Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 198 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a disgrace for any civilized country"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Probably the worst airport I have been in the last ten years. The mess starts directly after arrival when baggage drop off is located in a different terminal. However, the walk is shorter than expected which got more than overcompensated by the queue you'll probably going to find there. There is a front-desk employee sending back people from the queue without a boarding pass who have probably waited there for 10-15 minutes. One can argue that is their own fault in the end but proper signs would save everybody's time and prevent frustration. Baggage dropped off counters are machines and elderly people struggle using them regularly which makes queues ever-growing. A little help here and there would be more advisive. Once you successfully dropped your baggage you have to go back to the gate you're coming from to queue up for security checks. No fast lanes here, just more mind-numbing waiting and more frustration which peaks once you made it to the border control officer who is apparently more interested in their phone than yours. After arrival at your gate, you have to get seated on dirty, old leather seats without the slightest chance for any discretion or the possibility to get beverages or food. I was wondering if spending money on a cash-upgrade would have smoothed the experience but came to the conclusion that due to the lack of space, cleanliness, lounge access or priority lanes, going through here as cheap as possible is the only option. This airport would be a disgrace for any civilized country and it a shame for the German capital.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nothing like enough seating"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I can only speak for Terminal C at Tegel. Appalling. The worst Terminal I've used, ever, in Europe. Just about acceptable as far as the security barrier, thereafter disgraceful. The gate area was massively overcrowded, nothing like enough seating. If you arrive hungry eat before you go through to the gates. The food and drink facilities inside are woefully pathetic and overpriced. E3.50 for a small bottle of water? The refreshment stall in the gate area didn't even have any coffee. The 'Garden' restaurant and smoking area (yes, both together) was a health hazard. Thick with tobacco smoke. Who wants to eat food in that, even a smoker would be put off. Non-smokers shouldn't even attempt to go in there. Presumably this part of the terminal is a temporary building. If not, its the worst example of German engineering I've ever seen. In fact even if its temporary it's terrible. A disappointing end to a great long weekend in Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything is dirty"

(Luxembourg)

Trip Verified | Berlin Tegel Airport has too many flights and too many passengers mean nothing works, the slightest disruption creates chaos, there is no waiting space, check-in, security, etc. take ages, everything is dirty and lifts and elevators stopped working a long time ago. Could not be much worse!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"is a disgrace"

(Oman)

Trip Verified | Berlin Tegel might well be the worst airport in Europe, it definitely is the worst of the larger ones. Endless lines on check-in. No extra lines for baggage drop after web-check-in. Again long lines at the passport and security checks. Heavily overcrowded departure lounges that are shared by several flights. Tiny caricatures of duty-free kiosks in the midst of the chaos. No further shopping or restaurant/cafe options. By far not enough seating. Crowds everywhere and consequently unpleasant physical contact wherever you stand or walk. TXL might have been acceptable for a quarter, or better 10%, of the Pax load. Like this, it is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in a civilized country"

(United States)

Not Verified | Undoubtedly the worst airport I have ever flown in or out of. To quote one of my fellow passengers, it felt “like we’re in a third world country”. The problems started at passport control, which took longer than I have ever experienced before. I understand that security and such takes time, but often the border control agents would not even be inspecting passports, and instead just sit there joking with one another. Once we finally got through that line, we were greeted with a mind numbingly long security and X-Ray queue. If we had not arrived 2 hours before our flight I do not think we would have made it to the gate on time, despite it being directly behind security. The terminal in which we waited lacked any of the basic amenities one would expect to find by their gate. The bathrooms each contained only one stall, and were not well kept. The only option for food was a poorly stocked and overpriced vending machine. Finally relieved to be called to board and leave the lackluster terminal, we were met with yet another inconvenience. We were walked directly onto the tarmac, where emotionless airport employees then packed us into hot busses like sardines, with many more people than can be safe and evoking worries of claustrophobia. After the bus was filled beyond capacity we proceeded to wait in the heat for upwards of ten minutes for no apparent reason. After a five minute drive across the tarmac we were again treated to another excessively long wait, during which we were forced to remain in the hot crowded busses before finally being allowed on the plane. Without question this is the worst airport in a civilized country, and should be avoided at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"immigration is a mess"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Horrendous! I was coming from New Delhi with a layover in Ukraine to Berlin. Now as soon as you get off the plane it's straight to immigration nothing in between except one toilet. The toilet has one urinal and one tap. The immigration is a mess (understaffed to help so many people) one elderly lady was the only security/helper there. But the worst is still to come. Baggage claim is a joke. There is a single conveyer belt for about 5 different arrival aircrafts. 100's of people are queued around one conveyer belt. Not to mention that this area has no seating leaving people to put their luggage and themselves on the floor. I came in July through this airport when outside temperature is like 30°C and this airport has no air conditioning. Forget AC's this airport does not even have fans.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security is a nightmare"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | This is probably the worst airport I have ever been to. Such a shame as Berlin is a great city but all interest in coming back has disappeared when arriving at the airport. Security is a nightmare, it is security by gate where there is no room to queue, no room for the priority customers which leads to absolute chaos where people feel entitled to jump the queue - a queue most others would’ve been in for +45min.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and badly signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival was pretty cramped and surprisingly close together; literally off the aircraft, onto the air bridge and at passport control in a couple of minutes. Baggage was fairly quick to come off the belt which was very acceptable; but in the arrivals hall, we were shocked to find that all three toilets were unavailable for use - at the same time! Transport to city centre was easy available. Departure was a different matter. The check in hall was chaotic and badly signposted. Security was pretty straightforward but friendliness of staff was questionable. Departures was very busy, there was very little seating and we ended up sitting on the concrete base of a pillar. The terminal building is like a tin can and reminiscent of a warehouse to be honest; with virtually no air conditioning and outside temperatures hitting around 34 degrees Celsius, this was no joke. With very little choice in the way of refreshments (especially when your flight is delayed) this airport is not what I'd expect from a European Capital City.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no seating, overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival from the UK via Amsterdam. A very long walk to find the place to report loss of bag. Long queue to use a terminal to register a loss of bag. One poor man trying to cope with several terminals and angry frustrated passengers. Later that day I was informed that my bag had arrived in Berlin and would be delivered. It never came. I had to fly home with no baggage. 17 days later the case turned up in Halle. Courier service is abysmal. Return journey from Tegal was awful. Airside - no seating, overcrowded, very poor signage and unhelpful staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"never experienced such long waiting times"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Waiting times for luggage are so bad! More than one hour is possible. Worst of the worst worldwide, never experienced such long waiting times. And its happening regularly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no