Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 193 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"immigration is a mess"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Horrendous! I was coming from New Delhi with a layover in Ukraine to Berlin. Now as soon as you get off the plane it's straight to immigration nothing in between except one toilet. The toilet has one urinal and one tap. The immigration is a mess (understaffed to help so many people) one elderly lady was the only security/helper there. But the worst is still to come. Baggage claim is a joke. There is a single conveyer belt for about 5 different arrival aircrafts. 100's of people are queued around one conveyer belt. Not to mention that this area has no seating leaving people to put their luggage and themselves on the floor. I came in July through this airport when outside temperature is like 30°C and this airport has no air conditioning. Forget AC's this airport does not even have fans.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security is a nightmare"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | This is probably the worst airport I have ever been to. Such a shame as Berlin is a great city but all interest in coming back has disappeared when arriving at the airport. Security is a nightmare, it is security by gate where there is no room to queue, no room for the priority customers which leads to absolute chaos where people feel entitled to jump the queue - a queue most others would’ve been in for +45min.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and badly signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival was pretty cramped and surprisingly close together; literally off the aircraft, onto the air bridge and at passport control in a couple of minutes. Baggage was fairly quick to come off the belt which was very acceptable; but in the arrivals hall, we were shocked to find that all three toilets were unavailable for use - at the same time! Transport to city centre was easy available. Departure was a different matter. The check in hall was chaotic and badly signposted. Security was pretty straightforward but friendliness of staff was questionable. Departures was very busy, there was very little seating and we ended up sitting on the concrete base of a pillar. The terminal building is like a tin can and reminiscent of a warehouse to be honest; with virtually no air conditioning and outside temperatures hitting around 34 degrees Celsius, this was no joke. With very little choice in the way of refreshments (especially when your flight is delayed) this airport is not what I'd expect from a European Capital City.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no seating, overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival from the UK via Amsterdam. A very long walk to find the place to report loss of bag. Long queue to use a terminal to register a loss of bag. One poor man trying to cope with several terminals and angry frustrated passengers. Later that day I was informed that my bag had arrived in Berlin and would be delivered. It never came. I had to fly home with no baggage. 17 days later the case turned up in Halle. Courier service is abysmal. Return journey from Tegal was awful. Airside - no seating, overcrowded, very poor signage and unhelpful staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"never experienced such long waiting times"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Waiting times for luggage are so bad! More than one hour is possible. Worst of the worst worldwide, never experienced such long waiting times. And its happening regularly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Security and immigration was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Transport from central Berlin (zoologischer garten) is efficient, quick and reasonable cost. Check in process was excellent, I used easyJet hands free so was allowed to use the priority check in desks. Reasonable sized duty free shop for the C gate area, and a pleasant outdoor cafe/bar to waste away the time with a few beers before boarding. However! Security and immigration was a nightmare. Long queues with some staff being hostile to other passengers who made mistakes about the rules in place. Or being kinda ‘bleaugh, can’t be bothered being here’ I work at an airport, so I was prepared for the security screening. My biggest moan was then the passport check as they had only 2 Polizei for 5 departing flights. And the e-gates were not open which caused unnecessary queues which by the time you add security lines took just over 70mins to complete the process. An otherwise decent airport aside from mentioned issues. I’m glad I arrived early!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"seating exceptionally bad"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Berlin Tegel Airport is too small to handle these crowds. The seating was exceptionally bad. There just were not enough available. The visitor's space is very dirty. Unfortunately. The connection possibilities in front of the airport were really messy. You want to cross the crosswalk and you're almost hit by a taxi. Unfortunately the airport Tegel is not recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"A great and efficient airport"

(Germany)

Not Verified | A great and efficient airport. For those of you who don't like - please try Kennedy, or Heathrow. I love leaving my apartment one hour before my flight and making my flight with time to spare. and I really hate shopping mall airports, which this is not.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Simply dreadful"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I frequently travel on business to Sub Saharan Africa and least developed countries. I have recently visited airports in Lagos, Kinshasa, Basra, Kabul, and Addis Ababa. This airport makes them all look like paradise. Simply dreadful: 1) Massive queues for security. 2) Dreadful service with utter lack of respect for passengers. 3) Shouting at elderly people ahead of me who don’t follow Ze Rules and forgot to remove water from luggage. Absolutely awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"There is nothing like Tegel in existence"

(Germany)

Not Verified | I wish to object to those measuring Berlin Tegel with 'Third World' Airports. No so-called Third World airport is capable of meeting the abysmal standards that Tegel has set for itself. It is so unique, so distinct that it should be a tourism attraction. We have just arrived from Munich. It is 23.00hrs. The plane was late departing - but that is another story. We got to Berlin at about 9.15. We have sat on the tarmac for about 45 minutes while the thunder and lightning rage, and the delicate airport staff liable to melt in the storm wait the storm out. Not one alleged 'third world' airport would allow this. And if it did there would be mass tut-tutting and lip-sucking going on all around the world. Now that the bridge driver deigned to appear, to allow the passengers to disembark, guess what, the baggage handlers are no where to be seen. So once again, we are forced guests of the airport with not a single soul in sight to explain anything to anyone. It has been another 40 minutes waiting patiently for anything to happen here. Exhausted passengers stooping and resignation. Tegel wins. Tegel wins hands down. If it is an alien plot to take over the world one soul at a time, it is a particularly effective one. I might be able to deliver an update from the same airport tomorrow morning, having not moved an inch. The only reason I shall recommend this airport is so that human beings can visit it and experience what inspired the idea of purgatory. There is nothing like Tegel in existence. Nothing.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes