Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever been to. Very small airport with long queues at drop off (1,5 hour waiting even travelling with not low fare cost company so not having time to shop in duty free). It needs more staff definitely and probably build a new terminal (drop off desks are available but no staff). The staff seemed definitely being under stress and despite the chaos they needed to deal with they weren't rude. The toilet situation needs an upgrade too. In arrivals 2 planes arrived together and I had to queue for 5 minutes to the men's toilet. Also it took over half an hour to get the suitcases delivered even though there were only 2 planes landing at that time. Never experienced such a slow and unorganized airport. I would give - 1 star if it would be possible. I hope they will see all the really bad feedbacks and will learn from them and will do the correct actions to achieve improvements. I wouldn't recommend this airport overall.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever! Too small, too busy, the queues are not organized, waiting time for security check at least 40 minutes. And the prices in tax free shop are ridiculous!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"clear signage, clean toilets"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent airport with clear signage, clean toilets, 3 airport lounges (for various airline alliances), efficient security for departure, ample shopping, wide food-purchase choices, and good arrangements for arranging ground transportation. All personnel I encountered (security, ground transport agents, gate agents, and store clerks) were matter-of-factly polite. One drawback (not easy to remedy) - there's no link to Budapest directly by rail.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"signs were unclear"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Constructions made it harder to get to the gate and once there, signs were unclear and mostly non-existent, also almost no seating was available. An employee came and rudely yelled at people to line up in a different way. When I politely asked him to use a different tone, he said that when people behave like animals he will talk to them that way. However, he was the only one who behaved like an animal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"feel of a cattle barn"

(Germany)

Not Verified | All the negative reviews about Budapest airport are true. The building is too small and therefore overcrowded, there is too little staff (most of them are unfriendly), waiting time for check-in and security is ridiculously long. Signage is often unclear or missing. The hangar-tent-style contruction for the low cost companies' gates is more than uncomfortable (hardly any seating available, no toilets, no catering, queuing in the half-open exposed to sun or rain, or inside a hangar without air conditioning). It has the look and feel of a cattle barn.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"prices are ridiculous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When I entered the departure hall, the biggest crowd I have ever seen in Budapest have come across. There were queues across the hall to the Wizz-Air check-in desks because they intentionally did not open enough desks to make people pay for priority check-in, then due to the large number of people, there was a queue to the security check. I managed to sneak in via the fast track thanks to my silver status at Qatar Airways. I think the airport is short of space and around its max capacity in the rush hours so I strongly recommend allowing plenty of time for the check-in and security screening. The transit hall was quite busy but as the newest part of the airport it can deal with the large number of people. The prices are ridiculous, a 500ml bottle of water is around 650 HUF (£1.80), the 750 ml water is 900 HUF (£2.50). The perfumes in the duty free are really expensive too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Spending any time at Budapest airport is an awful experience. It is too busy, the toilets are not enough in number and they are dirty. Prices are a rip off (and duty free even charges in Euros, not Forints) and there is not even a drinking water fountain, forcing you to pay the rip off prices. A trip to this airport is always a frustrating end to visiting Hungary - you end up with a bitter taste.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"very smooth experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I had a very smooth experience today. Queues at security were actively managed and additional lanes opened when things got busy. Unusually attentive today.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"It requires more staff"

(Germany)

Not Verified | The queue before the security check was a disaster. Even after booking the priority check-in option, I had to ask other passengers to let me in and I still had to wait over 20 minutes. The security check and the handling at the gate was completely overloaded. It requires more staff in the rush hours! DE: Die Warteschlange vor der Sicherheitskontrolle war eine Katastrophe. Auch nach Buchen der Priority Check-In-Option musste ich andere Passagiere bitten mich vor zu lassen und ich habe dann immer noch über 20 Min warten müssen. Der Security-Check und das Abfertigen vor dem Gate war völlig überlastet. Es ist mehr Personal in den Stoßzeiten notwendig!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport in the world"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Queuing for boarding in a sort of hangar, some 400 people with no air conditioning, temp 29C outside, inside maybe 35C. Worst airport in the world including underdeveloped countries.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews