Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 378 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"airport lacks significant aspects"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Overall, despite a nice huge and equiped structure, this airport lacks significant aspects making it very uncomfortable and far beyond from the category of a friendly airport. Without going into the details, I shall breifly highlight the aspects that require inevitable changes to make it more human friendly. 1) Extremely poor human interactions with most of the airport staff, due to lack of professionalism, respect and honour for travellers. Communication in English, which is widely regraded as a fundamental in most places; is a serious problem since majority can't communicate properly OR at least it is not understandable. On top of that hospitality should be taught generally, as most staff are rude to an extent. 2) A world class airport structure, while lacking some basic facilities, including baby travel facilities, private lounge for short stay (not inclduing the one for members or business class travellers). It is extremely difficult as the airport if definietly not family friendly for those travelling with infants. 3) Limited food availability, especially options for those looking for Halal or vegeterian food.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"does not have a smoking room"

(Italy)

Not Verified | That’s crazy that an important transit airport does not have a smoking room! After long time on board once you are in the airport waiting for another long flight connection every smoker needs to smoke! No way! 24 hours without smoking! Crazy crazy crazy! And the craziest thing is that in duty free they sell cigarettes! Every airport must have a smoking area for smokers needs! Bad airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff are unfriendly and unsympathetic"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Bad decision to transit at BKK with kids, never again. We were coming from Narita, transiting in BKK, final destination is Singapore. We carried two water bottles for my kids, and bought two grape juices in 150ml bottles for my kids before boarding the plane at Narita. At the transit check, the officer was adamant that we throw away the unfinished grape juice, but said the water bottles were okay. So we poured away the water in the water bottles, and filled it up with half emptied bottles of grape juice. The officer said that is not allowed. We do not understand why, and she could not give us a good explanation and insisted that we have to pour away the grape juice before they will let us proceed. When the bottles had water, it was allowed, but replaced with grape juice, suddenly it was against their airport policy. This unreasonable treatment of families with young kids is the reason why we will never want to transit at BKK. I hope other families who are considering transits will go elsewhere because, the staff are unfriendly and unsympathetic toward families with kids.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"an efficient and comfortable airport"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Always an efficient and comfortable airport. Immigration quick and easy despite the huge increase in passengers. Needs the new terminal soon. Great to see them take the lead and stop smoking in the terminal altogether. Let's hope more airports catch up!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"This is a poor decision"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I am shocked that my last visit was in January where the airport still had smoking areas. However now after 3 February there is no smoking inside and outside. I feel the Thai government is over doing it for a smoke free country. This is a poor decision, I have been traveling around APAC and I never seen these rules before. I am from Singapore, even our government is strict and wanted whole country to be smoke free. The Thai government should reconsider this, if not you will lose a lot of tourists from transit flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"in future I will avoid"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Airport staff have been very rude when I asked where the transit counter was, they just pointed the way without saying anything and the funniest thing is they gave the wrong direction, I took more than 20 minutes to found it. When I asked other questions, they gave me the answer “I don’t know”. They didn’t even try to help, it wasn’t the first time I transited in Bangkok, in future I will avoid being here again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly organized"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I live in Bangkok and fly frequently through Suvarnabhumi. It's a relatively new airport, but was over capacity nearly from the start, and you really feel it. Flights almost never leave on time, often sitting on the tarmac awaiting take off. Many flights use a bus to offload passengers instead of the gates, which is so poorly organized that waiting on the plane for a bus for 20 minutes is not uncommon. Long waits for baggage are also the norm. I waited over an hour for bags on a recent domestic flight -- longer than the actual flight from Chiang Mai itself! The airport itself is also terrible -- cold, exposed concrete everywhere looks like a prison, air con intermittent, staff don't speak English, and over the years, good food and coffee options have all been replaced by high-end clothing shops and Burger King, so there's little in between. Immigration and security lines can also be very long, but you never know, so you always have to leave a lot of extra time, and this airport is a terrible place to spend it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"smoking areas are all closed"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | It is shocking that the smoking areas are all closed. This is a international airport and cigarettes are not a banned product. I really do not know what is there to prove? It is just extreme and will try not to visit Thailand unless it is really necessary. I am saddened how extreme the country has become.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No smoking room"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | No smoking room or designed smoking area inside waiting flight area for smoker from 3 February 2019 onwards. This is very unfair and should not happen in an International Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a decent airport"

(France)

Trip Verified | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi is not that bad. Avoid the duty free shops and you will find a working wifi and good food venues with real spicy thai food. The queue at the immigration is not that bad. The US has set a benchmark when it comes to queues and rudeness of immigration. All and all a decent airport
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes