Bogota Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"modern, elegant and efficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A very modern, elegant and efficient airport. From taxi to lounge it took us less than 15 minutes. But beware of extreme and violent security just before boarding. We were forced to leave our bags in the middle of the passage way leading to the airbridge and moved against the wall, while a sniffer dog went over them. No one told us what to do or what to expect. Then we were forded to face the wall while a police office hand searched us. No instructions was given, not even in Spanish; we just follow what others did. Very scary. I have never seen anything like this before. My hand was violent moved upwards by the police officers during the search. Iberia should have informed us this was going to happen, and what to do. A lot of passengers complained and the pilot called the dispatcher on board (the purser told us). Not a nice experience being treated like criminals as though one was in a prison and they were carrying out security checks. A nasty experience which damages the reputation of a rather very pleasant airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"staff doesn’t speak English"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Most of the staff doesn’t speak English and doesn’t understand e-tickets. At first they insisted to send us to the check ins and make 2 hours of queue despite us already having the tickets and only hand luggage. Afterwards, during the boarding, they kept bouncing us from a gate to another because they didn’ bother checking properly the tickets. In both cases we had to search for the only member of the staff who could understand how an airport works and explain it to their colleagues. They should be more professional, organised, and should learn english, given it’s an international airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Be ready to walk"

(Peru)

Trip Verified | Worst airport in South America. El Dorado opened its new terminals a couple of years ago or so but this greatness is not shown in their airport service and convenience. You are sure to take up to 3 hours just to make your international or domestic connection, Be ready to walk - gates are usually far away.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Nobody seemed to want to help in any way"

(United States)

Trip Verified | All staff pretty rude and didn’t speak any English. Nobody seemed to want to help in any way. That’s fine, but I get to security and basically all I have is my wallet and a water bottle. They snatch my water bottle and throw it away. Very wasteful and rude. Would have chugged it right there no problem. Extremely annoying and frustrating way to end my time here in Colombia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signs are also poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Transit to other destinations in Colombia requires passing through immigration, for which the waiting time is usually over an hour long - a two hour stopover is often too short to make the connection! Airport signs are also poor, so first-timers end up confused as to where to go and swathes of the airport do not have staff present to give directions or information.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst transit experiences"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Bogota airport continues as one of the worst transit experiences: continuing the war on water 10 years on. Bottles of liquid are instantly and shamelessly dispatched for, I presume, later use, while a bottle of water costs USD 5 or 6 airside. Always remember not to bring duty free, or even a simple bottle of water in your hand baggage. The previous immigration check is slow, the entire area in front of the booths is occupied by people queueing. Allow 20-30 minutes to traverse this mess. The WiFi continues to be almost unusable, slow, and dropping connections. A local SIM card, or roaming, are still essential to be able to communicate. The food court, at the very very far end of terminal 1 after multiple non-functioning walkways, has limited opening hours, until 9pm, unremarked on any display or even in front of the court or restaurants. A miserable selection of fast food was all that was available. Flight announcements are haphazard, colliding, varying in volume so it's almost guaranteed that the announcements for the flight you're sitting closest to will inevitably be drowned out by someone screeching into the microphone at the far end of the terminal. All in all, a very poor experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it is very OK airport"

(Estonia)

Trip Verified | It is another normal airport. Period. I arrived Monday around 7:15 PM. Immigration queue was around 15 minutes. EU passport, question about if for tourism, answer "business meeting", stamp, all done. Customs - do you have anything to declare, "no", this lane please, 20 minutes after landing out. Upstairs to buy local SIM card for data (70K COP for 1 week / 2GB), nice ladies helping to activate it (you need the help), back down to get the taxi (go to queue for yellow ones, 40K to the city, up it to 50K to be polite). Return Friday flight 9:15PM, arriving to airport 7PM, left city 6PM - this time of the day it takes 1hr from city to airport. Passport control + security = 15 minutes again. Security took away my beard scissors (3cm), that have been OK around the world (only Dubai has done the same once from 3 times). All cool. Did not even try the airport WIFI - found that this sucks everywhere. Enough shopping after security. I did get my souvenir coffee and other stuff. Eating after getting in to airport security area is an only real problem ... there is a food court where everyone queues for Burger King and next to that there are some .. not-so-pizza-pizza place and some other strange places where no one buys anything. Based on my experience for an EU citizen it is very OK airport, only thing to complain about is the eating possibilities.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Horrible service and respect for the passenger"

(Panama)

Trip Verified | 2hr queue at migration check. Horrible service and respect for the passenger by the supposed to be the best airport in Latin America. Besides, can’t conceive the employment of buses to arrive at the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"it was a pleasant place to be"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I used this airport for both international and domestic arrival and departure (so four times total). Although there was nothing special to make this an outstanding airport, I found it to be plenty comfortable - it felt new, it was immaculately clean, lines were short, there wasn't too much walking, public transit (which I used) to and from the airport was cheap (under $1 U.S.), security was efficient, signage was sufficient, luggage arrived in a reasonable time, seating seemed plentiful, and there were plenty of food choices on both sides of security. My main criticism is that I didn't see much in the way of electrical or USB outlets for charging devices, and free wi-fi was limited to half an hour. Immigration and security workers weren't particularly friendly, but they weren't rude either. I got the impression that many store and restaurant workers don't speak English, but I'm not sure because I speak Spanish. I was surprised that some of the eateries accepted cash only (and the exchange rate for U.S. dollars was about 20% below market). Prices varied wildly - anything priced in dollars or aimed specifically at international visitors was outrageous, but I bought a Colombian brand of bottled juice for under $1 U.S. I'm not much of a shopper, so I wouldn't want to be stuck here on a long layover, but for a wait of an hour or two it was a pleasant place to be.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

"fast and efficient"

(Colombia)

Not Verified | Check-in is fast and efficient. Good places to sit and ample spaces, the food court offers rich and varied options and access to public transport is simple and not expensive. It is very convenient to be so close to the city. I felt safe, with good police support. The bathrooms are clean and immaculate. What did I hate? Waiting on the track: Both to land and to disembark you have to wait too long on the track, it is desperate. They also handle too many remote positions and many times it is time to board buses that are obsolete and exhausting. The connection to the wifi is complicated. | El aeropuerto tiene unas instalacione muy modernas. El check-in es rápido y eficiente. Buenos lugares para sentarse y espacios amplios, la plazoleta de comidas ofrece opciones ricas y variadas y el acceso al transporte público es sencillo y no es costoso. Es muy conveniente que quede tan cerca a la ciudad. Me sentí seguro, con buen acompañamiento de la policia. Los baños son limpios e impecables. Que odié? La espera en la pista: Tanto para aterrizar como para desembarcar hay que esperar demasiado tiempo en la pista, es desesperante. Manejan además demasiadas posiciones remotas y muchas veces toca embarcar en autobuses lo que es obsoleto y desgastante. La conexion al wifi es complicada.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews