Bristol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 404 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"security does seem to be improving"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon departure to Olbia on 3rd October the security system at Bristol was, to my amazement, quiet and courteous. In view of previous experiences we had responded to the blackmail of buying fast boarding which turned out not to be necessary. We boarded at one of the nearer gates and so were spared one of the horrible long walks. Our flight was delayed due to crew sickness and it was impossible to find out what was going on as th pa system was unintelligible. Word must have got back to the Easyjet captain as he got off the waiting aircraft and told the passengers, in his own voice, what was happening. Impressive. Upon our return on 8th October, we were faced with the usual long walk to Immigration with the upstairs and downstairs marches. I would take a lot of convincing that this arduous exercise is necessary. I would also take a lot of convincing that escalators/travelators could not be installed. The excuse that the airport couldn't get planning permission for them is one I do not believe. It is, more likely, an expression of the airport's owners policy of "sweating the asset". Immigration was a bit of a mess but I imagine the airport would say this is not within its control. We did not have baggage to collect and so cannot comment on this frequently criticised aspect. Because of the walking distance I am giving this airport, once again, a low score but security does seem to be improving - unless we were just lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"an appallingly organised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is an appallingly organised airport. Staff don't seem to care about customer service at all. Waiting to get through security was shambolic although some desks had no customers at them we were forced to queue at other desks for ages. The food and drink areas were not cleaned, I would not expect this standard in the UK.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most inefficient Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bag check in approx 1 hour. Whilst queuing to check bags in I noticed the staff being unhelpful to the elderly who had no idea of how to operate self check in machines. Security are rude, unhelpful and just pedantic. My daughter put her 2 year old sons hand case through and wrongly forgot to remover her ipad from the front pocket of the case. So they pulled the case for checking (this I agree with) however when my daughter removed the ipad rather than scanning the ipad and then rescanning the case the officer thought it nessacary to remove all the child's clothes and empty the whole case in to a tray and scan everything individually. Then dumped it back in front of her and said ok now you can repack it knowing she was trying to contend with her two year old son at the same time who's buggy was still waiting to be scanned. This kind of behaviour is why it takes over an hour to get through security. Please bear in mind we had already queued for security for 45 minutes! As a frequent flyer around the UK over the years Bristol Airport is the most inefficient Airport in the country and the most expensive to park let alone the drop off & collection fees. I have traveled from Bristol (home) to Gatwick and got to my departure gate in under 3 hours and I took us 2 1/2 hours through Bristol. However flying from Gatwick is far cheaper on flights. So Bristol Airport is far from an easier cost effective option. My advise shop about and don't go for the closer option. Enjoy cheaper flights and more time at far nicer cheaper Airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A shocking airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Where do I start? I travelled with my disabled brother Bristol-Porto. Our experience in Bristol was really quite shocking, we were rushed and harassed to hurry up at customs security (not easy when you are having to organise yourself as well as a disabled person) his stick was taken from him to go through the scanner and then he was made to walk through without out it and then it wasn't returned to him for quite some time (in Porto they took it scanned it and gave it straight back to him immediately, he was not made to walk a single step without it, they way it should be). On the way back, once we had flown back to Bristol, I then travelled on to Glasgow having escorted my brother home, my experience this time sadly was much worse, the woman at customs was rushing everyone, shouting at passengers, I had put all my belongings in the tray, removed my liquids, devices etc, I knew the procedure well by this point and she was still shouting at me to hurry along, I simply asked her to calm down and she subjected me to a tirade of abuse and freatened to have me removed from my flight! I was able to smile politely and remained calm thanking my lucky stars that my disabled brother was no longer with me as I would have been more angry and defensive at seeing him being treated in this way. A shocking airport and I will avoid Bristol all together in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

"Absolute chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew from Bristol to Paphos last Thursday 6 September, returned yesterday early evening. Absolute chaos at the airport on both journeys. Queued for ages at check in on way out which left no time for food or drink, airport was very overcrowded and chaotic. On the return journey yesterday evening our flight made really good time and was expected to land 15 mins early at around 5pm. Turned out that the airport weren’t ready for us which meant we spent 15 mins circling round, we landed on time at 5.15pm. Alighting the plane and going through passport control was quick enough but the wait for our checked in luggage was an absolute joke. Our luggage didn’t arrive until 6.20pm, an hour after the plane was in its parking gate. When trying to exit the airport, there was a security issue which caused the exit doors to shut for 5 minutes, this meant we missed our car park shuttle bus and had to wait, amidst the chaos, another 15 mins for the next one. We finally left the airport drop off/pick up area at 6.40pm. In all, a very frustrating experience, very chaotic and stressful. Please Bristol Airport get your house in order and get more resources on the baggage handling and check in side of things.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nightmare with kids"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Swissport are appaling. Poor attitudes of staff especially the supervisor on 29th at 11.30 am. All automative checkins out of service. 2 people to check in 2 Ryanair flights and they were painfully slow. Staff standing around talking. Swissport staff need training in complaint handling and they need to appoint new supervisors with empathy, the right attitude and right skills. Nightmare with kids.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely shocking service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My elderly parents 88 and 85, my mum with macular degeneration and has no sight, were departing from Bristol to Glasgow, it took 1.5 hours to go through security, they asked for help and were told just to wait in the line with others by a rude staff member. Unfortunately missed their flight, then had to purchase another ticket to another airport Edinburgh as there were no more flights to Glasgow and find there way home at midnight. Shame on you Bristol airport that is absolutely shocking service. Absolutely disgusting
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport seems to get worse"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport seems to get worse. There were only two scanners manned in security on a busy afternoon. The catering facilities are poor and the prices ridiculous. Do all customers eat either fish and chips or burgers? The best option called Cabin charges crazy prices. At one sandwich stall I was charged £2.19 for a small bottle of water. This kind of robbery is crazy and should be illegal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"A truly first class service"

(Portugal)

NotVerified | On arrival the hoist was in position within minutes of arrival and we were courteously helped to the terminal, taken to baggage reclaim were the OCS lady helped us with baggage and took us to the bus going to the car hire office with instructions for the driver. He, in turn, helped us with our cases from the bus to the Sixt office. Departure was equally good starting with the trolley lady advising us to take a loose trolley instead of paying the £2 fee. We then went to the Special Assistance desk and were immediately dealt with by a most charming lady who took us to check-in were the clerk (looked new to the job!) said we were 1 kilo overweight and would have to pay a surcharge. Our lovely OCS lady went to the surcharge desk for us and came back with news that he had waived the fee. Security were pleasant and not over-officious, although it seemed strange that a lady security deemed it necessary to empty my laptop case completely rather than simply check the laptop. After a short wait in the holding area the hoist staff collected us and again were pleasant and helped with luggage onto the aircraft. A truly first class service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long delays for our baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Once again long delays for our baggage. Every time we fly back to Bristol this happens. Very poor service. Shame since the airport is very good otherwise
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no