Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 184 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"There is nothing like Tegel in existence"

(Germany)

Not Verified | I wish to object to those measuring Berlin Tegel with 'Third World' Airports. No so-called Third World airport is capable of meeting the abysmal standards that Tegel has set for itself. It is so unique, so distinct that it should be a tourism attraction. We have just arrived from Munich. It is 23.00hrs. The plane was late departing - but that is another story. We got to Berlin at about 9.15. We have sat on the tarmac for about 45 minutes while the thunder and lightning rage, and the delicate airport staff liable to melt in the storm wait the storm out. Not one alleged 'third world' airport would allow this. And if it did there would be mass tut-tutting and lip-sucking going on all around the world. Now that the bridge driver deigned to appear, to allow the passengers to disembark, guess what, the baggage handlers are no where to be seen. So once again, we are forced guests of the airport with not a single soul in sight to explain anything to anyone. It has been another 40 minutes waiting patiently for anything to happen here. Exhausted passengers stooping and resignation. Tegel wins. Tegel wins hands down. If it is an alien plot to take over the world one soul at a time, it is a particularly effective one. I might be able to deliver an update from the same airport tomorrow morning, having not moved an inch. The only reason I shall recommend this airport is so that human beings can visit it and experience what inspired the idea of purgatory. There is nothing like Tegel in existence. Nothing.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetence in operations"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Not able to provide buses in time to get you off the plane - maybe it’s too surprising a plane lands as planned in time. Can’t understand that incompetence in operations!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Without any doubt the worst airport in Europe. Crowded, crazy check-in system (separate check-ins for each gate), dirty, surly staff. It reminded me of airports in the old communist Europe in the 70s.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"absolutely unfriendly to everybody"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The airport staff at the security was absolutely unfriendly to everybody. They yelled at an older man because he forgot to take out his water bottle, even if he were the hundreth person to forget his bottle you should not treat a person like that. They also spoke very rudly and loudly about people who did not understand German.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is one of the worst airports I have been through. No seating in the check in area and an hour to get through the one security scanner. Few seats airside and very crowded. Only one toilet! Third world! So much for German efficiency. Never again
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total chaos and no order"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Stood in the queue for security check, took over 2 hours. It was total chaos and no order, people skipped queues. Then in the baggage control, a man in front of us got stopped by the police and the queue froze for 20 minutes and we missed our flight with no compensation. Don’t fly with easyJet at Tegel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is really the worst airport ever, trust the reviews. We arrived by chance a lot earlier than usual with 2 1/2 hrs to spare to our flight. To our disbelief there was a very long queue to the security gates so we just started queuing - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We were moving on average as calculated about 1 meter every 3 minutes. No one was around to explain why that was taking so long, wondering if anyone was going to miss their filght or helping to control the queue. We just made it through the security Gates after 2 1/2 hrs and luckily our plane was delayed as we would have missed it otherwise. Lots of people were cutting the queue as they were late. The security staff didn't seem to think anything was wrong which made me think this probably is normal. It was painfully stressful and totally abysmal. Spoiled our whole Berlin experience. Utterly disgraceful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Baggage delivery a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Baggage delivery a joke. Stood here now watching the baggage on the tarmac. Baggage that has been bought all of the 10 meters from aircraft to hall not delivered. Carousel has started and stopped 4 times. Can only assume this is how German humour works? Been here near an hour. No staff to challenge.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"3rd world country airport"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | 3rd world country airport. It is funny to see how Germany revered as the organized country has such airports. Ugly, dirty, no seating, disorganized, inefficient. Hundreds of people in a room with 5 gates and one shared bathroom for both men and women
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport visited"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | For a major Western European City, this has to be the worst airport visited. I departed from Terminal C for Manchester, terrible EasyJet check in, the departure lounge is a chicken shed with dreadful dirty facilities. Will try to avoid Berlin in the future
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no