Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 211 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"a very unique airport"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Berlin Tegel is a very unique airport, both is positive and negative ways. After arriving at Berlin Tegel and disembarking the aircraft, we had to queue up on the jetbridge as the customs checkpoint was right after the jetbridge. A very interesting concept. Right after that was a small baggage carousel, then out of the departures area. This meant that there was basically no departures area. We had to wait quite some time for our baggage. When we returned to to the airport, our check-in process was pretty smooth and the lounge was easily accessible. There was a huge observation deck which spanned the roof of a terminal, offering beautiful views of the runway and tarmac, a good place to spend the time. However, you have to go through a small security check and buy a ticket before entering. Every two gates had its own departure area with seats and its own security checkpoint. This meant snaking queues into the public area each time a flight was boarding, and it was hard to walk around with baggage because there was little space. Inside the tiny departures area, there was insufficient seating and insufficient space for the boarding queue. Everyone was squeezed at the gate and there was absolutely no order or anything. No queues set up.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst out of the worst"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst out of the worst. Staff are not helpful, they are slow and unkind. Avoid if you can. I travel to this airport about 6-8 times a year and every time it is as bad as it was before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"in no way adequate"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The airport is in no way adequate to that of a capital city airport, it is incredibly dirty, the organization is an absolute disaster (after the landing, the transport buses are ready on the plane, but it took 30 minutes to get at least 1 escalator to the plane ). The toilets are partly out of order and extremely dirty, you can see at every corner that the cleaning costs are extremely saved. All in all, it is infinitely embarrassing to present a “cosmopolitan city” like Berlin, those responsible should be ashamed! | Der Flughafen ist dem eines Hauptstadtflughafens in keiner Weise angemessen, es unfassbar dreckig, die Organisation ist eine absolute Katastrophe (nach der Landung stehen die Transportbusse zwar am Flugzeug bereit aber es dauerte geschlagene 30 Minuten bis man es geschafft hat wenigstens 1 Rolltreppe zum Flugzeug zu bringen). Die Toiletten sind zum Teil ausser Betrieb und extrem verschmutzt, man merkt an jeder Ecke das extrem bei den Reinigungskosten gespart wird. Alles in Allem ist es unendlich Peinlich eine „Weltstadt“ wie Berlin so zu präsentieren, die Verantwortlichen sollten sich schämen!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"exceeded my worst nightmares"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Awful experience! I am a very frequent (business) traveller and have seen a lot of airports in the world. But this one exceeded my worst nightmares. We were in the line for the security check to Amsterdam, combined with Paris. We had over 1 hour to go through security for Amsterdam (Paris flight had 30 min), but it took ages! Only one gate was open (another one was idle, no personnel). The guy performing the screening was taking all the time in the world as if we were not in a hurry. Personnel were very unfriendly, yelling at us. Paris passengers were really getting worried they could not make their flight. The screening guy did not notice this. In the end, someone called all the Paris passengers to the front, which upset the screening guy very much. He really flipped and sent back the passengers to the end of the line. When we started complaining about this ridiculous situation, the guy even stopped the scanner and called the airport police! He deliberately stopped the process to make us miss the flight. After 10 minutes the police came and we could explain the situation. They checked our passports and convinced the screening guy to start checking again. We barely made our flight. It was the worst airport nightmare of my life! Never again Berlin Tegel. It is a disgrace for the Germany capital, a country that has the name of being well organised and 'pünktlich'. I advise them to check out Schiphol Amsterdam for a much better experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace. Poor or non-existent facilities and tiny duty free, insane overpricing (€3.50 for a small bottle of water) and it is basically a portacabin. I cannot believe that this is how Germany wants to introduce visitors to its capital.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Me and my family just arrived today and had the worst experience ever in the Berlin Tegel airport. First of all, the queue of immigration was terribly long and we waited for an hour and a half just to go through immigration. Once we got through the immigration me and my brother got our baggage but my mum’s baggage went missing, so we waited till there was no baggage on the belt anymore. I called the “missing or damaged baggage” but no one picked up. Then I saw staff with a bright green vest so I went to her for help. But the answer she gave me was: missing baggage is not my area, don’t ask me is not my business, then she walked away quickly. I was standing there feeling helpless then I saw the sign of baggage service, so me and my family went there for help. The staff there asked me to fill in a form and wait till they have any news. We are really worried so I ask her when exactly can we get back our baggage, she replied she didn’t know. We felt the answer she gave was really unhelpful so we went to the customer service counter, I told the guy at the desk that my mum has health issues and all of her medicine is in the baggage, then he replied that’s not his problem because my mum shouldn’t have put the medicine in that bag in the first place. He was really rude and judgemental since the reason my mum didn’t take the medicine out of the bag is that the cabin bag was supposed to be taken onboard by herself but the easyJet staff told her that the plane has not got enough space so they had to check in her cabin bag. My mum has all of her heart medicine, sleeping pills and antidepressant in her baggage. Now my mum might have to fly back to the UK since she has been in serious health condition for over 10 years.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Will never use again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This without a doubt is a disgusting, dirty and depressing “airport”. Terminal C departures is basically a large portacabin full of bad breath. Will never use again. I have given one star in every category only because I had to complete the fields.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a shocking airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | No decent place to grab food when you go through security. Duty free is tiny, may as well have none. Toilets are filthy. Not enough seats. It is a shocking airport for one of Europe's largest capital city's. They really need to pump money into the place
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible experience!"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | This is by far the worst airport that I've ever been to. It is dirty and the security personel are rude. They direct you to a "Lounge" for 500+ meters only to "welcome" you with a 35 euro entrance fee. Also there really is limited food possibilities, no major chains and most places only accept cash. Horrible experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is a disgrace"

(France)

Not Verified | Worse airport ever. Extremely nasty and rude security and check-in crew. No smoking area and nowhere to change a baby once we checked-in. Such a shame after meeting incredibly open-minded and friendly Berliners to end the weekend like this. Close this airport - it is a disgrace. I have never seen this before.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no