Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 389 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"a rapidly declining airport"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The phrase land of smiles is synonymous with Thailand except when you land at Suvarnabhumi airport! The distance required to travel from the plane by bus to the terminal is some distance, taking 7 minutes. The queuing time is the worst I've experienced, and it now happens everytime I land here. There are plenty of empty counters and it never used to be this bad, and the staff don't seem to smile either so sadly this ranks as a rapidly declining airport. The expansion which is steeped in controversy is supposed to the airport more functional and take more captivity, try fixing the simple important things first, this won't be the last review I LL be writing about the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Airport looked old and dull"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Used this airport twice for transit in March 2018 and the experience was still vivid in my memory. Unfriendly staff, most were not smiling which was ironic since Thailand is supposed to be a land of smiles. Airport looked old and dull. Needed to walk for 20 mins to 30 mins to get to our departure gate. Terrible design.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very huge airport"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport is indeed a very huge airport. It takes quite a bit of time to walk from the arrival gates to the immigration area. Signs were clear and there were provisions for citizens from Singapore and Hong Kong to use the automated immigration clearance which helped with the experience at the airport. The departure process, unlike the arrival process, can be pretty confusing. For instance, security checks often snake in a weird way. There was an instance where you proceed from the security area by walking back through the initial security area. Otherwise, the food choices there were decent, albeit slightly expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Could definitely use a facelift"

(United States)

Not Verified | I want to meet the genius who put terminals in the middle of nowhere, and the toilets behind locked boarding gates so you can only use 20 minutes before your flight. How about offering free wifi you dont have to sign into with a passport and then blocks you like every other airport in the world. Could definitely use a facelift as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a pathetic and careless operation"

(Bhutan)

Not Verified | Weather in May is quite warm in Bangkok as this is the summer month. I checked in, completed immigration formalities and was heading to the departure gate. I had waiting duration of about 2 hours for boarding the flight. As I walked towards my gate, I could sense that the Air Conditioning was not functioning and it continued to be without air con for rest of my walk and for my entire waiting. Everyone was in uneasiness and looking for cooler areas to rest. Such a pathetic and careless operation of one of the busiest airport, shows the level of customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not very appealing"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Queues for miles. Walk for many more. Every time arriving or departing through this airport is a trial in patience and exercise. Immigration queues for arrival and departure are always hundreds of people long and take around an hour each. Unbelievable that this has continued on for years. Passengers and flight numbers are known well in advance. This is just bad management. Then the airport design is for the athletically minded. Always have to walk many miles to departure gates. Bad design in general. It’s a concrete bunker that is not very appealing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport despite its big size is quite good"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I've used Bangkok-Survanhabhumi airport a few times. This airport is huge and modern. It's easy accessible from downtown by train and a few places in Thailand by bus. The terminal is divided into 7 concourses (from A to G) and it can be long walking distances depending where your boarding or arrival gate is. Some airplanes are parked in remote stands which saves the walking distances as a bus brings passengers closer to the bagage claim on arrivals. I like the architecture of the terminal with Thai elements inside the terminal. However it can be hot inside the terminal at some places as the air conditioning is not strong enough. Also some places like the checking and immigration areas can be crowded. There is a food court with local food and reasonable prices below the arrivals floor. The lines at the passport control can be long but you can go to the opposide section for less waiting depending of time arrival. The security control is efficent better than some airports in the United States. Overall this airport despite its big size is quite good. It's a bummer that there's no US or Canadian carriers operating there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"traveling in between the terminals is exhausting"

(Pakistan)

Trip Verified | Huge airport but traveling in between the terminals is exhausting. You have to walk all the way. Travelators are few and far between. There are escalators for going down but no escalators for going up. Air conditioning is suboptimal. Very limited Halal food options for Muslims.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"One of my favourite airports"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | One of my favourite airports, Suvarnabhumi is pretty good. Baggage claim waiting time is short. Plenty of clean amenities. Food and duty free are as expensive as any international airport. Suvarnabhumi is now about 12 years old and beginning to show its age. Air conditioning along the concourse, between the gate and duty free areas, has been cut. The concourse areas are uncomfortably hot. It is running at the departure gate though. The other problem is limited seating at the departure gate. There is probably 60-70 seats. Nowhere near enough for the 320 people about to board a B747-400.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"whole airport is extremely hot"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | The whole airport is extremely hot. I feel bad for people who work here. Air-conditioning was not working enough. The worst thing was that our flight was delayed and we had to wait 4 hours more. We are boiling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no