Brisbane Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"continual high volume"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This review is for the interest of business travellers. Brisbane International Terminal Airport pre boarding announcements, flight departure announcements, late passenger annoucements and general announcements via loudspeakers are constant, broadcast throughout the entire terminal (regardless of which gate is being referred to), broadcast at high volume, repetitive over an interval of a few minutes and with high pitched patronising and angry sounding announcers. These flight announcements create an environment very difficult to conduct business discussions between colleagues or customers - even via phone when at Brisbane Int'l airport. The intrusive nature and continual high volume of these anouncements has forced me to re-route my transit flights away from Brisbane Int'l Airport and I would encourage the serious business person to do likewise.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"distinct lack of directions"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arrived domestic, left international. Easy arrival, however I found a distinct lack of directions to baggage claim, I asked other passengers. Bags came fairly quickly. Then onto the airport hotel for the next days flight to Canada. Brisbane airport on youtube has instructions however if you do this, exit the terminal, see the big yellow structure to the left and follow the signs. There was a bus out the front too that takes you to international. An alternative is the train but they are only every 30 mins. Organised shuttle to international from hotel. International was fine. Had to self check in using a booth. It’s bright light and modern in that airport. It’s quite lovely how they made a “green space” inside using artificial grass with plenty of seating around. This must be the only Australian airport that has a smoking outside area airside. I hope that never changes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"had to drag my heavy bag up"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane Domestic airport is my 'home' airport and it is normally fantastic. But, arrived home from Melbourne on Wednesday 20 June 2018 and the exit doors at the arrival hall were not working, had to walk to the doors at the departures area (not a long way, but still). Then the travelator up to the long-term carpark was not working, literally had to drag my heavy bag up. One of the two or three lifts was not working, went to the other lift and the lift button to 6 was completely missing. Didn't want to put my finger in the void in case I got electrocuted. Went to another lift and was finally was able to get to my car that was covered in dust from the renovations that are happening there. I am hoping this is a short-term issue. Please spend some of the exorbitant amount of money charged for airport car parking on maintenance.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"staff at this airport are always friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The staff at this airport are always friendly and smiling. The staff at Customs are welcoming and it is so nice to come back to their smiles. They are friendly and polite and I noticed when speaking with passengers who do not have good English they are also very patient. After my very negative and unfriendly experience from staff at Bangkok Airport I felt compelled to compliment the amazing staff at Brisbane International Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"This is pathetic"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Time from passing through customs to pick up of baggage was over one hour. This is pathetic. We have traveled extensively around the world and would have to rate it as on of the worlds worst performances. Pity those pour people attending the commonwealth games.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it is poorly signed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane International is OK for departures, the car drop off is quick, and so is check-in, however there is one very rude lady who works in security who yells at people for no good reason, I note there are other complaints about her, BAC obviously don't care. Arrivals is good for customs, but bio screening is poorly laid out, not well signed, and different every time I come through. You often find you have to go all the way around the other end of a carousel to get to the entrance, and I fly into this airport several times a year. It gets worse when you come out into the arrivals hall, if you are catching the train, going to the exorbitant carpark, or gettting the Skygate bus with luggage then you have to use the lift, for which there is about a 10min+ queue! There is actually a second lift, but it is poorly signed, so only the locals find it. There is no signage to tell you that the skygate bus is level 4 until you get outside and then have to backtrack again. If you are getting Uber or getting picked up prepare for a long uncovered walk outside. It's ridiculous that they changed this without making it covered first. The seating inside is ordinary. Also prepare for being delayed by air traffic especially if your flight gets in early. With the Comm games nearly here, there is no excuse for some many problems.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the officers just shrugged and laughed"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Last week I flew with my daughter from Wellington NZ through to Zurich Switzerand via Brisbane Airport. We arrived ahead of time and had a good 1.5 hours to catch our next flight to Singapore. We followed the illuminated sign to international transit. We got to the end and were told by the many passengers walking back that it was closed. (We also walked past two airport staff who seemed to think it was hilarious we'd all walked the wrong way). We then joined the line of roughly 100 passengers waiting to go through transit security. There was only one security belt and progress was painfully slow, 50 minutes later we were still standing there, our plane was already boarding. The staff were laughing and joking and the one female officer in particular was downright rude, since when is it ok to treat everyone like a bunch of halfwits. We waited hopelessly as there was noone to help and the officers just shrugged and laughed. Fortunately we reached our flight minutes before it closed. While I understand the importance of security and am grateful for the job these officers do, the situation on Friday was totally unacceptable. Perhaps one belt working was unusual and I get that officers were under pressure however I would still have expected them to be professional and take the situation seriously. Surely there must be procedures for this kind of situation? For a start they could have communicated the problem to those airlines concerned and called for passengers with a short turnaround to come forward. Shockingly bad service and needless to say I won't be transiting in Brisbane again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Only in Brisbane"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I travelled with my wife and 2 year old. Departure - It took us 45 mins to get though customs (after the baggage scan). The customs officer was only talking to us in sign language. I found that very offensive as during the 45 minute wait she was speaking to her colleagues several times. We travelled on 7th January. Arrivals - After a long flight and sick child we were put in a very long queue. We have Australian passports but had to be in the foreigners queue with about 100 people in front of us. I requested to be put in the priority queue as we had a sick child who had vomitted several times which we were denied. I had to carry my crying child for about 50 minutes. In all the third world countries we have travelled to on this trip we did not have any issues at any other airport. Only in Brisbane.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Staff were totally disinterested"

(Australia)

Unverified | Brisbane International needs to really sort out issues. I was picking up the outlaws from a flight, waited, waited, waited, waited. Apparently a couple of planes came in at the same time, as per usual, very few staff to deal with this. It was well over 90 minutes after their arrival time, I started to ask questions. Staff were totally disinterested. I had no idea if they were on the plane or not. Finally after nearly 2 and a bit hours, they emerged. What a shambles! Then they hit me for the parking! A lot of improvement needed to be a real International Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no excuse for this woman's attitude"

(Australia)

Unverified | Hundreds of very tired travellers arrived on Cathay Pacafic flight CX157 arriving in Brisbane from Hong Kong, Tuesday 10th Oct at 23.15, and were greeted at the customs desk by a very rude person employed by Customs office. There were only 2 security desks opened and a number of 'self serve' booths. Most of the passengers had no idea how to use the self help booths and with no one to assist us, we were directed to the 'assistance desk'. The person behind the desk on the left facing the queue, was being very rude to most of us, but especially the staff of Cathy Pacific, telling them in a bullying way to 'get back to the end of the queue and that they were no more important than anyone else. They had not pushed in, but were told by another member of the staff to go there. Other people were bullied also for not knowing how to use the 'self help' booths. In my opinion, there was no excuse for this woman's attitude.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no