Berlin Brandenburg Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 186 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"1 hour queueing for security"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Security is a disaster. 1 hour queueing for security. Fight started in a queue when someone was allowed skip because they were late. Disgraceful, This is the worst I have ever seen
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"what a poorly managed airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This was the second time in three months and what a poorly managed airport this is. Lack of German efficiency, poorly signposted and lack of ground staff and announcements. Flying in in September with BA, plenty of boarder staff to process the flight from London City (how I wish the UK was still part of the UK). The began the problems. Busy flight with lots of people in town for the Berlin marathon, it took over 90 minutes to get luggage from the plane to baggage carousel. No announcements, and no ground staff to explain what the hold up was. It took over an hour for any notice to appear on the boards saying baggage delayed. Other flights didn’t seem to have same baggage problem. Then yesterday 17th December will showed the issues with Brandenberg airport. Flight from LGW arrived on time, and was sent to remote stand (not an issue). It took ten minutes for ladders to appear, then another 5 minutes for a bus to appear. Very poor show by Swissport. For a full flight only one border official for the whole flight, so half an hour to get a passport check .
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“it is so bad”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read the other reviews of this Airport I have to agree it is so bad as to be rated the worst Airport I have travelled through. I aged 20 years waiting to clear security at Terminal 2. Lack of staff meant queue jumping was high as we formed our own spiralling queue to get to the security line. Awful, just awful, avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport in Europe"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Berlin Brandenburg is possibly one of the worst airport in Europe. The security checks are possibly among the slowest and most inefficient I have ever experienced in an airport. My plane had to be refuelled and they made us disembark to do it! I have been on board dozens of times, to say the least, while the aircraft was refuelling!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it’s painfully inefficient"

(United States)

Not Verified |   New airport is visually appealing but it’s painfully inefficient to get passengers from check in to gate effectively. Two time this has been my experience - 1 hour at ticket counter for check in, 30 minutes at security, 30 minutes at passport control. Painfully slow. No one seems to be in a hurry either. It’s a very old school feel. Very little food options either. Bright spot for me is hotel next to terminal. Will avoid Berlin airport on future trips.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Not fit for the capital city"

(Spain)

Not Verified | This airport is poorly designed and poorly run. Just start with the unsafely narrow platforms when you arrive by train. Then the check-in process which always goes at snail's pace - if too fast they just shut an entrance. Today more than 1 hour to get through ("school holidays"). Very limited restaurants selection and the better ones downstairs close early. Boarding gates (at least for budget airlines) design is quite awful! And process means long wait times once through ticket check. Plus no organisation of priority etc. BTW at least for Vueling no priority security access. For arriving you generally have to wait 15 / 20 mins before the stairs can be organised. So even on time flights end up being late due to the lax organisation at the airport. Not fit for the capital city of Germany.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Possibly one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Possibly one of the worst airports I've traveled through. When I arrived, I had cleared passport control in a connecting airport, so I proceeded immediately through arrivals and baggage claim. The train station had a dedicated DB/BVG counter with staff, so getting a ticket was fairly straightforward. What wasn't straight forward however, was finding the train I needed to take to the city centre; I was in a rush due to a delayed flight, and looking for a particular train that was the quickest connection. The train station at the airport however, does not have a train departure board with the platform/track numbers on it. The train station, has a departure/arrival board for the airport at the train station. The only way to find your train, is to check the small boards next to each platform - as I was in a rush, I opted to take a taxi instead. Arriving back at the airport to fly home, I noticed the poor signage from the train station at the airport to the departures lounge of Terminal 1. Once I had checked in, I then proceeded to go through possibly the slowest airport security, ran by the rudest staff. The airport security system seemed to crash at one point, and the guy running the bag x-ray simply walked off, only to come back 20 minutes later; no communication between security staff and passengers. Once the queue began moving, the staff were both rude, and also very slow, they had no sense of urgency. The security point was not very busy at all, yet it took me close to 2 hours to get through. Now sat in the departures lounge, there is a clear lack of phone chargers, power outlets, and comfortable seating. All this from one of the newest airports in Europe, at the time of writing. This is also the airport for the capital city of Germany. The only airport. I used schonefeld airport many years ago, and for a "cheap/budget airport", that experience was great. I cannot say the same for Brandenburg Airport. Like many others, next time I visit Berlin, I think I'll opt to take a train or a bus here, via an alternative location. Absolutely bamboozling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Even worse than last year, over 2.5 hours wait at security as the staff operated at snails pace and mass queue-jumping is everywhere. If possible, go by wheelchair, it will save you hours and endless stress. Easyjet luckily delayed our departure as we would never have got through on time. The pilot actually announced it was due to the huge delays at airport security. Be prepared to run for your departure gate, if you can even find it due to incredibly poor signage,miles of corridor and endless flights of stairs. The place is nightmarish in its design and disorganisation. The staff all seem completely demoralised and angry. Take something to eat as you won't have time airside. Lipsticks, mascara etc etc all need to be in clear plastic bags despite most other airports only insisting on actual LIQUIDS being carried this way. In future I'll fly to any city with a train connection to Berlin, this airport is not fit for purpose.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"risk of missing the flight is very high"

(Italy)

Not Verified | Terrible experience, despite arriving 2 hours and 30 minutes before departure, I found myself having to go through an endless line of checks. The risk of missing the flight is very high. I had to run to get to Gate B38 which was very far away. The flight left anyway despite missing several people who must have had the same difficulties as me. I hope I never have to return to this airport again or I will make sure I don't.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"big risk to miss the flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | When booking a time slot for the security check, there is a big risk to miss the flight. It seems that 176 seats are allocated per slot, with 1 counter open. At least that was the information of the supervisor at the entrance. Long wait in front of the entrance before you were even allowed into the area, because it was too crowded, then when it finally went in, after waiting again, you were then sent to the end of the line to the normal security control, with the Justification that this was faster, what was it true and was only done to reduce the queue for the later slots. At the normal security counter, there were also only 2 counters open, work is very very slow. Many people who relied on the organization of the time slots is something that should actually work out, have now missed their flight, which would not have been the case if they had gone from the beginning right into the normal security control. In general, work is done extremely slowly, but passengers also behave quite stupidly, after waiting a long time, they only begin to search their liquids etc. when it’s their turn.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no