Bahrain Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"modern and spacious"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was connecting through on Gulf Air to Sri Lanka, the airport is fairly modern and spacious. It has large windows the let in lots of natural light. However in traditional airport fashion is was very expensive with limited food availability. If you are connecting use the left hand queue at transit security as it is much faster.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasure using this airport"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified | Bahrain airport is lot local one, quite small, but does provide all that a small island needs. There are plenty of check in desks, but only one route to proceed from them to the first safety check so this can be crowded at times. But when in the rush staff is usually helpful to usher you trough so you are at the gates on time. Choice of lounges is good, restaurants and cafes as well. We travel with kids and always use the lounge and are very happy with its location and access to the gates. Staff doing security checks is professional, there are plenty of airport employees luggage helpers working for a set fee but not being pushy or invasive. Overall it’s been a pleasure using this airport on average 6-10 times a year for the past 4 years.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"very easy to navigate"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Contrary to some negative reviews, this is not a bad airport by any means. Sure it's small, but very easy to navigate your way around. Once in the departure area, there isn't much to do. There are a few unappetising fast food outlets and one restaurant and plenty of seating around, and this certainly could be improved. At busy times, it gets noisy and finding a quiet place is hard, unless you have lounge access. However, the staff around are helpful, busy and even trying to answer passengers queries. There is a fairly large Duty Free shopping area, but don't expect bargains here. Arriving at Bahrain airport can one day be great, and another day frustratingly slow. Years ago, landing cards were issued on board prior to arrival. Now you have to fill these in once you disembark. The are no fast track facilities for arriving Business Class travellers. I usually get my visa online in the hope of a quick exit. But if you arrive at a time when several flights have landed, you are lining up with passengers with visas and those paying for visa on arrival - all in the same queues. I have been lucky a few times to be second or third in the queue. The immigration staff are friendly, and try to process you quickly, but can be very slow at busy times. So slow, that sometimes you come to collect your luggage, and find most of it has already been taken off the conveyor belts, and waiting for you. I have been to this airport many times over the years, and have become accustomed to it. Yet with its shortcomings, I still quite enjoy it. With an additional terminal being built and improving the existing terminal, I am looking forward to it next year.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"seating is uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This airport is very cold and I now have a streaming cold, also the vegetarian food is so basic and tastless you feel you are being punished for not eating meat. The seating is uncomfortable and the food counters based on american takeaways which are repulsive to anyone who cares about their diet. I advise any one to avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"really pleased with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had arrived to Bahrain Airport as a connecting flight and the porter was waiting outside the aircraft with a wheelchair as my daughter was on crutches as her leg had been fractured. I was experiencing really sharp chest pains and had asked the porter where the hospital was, however before he took me to the clinic he showed a lot of sympathy and gave me advice. He had even brought me a water bottle with his own money and then took me to the clinic. I was in the clinic for approximately 1 hour, and he was very patient whilst he was waiting without any questioning. If it wasn't for the porter for helping me, I would have been put in a very bad situation. The doctor in the clinic was very helpful as he had clearly told me what was wrong with me which put in a much better state knowing that it was nothing serious. I can't forget to mention the nurse was absolutely wonderful. Overall, I was really pleased with the service I received, much appreciated.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"cleanliness not the strongest"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flying in from IST transiting to DXB on GF on an evening flight. The ground staff were very helpful as a wheelchair was needed for a member of my family. The airport duty free shops and shops in general were well stocked but extremely expensive, following the prices in the State of Bahrain. Unfortunately flights to DXB depart from the older terminal, which is downstairs meaning that there is no bridge to aircraft but old style buses! On top of that, cleanliness is not the strongest point: I spotted a cleaner using the same broom for the floor as for the seats! Waiting times for security control compare more to US TSA rather than UAE. At that terminal cellphone reception is not as good as in the newer upstairs. In the shops can find some exclusive items, albeit quite pricey (Polo Ralph Lauren particularly). Even though I like GF a lot, I wouldn't like to transit BAH. I do hope that sometime Bahrain will do what Qatar did and improve their International Airport and national carrier hub!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"WiFi never work"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have been traveling to Bahrain for over 3 years. Why does the WiFi never work in this day and age? Also ATMs do not accept UK cards. This is the worst I have ever endured. The staff are great and the lounge is good but this is an old airport. Where is my wifi as advertised?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"service needs development"

(Saudi Arabia)

Unverified | Bahrain Airport is small and clean. Shopping is very good. Bathrooms are clean. Airport staff service needs development. The airport is crowded and needs to be expanded. Some aircraft stand far from the airport and buses are used to transport passengers from the plane.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"friendly airport staff and customs"

(Bahrain)

Verified Review | Though Bahrain International Airport remains one of the best having ground services, with fastest check-in procedures on departure including friendly airport staff and customs (Border police), the recent project of building up a brand new airport for the kingdom of Bahrain stood as a great move to align with neighboring gulf countries Airport services, including but not limited to, in-airport facilities, smart access, increased security and smooth experience from ticketing to boarding. I am pretty convinced that the projected Bahrain International Airport (currently in progress on the date of this review-July 2017) will offer enhanced experience to the passengers travelling from and to the Kingdom of Bahrain, and my review on the new Airport would probably be closed to an overall 10/10.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"this airport is a dump"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is a dump, really. Barely anywhere to eat, old looking and tired, cramped. I had the misfortune of going to 'sky bar', something out of the 1970s with sticky tables, plastic leather chairs, dirty windows and unclean toilets, surly staff. Same for so-called restaurant at that level. Is this not supposed to be a rich country? How about investing? If you have a long time to wait, don't spend it here! Wifi does NOT work by the way.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews