Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 81 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"totally unprofessional"

(Romania)

Not Verified | As every time you need to wait for at least 45’ for your bag. If you try to find a staff member it’s really hard. If you are lucky to find one they are not very polite and totally unprofessional. Not clean, nor friendly, not an EU airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Glad I was very early"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very scary for me travelling alone - there is little information to help and it’s so overcrowded that you can’t find what you need to know. Queueing several times for check in, then security, then passport control - takes over 1 hour to get through them then you still have to find your gate! Glad I was very early!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"old, inconvenient and quite dirty"

(France)

Trip Verified | Possibly the worst capital airport in Europe. This airport is old, inconvenient and quite dirty. In addition it is overcrowded and even if it is not that big, it will request endless walking. Directions are difficult to find, staff are not very friendly in a country where most peiple are nice, business lounge a disaster. WiFi terrible. Baggage carousels are as old as in some minor African airports! To put a sour cherry on the cake, traffic around the airport is absolutly terrible as the roads must have been done for the traffic they had 20 or 30 years ago.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"always dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is far to bad to be called "international". It's always dirty, especially the toilets (very bad smell and no toilet paper). Hardly can find a trolley for your cases and some staff are not helping you at all. Need a lot more of work there, more competent and friendly staff. Could be better if they would care.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Chaotic queueing around the gates"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Small amount of seating inside the airport. Horrible old busses in which people are crammed inside and have to wait for the full boarding to take place. Chaotic queueing around the gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic, disorganised"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | It is to great regret that I have to announce Bucharest Otopeni Airport as the winner of the award as the worst airport of the year. It’s chaotic, disorganised, over-crowded, no service mindedness whatsoever, unfriendly staff, no air conditioning, no wi-fi that works in the lounge, noisy and just poor in general. I’ve been to airports in the third world with a higher ambition for service, customer care and the airport building.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nowhere to refill water bottle airside"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Sat at Otopini departure now, disgusted there is nowhere to refill water bottle airside. Not only increased plastic use but ridiculous charge (USD2.50) for 500ml of water on sale. Appalling for a supposedly civilised EU nation to deny fellow humans the necessity of water. Bucharest Otopini join the 21st century of less waste.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Worst airport experience ever! The airport was crowded, there were no screens to tell where to go and when I tried to asked the staff, I got no answer or the answer was, check the screens. The waiting line for the security control was unbelievably long and the staff rude. Lastly, going to the airplane they started to complain about the size of my luggage, which in fact was the appropriate size, and nobody told me what to do with it or how to measure the size. Luckily, one other passenger helped me then with it. Romania and Bucharest itself was a nice experience but the experience at the airport was awful. 0/5 stars. If you can avoid visiting the airport, I would recommend that.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"this is an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After a long search, eventually outside in the pouring rain I found 2 baggage trolleys. Come on, this is an embarrassment to an EU country. Pay to get some trolleys so we don't have to lug heavy baggage all over the terminal. Very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Pretty small and nice airport"

(Japan)

Not Verified | Pretty small and nice airport, a mix of old and new. Ground staff quite ok. The worst part are the toilets. Wherever you find yourself, at arrival or departure, the Bucharest Otopeni airport toilets are extremely narrow, old, smelly and dirty. The souvenir shops have a strange and unconvenient policy, on arrival they accept Romanian currency but on departure they accept euro currency only.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 81 Reviews