Brussels Charleroi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a disgrace to call this terminal"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | I am flying from Charleroi airport almost weekly and did not have major complaints so far. This morning’s flight to Zagreb got moved from the usual T1 to T2 and let me tell you I am still processing this experience. Tiny space with a lot of people and far insufficient seating places - I am literally squeezed on the floor. There is just one non seated and very small café for refreshments currently more than 30 people waiting in que to grab a coffee. And what they call a duty free looks like mini travel stop shop. Overall, if I would ever need to take a flight from T2 on this airport- I simply would not. It’s a disgrace to call this terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I hate this airport"

(Belgium)

Not Verified |   Let's start with its name, which is deceiving: it's not in Brussels, it's an hour away. Not unusual for low-cost airports, but still. Then there's T2, which makes you have to walk for ages outside to reach the terminal. Mind you, it often rains, so you get soaked. The signs are confusing specially when you arrive at night in the dark so you're unsure where you have to go. God forbid you arrive from a non-EU country early morning, when it's rush hour. You'll have to queue outside waiting to be able to enter the building, to queue even more. Hundreds of people, 30+ m waiting to pass emigration. Then the cherry on top of the cake, even before you leave the luggage retrieval area, they charge €1 to use the toilet. I hate this airport with a passion
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"There are barely any seats"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Horrible. Terminal 2, there are only 4 women’s toilets for the whole departure area. The food in the cafes aren’t labelled with a price tag, the service is alright though. There are only two cafes. There are barely any seats everybody is sitting on the ground. It’s very small everything is cropped up. In terminal 1 you have to pay to go to the toilet, what kind of an airport does this?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"woefully inadequate"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | As a frequent flyer I experience many airports, however Brussels Charleroi never fails to present itself as woefully inadequate. Having navigated the awful smokers who throng around entry/exit points to Terminal 1, and ingested their second-hand smoke the next hurdle is confirming the situation is even worse - you’re flight is departing from Terminal 2. This requires a trip back outside through the smokers to Q for a lift. Bizarre. Then you fight your way thro’ passengers going the opposite way. Mistakenly going to T2 when their flight is from T1. So, the T2 experience. Barren, devoid of character and packed. Insufficient seating, one toilet (with no paper or hand soap). Simply awful. And then, as usual, Ryanair conspire to make sure your experience is made worse (if that is possible), by delaying the flight. Finally there is no train link to/from the airport and the car parks are more expensive than the flight costs! And as for a bottle of water, avoid this Airport if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"What an unpleasant experience"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | What an unpleasant experience. First of all we tried to book a parking ticket. During this process I received an error. I tried to call the airport. There was a paying number where I was on the line for 5 minutes after I got a tape, sorry nobody is available. Calling this number costed 1 euro per minute. Eventually I received a booking confirmation for the parking. As for the parking it is far out of the airport. You have to take a shuttle, this of course you have to pay for. When returning we were on the shuttle for 20 minutes but the driver left. There was a full bus without driver. As for the airport itself, everything seems to be designed to charge you more, extra shuttle, expensive parking, toilets you have to pay for. When we arrived at our gate we also had no seating places. You had to sit on the ground. There also not a clear indication on where your flight is departing from. They have an additional gate, but the flights are not even on the screen in the main terminal. Every time I'm flying this airport it feels like a scam. Just pay the little extra to fly to BRU instead of CRL. You'll also be actually in Brussels instead of Charleroi.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just shocked by how bad it is here"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Horrendous airport, truly the worst I’ve ever encountered. It’s filthy, overcrowded, they charge 1 euro for the toilet arrivals. Yes, you read correct, I’ve never seen this anywhere in the world. No free water, the charge you 3euro for a 50cl bottle. I was just shocked by how bad it is here.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Unsuccessful experience"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Unsuccessful experience of Terminal 2 in Charleroi. Little possibility of purchase, lack of pleasant place to wait or to be able to have a meal or drink something.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport that keeps getting worse"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Horrible airport that keeps getting worse. Been queuing for passports for longer than the flight took. No dedicated queue for EU citizens (until you’re actually at the booths). Rude staff (I would also find it hard to be nice if I had to spend all day at this place), and no seats for older passengers. I end up here every now and then when flights from Dublin to Zaventem don’t match my schedule but never again, rather do the red eye.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it always remains the same chaos"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | The advantage of flying from Charleroi Airport (Brussels South) is that you can be sure that wherever you fly to, it will be better organized. I fly several times a year (month) from this airport and it always remains the same chaos. T2 is hardly used and everyone is standing like cattle in the far too small gates at T1. Boarding always at the same time as close as possible to connecting gates, which the returning travelers also have to go through, always smiling at CRL. Paying for toilets, never seen anywhere else at an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no signage that there is no free drop off"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever to drop off passengers! Rip-off by Wallonie government allowing the airport operator not to provide a free passenger drop off zone like in Brussels airport. Unbelievable policy. If you follow the 'airport signs' you are forced to enter an expensive parking. Pay euro 4 for 15 min (takes time to find a parking spot in the garage). On top of that bad signage around the airport, no signage that there is no free drop off and being forced to go into overcharged parking garage. Narrow driveways in the parking garage not well lighted. Very bad!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews