Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 392 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"passport control is very disappointing"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | At Suvarnabhumi Airport the airline staff at check-in and security staff are good. The problem comes at the departure administration. On that day, only 1 departure admin hall was open. (Hall 3) I took the departure escalator at about 1.45pm and cleared passport control at 3.05pm (a total of 1 hour 20 mins !) There is a security clearance queue which took about 15 to 20 mins, in general, it is reasonable time as security is important. The passport control is however very disappointing, it was a 1 hour queue with the following observations while waiting in line. Elderly and groups with very young children/infants are in the queue. In all other airports I visited, the elderly and groups with young children will be helped and moved to a separate queue for their convenience. It is frustrating to see old people having to stand in line for over 1 hour and parents struggling to keep their children in line. This is extremely poor service, the passport check officer in front of the escalator should have advised these people to use the priority lane. Only 4 out of 8 counters are open on the section I am in. I would assume it is probably the same in other sections. There are a lot of extra processing (photo taking?) at the passport control. There is no staff managing the queuing, so it is really messy with people criss-crossing queues. Any staff that were there are not really interested in helping passengers, if any passenger approach them, they will be "served" rudely. Despite arriving at the airport almost 3 hours before my flight, I actually had hardly any time in the transit area. I can only grab a quick bite and go to the gate. There is no time for shopping or any of that. I am sure a lot of other passengers who arrived 2 hours may even have trouble getting to the gate on time. Hopefully, the authorities can receive this review and other similar ones critically and make necessary improvements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Immigration lines ridiculously long"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Main international airport of Bangkok that is stretched way beyond its capacity. Immigration lines are ridiculously long and can average around 45 minutes to an hour just to get your passports stamped. They should really look to ensure all counters are staffed during peak periods.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Never seen such a poor design"

(India)

Trip Verified | My departure was at Gate 5. This gate is in an awkward direction than the other gates and required lots of walking. Washrooms are situated at G1 whereas the other one is at G5 lower floor. They denied its use due to security reasons as boarding was not started. On inquiry, they told us to go back to G1 for use of toilet. I had to walk 10 minutes to and 10 minutes for the toilet. Never seen such a poor design of an airport, anywhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"a rapidly declining airport"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The phrase land of smiles is synonymous with Thailand except when you land at Suvarnabhumi airport! The distance required to travel from the plane by bus to the terminal is some distance, taking 7 minutes. The queuing time is the worst I've experienced, and it now happens everytime I land here. There are plenty of empty counters and it never used to be this bad, and the staff don't seem to smile either so sadly this ranks as a rapidly declining airport. The expansion which is steeped in controversy is supposed to the airport more functional and take more captivity, try fixing the simple important things first, this won't be the last review I LL be writing about the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Airport looked old and dull"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Used this airport twice for transit in March 2018 and the experience was still vivid in my memory. Unfriendly staff, most were not smiling which was ironic since Thailand is supposed to be a land of smiles. Airport looked old and dull. Needed to walk for 20 mins to 30 mins to get to our departure gate. Terrible design.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very huge airport"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport is indeed a very huge airport. It takes quite a bit of time to walk from the arrival gates to the immigration area. Signs were clear and there were provisions for citizens from Singapore and Hong Kong to use the automated immigration clearance which helped with the experience at the airport. The departure process, unlike the arrival process, can be pretty confusing. For instance, security checks often snake in a weird way. There was an instance where you proceed from the security area by walking back through the initial security area. Otherwise, the food choices there were decent, albeit slightly expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Could definitely use a facelift"

(United States)

Not Verified | I want to meet the genius who put terminals in the middle of nowhere, and the toilets behind locked boarding gates so you can only use 20 minutes before your flight. How about offering free wifi you dont have to sign into with a passport and then blocks you like every other airport in the world. Could definitely use a facelift as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a pathetic and careless operation"

(Bhutan)

Not Verified | Weather in May is quite warm in Bangkok as this is the summer month. I checked in, completed immigration formalities and was heading to the departure gate. I had waiting duration of about 2 hours for boarding the flight. As I walked towards my gate, I could sense that the Air Conditioning was not functioning and it continued to be without air con for rest of my walk and for my entire waiting. Everyone was in uneasiness and looking for cooler areas to rest. Such a pathetic and careless operation of one of the busiest airport, shows the level of customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not very appealing"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Queues for miles. Walk for many more. Every time arriving or departing through this airport is a trial in patience and exercise. Immigration queues for arrival and departure are always hundreds of people long and take around an hour each. Unbelievable that this has continued on for years. Passengers and flight numbers are known well in advance. This is just bad management. Then the airport design is for the athletically minded. Always have to walk many miles to departure gates. Bad design in general. It’s a concrete bunker that is not very appealing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport despite its big size is quite good"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I've used Bangkok-Survanhabhumi airport a few times. This airport is huge and modern. It's easy accessible from downtown by train and a few places in Thailand by bus. The terminal is divided into 7 concourses (from A to G) and it can be long walking distances depending where your boarding or arrival gate is. Some airplanes are parked in remote stands which saves the walking distances as a bus brings passengers closer to the bagage claim on arrivals. I like the architecture of the terminal with Thai elements inside the terminal. However it can be hot inside the terminal at some places as the air conditioning is not strong enough. Also some places like the checking and immigration areas can be crowded. There is a food court with local food and reasonable prices below the arrivals floor. The lines at the passport control can be long but you can go to the opposide section for less waiting depending of time arrival. The security control is efficent better than some airports in the United States. Overall this airport despite its big size is quite good. It's a bummer that there's no US or Canadian carriers operating there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no