Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Absolutely shocking airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Absolutely shocking airport. I was waiting in line to check in a bag for 2 hours then got to check in desk, and was told by a very rude woman that I had to go to the gate and pay 20 euro for the bag! Nobody mentioned my flight to Dublin while I was queuing up. Then I got to security and the staff were very rude borderline aggressive. I would have missed my flight only for it was delayed by 1 hour
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bad bad bad airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bad bad bad airport, personnel are rude and you need to walk 15 minutes to get to the train station. Also forget any facilities of a modern airport since this one is still the same as in the past when the Russians were here!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This place is extremely overcrowded"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | This airport is an absolute shame to the city of Berlin. While trying to maximize profits the management of the airport did a horrible job ensuring anything else. This place (it's hard to believe that it's actually an airport in the EU) is extremely overcrowded, bathrooms are super dirty, the building is shabby and hot. The security line started outside of the building which made me miss my flight even though I arrived more than an hour before. In addition to that, horrible staff, mocking you for a simple question - where do you have to exit after you were denied boarding to your flight. If you're with crutches, you'll not have any luck finding an escalator or an elevator to go upstairs. Would be really hard to find a worse place to find yourself in Berlin. Do yourself a favour and find a different way to come to Berlin.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"recommend using another airport"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | This is the absolute worst experience I've had in an airport. Security staff is the rudest and most disrespectful I've ever encountered anywhere in the world. They will bark orders at you in German and then yell at you, also in German, if you don't understand what they are saying. One member of staff was particularly nasty and actually grabbed my belt and tried to loosen it without my permission. He then began to scream at me, clearly trying to intimidate me on purpose. A very clear abuse of power. I did file a complaint but only got the usual copy and paste response where the airport is blaming the 'external company' that is responsible for security. Apart from the security staff, every employee working at this airport, from check-in personnel to people working in the shops and the restaurant (there is one cafe in Terminal D) seemed miserable and like they didn't want to be there. Clearly, they haven't been trained in customer service at all. The whole experience feels like a throwback to the Stasi era. If you like to be treated like cattle and yelled at in a foreign language, this is the airport for you. For everyone else, I'd recommend using another airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst travel experience in Europe"

(Romania)

Not Verified | The departure was quite an experience, especially at the gates. There were not enough places to sit, but that problem was quickly 'fixed'. We were invited to board and then we queued for another 40 minutes at the exit door, this time separated by a fence from all the other travelers, with no access to bathrooms or to shops. Overall, I will rate this as the worst travel experience in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"absolutely worst impression"

(Latvia)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever been to (in EU) and I have been to many. I have never seen so rude staff with so poor English, long queues, no place to sit, chaos and no nice places to eat. Had the absolutely worst impression. Also it seemed like the AC is not working since it was hot like in hell. Apart from most of the airports where you can buy water for 1 euro in the duty free store, the cheapest option to buy even a tiny bottle of water hoes around 3 euros. Will never fly through this airport again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"won't be departing through this airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival - Good, after landing buses were sent quickly and took us straight to Passport Control as I was arriving from outside the Schegen Zone. Passport control was quick and easy with 3 officers on duty for 'All Passports' and 1 officer for 'EU/EEA Citizens' as well as E-Gates avaliable to EU Citizens. Was through the process in a matter of minutes leaving me wondering why all the bad press about this airport. Departure - The Soviet Union is alive and well! The depature process made this airport the 2nd worst I ever encountered. The unclear signage, the lack of english spoken, lack of seating areas as well as the general depressing architecture all made for a Gulag'ish experience. Whoever designed the Burger King seating surely will have a special place in hell and who's smart idea was it to not have charging facilities after passport control in the days of electronic boarding passes? The only joys here were seating after passport control and the friendly immigration officer who processed me out of the country. To conclude, sure I may return to Berlin. But I won't be departing through this airport again, prehaps I will try Tegel?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unpleasant experience"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Very uncomfortable airport! You need to stay in a big queue at your gate and wait in a very narrow corridor without any chairs because passport control is there and they are starting to check passports almost when boarding time is closing. Of course they have chairs in the gate room but you’ll arrive there after check and actually you don’t need them because you don’t have time left for that. Why? Also you’re staying in the corridor with bags and also kids are starting to cry + what about people with disabilities? First time see this logic here at Schonefeld. Very unpleasant experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely atrocious airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Absolutely atrocious airport. Long security lines, unfriendly staff, poorly organised terminals. So unlike the organisation in the rest of the city - the airport is uncomfortable and a highly stressful experience. We arrived 2.5 hours before our flight and barely had a chance to go to the loo before the flight due to the chaos in the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very filthy and smelly bathroom"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Awful airport. As soon as I arrived at the airport, I entered a very filthy and smelly bathroom. The design of the airport is very confusing in particular with regard to terminal D, which is separated from the rest of the airport. Terrible experience and not to recommend! Wi-Fi does not work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no