Bristol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 424 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never ever use Bristol Airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One check in queue for whole of the airport! I will never ever use Bristol Airport again despite it being the closest regional airport to me. Travelled to Greece and arrived at the suggested two hours before departure. There was one queue checking in all flights which snaked from one side of the airport to the other. There was no bringing forward people by flight time. Then forced to use self bag drop. Security a joke which took another hour to get through. Nearly missed the flight. Staff rude and unhelpful. I'd sooner travel to Heathrow than face this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Staff were also friendly and polite"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It was a bit busy when we were flying to Malaga on Monday early morning. Checked in easyJet at 4.30am and departed at 6.25 am. We have paid for fast track service which was a great idea because it was very quick and easy to get through the xray point. Staff were also friendly and polite. Many restaurants around airside area. Toilets were still tidy and clean in the early morning. Quite a long walk for easyJet boarding gate but it is normal for an international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"security area was totally understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Allow extra time for security checks! Travelled on a Sunday evening, when only 4 security lines out 10? were open. The security area was totally understaffed, I felt sorry for the hard working security staff which had to deal with countless passengers who feared to miss their flights because of the long queues. Many just jumped the queues and tried to get to the front somehow (which made the whole situation even more chaotic). Finally ready to screen our carry on luggage and after we had waited to receive a tray from the return line which only gave out trays very spare-some, we still had to queue to move our trays forward into the screening line. This situation could have been easily avoided by having more staff and opening more lines! The length of those queues are an embarrassment for Bristol Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"unorganised chaos at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Echoing other reviews on here regarding passport control. I flew in from the Canary Islands this morning to be greeted by a totally unorganised chaos at passport control, the so called professionals were struggling to even organise the barriers for the queues, talking to each other by phone and getting nowhere. Eventually herding as many people as possible towards the egates, whilst officers sat at desks doing nothing, the egates flagging up 'seek assistance' more tines than letting people through. There was an elderly couple in front of me that were clearly confused and unable to comprehend the use of these egates, the officer started to shout instructions at the couple, clearly making the situation worse for them, to such a point he pulled them out and sent them to a manned desk. I appreciate they have a job to do, but some compassion and understanding and help would have been more effective. Yet again a bit of power has gone to someones head. Time for some customer service training to be done.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overwhelmed and undermanned security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Completely overwhelmed and undermanned security. Upon passing through the security scanner, the operator must have flagged the bag as a problem and it was directed to be inspected. I collected my Laptop and other belongings that had passed without problem and patiently waited. It took another 15 minutes before an operator called me forward. At this point I could see on the screen that a scanner fault was showing. I was told that this would be a full bag search because the scanner could not identify equipment. The operator asked me to undo my bag and following this action physically pushed my hand away exclaiming that I was not to touch any contents. I felt like a criminal at this point. The Operator proceeded to dissect every single element of my bag down to tissues, loose change, pens, etc. This process alone took 10 minutes, during which I explained that it will take me another 10 minutes to repack my bag and that I will most certainly miss my flight. The security team were clearly overwhelmed by the amount of passengers and did not have enough staff or resources to cope. This was also made worse by equipment failure, the error message on screen clearly indicated as much. Upon reaching the departure lounge the board was displaying “Final Call” so I transited the building at speed, I reached the gate seconds after it had closed. It was unmanned therefore nobody could advise me. I used the assistance phone which rang without answer for over 5 minutes. This could have been an Emergency and no one answered to advise! Coupled with terrible transport links and a ludicrous drop off fee of £3, this is most definitely the worst Airport I have ever used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The restaurant facilities are hopeless"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We ate at Eat as it was the nearest after having spent an hour waiting at security. My husband chose a bacon roll for speed. Not realising it was precooked I gave it to him. The roll was so hard it was inedible. I returned it and it was replaced. This one was worse the bacon and roll were rock hard. I was furious, complained and got a refund. But I still had a hungry man. The restaurant facilities are hopeless. Far too expensive for rubbish food. Never again will we or our family eat there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"new parking fee of £3.00 is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Bristol airports new parking fee of £3.00 for drop and go is a disgrace! Welcome to Bristol airport and all you need to do is drop of a family member or friend and its like you've been robbed for doing someone a favour. The old fee was fine at £1 or if you needed to hike it up then £1.50 but £3.00 for a 5 min drop off, shame on you! I'm sure that you will have many reasons to explain this price hike but what about looking after your customer base, after all its not as if your not making a good profit inside the terminal. Again shame on you!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"Severe overcrowding"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Bristol Airport has increased the air traffic but the terminal is sadly lagging behind in terms of capacity. Severe overcrowding at all times if the day, even at 6am. Nowhere to sit on last 2 visits.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Disgusted by the lack of customer care"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I arrived 2 hours and 20 minutes before takeoff for a flight to Sofia for a week's skiing in Borovets. Initially I was delayed for 60 minutes checking in due to a computer malfunction, and then for 55 minutes clearing security. I missed the flight and now the airport denies responsibility blaming the airline easyJet and I have lost the money £1,400, that I have paid for the holiday and associated expenses. Disgusted by the lack of customer care and cavalier behaviour of the airport's staff and operators.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid if you have a choice"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I would repeat the concerns outlined in then previous reviews. I will always choose to use Heathrow or Gatwick even though Bristol is closer to our home. The overall customer experience is one that screams 'we don't really want you here'. We travelled on a quiet day, but they were still taking 20 minutes to get you through the security checks. Just as well we arrived a full two hours before our flight. Moreover the drop-off charge is 'daylight robbery' - £3 to simply stop and unload, and even then this is 100 yards away from the departure lounge. Avoid this airport if you have a choice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no