Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 95 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Visually nice, modern"

(France)

Not Verified | Visually nice, modern, recently renovated, friendly size airport with many shops. In fact, my issue is that it feels a bit too commercialized like a shopping mall, and the toilets could be better maintained.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"security process was a complete nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Strange airport, the arrival process was fine no issues, but the departure process well that is another story! Arrived just under 3 hours before my flight was due, check in was a bit slow, but the security process was a complete nightmare. Automated security gates that sometimes worked, so when they didnt the queue stopped, once through these gates, another queue which slowly wound around until you reached the real horror of the very disinterested staff themselves, grumpy sullen mostly young, random decisons about removing boots, jewellery scarves, no trays so I went to get some but was told off for doing so! It took so long that we nearly missed the 30 mins to board, once we found the gate down some stairs, another queue as there were no buses, finally one turned up and we all got on it and found the plane. I have travelled a lot and been to some awful airports but this has got to be up there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"security check was about 90 min"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | The airport is small. There are two little terminals. The capacity is low. In the morning when we left the country there was a very long line. The waiting time to the security check was about 90 min. This is too much. The police (border control) is slow too. Only 4 windows work in the morning. The prices are high. A bottle of Evian spring water 4 Eur (1400 HUF) in London the same water only 2 EUR (1.8 GBP).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experience was truly awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I've just got back to the UK on a WizzAir flight from Budapest to Birmingham. My experience at the airport was truly awful. We arrived at the airport 2 hours before departure at 4 am! There were literally thousands of people in the terminal trying to check in and go through security in countless queues. You couldn't tell where the queues began or ended or in fact where they were going. We got in the wrong queue and wasted at least 30 mins, probably more. By the time we got through the security checks, our flight was boarding. No time to go to the toilets or buy a bottle of water. The security personnel were very rude. Our stressful journey was made even more stressful by the airline reassigning my 14-year-old son's pre-booked seat, but that's the subject for another review. Perhaps if all the flights were not leaving at the same time, the airport would be less crowded. There were at least a dozen flights leaving within 5 minutes of each other. This was not a special incident, just generally over-crowded conditions caused by poor management. Birmingham airport, which handles similar passenger numbers, was a walk in the park in comparison both on the outward and inward journey.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is too small"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Worst airport. I needed to do a VAT refund that required a stamp from the Customs. The officer in 2B terminal seemed to be angry all the time. He didn’t accept the boarding pass on my mobile while the other parts of the airport accepted it. I can’t imagine how I can get the printed one while travelling aboard, I needed to ask the staff at the ticket office to print it. Moreover, when the queue was long, he rejected more than half of the queue and told us to move to 2A terminal with his anger. I’ve been to many airports in Asian and European countries and did the VAT refund as well, BUD is the worst. The check-in queue was not so long, but there was still not enough space for people to queue. The airport is too small and no staff manages this kind of thing. For shopping and dining, there is few shops available in the airport. The immigration officer worked slowly. Although there were not much people, the queue was getting longer and longer due to the slow process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shocked with the conditions"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was so glad to find that I am not the only one absolutely shocked with the conditions of this airport. I am waiting to check in at the low cost flight and I am near a nervous breakdown. There are 7 same company flights and only 2 check in stands! The queue spreads across the entire terminal and people are so rude as they are also fed up with this conditions. Everyone is pushing and shoving and I still can't believe that this is considered acceptable. Just saw their sign saying they are the best airport in Europe - according to whom? I would rather walk places than having to use this airport ever again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever been to. Very small airport with long queues at drop off (1,5 hour waiting even travelling with not low fare cost company so not having time to shop in duty free). It needs more staff definitely and probably build a new terminal (drop off desks are available but no staff). The staff seemed definitely being under stress and despite the chaos they needed to deal with they weren't rude. The toilet situation needs an upgrade too. In arrivals 2 planes arrived together and I had to queue for 5 minutes to the men's toilet. Also it took over half an hour to get the suitcases delivered even though there were only 2 planes landing at that time. Never experienced such a slow and unorganized airport. I would give - 1 star if it would be possible. I hope they will see all the really bad feedbacks and will learn from them and will do the correct actions to achieve improvements. I wouldn't recommend this airport overall.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever! Too small, too busy, the queues are not organized, waiting time for security check at least 40 minutes. And the prices in tax free shop are ridiculous!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"clear signage, clean toilets"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent airport with clear signage, clean toilets, 3 airport lounges (for various airline alliances), efficient security for departure, ample shopping, wide food-purchase choices, and good arrangements for arranging ground transportation. All personnel I encountered (security, ground transport agents, gate agents, and store clerks) were matter-of-factly polite. One drawback (not easy to remedy) - there's no link to Budapest directly by rail.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"signs were unclear"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Constructions made it harder to get to the gate and once there, signs were unclear and mostly non-existent, also almost no seating was available. An employee came and rudely yelled at people to line up in a different way. When I politely asked him to use a different tone, he said that when people behave like animals he will talk to them that way. However, he was the only one who behaved like an animal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews