Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 186 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"airport is way over its capacity"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | This airport is way over its capacity leading to many delays. The airport is old and connection to the city is only by local bus (which tend to delay at rush hour) or taxi possible. There is no real duty-free area, nor gates for big airplanes (like A330, B777). Only positive is the fast airport wifi and overall friendly staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Never again"

(Czech Republic)

Not Verified | Horrible! Our flight was late about 3 hours and nobody told us. We waited in hangar where was about 15°C. And nobody cares. Staff at the check-in was not kind. And also there was small offer of shops and restaurants. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Its painfully slow"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival was without an issue, it was super quick, from getting off the plane to walking out the terminal exit door. Rather foolishly at that time, I didnt realise the implication this would have on my departure! Departing from Tegel is an experience I hope I never have to repeat. Clearly this airport was built in the era before security checks were mandatory. Literally you could walk off the street through your departing gate in little over 20 paces. So now with the advent of security, its squeezed into what were once corridors, with no real space either side. Its painfully slow, no fastrack lanes, and because it should have closed in 2012 to be replaced with Berlins new Brandenburg Aiport - that is years overdue and millions over budget - Tegel isnt going anywhere, and they are obviously not going to spend money on an airport that will be closed, soon ish. My advice. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a complete disaster"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | The worst airport experience of my life, flying to Munich (in Germany) was a complete disaster. Despite the small airport (too small actually), it’s so disorganized, what a disgrace. Spent 50 minutes trying to board the plane from the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very inefficiently run"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Where do I start - the worst airport experience i've ever had. My sister and I were travelling back to different countries after spending Christmas in Berlin. We were initially in the same gate door, but as she went through the scanner I was getting my bags checked, scanned my boarding pass to be told my gate had changed. So we had to say a very quick teary good bye at this point as she was going back to Australia and myself back to Ireland. The baggage man was nice enough to let my sister come back out to say goodbye to me. The only staff member who was decent in this whole experience. My checkin counter was in front of the baggage control line where we lined up for an hour and none of the staff thought to update passengers that the terminal changed. Each baggage control and terminal entrance is separate. There was lots of other passengers in the same boat and also had to pick their stuff up from the baggage control belt to go to another gate. The new gate had another massive line to wait in of course. I got to the airport 2.5hrs early by the time I got through this disorganised nightmare airport my flight was boarding! The airport is tiny but very inefficiently run by staff who don't know what customer service is! Has put me off going back to Berlin. I've travelled a lot, in particular in India and Asia and even they have it right compared to this airport. It was like a country town airport not an airport in a major city! If you must travel through here only take carry on baggage and don't check anything through!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dining options are extremely limited"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Worst airport that I have ever experienced. Had to do a transit and thought Berlin must have a nice airport. It more reminds of a big garage than an airport. It's worn and the "lounge" area is nothing compared to a lounge. The dining options are extremely limited - so are the shopping options. Seating is difficult to find and very uncomfortable. Worst of all its extremely noisy - like being in a production factory or something. It's been impossible to sit down a relax for the hours in transit, it's been like sitting in a refugee crisis center. And glad I'm not disabled as you have to go up and down stairs all the time. Even with your luggage that's very difficult. The best thing was the wifi, so I could log on and write this review.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"friendliness never hurt anyone"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | This airport is horrible. It's way too small and the most unfriendly staff I've ever encountered. They were extremely rude at security and were bad at English and only mumbling so they got irritated inmediately because I didn't understand them. A bit of friendliness never hurt anyone!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Berlin deserves better"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | This airport must have been the worst I've experienced for years. We know it is worn down and due to be replaced (or renewed) but till this happens it should work far better than it did for us. On arrival, we waited 1 hour for the luggage and there was no one around who could tell us what was going on. The arrival hall totally overcrowded and the infrastructure unable cope. Next issue was to find the car rental centre. We arrived at Terminal C and finding the Centre was a challenge since there were no clear signs. On departure from Terminal C - the line to check in a security was long. Very long. And although staff tried to help, the line got longer by the minute. When we reached the bag drop counter, we had to wait 20 minutes since the baggage system was clogged. I cannot recall having experienced anything like this. We arrived 3 hours before departure and it took us 2 hours to get thru. I know that this was Xmas season and delays were to be expected but this was unacceptable. Berlin deserves better. If feel sorry for EasyJet who otherwise gave us a perfect experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"cant process passengers on time"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Seriously the most disorganized, painful airport I have been at (and I've been to over 50). Probably added to by the lack of staff from Air France to process check-in. No wonder crowds and late departures, they cant process passengers on time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Berlin Tegel Airport customer review

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The worst airport in Europe. Two pieces of advice: 1) if you have luggage don’t exit quickly, if you do so you will probably miss your luggage. 2) at departure take a pill to be as calm has possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no