Austin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Do better Austin Airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | As a nursing mother the lactation pod as the only option for privacy was absolutely disgusting. Filthy, dirty, dusty, sticky. Wrappers everywhere. Unacceptable to say the least. I used my wipes to try and clean it. And they were almost black. Do better Austin Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport is absolutely disgusting"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport is absolutely disgusting. Trash and food everywhere, packed full of people, rude staff, and limited food options. Not to mention that every time I fly out of here, my flight is delayed. There’s gang stickers all over the place. Just sit down and look around. (If you can even find a seat) The only positive thing I can say is that they offer Disabled Veterans free parking.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"has limited food options"

(United States)

Not Verified | AUS has limited food options, specifically at breakfast. Those with a 0500 flight time have no real breakfast options. Additionally, I was disappointed the airport didn’t prepare better for holiday travel. Austin has had an influx in its population and the airport already struggles. The holiday travel rush was not well prepared for and the patrons struggled. Open airline check in earlier and security to better serve their customer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"2 hours to get through Security"

(United States)

Not Verified | Austin-Bergstrom International Airport was chaos this morning. We've already eaten the cost of Delta Airlines tickets, and we're scrambling to get on another airline. There were hundreds of people Outside the doors of the airport at Each security line! It took 2 hours to get through Security this morning. We went to American Airlines where the folks in front of us had missed their flight and they were trying to rebook, and the family behind us had missed their flight and they were trying to rebook. It's 5:45 AM, clear skies, no weather problems. I hope I Never have to use this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"The south terminal was a nightmare getting to/from"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The south terminal was a nightmare getting to/from. They must have been short handed because the shuttles were about 30 minutes apart and could only hold around 10-15 people at a time. Definitely needs better logistics getting from main terminal to the south terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no place to sit down or eat"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience at this airport! Spent too long waiting for transport to South terminal. Once there no place to sit down or eat! Felt punished for choosing to fly Allegiant!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"escalators and elevators were turned off"

(United States)

Not Verified | Upon returning my car rental on the 3rd floor of the rental garage, all escalators and elevators were turned off. Since the car was returned there was no way to go down without walking the entire length of the escalator with luggage. Other passengers that were in wheel chairs had children and the elderly could not get down. There were no attendants to assist anyone. This was at 5:30am on a Monday. These should be on 24 hours a day since you can return your car anytime.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
2/10

"no social distancing or hand sanitizers around"

(United States)

Not Verified | There was no social distancing or hand sanitizers around, people were just crammed in lines, no one was even worried about it. Every other airport took it seriously and had hand sanitizers everywhere. Austin didn’t seem to take it seriously at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"seems to continue its decline year after year"

(United States)

Not Verified | Austin airport seems to continue its decline year after year. Moving taxis and rideshares to an inconvenient spot that is poorly marked (albeit improved from a few months ago) is compounded by poor shuttle service for those traveling with luggage. The interior is beautiful and I love that they’re bringing in more local businesses, however this could never mask the abysmal experience in trying to leave the airport. The “shuttles” to the taxi stand don’t even assist with luggage anymore. It is such a hassle getting out of this airport I would avoid it at all costs if I didn’t have to go for work.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a surprisingly disappointing airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Simply put, Austin Bergstrom is a surprisingly disappointing airport. Before I venture into the negatives, I do want to highlight the positives of the airport: The terminal opened in 1999, and has largely, recently been renovated. The dining options in the terminal are largely from very local, and locally-themed, restaurants, something unique to airport terminals around the world (as opposed to a local restaurant being located amongst a terminal full of chains). The airport's clean, modern and fairly spacious even given its small size. The seating areas feel more like very nice doctor's offices than the traditional airport seating arrangements. Parking is close to the terminal, even economy parking, and it's reasonably priced. Access off Highway 71 is easy, whether coming from Austin and I-35 to the west or Bastrop and Houston to the southeast. The airport doesn't feel particularly crowded, even during peak passenger traffic hours. And yet, I can't bring myself to give this airport any more than a 4/10 overall rating. I don't particularly enjoy flying out of here. For one, the signs directing drivers to parking areas, arrivals, departures, and the correct lanes for regular vehicles and buses/livery are poorly marked, in my opinion. Even chaotic airports like LAX and O'Hare have better signage for such, strangely. Secondly, once you're within the airport, signage to direct people to check-in areas, rideshare and taxi pickup areas, and security isn't exactly the clearest, not the worst I've seen, but enough to make a small airport relatively confusing. Thirdly, once you're past security, it's surprising to find that the restaurants that serve tacos, meals, margaritas, beers - the things you'd expect to find in an airport in Austin and Texas are slowing down or even closed after 8.00pm. Fourthly, the personnel that work here are very hit and miss, but generally unfriendly. For example, the ticketing agent for Spirit Airlines (not exactly the budget airline with the best reputation) was very pleasant and courteous. The TSA agent who checked my driver's license, a super friendly and chatty guy. But, the shuttle bus drivers between economy parking and the terminal were little more than manner-devoid rubes. The actual x-ray screening agents for TSA were some of the biggest smart-asses (and not the fun kind, but the unpleasant kind) that I've ever met in my life, period. The restaurant servers and bartenders don't give customers eye contact while providing service, and can often be found tapping their feet while interacting with customers and not interacting with one another at all while working. That's the part that leaves me cold; for all the talk of Texas hospitality, it is sparse in this airport. In summary, there are much worse airports in the USA, but there are also much better airports in the USA and abroad. Only fly into Austin if you must!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews