Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 103 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"terminal (2a) was clean and well laid out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When I arrived at this airport the customs/immigration check took an age, at least an hour. On exiting the airport the parking zones were clearly marked and I was able to find my transfer without too much trouble. On the return leg, check in was clearly marked and I was able to clear the bag drop and security within about 20 minutes. The terminal (2a) was clean and well laid out, with a fully functional food court, shops etc. My only gripe is that there is a lack of screens here, I was one cluster of screens on the ground floor, that was it. There was certainly nothing where I was on the first floor. There was quite a walk to the departure gate, but first I had to go through passport control. Not really the airports fault but the police officer at the kiosk didn’t beckon me forward when an opening appeared in the line, just stared at me the way I might stare at one of my dogs if it has been naughty. So forward I went, no hello, no goodbye thanks for visiting, nothing. Very rude man. At the departure gate there wasn’t too much seating but I did see USB ports for phones etc and the toilets were clean and tidy. The a/c here did a mans job, very warm outside but very pleasant in the gate. Not a complaint from me, but if I was a speedy boarder I’d have been rather annoyed. They were all brought forward and sent down the air bridge. About 10 minutes later I was a little miffed as I was still standing in the gate. But on looking out the window the speedy chaps were now in a “cage” section of the air bridge (pictured) No a/c, completely exposed to the 30 degree plus temperatures outside. And there they stood for a good 20 minutes. All in all not a bad airport, certainly head and shoulders above Stansted in terms of passenger amenities and general appearance.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Do not use the Euronet ATMs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Not a giant airport so pleasant to travel around. Do not use the Euronet ATMs at the airport or anywhere else, they have terrible exchange rates (always pick the local currency) and high withdrawal fees even if you avoid conversion rip off. You can buy travel into the city using a card and I would suggest using any of the local banks none of which charged me a fee during the visit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"such horrible customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | People selling public transportation tickets at the airport are so rude! I have never experienced such horrible customer service in any of the countries in the world. And they call themselves a developed country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"long walk and long waiting times"

(France)

Trip Verified | Mid-sized, modern, clean and bright and fast security check early in the morning (no need to be there 2 hours early for flights within Europe). Food court which offers a good variety upstairs, clean bathrooms. Gate numbers are often only announced 10 minutes prior to boarding: no panic and need to rush though as waiting times at gates and in the low fare flight hangar outside are long - outside hangar a long walk there and long waiting times: I am writing this review while waiting for boarding since 25 minutes, standing inside and outside the hangar without seating possibilities, fortunately, this time it isn't as cold as last time, passengers are made waiting way too long - lots of high priced shops. Avoid ATM machines, the fees are a rip off
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a good airport but nothing special"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | A medium sized airport which has been partially renovated. Nowadays only terminal 2 is active. It's reasonably well designed and signals and directions are both in English as well as Hungarian. Security is a bit old fashioned and queues can get huge easily. It has a large food court but quality isn't high. Duty free shops are large. There's a direct and very frequent bus service to the city center. All in all a good airport but nothing special.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"designed to rip you off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport itself is new and clean, however everything there is designed to rip you off. All the ATM's there are Euronet with very high fees (1280 HUF) and when you go to the Duty Free store you can't pay in Forint with your card (the currency of Hungary) only Euros with a markup. If you travel there visit any banks ATM and withdraw in Forint (not your nome currency - known as dynamic currency conversion) and there are zero fees from the ATM. You can buy a ticket to the city centre with a credit card.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"stress free airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew in from Zurich on Swiss Airline and departed to Zurich on the same. Arrival was extremely smooth. A jet bridge brought us out of the airplane and you walked through the terminal following clear signs. I had no checked in luggage to pick up. Just outside the terminal building, on the left is a taxi booth in front of which an orderly queue had formed. The attendants spoke English. I gave them the hotel name I needed to go to. I was given a ticket with bold numbers identifying a taxi and the approximate price printed on it. Another attendant directed me to the spot I needed to wait and soon a taxi with my number on the windshield arrived and I gave him my ticket. The price was what was on the ticket and I paid by Mastercard. Absolutely stress free airport to hotel transfer. On the return, I arrived at the airport from the hotel by taxi too and paid by credit card. The ticketing area in the early morning looked very crowded. The Swiss Airline ticket counter on the far left did not have a long line and I received my boarding passes and made my way to security. The checking was quite thorough - removing computers, shoes, belt, liquids, and the like. Immediately thereafter you enter a large store and following that there is a spacious open area with restaurants and shops selling all sorts of both local and international products. You can surely pick up mementos of your visit here. I went to the Swiss Air Lines lounge and waited for my flight. There are more than one lounge at the airport and I needed to ask for directions to this particular one. It is located close to the gates from which their flights depart. I found the airport bustling, clean, with lots of amenities. The lounge was comfortable and had screens showing flight departure times. There was no need to change money into the local currency on my entire trip as credit cards were acceptable everywhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"It's hard to find a screen"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It's hard to find a screen with departures. If you find, then no chairs to sit. Obviously I want to sit while waiting hours for my delayed flight and check when I have to go to the gate. Instead, I can sit and go to a screen from time to time to be sure I'm not gonna miss my flight. Or I can just stand in front of one for hours with my luggage. None of them are comfortable. I managed to find a screen with a few chairs in front, obviously full. Then I found other screens with more chairs but they were either off or ads. No departures. Ridiculous
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"walk past every shop"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a truly awful airport if you are departing on a low cost airline such as I was. I was departing with Ryanair to Prague from gate A18. To reach the gate you have to walk past every shop imaginable, only to find yourself located at the boarding pass scanners, you still have to walk a solid 4 minutes through a Jet Bridge and then outside. After doing this you find yourself in what can only be described as a shed where your boarding pass is scanned and passport checked, before being made to walk to the plane. It is clear this airport has been built with the only aim being to make you buy stuff you do not need, nor want.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"avoid the ATMS"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Wanted to come on here to say - avoid the ATMS. They rely on your unfamilarity with the currency to try to get you to take out much more money than you need - the minimum amount was 60,000 forints which is around 160 euros, and the highest values are into the thousands of euros. They ask you to accept a criminally high exchange rate and have a confusing menu system so it is difficult not to accept this. If you need a bus ticket or a taxi you can pay by card or in euros so you don't need the currency. I recommend you get your currency beforehand as all ATMS in Budapest appear to be owned by the same company.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes