Boston Logan Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 173 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"It is hot as all heck"

(United States)

Not Verified | It is hot as all heck in terminal A of Logan on 11/11/22 at 2pm local. I am in shorts and t-shirt and still way uncomfortable due to the temperature. I realize it is supposed to be Fall season but it is abnormally warm outside today (as tends to happen in New England), and a (theoretically) world-class airport like Logan should be able to adapt their internal temp accordingly. You can always put more clothes on if it is too cold, but alas the reverse only works to a point..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

"too bad the airport is so terrible"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Boston is one of my favourite cities in the world. It's too bad the airport is so terrible! Signage is laughable in how bad it is. I was with my elderly mother, with no idea that it was at least a 20 minute walk to the next terminal, and no signs to indicate if there was a shuttle available. Our walk took us outside, then through what was almost like a garage and some construction. Very few places along the way for her to sit. And you are forced to go out and back through security for a connecting flight? Maybe this is a US thing? Duty free was a small kiosk and with the exchange rate factored in, was more expensive than just buying liquor at home. I hope I never have to fly through here again. Thankfully my usual visits to Boston are by car or train!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This is the most poorly marked airport I have ever been in"

(United States)

Not Verified | October 22nd and 23rd Southwest Airlines. This is the most poorly marked airport I have ever been in. Terrible lack of clear signage. The fact that it is so huge and the terminals are so spread out, makes it imperative to have clearer signage. I am 63 and wondered if it was just me, but then I saw lots of people of all ages, stopping and calling friends to try and get help. Also, many people asking each other if they understood how to get to the ride app area or to their terminal. It was very chaotic. I have never walked so much in an airport: Up escalators, down escalators, then to this elevator and across another crosswalk. What a terrible mess. I was already frazzled when I got to security, and the employees only made it worse. They were surly and disorganized. One employee said, "Stand over here and wait for a space to come available." While I was standing there, another employee said "don't stand there, move," The man supervising the luggage scan was rude. No one understood the process, and when I put my luggage on the roller, he yelled, "everything goes in a white bin!" People where coming in to the line from two directions. I stopped and helped two other ladies who were having trouble figuring out what to do. After I got through security, several folks were discussing how confusing the airport was and how rude the employees were. My son and I got to the airport early to take our time and have dinner. However, we were departing from two different terminals, so our only option was Dunkin Donuts. We walked another 20 minutes over to the Hilton and had a BAD dinner there, then sat in their lobby instead of returning to the airport, since there was no where to sit with each other outside of the terminals. I would like to come back to Boston, but between the airport conditions and the nasty UBER drivers, I am not sure it is worth it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Amazingly poor experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Amazingly poor experience with transfer from International Terminal E to our domestic flight. Zero signage. After clearing customs there is simply no signage to tell you which airlines fly out of which terminals, much less how to get to those terminals. Confusing series of hallways that involve long walks and sent us outdoors twice. Goes without saying that we had to endure baggage re-check. If there was a bus or tram you would have no way to know it, unclear transit options to domestic terminals. I can't imagine how people with mobility issues would navigate it. Exhausting process. The fact that other reviewers have noted these problems and yet problems persist is commentary on the ineptitude of staff running the airport. Improving the signage would involve minor effort and expense and would go a long way to improving the situation. Ideally there should be one central security checkpoint after the departure counters and then a train to take you back and forth between terminals. As it stands now, this airport is a disaster for international travel.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Boston is now on my never-go-again list"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel between Italy and US often and have transferred through many airports. Boston is now on my never-go-again list along with Charlotte. I had originally booked via Boston thinking it would be more streamlined and modern. It was anything but. Confusing, contradictory instructions at customs, long walks, zero signage, long line for baggage re-check, unclear transit options to domestic terminals, nothing is walkable, very few charging ports, almost no eating options in terminal A. Altogether archaic airport, an embarrassment. Never ever again. Why Delta flies there I have no idea. JFK and Atlanta are far better.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"car rental and return process is so atrocious"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The plane part of the airport is fine - the A Terminal is perhaps a little cramped, but there was enough seating and a number of options available for eating. Where Logan fails, however, is with rental cars. The cars are all in a common garage, and getting there for me was a 20 minute ordeal on a standing room only bus. The rental counters seem to always be poorly staffed, so you end up in a long line to get your keys. Also, when you're trying to leave the airport you'll most likely end up going through one of the tunnels, which have tolls that can only be paid electronically. I bring my own EZ-Pass, but if you can't or don't do that you'll be forced to pay the rental car company's outrageous prices for toll transponders, and the same coming back to the airport. Finally, while there is now a gas station near car rental return, it is 65 cents a gallon higher than other stations in the neighborhood. Logan is the main airport for New England; I often pass through it en route to Vermont, and it is the only part of Boston that I get to see on my trip. The airport's car rental and return process is so atrocious that it doesn't encourage me to come back and visit Boston itself.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a lack of help and accommodations"

(United States)

Not Verified | For an international airport with international flights arriving and going on with connecting flights there is a lack of help and accommodations. Unable to recheck bags in order to go to gate area. Unable to go through security. Terminal c had only about 60 seats available while waiting several hours to have luggage rechecked from international flight. Even though there were (4) people at the jet blue counter they were unable to accept our bags. WHY were they there? Supervisor could sure use lessons on helping instead of citing “due to 911” the 4 of us standing here cannot help you. On a side note this is a very very dirty airport. Floors bathrooms etc. Will try to avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"In the future, we will avoid Logan!"

(United States)

Trip Verified |  It was so bad. My family of 4 traveled in and out of Logan to drive up to Maine. The incoming flight on Delta was ok, but the transit on the Blue Line to the car rental facility was awful. p.s. good luck trying to find signage that says where and what to do! The bendy bus (Blue Line) was crowded and it took so much time loading luggage on and off. We eventually got to the car rental facility and rented our car. Drove to Maine. Had a great time. THEN, we returned to Boston to drop off the car and catch a flight on Jet Blue. This time, the Blue Line going from car rental to airport was even more of a disaster. Overcrowded (some guy brought a bike on board and was blocking the luggage rack), no announcements - is this Terminal A? B? Oh, it's still B? No, its C! Where are we? When we finally got through that morass, we got into the JetBlue check in area. We tagged our own bags. Then, we proceeded to wait in a very long cue to just drop our bags off. The conveyor belt was not working. The was a Sunday morning in August when everyone and their brother is traveling. I cannot recall the last time we experienced such an inefficient system to get people from one point to another. I'm giving an overall rating of 2 - only because the people we spoke to were somewhat friendly despite their own circumstances. In the future, we will avoid Logan!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"such a rude staff member"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never encountered such a rude staff member. We were checking in our bags to get home to Medford Oregon. We had a layover in Salt Lake. The woman at the Delta counter let my daughter's suitcase go through even though it was a few pounds over. My suitcase was over by 4 pounds and she told me I could transfer the 4 pounds to my carry on and she would not charge us extra. She told us to come right back to her and she would fix it. We did that, but she must have gone on a break. We had to wait in line again and when we got to the counter, the man there was so rude. We told him what had happened he stood there stone faced and charged my daughter for the extra weight, weighed mine and I distinctly saw 49 pounds, but he put a "HEAVY" tag on it and wrote in 51 pounds, which I later discovered when I got home after missing a flight due to a delay and having to stay overnight in Salt Lake.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I am so angry"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My plane arrived at 12:20 am at gate B11 and my connecting flight was from B15 at 8 am. 7 hr layover. I went to gate B15 and found a place to sleep and some idiot came by and kicked me out and sent me down to the exit doors. Said the area I was in was secured area. I had already gone through secured checkpoint in Miami and Boston was my connecting flight. I am now sitting in a dirty floor because there are no seats out here. And I have to catch my flight but I have to go through secured checkpoint yet again. I am so angry.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no