Bogota Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"very comfortable and modern"

(Philippines)

The new El dorado Airport is very comfortable and modern, the staff are very friendly and efficient, they need to improve the lines in immigration, the Wifi is really bad, but in general it is a good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"best airport in Latin America"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It is, along with Santiago’s perhaps the best airport in Latin America but they are not living up to their expectations. They need to put a premium lane like in Santiago for immigration as most airports do or work a bit faster. I waited 45 minutes to get through immigration. Agent was friendly. Security, which is immediately behind, was swift. The airport is elegant but some areas look a bit clinical. They could decorate it a bit better. Duty free is expensive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"It's really a torture"

(Bolivia)

Not Verified | We had high hopes that the new El Dorado terminal would avoid the inconvenience of parking and/or boarding from "remote stations", but instead, it has become more frequent than ever. It is not nice at all to land after a long flight and be forced into buses that do not leave for the termina until there is not one inch left to stand up among other passengers. An then, a "courtesy tour" all around the worst parts of the airport before getting to the terminal, very far from the connecting gates. It's really a torture. How come people rate this airport among the 30 best? It doesn't deserve it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"absurdly ridiculous, slow, inefficient"

(United States)

Not Verified | During my recent vacation to Colombia (and Peru), I arrived at BOG twice internationally, once domestically, and departed internationally twice and domestically once. The arrival process each time whether Puente Aereo or Terminal 1 was efficient, hassle-free. Departure domestically at Terminal One was slow; international departure towards LIM was slower; international departure to USA was absurdly ridiculous, slow, inefficient, rude and inattentive service. The main culprit in this negative experience is the unfriendly ticket agents at Avianca. We arrived about 2 hours, 45 minutes before departure, immediately, queuing in the economy check-in line. There could not have been more than 60-75 persons ahead of us in line; there were 9 agents working the counters; yet it took 1 hour 45 minutes to get to the counter! That averages over 12.5 minutes to process each passenger; that is slow. Most of the staff could be seen checking their cell phones, texting. The only staff exhibiting any urgency were the once calling for passengers for Quito, San Salvador and Guatemala City that might miss their flight. Once we checked our luggage and received our boarding passes we needed to go through security, emigration, hopefully get a bite to eat and maybe buy a last minute souvenir. In security and was seated while my mom and I (Colombian-born USA citizens with pre-1990 USA naturalization certificates) were detained and hassled. Emigration officer insisted on reading every single immigration/emigration stamp in my 10-year old passport! We exited security with barely 15 minutes before our flight was called. The food court at BOG is close to security but far from our gate. From our trip to LIM we knew that the rest of the eateries were few and blah. I managed 2 quick purchases including water and chocolate to hold us over until in flight meal. If you fly out of BOG, avoid Avianca! I used to love this airline, but their BOG staff is worse than CCS, AUA, SJU, and other hassling airports. I have been in and out of BLR and BOM airports in India and they beat BOG with better customer service, less hassling. As a departing comment, we complained to both Avianca and to El Dorado through social media. Not even a response, apology or explanation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"backward, inefficient and stressful"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Airport is fine. What is unimaginable for an experienced global traveller is how backward, inefficient and stressful the immigration process is. This is a country that should be bending over backwards for tourism and instead they treat all travellers like convicted felons. No fewer than 5 passport checks and details including entry dates and locations etc etc. The lineup for departing immigration was over 1 hour long and the attitude of the officers is they couldn’t care less who was missing a flight. More like 1970’s USSR than where this country should be given its excellent attractions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"clean, modern, and efficient"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Bogota airport is a state of the art, middle sized airport. It is clean, modern, and efficient. Its reasonable size make it easy and fast to navigate through. Recently, the airport inaugurated new spaces in the international terminal. There is now a great restaurant selection with high quality food and service. In addition to the companies and alliances lounges, the airport now has its own "El Dorado" lounge, and wow! What a beautiful lounge! Very spacious, beautifully decorated, with meeting rooms, gaming room, kids room, barber, restaurant (for an extra USD 4, which is incredibly cheap), relaxing chairs, comfortable sofas, a decent self service buffet. In front of Gate 47, if I am not mistaken. The lounge is available with a fee or with PriorityPass membership. I always found security check rather quick and efficient, migration services (both exiting and entering the country) relatively quick, and luggage reception usually very efficient (with some rare hiccups). Luggage check can be slow though, but I think agents have to deal with a lot of overweight luggage. The shopping area is pretty good too, although I will confess I rarely spend a lot of time shopping since I believe prices are usually on par or even higher than in regular shops or online shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"well-organised and clean"

(Switzerland)

Unverified | El Dorado Bogota is modern, well-organised and clean. Things can get a bit slow at check in and baggage claim, but the speed of security and passport checks more than make up for it. Good shopping options, easy to navigate, it's closer in quality to European airports than to American airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"does not have enough boarding bridges"

(United States)

Verified Review | I don't understand how this airport is rated the best in South America? The airport does not have enough boarding bridges for the number of planes arriving and departing, therefore having to use buses with the rain and cold weather in Bogota is not convenient. The internet has never worked properly.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"watch out for passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I would advise that you allow over two hours to transfer in this airport. At Passport control I accidentally queued in the wrong queue and when I eventually got to the front the man told me to queue again in the huge queue. I pointed out I would then miss my connection and he said he didn't care. Obviously I did miss my connection and had a less than ideal eight hours overnight until the next flight. The actual airport is great but watch out for passport control - they are slow, ineffective and are mostly rude!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"pay attention and fix these irregularities"

(United States)

I have been using the new El Dorado airport since it was opened. Hopefully they will finish the new concourses so it will be an excellent airport. The only thing that I have noticed over all these years is the regular maintenance - now you see a lot of dirty windows, the entrance is dirty, some stores play music at a very high volume, carpets are dirty and a lot of light bulbs do not work. Hopefully the administration will pay attention and fix these irregularities so we can continue enjoying traveling thru this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews