Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 382 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Boycott this facility if you have any alternative"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Took longer to transfer baggage from the plane than it took to fly from Austria (one and a half hours). BHX has the very worst reputation for baggage handling and the airport authority couldn't care less. Airport blames the airline, airline blame the baggage handling company, no-one cares. Boycott this facility if you have any alternative.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Could not believe her attitude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport itself was fine, I just felt the need to express how disgusting this woman’s behaviour was. Passport control / UK border! Not sure what had upset this wretch, but I’ve never quite seen/experienced anything like it! 4 of us back from Amsterdam, queuing at border control. Nice chap directing us to the 2 desks that were open (for about 200 people), fantastic. All of a sudden this witch on a power trip pipes up! ‘If you’re in a group stay together’ in such a snappy manner. For one we've just got off the plane (11.30pm) 2 there are no signs that say this, and 3 manners cost nothing you jumped up old bat! Could not believe her attitude, looking at us like she’s just stood in dog mess! You sit at a desk, and look at passports at the border. I wish I’d gotten her name!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"1 hour at border control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Time that we spent on New Years Eve evening on border control is something like years ago in countries like Soviet Union, over 1 hour! Shocking, never happened before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
8/10

"our trip was trouble-free"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Far better than Manchester! Other travellers seem to have big problems at BHX but our trip was trouble-free and a good start/end to the short break. Outbound at 07.45 Thursday - no queues at SAS check-in, speedy and efficient process at security and reasonable offer of catering outlets for breakfast. Inbound at 21.30 Sunday - smooth process at passports, luggage came through in reasonable time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a disappointing experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It is a shame that because Birmingham management is after revenue rather than customer satisfaction that the best way to access the airport is from the railway station and the short stay car park. Also good for pick up as the costs at BHX are prohibitive. Also, taxis are cheaper from the station as BHX levy a higher surcharge. Always a disappointing experience to fly from BHX. The culture towards the customer is wrong.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shocking wait for our suitcases"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Again another shocking wait for our suitcases, the last 4 trips have been like this. Have been off the aircraft over an hour now and still no cases! How is it that smaller airports in the world have your cases going around by the time you get to the baggage claim but Birmingham airport can never manage it!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"provide the service you advertise"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Disabled travel. If you are considering using Birmingham Airport for travel and you require an Ambulift for access into plane then from our experience there is a very good chance that the assistance providers (a company called OCS will not have a driver available!). The result is you can climb the steps to the aircraft and injure yourself - Birmingham Airport are full of apologies but how about this for an idea? Just provide the service you advertise Birmingham Airport. Disgusted with you and your special assistance providers (OCS) - complete disgrace!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"everything well organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very good airport with everything well organised good staff and fast security. Good shops around the airport and the aircraft arrived on time. The arrival at this airport was equally good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"has to be the worst airport for disabled passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Both my husband and I are disabled and we had to wait on the plane along with 2 other disabled passengers for 30 minutes until OCS who purportedly are Special Assistance Specialist came and off loaded us. In fact the new cabin crew were already on board ready to go to Krakow in Poland and could not therefore board their own passengers. OCS are the worst for disabled people they have no consideration that we do not want to be disabled, we do not like being disabled. It gets the holiday off to a bad start and finish. Unfortunately we fly from Birmingham because we live 15 minutes away but it has to be the worst airport for disabled passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"signage is very poor"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Having used Birmingham airport happily many times in the past, I was shocked at my recent frustrating experience. Firstly signage is very poor: I had to ask for location of departures and particularly for Lufthansa. Then the security debacle, a sign at the entrance stated in essence Laptops to be removed from hand baggage (or similar wording). As no other airport had required my iPad to be removed from my hand baggage on my trip from Australia and there was no sign requiring, it, I left it packed. So the baggage was promptly dispatched to the suspicious item area. After a 10 minute wait my iPad was removed and the process started again. And once again my bag was diverted, this time because a Kindle was in the baggage. Never in many many flights have I been delayed because of a Kindle. If this is a requirement of Birmingham airport then signs should be erected stating that tablets and electronic reading readers must be removed from baggage. Surly and unhelpful staff contact could then be minimised, thus taking some pressure of the staff and make for happier passengers. I thought Birmingham was a wonderful alternative to Heathrow but would be hesitant to use them again, it could not be worse than this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no