Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 337 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Complete disorganization and mayhem"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived as a connection to our international trip around 8 pm, expecting that we’ll be able to eat dinner before boarding our 11 pm flight to Paris. Every single restaurant and food place in the F terminal (where I believe all international flights happen) were closed. Every single one. We were gobsmacked. Upon our return home, we had another connection through ATL. Customs line was horrifically long and the security lines to our connecting flight were awful. Our first flight was delayed, but despite that, we still had two hours to get to our connecting flight, and we still missed it. Complete disorganization and mayhem. Spent the night in Atlanta.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Embarrassing that this is a premier airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrived on KLM/Delta from Amsterdam. The transition from the international to domestic terminals is awful and confusing with only rude help available at the scene. What were the designers thinking with whether no or confusing signage and a mostly unmarked maize to get from baggage recheck from Intl to domestic gates. Embarrassing that this is a premier airport. Very sad. Will avoid in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Food, and trash on chairs and floor"

(United States)

Not Verified | Disgusting. I got stuck over night on 12/26/21. The area for my Delta flight was disgusting. Food, and trash on chairs and floor. It was obvious it was not being cleaned let alone sanitized, four days later and I’m in line for a Covid test. Thanks!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The experience was disgraceful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Aggressive, rude TSAs. My sister has sleep apnoea, to breathe at night, she must carry a CPAP machine. She has asthma, she needs a special inhaler. Her bag was pulled aside not once, nor twice, her bag was detained 'three times'. The TSA agents opened her bag, removed the CPAP machine, and failed to recognize the secondary inhaler machine as another appliance that needed to be scanned separately. Unprofessional and a waste of time. My sister was glared at, accused of being difficult, and treated with such distain and rudeness that her anxiety (for which she is on medication) spiked. Badly. It has been several hours since then, and she is still near tears when she describes her experience. An agent held his hand up in her face to cut her off when she tried to speak to him, and was spoken to both sharply and aggressively when she tried to cooperate. On top of all that, when her bags were thrown in bins to be rescanned, her brand-new neck pillow was jostled loose. Additionally, there was a forgotten black-and-red laptop that sat where it was for over 10 minutes. My sister's medical equipment got scanned three times, but nobody noticed an abandoned device for almost a quarter of an hour? Is this negligence or ignorance? The experience was disgraceful. Unprofessional is too kind a description for the treatment my sister endured.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is genuinely insufferable"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is genuinely insufferable. If you book a flight at 6, you might as well be prepared to leave at 10 and sit in a chair for hours. I am a frequent flyer here and I have never once had a flight that didn't have a major screw-up or set back. One would assume operating an airport would constitute having functional facilities and airplanes but Atlanta Hartsfield does things differently. I almost never write reviews for anything but Hartsfield has burnt me so many times that I felt like warning anyone curious. I'm nauseated with paying hundreds of dollars to leave at a specified time and quite literally never once having my end of the deal held up. If you have options, weigh them well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there were very few people working"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived from the UK on 2nd December. Despite there only being less than a hundred people or so in the queue it took over an hour to get through passport control as there were very few people working. Only one kiosk was going through passengers with special assistance/in wheelchairs and as such there was a queue of over ten people in wheelchairs waiting, I hope none of them became unwell during this time. On our return we were very surprised that in F/international terminal all food outlets closed at 7pm, considering most flights heading East depart later in the evening and at night time this hardly makes a lot of sense. This information isn't even on the website so we couldn't prepare and eat in advance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I have never had such a poor experience at an airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is very chaotic beginning with my son having to let me out in the middle of the street due to no traffic directing for departure. I have been flying Delta and a skymiles member preferring Delta due to their quality customer service until I had the most rude and disrespectful Delta agent at the luggage check in. She was very impatient barking orders for me to scan my boarding pass and not giving me time to comply before barking another order what's my name she was so impatient. I have severe arthritis and it takes me awhile to use my hands due to stiffness and lost of feeling in my fingers. I handed her my ID as the scanner did not appear to be working. She was sucking her teeth and rolling her eyes it was so uncomfortable dealing with her attitude. I ask could I check my other bag if the flight was full instead of at the gate again due to disability of having to take bags to the gate. She then saw I had my 4 lbs yorkie in her carrier and stated is that an animal. I told her yes she is a dog, I was accused of trying to sneak the dog past her. She would not allow me talk at all. I finally asked for another agent to assist me while she continued to speak to me defensively. Finally another agent come over and took care of me while she continued to fuss in front of him. I asked her please stop speaking to me you are very rude and unprofessional. She threatened to not let me on the flight. I asked why because your being rude I have never had such a poor experience at an airport. I paid the pet fee and thanked the gentleman for helping me. He was very professional. Once I went through security with my pet. The agent that tested my hands was rude and yelled at me because I set my dog down on the counter to prevent from dropping her as he asked for my other hand. Yelled at me to don't put the dog on the counter as if she had rabies. She is a 4lb yorkie. I said sorry please don't yell at me I'm trying not to drop my dog. He was very rough with swabbing my hand and dismissive. I rarely write reviews but I have to let Atlanta know you need to do better. Not coming back through anytime soon. I will also be making complaint to Delta regarding treatment of passengers with disabilities need extra time to preform request. Different airports have different requirements so more signage directions should be visible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No one was accountable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My Son and I had a 4 hour layover, found our gate and parked it right there. We spent much of the 4 hours chatting with the "nice" lady behind the counter and when it came close to the time we thought we should get a seat assignment to Charleston, she stated she needed to board a flight to PA and then she would get us our seat assignments. She boarded the first flight and then left. Another agent came up and we asked him if we could get the seat assignment and he stated that the gate changed 15 minutes prior. We ran to the gate (which was about 4 up from where we were) and they closed the doors and we "missed" the flight. We then needed to find another flight but I was hot. No one was accountable just repeatedly stating that we need to watch the monitors as it was our responsibility. Yes. I 100% agree if I hadn't been in almost constant communication with the lady who stated she would be the one to help. Everyone I talked to was rude and lacked any kind of empathy or accountability. If one more person stated that "We change gates all the time, you need to watch the monitors" I thought my head would explode. Whatever happened to common courtesy, or better yet, common sense? Why would I stare at a screen if the lady behind the desk stated she was the one to check us in? We lost an entire day of work and the expense was huge. Thank goodness for that free drink voucher.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The lines were very very long"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What happened to this airport? I used to rave about this before, being one of my most favorites in the world. I travel extensively and I always prefer ATL as my port of entry. But I think after the bad experience I had today, I will be looking for another POE. The Immigration had a very long line. But I breezed through that line in less than 10 minutes. Luggage claim and rechecked no problem. After recheck, passengers were about to go through security when we were all redirected to the TSA line upstairs. This was where the mess all started. The lines were very very long, and were hardly moving. There were a few times when the lines just stopped. The smart move would have been to open more metal detectors to get the lines moving, instead the TSA officers were just standing around. They only had three conveyors/detectors opened. Why? This airport was so much better than this. Today was a major disappointment. As a result, I missed my connecting flight to Orlando. And vowed to never fly into this airport again if I could help it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Worst lost and found experience I ever had"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst lost and found experience I ever had, my phone tracker said the phone was in the lost and found and they are saying they cant find it. Also second lost and found but no way of contacting them or to go about reporting my item lost, I was just told to check the other one, why have two separate lost and founds in one airport with separate numbers and ways of reporting. They don't talk to each other and when you report it the site doesn't tell you which lost and found to contact.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no