Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 154 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Utterly awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Utterly awful in terms of immigration efficiency. I never review this kind of thing, but I've had plenty of time waiting in line. I can tell from the other reviews that this feedback is unlikely to be taken on board. Clearer queing lines required, more than 1-2 people working the desks, more organisation to avoid people pushing and shoving.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"So much for German efficiency"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Still queueing at immigration. Been an hour. Incompetent policemen who couldn't care less behind the few counters that are manned. Terrible. So much for German efficiency.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An appalling airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | An appalling airport, (second only to Corfu) in maximum disruption caused by poor seating, poor lighting, poor cleanliness and poor everything! When two Easyjet flights for the UK were called at the same time, you'd have thought that there would have been room for the people to queue separately, but no, both flights were trying to queue in the same narrow corridor, (which is a terrible safety / fire risk, ) and then when we got to the room to await our flight there were only about 70 seats for the whole (full) flight) This is a terrible airport and not something that reflects the beautiful and exceptional capitol city of Berlin, I would NOT recommend this airport to anyone, fly somewhere near and get the train instead!! I wouldn't even give this airport 1/10 but the site won't let me choose zero.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is really bad"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | This airport is really bad. We went from Berlin to Amsterdam, this took much longer than it should. The lanes for the gates are very long and we didn’t have anywhere to sit down. The airport itself is very small so there are not many places to sit down and wait until you can board. We also had to take the bus, this was overfull and we waited for a long time. We had to check in our cabin bags so we had to wait when we landed until we could get our bags.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Where are the seats?"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dreadful airport. If you tried to design an awful airport, it could not be worse than this. Where are the seats? Why is half the airport a glorified garden shed? Why are the Burger King seats like instruments of torture? Whoever runs this airport should be ashamed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport I've ever been in"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Summary: Worst airport I've ever been in. Our flight was originally supposed to leave at 18:40, we got a message it was delayed earlier that day. We arrived at check in counter at 18:02 and got screamed at by the staff on how rude we are for showing up late and we cannot send our luggage (which we pre paid for) and have to gate check it. We were traveling with 2 small kids, so we had 4 large (20kg) suitcases as well as a stroller and a trolley. Security were kind enough, after a few min of explaining and practically begging to let us through. They were aghast that check in counter treated us like this. Never to mention that no lifts were working and only with help of kind strangers we were able to get all of the luggage down 4 flights of stairs. Just a horrible experience. Flight was 3 hrs delayed BTW.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"way too crowded"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | It's not that big of an airport. Free Wi-Fi available and it's pretty fast. You need to walk from the airport to the train station outside, and especially if it's raining or snowing it's a challenge. They could have been connected. There are plenty of parking spots available. Staff isn't really good at English. Arrival: Passport control areas often get crowded and are claustrophobic. There are restrooms everywhere which is a huge advantage. Departure: The new Terminal C seems like a good idea as you can then proceed to any other terminal. I went through Terminal D, and the whole terminal looked like it was made of cardboard. It doesn't quite look like a Berlin Airport. The line for security check wasn't long. There weren't enough seating for everyone, plus the cafes and duty free shops after the security check seem like they were an afterthought. If you have a flight through a Non-EU country you go through the passport check right before you go to the gate. Overall I think SXF is way too crowded, and actually way too small of an airport to accommodate this many flights. Berlin needs the new airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"appalling airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Echoing the many reviews on here this is probably the worst airport serving a capital city in Europe. Lack of seating, crowded corridor with shops either side offering overpriced food and drink adding to the sense that passengers are held in contempt rather than as valuable travellers. The gates have seating for about half of the people booked onto flight meaning they are overcrowded and likely to breach safety standards. I would certainly not wish to in one of those gate lounges should there be an incident requiring rapid evacuation. Overall this appalling airport is a terrible introduction to the great city of Berlin and likely to be the worst capital city airport in europe I have experienced. Avoid if at all possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there aren't enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dreadful airport - like the 3rd world. Hundreds of passengers sitting and lying on the floor as there aren't enough seats. Lacks the basic human necessity - drinking water, unless you can afford euro 4.75 for a litre. Disgraceful - must put thousands off ever returning to the wonderful city of Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport is horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Airport is horrendous. No seating, no disabled access, over priced food and drink, and awful toilets. Berlin is beautiful but it's disappointing to enter through this airport, and that's putting it lightly. Still sat in the gate lounge waiting to board along with 200 other people in a room designed for 100 max. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no