Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 209 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst international terminal"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The worst international terminal I have ever been in. Long queues, inefficient processes and then once inside there are not even basic shops, just one absolutely atrocious cafe. Avoid this airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"loss of property"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport terminals looks nice with lots of shops and a lot of security cameras everywhere. However, the security agents are a bunch of organized crooks. They removed my Osmo3 gimble and one of my battery packs, while going through their security search and checkpoint during a transfer from Bangkok to LAX with Air China. One of their agent distracted me while doing an extensive full body search, wearing a simple shirt, jeans with no belt, and sandals. They made me turned around so I can not see my backpack, while the other agents went through my belongings, and removed the items. By the time I realized the items are missing, I was on the plane to LAX. This was my first flight transfer in Beijing Airport, and it will be my last! The low fares with Air China is not worth the hassle and the loss of property with Beijing Airport’s security.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever! Flew into new Beijing Daxing Airport only to be transfered to the old one to fly home. In the old airport you have to go thru security just to get to check in! Then, there is literally nothing for you until your check in counter opens. Not even electricity or food. Only choice you have is to exist secure be area to access a tea House or convenience store! After you check in there is Nothing to eat. Only other choice is to buy a ramen noodle bowl or an overpriced bag of candy at a "duty free" shop. Fly any other airport in China but not Beijing!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"below international standards"

(France)

Trip Verified | Sub-par airport. Rude staff especially at check points (immigration & security). Limited & overpriced shopping options with only 20% of shops open, the rest seemingly used as storage, and few restaurants. Vending machines accept only RMB notes and beverages can't be bought anywhere else (excepts Starbucks/KFC). Free Wi-Fi requires a Chinese phone number. No open-air area. Overall far below international standards.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is chaos"

(Australia)

Not Verified | By far the worse airport I have been to. Very uncomfortable with not many seating spaces available. Staff cannot speak English and choose not to help, it is unacceptable for a large international airport. Terminal 2 has almost nothing open until 7 am. Terminal 3 is not much better with the unfriendliest duty-free staff I have ever seen in my life. Transit between terminal 2 and 3 is a joke with confusion for everyone why they need to go through immigration to get to another terminal for transit for another flight. This airport is chaos. Prepare yourself for stress.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"modern and spacious"

(Taiwan)

Not Verified | This airport is very modern and spacious. Signs in both Mandarin Chinese and English are very clear. Staff members are friendly. Queing times at security and immigration desks do not require long waiting times.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"An absolute farce"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is, without a doubt, the worst airport I have been to. We had to queue an hour to check-in. They had 3 people on the desk with 200-ish people waiting. The security team are rude. The terminal itself is horrific. Little food options open after 11 pm, massive queues no air conditioning during the summer. An absolute farce. Considering Beijing is a hugely popular city, it's airport massively behind in comparison to several other main cities. Sort it out.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrible service and very rude staff. At security check, I asked the staff if I need to take off my shoes and he told me no need to do so. Then after I passed the screening gate he asked me to come back and to take off my shoes. I asked why he was inconsistent with the answer and he became very rude and told me that he was the law and I should do whatever I was told to. I suggest that you avoid this airport by all means.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the airport lacks friendliness"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Beijing Capital may be one of the largest airports in the world and Terminal 3 may be attractive from an aesthetic point of view, but the airport lacks friendliness, public internet is disastrous, queuing at immigration may be very long, without special lanes for older or handicapped people (like Bangkok and Seoul) or business class, but the worst are the absurd immigration procedures if you have to transfer from one terminal to another: I was coming from Bangkok on Thai in Terminal 3 and had to transfer to Air Koryo in Terminal 2, so the procedure was as follows - to fill a special (blue) arrival and departure card - to queue to get a sticker en lieu of visa in your passport, after lengthy interrogation (where do you come from, where are you going, show me your tickets) - to go to the regular immigration line, to queue there again and to be asked again the same questions and show the same documents It is incredible that in an airport like Beijing, there is no train connection between terminals avoiding passage through immigration Business lounges are basic, and in the departure hall, there are no seating facilities, while waiting for the check-in counters to open.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff are incredibly rude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst places I have ever transited in my life. 1) No smoking area for all you smokers (including myself) 2) Airport is freezing cold for no reason whatsoever 3) Staff are incredibly rude and very little English (Which is very surprising for a massive "international airport") 4) Transiting is very confusing due to very little signage (most is in Chinese anyway) 5) Very little shops to buy food or drink mostly are empty designer shops. 6) No atmosphere in the place, everything is just depressing. 7) Beijing is full of smog and the air vents in the airport are constantly blasting you with air from the outside which makes you choke you lungs out. Overall I booked flights with Air China because they were dirt cheap but the thing is, if somthing is too good to be true than it probably is so don't make the same mistake that I did and don't book with Air China because this is where you will be connecting and you don't want to do that. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no