Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"always dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is far to bad to be called "international". It's always dirty, especially the toilets (very bad smell and no toilet paper). Hardly can find a trolley for your cases and some staff are not helping you at all. Need a lot more of work there, more competent and friendly staff. Could be better if they would care.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Chaotic queueing around the gates"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Small amount of seating inside the airport. Horrible old busses in which people are crammed inside and have to wait for the full boarding to take place. Chaotic queueing around the gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic, disorganised"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | It is to great regret that I have to announce Bucharest Otopeni Airport as the winner of the award as the worst airport of the year. It’s chaotic, disorganised, over-crowded, no service mindedness whatsoever, unfriendly staff, no air conditioning, no wi-fi that works in the lounge, noisy and just poor in general. I’ve been to airports in the third world with a higher ambition for service, customer care and the airport building.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nowhere to refill water bottle airside"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Sat at Otopini departure now, disgusted there is nowhere to refill water bottle airside. Not only increased plastic use but ridiculous charge (USD2.50) for 500ml of water on sale. Appalling for a supposedly civilised EU nation to deny fellow humans the necessity of water. Bucharest Otopini join the 21st century of less waste.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Worst airport experience ever! The airport was crowded, there were no screens to tell where to go and when I tried to asked the staff, I got no answer or the answer was, check the screens. The waiting line for the security control was unbelievably long and the staff rude. Lastly, going to the airplane they started to complain about the size of my luggage, which in fact was the appropriate size, and nobody told me what to do with it or how to measure the size. Luckily, one other passenger helped me then with it. Romania and Bucharest itself was a nice experience but the experience at the airport was awful. 0/5 stars. If you can avoid visiting the airport, I would recommend that.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"this is an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After a long search, eventually outside in the pouring rain I found 2 baggage trolleys. Come on, this is an embarrassment to an EU country. Pay to get some trolleys so we don't have to lug heavy baggage all over the terminal. Very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Pretty small and nice airport"

(Japan)

Not Verified | Pretty small and nice airport, a mix of old and new. Ground staff quite ok. The worst part are the toilets. Wherever you find yourself, at arrival or departure, the Bucharest Otopeni airport toilets are extremely narrow, old, smelly and dirty. The souvenir shops have a strange and unconvenient policy, on arrival they accept Romanian currency but on departure they accept euro currency only.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"smelly and dirty toilets"

(Japan)

Not Verified | I think the worst experience in this airport are the smelly and dirty toilets. The only clean toilets I entered were those from the Qatar Airways departure gate, but those from the arrival or others in different places are terrible. They need to do something.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport ever"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst airport ever. Is is disgusting. Dirty hallways and toilets, unprofessional employees, and nobody helps you. In top of it, I was shocked to realize there are no baggage carts to carry the luggage. Does this airport management realizes that our tickets include airport taxes? OTP fired the contractor that provided the carts because THEY didn’t want to pay the ? I flew business and paid thousands of dollars for the ticket. Which includes me paying for OTP taxes too.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"This airport is missing a lot"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | This airport is missing a lot. The display panels don't show all flights due to lack of space. You have to look at the monitors. I learned to shop at the supermarket on arrival, located on the ground floor in the public area, the only place with reasonable prices. Despite the indicators, the tap water is drinkable. You must check-in online to save time, the airport is very crowded, because it was not created for such a large number of passengers. The toilets are so dirty that I'm going to the toilet on the plane. I usually avoid traveling with checked baggage to save time at the airport and I print my boarding pass.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews