Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 170 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"simply awful airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | A simply awful airport, especially for the capital of an advanced country such as Germany. Our arrival was ghastly, no air bridge and crowded second rate buses. Immigration queue was one hour and staff were unimpressive. No smiles here. Our departure was even worse. Queues, grumpy staff, toilets scarce and on another level. Immigration was slow then we were herded into an uncomfortable area with a basic counter for food and drink. Think a bagel and water. No shopping except a drab perfume store. Crowded and security staff also slow and grumpy. My worst airport experience for a long time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No explanation and no apologies"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worse than a third world airport. Worse than any airport I have ever passed through. I had to sit on the plane for ages due to ‘ground staff shortages’ and when I did finally get off the plane I had to wait almost 1hr for our bags! No explanation and no apologies and no staff to ask about it anyway. There was 1 toilet cubicle in the bag collection area so there was a long line. Then when I went through to get transport into Berlin it was bedlam - small narrow spaces with people pushing and poor signage to show you where to go, and gruff stressed staff and traffic jam chaos, is this indicative of how Germany operates? When I told our hotel receptionist she said it is always like that and she had to wait 1.5hr for her bag last time!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dirty crowded ramshackle airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Welcome to Germany - a dirty crowded ramshackle airport greets you in Berlin - it’s capital - an example of all things wrong with airline travel in the 1970’s - though this is 2018. Poor signage, no easily marked entry, pod design means seating and services are token at best, staff are as depressed and gruff as the airport facade, waiting times are usual and unexplainable such as 45 mins for bags to be offloaded - delayed departure but no courtesy announcement- what a bummer for Berlin and Germans.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this place if possible"

(Canada)

Not Verified | It feels like you are at a bus station. One of the worst airports I have ever been in. Officers are unprofessional, place feels unhygienic, and crowded. I am little shocked. Avoid this place if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"announcements difficult to understand"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Berlin? Never again! The airport was packed, long waiting hours for security, opening of gates too short to have time to do anything, information scares, announcements difficult to understand, not kid-friendly. Even Berlin's museums are not worth such a nightmare. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there was nobody to be found anywhere"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | First time flying into Tegel and hopefully the last. Even the pilot on our plane couldn't help himself, wishing us "Good Luck in Tegel" upon landing. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes because no buses had come to take disembarking passengers to the terminal. Once in the terminal, we were kept waiting a further 50 minutes as one lonely bag soldiered along on the baggage carousel by itself. Until the carousel stopped and stayed stopped. Passengers attempted to find some ground crew to help out or even get some information about the delay, but there was nobody to be found anywhere. Wifi was not working either. A scheduled 19.15 landing saw most of us enter the departure area well after 21.00 - not a word of explanation or apology. I don't know if this is just typical of German airport behaviour, as I've experienced even worse service countless times at Frankfurt - but Hamburg and Munich seem to function without fuss, and Stuttgart manages if it's not overwhelmed with people. Not in any hurry to return to Berlin after this experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"delayed extensively"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Probably one of the worst experienced I have had. They did not have enoug buses or push back trucks so every flight was delayed extensively. Amazing in a city like Berlin to experience this degree of incompetence
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"security staff unfriendly and offhand"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Poor airport, public transport from Berlin Hauptbahnhof was a bus but not dedicated to travelers so no provision for luggage which was necessary, long check in queue with just 2 desks open, security staff unfriendly and offhand, signage poor, probably the worst airport I’ve ever visited.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nein, Berlin, Nein Nein Nein"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | As a pilot I travel a lot and get to see many different international airports and am familiar with their operation and efficiency. I have arrived and departed as a passenger from Berlin Tegel airport (the only international airport in Berlin to travel out of the European Union) three times this year and think I’m qualified to give a review of my experience. This airport is a disgrace. I’m ashamed as a German citizen to see international travelers arrive at the capital of my country and being welcomed by a stressful and very negative experience. Besides the ridiculous ways of trying to operate this massively dwarfed auxiliary airport which is built in and still is at a technical standard of the 80s, I felt multiple cringe moments watching staff doing their job. First off, all passengers disembarked the 777 from Doha in the middle of the apron and not like you expect after a long international flight straight into the terminal. Everyone had to climb down a stairway and queue and get on a long bus ride to the arrival gate (and not comfortably walk into an air conditioned ‘finger’). This seems to be standard ops since we did it every time. The arrival gate is by the way the only one in Tegel Airport and all 300 something pax had to be cramped into the too small constructed building. 30 or 40 people were queuing outside the building because of not enough room inside. There were only six immigration stations of which only 4 were being staffed. (Why not operate all 6?) It is not clear which of those stations are for EU citizen only because all signs are in German. So people queued in the wrong line and were sent away when it finally was their turn. There is no staff helping people finding their queue. There is 1 staff member walking around picking 20 people of the end of each line and guiding them to another, newly opened immigration station after 30 mins, annoying everyone else ahead of them off. This guy didn’t even speak English. As you can imagine this caused more problems and confusion. Passengers around me were angry to say the least and everyone was talking about the bad condition and organization. Waiting time was 40-50mins until passing immigration. Right behind immigration and I’m talking 2 meters here, was the belt (one) with arriving baggage (from 300 pax) from our flight which was packed and overloaded with luggage because of the long waiting time through immigration. The only trolleys available can be operated after inserting a Euro coin only, which no international arrival traveller carries. Imagine arriving and carrying your heavy bags by hand through the whole terminal. What a joke. To be able to get upstairs to catch a bus or taxi to the city center (no train connection), you’re forced to take the elevator. When I say the elevator I mean the only one elevator installed in the terminal. The queue took us another 20mins. Again, not enough clear signs with directions where to go. There are confused passengers everywhere, still in awe whether this is the German capital they’ve just landed in. While queuing in this cringy place observing people’s stressed out faces and listening to the comments and helplessness, I felt ashamed admitting I’m German and face the unbelieving questions and anger. Shame on you Berlin Tegel! This airport should be shut down immediately! Nein, Berlin, Nein Nein Nein!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Wholly insufficient"

(Canada)

Not Verified | International departures is essentially a warehouse with a duty free store, a magazine stand and a small sandwich stand. Wholly insufficient for the number of people that come through this terminal. There are maybe 10 places to charge electronic devices in the whole terminal. No air bridges means that every time a flight boards it becomes incredibly loud in the terminal. The HVAC system is woefully under powered, we were there in 30+ degree heat and it was miserable. Airport wifi only lasts for 30 minutes before you have to reconnect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no