Brisbane Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"passport control manning levels are very low"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I am a permanent resident in Australia. Have been for 15 years. Every time I return from international travel to Brisbane, the passport control manning levels are very low. On my most recent return there was 1 booth being operated for the ‘all other passports queue’ which was significant. It took me >1 hr to get through. Others much longer. Crying babies, small tired children, elderly etc. sitting on dirty vinyl floor in a queue that won’t move. If you are from australia or have an e-passport, there is little wait time. Seems the harassment (which is what I call it when there’s ample border patrol standing around in the terminal) is exclusive for those not so lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"there's a lot of room for improvement"

(United States)

Trip Verified | All in all, Brisbane is a satisfactory airport. Far from perfect, and there's a lot of room for improvement, but it's still satisfactory. I'd rather Brisbane (or Gold Coast or Perth) be my primary port of entry than Sydney or Melbourne, if I'm being perfectly honest. I'll start off with what I like. First, the overall friendly personnel in the airport. I only remember ever dealing with a truly unfriendly ticketing agent at the train station at the international terminal, as well as a gruff (but not rude) ticketing agent for a Qantas flight. Other than them, it didn't matter if I was there early in the morning or sometime in the afternoon, ticketing agents, security personnel, gate agents, and store staff were all pleasant and helpful. Second, the domestic and international terminals are very spacious and comfortable, if still stuck in the late 1990s-early 2000s. But they are clean, well-kept and laid out orderly, in my experience. Thirdly, the signage is generally good arriving at the airport by vehicle and within the airport, but you do have to pay closer attention to signage as you're driving away from the airport en route for the city, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, etc. Fourthly, the speed of which security and immigration lines are processed has always been expedient and efficient, as I've never had to wait any more than five minutes for either. Now, this airport does have some major flaws. First flaw, the rideshare pickup area (e.g., Ola, Uber) is poorly indicated, and not that easily accessible even if you're paying attention to signage. Second flaw, if you want to transfer between the domestic and international terminals, you have to get on the Brisbane city train just to travel between those terminals. This means, yes, you have to pay for a train ticket! That's honestly asinine. Third flaw, the airport or Brisbane Council should improve the signage for outgoing traffic toward the City, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Toowoomba, etc. Fourth flaw, while I realize that this airport isn't nearly as busy as Sydney, Melbourne Tullamarine, or even Auckland, it would be nice to at least have a couple of extra kiosks open for snacks, wine and beer during peak traffic hours. In summary, Brisbane is a fine and friendly airport, if not a little disjointed and "time-warpy" and this description is really apt for the Greater Brisbane area as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"yelled and screamed at a man"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | The officer in charged of luggage security check at the departure was extremely rude. He yelled and screamed at a man who couldn't get his intruction to put his luggage bag on a tray. It is understandable that visitors sometimes couldn't understand the Australian accent and the officer was supposed to offer assistance instead of yelling at him openly. It was really a shame of Brisbane Airport management to have such inconsiderate staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"inconsistency around here"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | There was only 2 open screening machine until they realised it was already crowded. Then they opened one more - imagine waiting for 20mins on queue then the people who almost just arrived went in first. We were told no need to remove laptops or gadgets from bags as the airport has new so called high end machine. Now on our way back to Perth. Then they asked to take all our gadgets or laptops from the bag. There is inconsistency around here. When flights gets delayed no seats are available
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the system is very slow and inefficient"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We took our family to BNE today to catch a short flight to Auckland with Virgin Australia (VA159). There was a long queue and altogether it took over an hour to check in. Despite numerous staff the system is very slow and inefficient. The same process at Singapore would probably take just a few minutes. Parking costs at the airport are exhorbitant with just a short stay coating about $25. I would not recommend this airport and you can expect a lengthy stressful checkin for economy class.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"The best airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The best airport! The only thing they could improve on is the connection between terminals however other than that it is amazing. I highly recommend going to this airport and am surprised there has not been more talk around it. Overall I would rate it the best airport in the world and I have been to a lot!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"really liked this airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I really liked this airport. Arriving was easy, as was baggage collection. Leaving I had time to look around, heaps of space inside the light bright terminal with plenty of dining options. The security staff were great, laughing and friendly to me. The gate we were leaving from was a little crowded, but I found the airport itself one of the best in Australia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Customs staffing arrangements are shocking"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Customs staffing arrangements are shocking. Spent over an hour queueing at family passport control with only two officers processing 100s of families during pick hour period. This was preceded by spending an hour in a queue after 28 hour trip waiting to hand over a declaration back back in January. All with a tired screaming 1 year old.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Longest waiting time ever"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Longest waiting time ever, 90 min at the passport control. It happened to me 3 times (90min/70min/70min) I have been to New York, Beijing other busiest airports! It cant just be that this small airport does it to us! If you go to Australia, try Sydney or Melbourne, they don't want you in Queensland!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport on the planet"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worst airport on the planet, disgusting service, rip off prices. They will rip you off every last cent they possibly can, avoid this airport at all costs. You can potentially save 100's of dollars avoiding the rip off parking fees, huge queues, overpriced toll routes/public transport systems attached to the airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no