able to get a quick coffee without waiting period for 20 minutes. International airport with one cafe where flights always delayed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Really underwhelming Airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Really underwhelming Airport. The Domestic Terminal feels more like a mall than an Airport. Though dimly lit, there are a few food and shopping options to help pass the time. Signage is quite poor. The airport smells damp (like most tropical airports), which could be fixed with better ventilation. International departures is a sad, sad terminal. Between 12 and 5pm, is is a barren wasteland with only staff around. If you're more than three hours early for your flight, the only food options are a small internet cafe. It is over-priced and doesn't even have ice cream, however, their coffee is nice. Toilets are gross and smell. Could do with some TLC. More signage is also needed throughout the airport. Free WIFI is offered - It is somewhat slow but does the job - use mobile data, if you can. It cost $3 to use a luggage trolley, $30 to report lost property, and about $10 for a return bus fair into Cairns. Not a huge fee, but quiet considerable when compared to the free connectors that Melbourne and Adelaide offer. Duty Free shopping is always a treat, the staff there are lovely.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Arrivals never fails to disappoint"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I use this international terminal frequently. Departures always seem to be smooth and polite with check-in staff who show concern for passengers. Absolutely no complaints there. However Arrivals never fails to disappoint, including my most recent arrivals experience. The staff who separate disembarking from continuing/transiting passengers are always abrupt to the point of being rude (no one wants to be barked at within seconds of stepping off a flight), without a smile in sight, and not making things any easier for themselves by not having any clearly visible signage indicating what documents are required for the mainly Chinese passengers who don't speak English. It's not a good first contact with Cairns. At the immigration point I chose to use the Smart/e-passport gate. This is often closed, but this time it was open. So I went to it, answered the questions on the screen, took my card, proceeded to the photo point, where the card was rejected and I had to join the (now longer) queue for manual immigration processing. I mentioned to the immigration officers that the e-gate wasn't working and the response was that it was not available for this flight. I suggested if that was the case they should rope it off and make it clear that it wasn't operating so time wouldn't be wasted going through the process. Just a dead stare in response and no action. OK, so on to baggage collection and customs which was fine. Then out to the taxi stand where signage for unsuspecting visitors is so inadequate that most visitors stand waiting for a taxi having no idea that a taxi will not come unless you press an almost invisible button on a wall that is not near the waiting point to let the taxi company know you're waiting. Once again I was having to help visitors make the taxi call - this is despite having written twice to Cairns airport about the issue. These are small things to fix and can dramatically affect a person's view of the destination but in my view the current situation is not up to international arrival standards.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"all the windows are blocked off"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Being as it was extremely hot and humid I thought a few hours in the air conditioning watching a major international airport arrivals and departures would fill in the morning. Imagine my dismay when all the windows are blocked off and the only way to see the planes is to sit in the smoking section outside.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"no passenger management or organization"

(Canada)

Not Verified | It seems like an odd choice to have 2 planes leave at the same time to the same destination from neighbouring gates when they share neighbouring gates with very little separation from which gate is which gate is which. The hall to board the plane was crammed with people before they even began deplaning. I felt bad for the people just try’s by to get off the plane. It seems like there is no passenger management or organization. Not enough seats for how busy it is and the announcements were inaudible. Do better Cairns.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Toilets smell disgusting"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sound system is very difficult to understand (speakers or construction materials?). Toilets smell disgusting and have been for several years, I have used numerious ablutions in remote regions in Australia that smell better. This is a tourist destination, I wonder what impression it leaves with visitors? Food costs are unreasonably expensive, $2 for small piece of fruit! Luggage was left in rain on last trip (4wks ago) and contents got wet. WIFI access poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"really liked the staff in general"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I really liked the staff in general. They were very friendly and smiling comparing to many Australian airports. The baggage drop counter was closed when I arrived but the staff at the service desk immediately checked me in. The airport is clean with adequate number of seats. The signage is not well designed and you need to look for them. They number of shopping outlets at the terminal is low considering that it's an international airport. Commuting to and from airport is very easy and there are enough transportation options to choose from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews