Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 189 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"never experienced such long waiting times"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Waiting times for luggage are so bad! More than one hour is possible. Worst of the worst worldwide, never experienced such long waiting times. And its happening regularly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Security and immigration was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Transport from central Berlin (zoologischer garten) is efficient, quick and reasonable cost. Check in process was excellent, I used easyJet hands free so was allowed to use the priority check in desks. Reasonable sized duty free shop for the C gate area, and a pleasant outdoor cafe/bar to waste away the time with a few beers before boarding. However! Security and immigration was a nightmare. Long queues with some staff being hostile to other passengers who made mistakes about the rules in place. Or being kinda ‘bleaugh, can’t be bothered being here’ I work at an airport, so I was prepared for the security screening. My biggest moan was then the passport check as they had only 2 Polizei for 5 departing flights. And the e-gates were not open which caused unnecessary queues which by the time you add security lines took just over 70mins to complete the process. An otherwise decent airport aside from mentioned issues. I’m glad I arrived early!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"seating exceptionally bad"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Berlin Tegel Airport is too small to handle these crowds. The seating was exceptionally bad. There just were not enough available. The visitor's space is very dirty. Unfortunately. The connection possibilities in front of the airport were really messy. You want to cross the crosswalk and you're almost hit by a taxi. Unfortunately the airport Tegel is not recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"A great and efficient airport"

(Germany)

Not Verified | A great and efficient airport. For those of you who don't like - please try Kennedy, or Heathrow. I love leaving my apartment one hour before my flight and making my flight with time to spare. and I really hate shopping mall airports, which this is not.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Simply dreadful"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I frequently travel on business to Sub Saharan Africa and least developed countries. I have recently visited airports in Lagos, Kinshasa, Basra, Kabul, and Addis Ababa. This airport makes them all look like paradise. Simply dreadful: 1) Massive queues for security. 2) Dreadful service with utter lack of respect for passengers. 3) Shouting at elderly people ahead of me who don’t follow Ze Rules and forgot to remove water from luggage. Absolutely awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"There is nothing like Tegel in existence"

(Germany)

Not Verified | I wish to object to those measuring Berlin Tegel with 'Third World' Airports. No so-called Third World airport is capable of meeting the abysmal standards that Tegel has set for itself. It is so unique, so distinct that it should be a tourism attraction. We have just arrived from Munich. It is 23.00hrs. The plane was late departing - but that is another story. We got to Berlin at about 9.15. We have sat on the tarmac for about 45 minutes while the thunder and lightning rage, and the delicate airport staff liable to melt in the storm wait the storm out. Not one alleged 'third world' airport would allow this. And if it did there would be mass tut-tutting and lip-sucking going on all around the world. Now that the bridge driver deigned to appear, to allow the passengers to disembark, guess what, the baggage handlers are no where to be seen. So once again, we are forced guests of the airport with not a single soul in sight to explain anything to anyone. It has been another 40 minutes waiting patiently for anything to happen here. Exhausted passengers stooping and resignation. Tegel wins. Tegel wins hands down. If it is an alien plot to take over the world one soul at a time, it is a particularly effective one. I might be able to deliver an update from the same airport tomorrow morning, having not moved an inch. The only reason I shall recommend this airport is so that human beings can visit it and experience what inspired the idea of purgatory. There is nothing like Tegel in existence. Nothing.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetence in operations"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Not able to provide buses in time to get you off the plane - maybe it’s too surprising a plane lands as planned in time. Can’t understand that incompetence in operations!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Without any doubt the worst airport in Europe. Crowded, crazy check-in system (separate check-ins for each gate), dirty, surly staff. It reminded me of airports in the old communist Europe in the 70s.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"absolutely unfriendly to everybody"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The airport staff at the security was absolutely unfriendly to everybody. They yelled at an older man because he forgot to take out his water bottle, even if he were the hundreth person to forget his bottle you should not treat a person like that. They also spoke very rudly and loudly about people who did not understand German.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is one of the worst airports I have been through. No seating in the check in area and an hour to get through the one security scanner. Few seats airside and very crowded. Only one toilet! Third world! So much for German efficiency. Never again
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no