Bristol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 420 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"overwhelmed and undermanned security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Completely overwhelmed and undermanned security. Upon passing through the security scanner, the operator must have flagged the bag as a problem and it was directed to be inspected. I collected my Laptop and other belongings that had passed without problem and patiently waited. It took another 15 minutes before an operator called me forward. At this point I could see on the screen that a scanner fault was showing. I was told that this would be a full bag search because the scanner could not identify equipment. The operator asked me to undo my bag and following this action physically pushed my hand away exclaiming that I was not to touch any contents. I felt like a criminal at this point. The Operator proceeded to dissect every single element of my bag down to tissues, loose change, pens, etc. This process alone took 10 minutes, during which I explained that it will take me another 10 minutes to repack my bag and that I will most certainly miss my flight. The security team were clearly overwhelmed by the amount of passengers and did not have enough staff or resources to cope. This was also made worse by equipment failure, the error message on screen clearly indicated as much. Upon reaching the departure lounge the board was displaying “Final Call” so I transited the building at speed, I reached the gate seconds after it had closed. It was unmanned therefore nobody could advise me. I used the assistance phone which rang without answer for over 5 minutes. This could have been an Emergency and no one answered to advise! Coupled with terrible transport links and a ludicrous drop off fee of £3, this is most definitely the worst Airport I have ever used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The restaurant facilities are hopeless"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We ate at Eat as it was the nearest after having spent an hour waiting at security. My husband chose a bacon roll for speed. Not realising it was precooked I gave it to him. The roll was so hard it was inedible. I returned it and it was replaced. This one was worse the bacon and roll were rock hard. I was furious, complained and got a refund. But I still had a hungry man. The restaurant facilities are hopeless. Far too expensive for rubbish food. Never again will we or our family eat there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"new parking fee of £3.00 is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Bristol airports new parking fee of £3.00 for drop and go is a disgrace! Welcome to Bristol airport and all you need to do is drop of a family member or friend and its like you've been robbed for doing someone a favour. The old fee was fine at £1 or if you needed to hike it up then £1.50 but £3.00 for a 5 min drop off, shame on you! I'm sure that you will have many reasons to explain this price hike but what about looking after your customer base, after all its not as if your not making a good profit inside the terminal. Again shame on you!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"Severe overcrowding"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Bristol Airport has increased the air traffic but the terminal is sadly lagging behind in terms of capacity. Severe overcrowding at all times if the day, even at 6am. Nowhere to sit on last 2 visits.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Disgusted by the lack of customer care"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I arrived 2 hours and 20 minutes before takeoff for a flight to Sofia for a week's skiing in Borovets. Initially I was delayed for 60 minutes checking in due to a computer malfunction, and then for 55 minutes clearing security. I missed the flight and now the airport denies responsibility blaming the airline easyJet and I have lost the money £1,400, that I have paid for the holiday and associated expenses. Disgusted by the lack of customer care and cavalier behaviour of the airport's staff and operators.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid if you have a choice"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I would repeat the concerns outlined in then previous reviews. I will always choose to use Heathrow or Gatwick even though Bristol is closer to our home. The overall customer experience is one that screams 'we don't really want you here'. We travelled on a quiet day, but they were still taking 20 minutes to get you through the security checks. Just as well we arrived a full two hours before our flight. Moreover the drop-off charge is 'daylight robbery' - £3 to simply stop and unload, and even then this is 100 yards away from the departure lounge. Avoid this airport if you have a choice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"wasn't any where to sit"

(Vietnam)

Not Verified | My family all paid for Priority boarding, but there wasn't any where to sit for us, so we stood for 45 minutes before we could board, while regular passengers all sat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"standard of customer care is appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bristol airport depresses me in that I have to travel through it every other week. The cleanliness is poor and, in line with other reviewers, the standard of customer care is appalling - they simply don’t seem to recognise their customers as anything other than an impediment to what would otherwise be a perfectly easy and uneventful day job. We disembarked from our delayed flight from Amsterdam recently to have to wait a further 10 minutes for a member of the ground crew to amble up and then watch us cross the zebra crossing into the building. He couldn’t care less. The drop off charges which have just tripled are a disgrace and a clear licence to print money. The passport control scanners are only just fit for purpose, subject to frequent error and supported by a bunch of staff who seem utterly disinterested in the service provided to people entering the country. If I could fly from anywhere else I would but that would be even more impractical than using Bristol. Bristol airport for some reason don’t recognise easyJet Plus customer use of their Fast Track service which again reeks of profiteering by comparison to most other airports who support this useful and paid for benefit. I’ll stop here as this is becoming really depressing but at lest gives me a chance to get a few things off my chest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"oppression and extortion"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Since we last used this airport in October the charge for drop off/pick up has increased three times. How can there be any justification for a three hundred per cent increase overnight? Upon our departure, on 5th December we had to walk from the departure lounge to Gate 12, a ridiculously long walk by anybody's standards. Upon our return we had, with cabin baggage, to climb a long flight of stairs followed by a walk of 430 metres (there was a notice saying so) followed by another walk downstairs. The design, which forces people to walk upstairs and later downstairs, seems to be a deliberate attempt to give passengers a hard time. The long walk is made even worse by the introduction of uphill ramps on the way I am aware that all airports in the UK have to be licensed by the Civil Aviation Authority and question whether some of the practices at Bristol come within the scrutiny of the CAA. It seems clear that the owners and managers of this place see it as an instrument for oppression and extortion. I am curious that, despite there being an opportunity to do so, Bristol Airport never, ever replies to any of the severe criticisms of it made by passengers on this site. A case of keeping its head down and raking in the cash until someone finally takes action.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

"Bristol is lagging behind others"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I travel through Bristol airport regularly for business and pleasure. Generally I think Bristol is lagging behind others, even though the terminal building is fairly new it is no where near the best airports i travel through. The choice of shopping is limited and food/drink not great as well as being very pricey (as are most airports). My biggest gripe is security, as I said I regularly fly for business and often with just hand luggage. I pay for Fast Track so as to avoid the holiday queues (particularly in the summer). You pay £3.95 (online) or £5.00 (from ticket machine) and it is usually really good. However on occasions it all goes wrong and I recently missed a flight as it took over 20 minutes to get through Fast Track and they closed the flight 30 mins before take-off. So not really the VIP service they market it as.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no