Berlin Brandenburg Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 119 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"long distances you have to walk"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | As an educator in the field of fire, Berlin Brandenburg airport appeared in my consciousness around 2012, when it already started to develop into a farce, with a 10-year delay in opening. Finally I was able to get through the airport in connection with a weekend trip. I don't understand the long distances you have to walk to and from the plane. A new airport that is not larger can be designed for shorter walking distances. There are stairs, with an illogical progression. There is signage that seems to confuse many guests. There seem to be too few restaurants and shops, with even less seating. Lot of them are cramped in, in a dark terminal. Wait time at security was 20min, which seem acceptable. Above all, it seems like an old airport that has been adapted, and not an airport that has only had operations for 1 year. Berlin and Brandenburg. Please get another airport-management to clean up this mess. You deserve better then this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Disabled access is a complete disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Disabled access to Terminal 2, or rather the complete absence of it, is a complete disgrace. You cannot arrive or leave the airport except at Terminal 1, and the only means of connection to Terminal 2 is on foot or by wheelchair. Even then, when you make your way from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2, you get most of the way there before you arrive at a long staircase, with a sign telling you that the lift is back in Terminal 1. The planners and architects responsible for this expensive disaster should be given wheelchairs and told to experience it for a day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"obsolete when it was put into use"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | A new airport which was already obsolete when it was put into use. Few toilets, automatic check-in gates closed, check-in at arrivals can grass for half an hour despite the flight inside the Schengen area. The worst thing, however, is the non-ergonomic construction of the facility, which is even dangerous. High, steep stairs down just around the bend in the corridor. Very dangerous. It looks as if someone already had a building erected and had to stuff everything that was needed into it, but there was not enough space to do it right. And the fact that you have to go outside to get between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 is a massacre. BTW terminal 5 is the old terminal of Schonefeld airport from which nothing flies, but the train going to the airport stops there and the loudspeakers send a message not to get off because nothing from this terminal is flying. And we laugh that only in Poland such a thing is possible. Nowe lotnisko które już w momencie oddania do użytkowania było przestarzałe. Mało toalet, bramki odpraw automatycznych pozamykane, odprawy na przylotach potrafią trawach pół godziny mimo lotu wewnątrz strefy Schengen. Najgorsze jednak jest nieergonomiczne wybudowanie obiektu, wręcz niebezpieczne. Wysokie, strome schody w dół tuż za zakrętem korytarza. Bardzo niebezpieczne. Wygląda to tak jakby ktoś miał już budynek postawiony i musiał w niego poupychać wszystko co trzeba ale już nie starczyło miejsca na to żeby zrobić to dobrze. A fakt , że trzeba wyjść na dwór żeby przejść między terminalem 1 i 2 to już masakra. BTW terminal 5 to stary terminal lotniska Schonefeld z którego nic nie lata ale pociąg jadący na lotnisko się tam zatrzymuje a z głośników leci komunikat żeby nie wysiadać bo nic z tego terminala nie lata. A my się śmiejemy, że tylko w Polsce takie coś jest możliwe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I couldn't say proper goodbye to my daughter"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever! I travelled with my daughter, but we live in different countries in Norway. She had an early flight, me one later. We got to the airport together to eat breakfast there before saying goodbye. She went through security, I wasn't allowed because it was over 4 hours to my flight. I asked several persons and they couldn't let me inside. Terrible. I couldn't say proper goodbye to my daughter. I had to wait outside security, and wanted to work on my computer, but there was no places to charge. The whole experience reminded me of when we travelled at the same airport last October. Then we had to sit on the floor for hours waiting. Terrible airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience ever"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Worst experience ever. The staff is very unprofessional and they rudely don’t speak English, but only German in front of you. Police was called because of an air dryer in the hand luggage and only the police was speaking English throughout the process. In the meantime, the airport staff decided to open all our bags without telling us and started to throw away liquids from my bag without even asking if I wanted to keep something. They didn’t tell us at the security check what we needed to put out of the bags and they complained only after the screening. This was unacceptable since there were also expensive skincare which I could have kept. There’s no excuse for their way of working with passengers since the airport was also quite empty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport in the world"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | The worst airport in the world. Staff extremely rude and unorganised. Seriously is this a new airport? How can it be so bad? I guess they don't want you to visit the city! Avoid if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | This airport is a disaster! It seems they haven't thought anything through, and traveller's needs come last. Toilets are hard to find and far too few, all the women's bathrooms have long lines, and were closed at the same time when I travelled with my wife who was desperate for a toilet after nearly two hours in security. The gates are far to reach, none of the auto walks were in operation. The security was the worst I have ever experienced, people running in and out of the line, panicking to get to their flights, stress levels were unbelievably high. Airline personnel taking half the people in the queue out of the line, leaving the rest of the passengers behind, cordons falling over and opening randomly. Everyone were running to the gate, we were 1 hour late for takeoff, because luggage wasn't loaded. I will never travel through Brandenburg again. This has to be the worst airport in Europe and utter disgrace for Germany.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is just a disgrace"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | This airport is just a disgrace. I have come to expect long lines, rude staff, exorbitant prices for drinks and food, toilets that are ”out of service”. This time I also got to experience luggage handling BER style, which is very, very complex at this airport, since you need to wait for hours when you arrive and depart. I have said it before, and I will say it again: Do not use this airport under any circumstance. It is simply not worth it!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Such an inefficient airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | More than an hour waited for the luggage, what a waste of time. Such an inefficient airport. The management should do something about it to run the operation efficiently. I would have expected it from a country which has a worldwide reputation for efficiency.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Airport was packed"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Horrible airport. Arrived on Friday afternoon. All 5 securities were open but each had only 1-2 lanes open. Their system estimated 20 minutes waiting time. In the end it was 1h 15 mins. After the security two closest toilets were closed, without proper signs so people walked to the toilet corridor, entered the toiled and then realised that its closed. Airport was packed. Also the restaurant area is a joke - curry wurst, horrible pizza and asian. Only fast food.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no