Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 70 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disgusting and dirty"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | I wish to reiterate in brief everything that others have written about Otopeni airport. It's a disgrace, disgusting and dirty and embarrassing for a European airport destination. No space, no seating, astronomic prices and a very bad staff attitude. On top of this worst experience from a local airport rent a car company - Optrentacars.ro with poor negligent upkeep of their fleet of cars and very rude/angry and unprofessional staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"a very inappropriate airport"

(Greece)

Not Verified | An airport very accurately representing the Romanian mentality. I've been studying in Romania for almost 6 years now and I've been coming and going through this airport on an almost monthly basis. All these years almost nothing has been done to shorten queue times and the design and size of the airport is unsuited to accomodate the ever increasing international traffic. The prices are extravagant for items that you'll find outside the airport for half a price. For example in the airport a small bottle of orange juice costs almost 25 lei while in the city it will be no more than 5 lei. The airport staff are very representative of the Romanian "hospitality" with a honorary mention to the staff at the security screening, with cowardly displays of authority that includes emptying all the contents of your bags on the tray (leaving you to repack them which is time consuming) and by interrogating travelers for pointless reasons such as why they carry a pack of collectible baseball-cards, which they proceed (as usual) to empty them in the tray leaving yet again the owner to repack them, a process that delays them from getting to their Gate on time. Other examples include the rude remarks and pontless questioning at passaport control to passengers traveling from countries of the EU like Greece for travelling with their police IDs, something that is allowed by EU law since the IDs write the traveler's data in Latin characters. Apparently in all the years of Romania's membership in the EU, their passport control agents haven't got the memo. All in all a very inappropriate airport for EU standards but at least the WiFi is good...
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it was a terrible wait"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The check in line was very very slow and with the 30 + degrees outside and immense heat inside, it was a terrible wait. The dear woman at the desk was very kind even though she admitted to us how tired and hot and bothered she was! If staff aren't treated properly by their superiors then how would one expect them to treat clients/travellers? Following check in, the security line was very long. It took us over 1 hour to pass Security. Children were screaming and shouting and everyone around was very impatient, understandably. The staff at the passport control are very very rude. We were in a queue for passports which was taking already the most of 30 min and when it was our turn, the female officer came out of her cabin and closed the line without any apology or explanation besides stating "closed". The airport is overcrowded and raking in massively on aiport taxes yes they are not making it any more comfortable for passengers. We are now waiting for boarding (delayed) and everyone is sweaty and very smelly as it is drastically hot here! And of course, a bottle of water is suddenly massively overpriced, €3 a bottle, like, really?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"toilets smell horrible"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | The waiting time for luggage pick-up was ridiculously long, up to 35-40 minutes. Unbelievable!!! We were finishing a tour, on which we used different airports from Belgium, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, and Germany, but nowhere took so long to receive our luggage. Even though there are more than one pick up line, they thought it was a good idea to put 2 flights which arrived at the same time on the same line; this meant that a lot of persons (about 200 hundred) were on the same spot, waiting for their luggage while next to us, there were few lines completely free and no flight arrival was associated with none of them for almost 1 hour while we were there. The queues for passport control were quite long, I don't know if they don't have enough personnel to help or they really don't care. Everything from beverages, food, magazines or products in the famous Duty-Free are way too expensive, like 2 or even 3 times more expensive than you will find them in the city centre. The toilets smell horrible and look even worst.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | This is one of the worst airports I have ever transited. Otopeni airport became increasingly more crowded in recent years and nothing was done to improve travel conditions for passengers. The queues for check-in, security check and passport control (especially on arrival) are most of the time quite long. Automatic passport/boarding pass control is completely unheard of. The waiting time for luggage pick-up is even longer (prepare to wait for 20-30 minutes or more). There is a fairly good amount of restaurants for the size of this airport, but with very few seating places. The food and beverage prices are extremely high compared to the city and you don't even get decent conditions to sit and eat. The gate seating areas are equally small for the rising number of passengers. The way to the gate is even more overcrowded, with gate queues blocking your way. The absolute worst of all are the toilets. There are way too few toilets for the number of passengers, in very bad condition (broken toilet seats, water not running) and always dirty. They're literally a health hazard to the passengers. The whole airport is basically smelly, from the moment you step into the terminal. Upon arrival, the queue to the only toilet I found on the way to the exit was so long I had to quit and ask my Uber driver to stop at a gas station. On top of it all, the attitude of the airport staff is very rude (e.g. there was a closed toilet and when I asked if I may use it I got a very rude "find another one" reply from the staff).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely expensive catering"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | No seating or waiting area land-side before check-in opens; extremely expensive catering concession prices, e.g. RON 10 for a bottle of water costing less than RON 2 in the City; very poor passenger announcements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"this is insulting"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Not a bad airport actually although check in speed, luggage delivery speed and the facilities could be better of course. Arrival is quick and easy, departure too, what I find insulting though are the prices you pay for pretty much everything there. Food and drink prices are between 4-5 times the prices of any other place in Romania. A beer that sells in a bar in town for 5-7 Lei is 25 Lei at the airport, please, this is insulting. Duty free prices are a joke, (The name of the duty free store is "Best value", that in itself is a joke). Everything is just overpriced. They have a very nice selection of Romanian wines where I would have bought a bottle but prices are 2-3 times that of any shop in the country and all duty free must be paid in Euro or Dollar, no Lei's accepted so you can't get rid of the change you have. Not sure what their business strategy is, to me it's just silly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a real disappointment"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | For the main airport in the EUs sixth biggest city, a real disappointment. Transport to and from is by bus or taxi and there’s nothing “express” about the express bus service. My main issue with this airport is the extortionate prices for “duty free” and food and drink in the terminal - small water is 13 Lei, on the street you might pay 2. Food is more expensive than any airport I have ever flown from in the rest of Europe or the US, which is odd as the prices outside the airport are lower than many European cities. At the duty free, you can’t spend any Lei that you might have left over, it is Euro or USD, not that you would want to as you can find it all on any European high street at a better price. No sense of urgency at security or passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are unprofessional and grumpy"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports I have ever seen, medium size, no waiting area with just a few chairs at the entrance. Everything extremely expensive (2.60euro for a small bottle of water!) and worst of all the staff are unprofessional and grumpy! Organise yourself to spend the least possible amount of time either arriving or leaving from Bucharest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Small and overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Small and overcrowded airport with passengers queuing at gates spilling over into the main passageway of the terminal. Not a particularly well designed, modern or efficient facillty. Poor value for money at the Duty Free Shop where local currency is refused in favour of the euro or dollar. Local money has to be exchanged at poor rates of exchange to be able to make duty free purchases. Apparently this is the law, so the assistant in the shop told me. Can't help feeling that visitors are being unashamedly overcharged through rate exchange manipulations. This airport still has some way to go to catch up with other EU capital airports in terms of its scope of facilities, staff friendliness and convenience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 65 Reviews