Berlin Brandenburg Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 193 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“an embarrassment to Germany”

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Berlin Brandenburg (BER) is not probably, is definitely the worst airport I have ever been in more than 20 years of flying all over the world. It is an embarrassment to Germany with its stereotypical image of order, organization and respect. As many times the case, things are not always as they are marketed/sold, but here the gap is truly wide. In my ranking of over 200 airports I’ve been at, BER “excels” as the international airport with the most miserable/rude staff I have ever had to deal with, a definite 0/10. Probably never flying from here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“an utter and total embarrassment”

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Insane long check in times and staff working slowly like they don't give a damn. I have now for the 3rd time experienced the longest check in times in Europe. Up to 1 hour. The staff works sadistically slowly and is being overly pedantic over just about everything. Also, way too little toilets and some gates don't even have dedicated sitting spaces. Considering that BBA is Germanys capital airport and the time and cost to build it over the past years, it's just an utter and total embarrassment for entire Germany.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst managed airport"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Waited for my luggage for 2 hours, this airport is the worst managed airport in the world. It has been 2 years (48 months ) that Corona pandemic has finished and they are still blaming that on Corona that they don’t have enough staff.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"wait for my luggage 2 hours"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | The worst airport far from old Berlin Tegel. Poorly managed. Is being 3 times in a year period that I had to wait for my luggage 2 hours. Excuse for that - not enough staff. Is this my problem?!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Shockingly bad experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shockingly bad experience at this airport. A hour to queue through security on a normal Friday evening, and the slowest, least efficient security process I've ever seen. Staff were rude to travellers, and I was completely ignored when asking politely how long it might take, as if I didn't exist. Plenty of staff sitting around doing nothing at all. Security points were being closed despite the queue. Coupled with the queue at passport control, this meant a rush to the gate despite arriving nearly 2.5 hours early for the flight. I would credit the airport on three things: -it is clean - it is well connected to the centre of Berlin - it is doing a great job promoting train travel across Europe
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Probably the worst airport in Europe"

(Cyprus)

Not Verified | Probably the worst airport in Europe. A total disaster. The airport is too small, the waiting lounges are far from being sufficient and the food place is entirely inadequate. The place was packed, the seats were insufficient and the restaurants were overwhelmed not being able to cope. If there were a negative rating that’s what I would give them. Total failure!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"worst experience I've had"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Security checks is the worst experience I've had. The staff is slow, inefficient (there were at least 4 people doing nothing), incredibly rude to passengers. They keep talking in German to non German passengers. A security guy yelled at me for no reason after I asked him to speak in English.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"1 hour queueing for security"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Security is a disaster. 1 hour queueing for security. Fight started in a queue when someone was allowed skip because they were late. Disgraceful, This is the worst I have ever seen
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"what a poorly managed airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This was the second time in three months and what a poorly managed airport this is. Lack of German efficiency, poorly signposted and lack of ground staff and announcements. Flying in in September with BA, plenty of boarder staff to process the flight from London City (how I wish the UK was still part of the UK). The began the problems. Busy flight with lots of people in town for the Berlin marathon, it took over 90 minutes to get luggage from the plane to baggage carousel. No announcements, and no ground staff to explain what the hold up was. It took over an hour for any notice to appear on the boards saying baggage delayed. Other flights didn’t seem to have same baggage problem. Then yesterday 17th December will showed the issues with Brandenberg airport. Flight from LGW arrived on time, and was sent to remote stand (not an issue). It took ten minutes for ladders to appear, then another 5 minutes for a bus to appear. Very poor show by Swissport. For a full flight only one border official for the whole flight, so half an hour to get a passport check .
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“it is so bad”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read the other reviews of this Airport I have to agree it is so bad as to be rated the worst Airport I have travelled through. I aged 20 years waiting to clear security at Terminal 2. Lack of staff meant queue jumping was high as we formed our own spiralling queue to get to the security line. Awful, just awful, avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no