Bristol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 364 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Security is chaotic and noisy"

(United Kingdom)

Having been a regular user of Bristol Airport for business and leisure trips over 20 years, I have been sadly and greatly disappointed by experiences of it in the past 12-18 months. Security is chaotic and noisy, with staff shouting instructions at customers, creating the opposite of what a security procedure needs to be, i.e. calm, organised, polite yet authoritative. Queuing times at most food outlets are far too long, e.g. on this trip I was unable to buy more than a cup of coffee in the 55 minutes of waiting time before my gate was called. There was a such a backlog of orders in two outlets that customers were complaining of having ordered and paid for items which then hadn't appeared in time to be collected (in one case this was simply a cup of tea). It's a real shame that what was such a great airport appears to now be struggling to cope.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"exorbitant bar prices and WiFi tariffs"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Nice new buildings and no delays but obviously being paid for by exorbitant bar prices and WiFi tariffs. £10.99 for a glass of red wine sold by a humourless bartender. Tried to enjoy it but then my free WiFi expired.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"security is appallingly inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travel all over the world. Used to use Bristol airport years ago for business travel, and remember the terrible facilities and long queues with bizarre security. Things have changed, the facilities are now very modern and clean. However, still security is appallingly inefficient with long queues lots of disgruntled travellers. They insist on emptying your bag or case, piece, by piece by piece in the most laborious fashion, even after identifying the scan anomaly. Stressful start to your journey - advise turn up with plenty of time to spare. Also the airport is expensive, sorry I will reword that - it's a rip-off from parking through to departure gate. Avoid, I will use Cardiff in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic, cramped and altogether horrible"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Ridiculously expensive, chaotic, cramped and altogether horrible. I live nearby and use this airport a lot both for travelling and picking up. Being a regular user I'm used to using the "Express Drop Off" care park to drop off + pick up, but at some point in the recent past they've moved the Pick Up car park to be in the middle of the Short Stay. If you're stuck waiting for an incoming flight you're going to face a hefty bill if you use the "wrong" car park now. How can they justify £20 for an hour? That's just naked greed. I complained about it last time and amazingly enough they've now put up a big flashing sign pointing at the Pick Up car park, so fair play to them for that, however, you still only get a very short window before the prices start to go up crazily again. I picked up my wife the other day - her plane landed on time, but it took her nearly an hour to get through to Arrivals. So that was another £6 down the drain. I don't care that the airport can slope shoulders onto the UK Border people for this - it's not acceptable for them to make a profit from a poor system. Why is it so ridiculously expensive to park a car at this airport? Now let's move onto actually travelling, it's not a place you want to "relax" in before a flight. Everything is overpriced beyond belief, £6:45 for a pint of beer? Seriously? How can you justify that? Naked greed, again. The food on offer is mediocre at best, and again extremely pricey. The shops? Best not to go in - again - overpriced beyond belief, yet overcrowded too. It's just horrible. There are simply not enough seats for people to use once they're through security. Gates are very basic - not enough seats for a planeload of passengers, draughty, uncomfortable cattle pens that make you glad to be leaving the country for a bit. It's a pity that you have to return through this miserable excuse for an airport too - it's usually a long walk to the passport hall, which is always rammed with confused and irritable people fighting the useless automatic scanner gates. I try not to travel with hold baggage because it's a nightmare trying to find which carousel the bags are on. And then you finally get out into Arrivals and you're tripping over people's drag bags trying to find the shuttle bus to take you back to the Silver Zone car park. This place is a sullen, overcrowded, extortionately priced mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security system is a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The security system is a shambles despite new high tech equipment. The staff are very rude and treat people like cattle, barking out orders. Their sign posting on what is to be taken out of bags etc is poor, failing to recognise that all airports have different processes. All in all very poorly managed. Schipol Airport in Holland good example of how things should be done with laptops, phones and even the plastic bag kept within your hand bag. Have gone through Bristol many times but nothing changes from their ride poorly trained staff. Prices in bar even higher than London.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Departure fine-arrival disgusting"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Departure fine-arrival disgusting. Arrived from Barcelona at 10pm to join a long queue for Customs Clearance which took us up and down stairs and a very long walk. Finally reached a queue to clear the passports and told abruptly to join the queue for automatic clearance. Explained to the official that we had problems with automatic clearance in Barcelona but he insisted that we stayed in that queue and if any problems then join the other queue. This took us one hour from the plane to clearing passports. By this time we need the loos. Gents disgusting - cracked urinals, urine and loo paper all over the floor. Ladies not much better - unflushed toilets and dirty sinks. Are they ever inspected? Got on the bus to the Silver zone - this was grossly overcrowded and a woman was caught in the door before pulling away. The bus trip itself was extremely unpleasant and precarious. On arrival at Silver zone we had another long wait in the freezing cold to collect keys. Journey from Barcelona to Bristol took just under 2 hours. From leaving the plane to arriving at our home (approximately 20 minute journey) took 2 hours! Seriously using alternative airports - Cardiff or Exeter - for future flights as we do not want the experience repeated again. Bristol Airport - get your act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The shoddiest facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very poor experience. Toilets dirty , overcrowded and poorly maintained. Toilets were blocked and cubical doors were missing. Locks falling off doors. The shoddiest facilities I have seen in a long time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My sister was travelling with her 18 month old daughter and at the check in gate she was treated horribly. The staff were rude, instead of helping they were making the whole process more difficult and making unpleasant faces to my family. It should be embarrassmet for the airport management to have people like that working and taking money for, to say the least, unprofessional staff. Not to mention no door locks in the toilet. Very very poor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the place is a horrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We flew to Naples on 27th October and returned on 2nd November 2018. Points in Bristol's favour: security was at least polite albeit a little officious. In the past the rudeness had to be experienced to be believed they have dropped the policy of selling the plastic bags for liquids, in the past this has caused some amusement from passengers and has been a source of ridicule. The bags are now free rather than £1! Points against Bristol: walking distances from the terminal building to departure/arrival gates are far too long. We walked from the main concourse to Gate 9 which is nowhere near the furthes away. We started the trek as soon as the gate number flashed up on the screen and by the time we got to the gate an announcement was being made that the flight was closing! Our return was worse: we had to walk up a steep flight of stairs followed by a long incline. There were several other flights of stairs. In front of us was a mother with a young child plus two cabin bags. Both mother and child were in distress. An earlier reviewer who is disabled has given Bristol top marks for the care it provides special assistance passengers which is good, but for many of us who are not in the first flush of youth or who are travelling with children, the place is a horrible experience. Overall, the design of this airport with its lack of escalators, lifts and travelators shows a contempt for the public bordering on the downright cruel! It is ironic that the main shareholder is a Canadian pension fund whose reason for existing is the welfare of its members! My next flight is from LHR. Yes, it's a pain to get from Bristol to London but there is not a similar endurance test. Coupled with all this the terminal building is cramped because so much space is taken up by the enormous "Duty Free" shop.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"make the experience a better one"

(Spain)

Not Verified | The airport seems to be sadly headed in the wrong direction. Having used it for years and being a seasoned traveler, I find the following a little incredible: Upon Arrival: You have to go up and down several sets of stairs when you get off the plane to get to the passport check lines, which are then incredibly slow. Trolleys have to be paid for, are you kidding me? What a rip-off! Car Hire: Must be the only airport in the world, where they expect you to walk 1/4 mile to rent a car. I do not know if this is the airports responsibility or the hire companies. However it is absolutely ridiculous. Why can't they have small shuttle buses back and forth, especially for families with children. Thank god it wasn't raining! Departure: They seem to have the strictest security procedure when leaving the country that I have seen anywhere, including the US. Please make the experience a better one Bristol and sort out the bloody walk to the rental cars!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no