Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 149 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport I've ever been in"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Summary: Worst airport I've ever been in. Our flight was originally supposed to leave at 18:40, we got a message it was delayed earlier that day. We arrived at check in counter at 18:02 and got screamed at by the staff on how rude we are for showing up late and we cannot send our luggage (which we pre paid for) and have to gate check it. We were traveling with 2 small kids, so we had 4 large (20kg) suitcases as well as a stroller and a trolley. Security were kind enough, after a few min of explaining and practically begging to let us through. They were aghast that check in counter treated us like this. Never to mention that no lifts were working and only with help of kind strangers we were able to get all of the luggage down 4 flights of stairs. Just a horrible experience. Flight was 3 hrs delayed BTW.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"way too crowded"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | It's not that big of an airport. Free Wi-Fi available and it's pretty fast. You need to walk from the airport to the train station outside, and especially if it's raining or snowing it's a challenge. They could have been connected. There are plenty of parking spots available. Staff isn't really good at English. Arrival: Passport control areas often get crowded and are claustrophobic. There are restrooms everywhere which is a huge advantage. Departure: The new Terminal C seems like a good idea as you can then proceed to any other terminal. I went through Terminal D, and the whole terminal looked like it was made of cardboard. It doesn't quite look like a Berlin Airport. The line for security check wasn't long. There weren't enough seating for everyone, plus the cafes and duty free shops after the security check seem like they were an afterthought. If you have a flight through a Non-EU country you go through the passport check right before you go to the gate. Overall I think SXF is way too crowded, and actually way too small of an airport to accommodate this many flights. Berlin needs the new airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"appalling airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Echoing the many reviews on here this is probably the worst airport serving a capital city in Europe. Lack of seating, crowded corridor with shops either side offering overpriced food and drink adding to the sense that passengers are held in contempt rather than as valuable travellers. The gates have seating for about half of the people booked onto flight meaning they are overcrowded and likely to breach safety standards. I would certainly not wish to in one of those gate lounges should there be an incident requiring rapid evacuation. Overall this appalling airport is a terrible introduction to the great city of Berlin and likely to be the worst capital city airport in europe I have experienced. Avoid if at all possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there aren't enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dreadful airport - like the 3rd world. Hundreds of passengers sitting and lying on the floor as there aren't enough seats. Lacks the basic human necessity - drinking water, unless you can afford euro 4.75 for a litre. Disgraceful - must put thousands off ever returning to the wonderful city of Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport is horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Airport is horrendous. No seating, no disabled access, over priced food and drink, and awful toilets. Berlin is beautiful but it's disappointing to enter through this airport, and that's putting it lightly. Still sat in the gate lounge waiting to board along with 200 other people in a room designed for 100 max. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the airport is far too small"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | First of all the airport is far too small for the number of people visiting it. Therefore, sitting places are not enough and many have to sit on the floor, something that happens beyond rush hour also. Toilets are not adequately clean-naturally there are many visitors but still that doesn't justify the condition found. Last but not least, prices are outrageous both in food and drinks, even water (3.5€ for 0.5L!). This image is definitely not worthy of a capital airport and doesn't honour Berlin in the eyes of those who have it as the first impression when landing or those having it as last when departing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airports"

(Germany)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports. You have to be extremely careful to not miss your flight because it is a 'silent airport'. You have to watch the screens constantly to not miss any changes and the screens in front of the gates are turned off so you can't follow the changes made without entering the corridor you came from, because of the 10 passengers from my flight (including myself) didn't catch the flight since they weren't informed about the changing gates. Poor support, ugly interior, no comfort, no recommendation until things improve meaningfully.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. We are travelling to London and the security check at the gates open about 20-30 minutes before the gate closes. The line was about an hour and a half long and delayed our flight. The 2 officers doing the security checks took about 1-2 mins for each passenger. Checking the photo and the passenger at least 5 times, checking every page of the passport and its stamps repeatedly and talking/flirting with passengers after the process was completed. Nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"without any pretence of sophistication"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Schonefeld Airprt appears to have been added piecemeal to the landscape and built without any pretence of sophistication. That’s because, like the rest of Berlin, it was demolished by the USAF, the RAF, and finally occupied by the Russians in 1945. The reconstruction was stark and basic-characterized by its ad hoc facilites. And the Soviet era legacy lives on, and it shows in its confusing layout and lack imagination. There are ongoing attempts to bring Schonefeld into the 21st Century, and until it is revamped, passengers will have to cope with the crowds and confusing design and long lineups at security and lack of eateries etc. Be understanding when flying in and out of Schonefeld Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this like the plague"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Crowded. No seats. Saddest selection of places to eat. No waiting area whatsoever. Awful bathrooms. I could go on forever. The airport is completely made of containers for Pete's sake. Just avoid this like the plague.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no