Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 171 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"airport is also quite unpleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever visited. Except the fact that it is extremely basic and looks more like a site in construction than an airport of an European capital, there are metal stairs literally everywhere. We tried to find a toilet and 3 out of 3 on the main floor were out of order for the ladies. My partner was luckier and managed to find one open, but extremely dirty and frankly disgusting. The overall airport is also quite unpleasant and I would avoid to fly here in the future unless absolutely necessary.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"clean and easy to navigate"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean and easy to navigate. No need in printed boarding passes, e-version works fine. Be ready for a strict security control, this can also be counted as pros of this airport though. BUT the staff carefully checked the baggage and charged those whose bags exceeded the max permitted size. It was only possible to pay with cash, so you don’t know where this money actually goes. Another SUPER frustrating thingy was that they allowed non-priority to board first. Probably, they forgot where “priority” passengers waited and opened the door for “non-priority”, leaving “priority” to wait for nothing. In other words, if you break the rules, you are extra charged; if you’ve already paid more for extra services, you don’t get those services.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Very small airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very small airport. Rude staff. No baggage claim signage so 15 people walked out of the secure area looking for baggage claim. We went to luggage dept only to be told that it would cost 50 euros to get our bags.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Incredibly rude and unprofessional staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport in the developed world. Incredibly rude and unprofessional staff, not willing to help and the majority of them don’t even speak english. It’s unbelievable how they work at an airport with a massive flow of passengers from a variety of countries and not be able to communicate with them. We missed a connecting flight as the first one got delayed and at least three members of the staff yelled at us ‘this is your fault!’ while pointing their fingers in our faces as well, for missing a flight that we obviously weren’t responsible for. There weren’t any announcements made either or any signs that indicate directions to the gates. Information centers are nowhere to be seen and if you do manage to find someone from the staff to ask, they never know anything. There isn’t enough seating at all for at least 80% of the passengers, so the majority has to sit on the floor and stairs. There is no air conditioning whatsoever and no lifts to get to the gates. Avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Waiting times are ridiculous and uneven"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Security screening is the worst I have ever experienced. Waiting times are ridiculous and uneven: depending on the staff mood (or God knows what?) You can either be directed to a line with several screening machines that moves quite fast, or to a line that goes directly into hell where you have to wait forever for the one machine that is available. Furthermore, they made me open my bag for a small speaker and they ran it through the X-ray again. So overall, I nearly missed my flight because someone thought the slow line suited me better and because I like music. Way to go Schoenefeld.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if traveling with young children"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Avoid if traveling with young children. You can find alcohol everywhere but there is no baby food or formula anyware nor dipers or any other necessities. You can’t even buy cows milk. One probably needs to prepare a picnic bag before trying to have at least a tolerable travel through this 21 century airport in one of the biggest capitals in Europe. Moreover, you are expacted to carry down the stairs your baby, buggy, dipper bag and whatever else you have with yourself, i.e. Suitcase or leave your travel system at the gate and thereafter carry around your child on your hands (say 12kg) and other equipment for the 2hours. Place totally not accomodative for infants. There is a lift for disabled only. No milk on the airplane available as well. No air con. Security not helping with anything - wonderwoman mothers expected only.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hard to believe this place exists"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport we’ve ever had to use. Shocking old fashioned place. Honestly should be closed down. We had to literally queue for our flight down a small crowded drab old shabby corridor. It’s hard to believe this place exists. Avoid if possible. Shame on Germany for allowing this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely shocking airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Absolutely shocking airport. I was waiting in line to check in a bag for 2 hours then got to check in desk, and was told by a very rude woman that I had to go to the gate and pay 20 euro for the bag! Nobody mentioned my flight to Dublin while I was queuing up. Then I got to security and the staff were very rude borderline aggressive. I would have missed my flight only for it was delayed by 1 hour
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bad bad bad airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bad bad bad airport, personnel are rude and you need to walk 15 minutes to get to the train station. Also forget any facilities of a modern airport since this one is still the same as in the past when the Russians were here!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This place is extremely overcrowded"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | This airport is an absolute shame to the city of Berlin. While trying to maximize profits the management of the airport did a horrible job ensuring anything else. This place (it's hard to believe that it's actually an airport in the EU) is extremely overcrowded, bathrooms are super dirty, the building is shabby and hot. The security line started outside of the building which made me miss my flight even though I arrived more than an hour before. In addition to that, horrible staff, mocking you for a simple question - where do you have to exit after you were denied boarding to your flight. If you're with crutches, you'll not have any luck finding an escalator or an elevator to go upstairs. Would be really hard to find a worse place to find yourself in Berlin. Do yourself a favour and find a different way to come to Berlin.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no