Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 106 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Very bad customer service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Very bad customer service at this airport, particularly as you're waiting to get through security to board your flight. They have no idea about passenger prioritisation here. We had to take an Aegean Airlines flight to Cyprus and we had a really slow moving queue and the flight was boarding in 20 minutes. Not only this, but I was unable to check in online or at the airport, via the kiosks and kept on getting a notification that I had to go to the counter. So I did (40-50 minutes before security walk through), and then with so many people, went to security and as I am not on a EU passport, it was slower. No one thought to ask (out loud) if there were passengers for our flight. We had to ask. Then when they said it was okay to jump ahead, they had to tell us not to go through business class as that was for business class - even though no one was using it. So we go through, then the security officer decides to check our carry on luggage and took forever. Unimpressed. Airport staff can't be bothered providing decent customer service at all. I'm definitely not in a hurry to return to Greece anytime soon.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"An excellent airport"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Though a 14 year old airport, it is probably the only one in Europe without any passenger moving walkways. It has now been expanded, as always very clean, very crowded, very clean WC facilities, nice signposts in both languages, yet non stop announcements for delayed passengers at such a volume were a real headache. One follows the other, Mr so and so go to gate so and so, then another and another and the announcements could be heard a kilometre away. An excellent airport, however lack of moving walkways is disappointing because you have to walk a long way to collect your luggage and walk out. Even more, the local airline insists on using the good old bus from to the planes, as if we are still in the 50s.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"a mediocre airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a mediocre airport. Efficient, but lacks the feeling and lush of other international airports located in capitals. So, yes the airport is clean and the facilities efficient. That said, the tables before the cabin luggage scanners are a bit old fashioned; a change to a moving equipment is necessary. Also, I was very disappointed by the business lounge (Skyserve). I was wondering why would anyone would like to be there when the outside area is much better and with better views. Very small so people could not find a space, not that clean, no views rather than the parking, not wide selection of food and drinks. Really, it was the most miserable lounge I have ever visited. Not to mention that they give you a hand-written invitation to access the lounge; scanning the ticket should be enough! Finally, the toilet for disabled/baby change, was locked, so we had to go and ask a key, and after using it, we had to return it. Greece from the 80s!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"only airport without any moving walkways"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | This is probably the only airport without any moving walkways for passengers despite its huge size so you have to walk a mile for a camel. Many flights to Cyprus use gate A23 which is on the ground level, hence no jetways and the good old bus service as if we are in the 50s. Arrival on Cobalt, right at the end of the main terminal, and we had to walk for 15 + minutes to get to passport control with unbelievable lines and no separation of EU or third country passports. If by the way you choose a cart for your luggage, the coin you use is gone, non returnable, not to mention the 100 metre line to get a taxi. I am surprised that this 14 year airport has no walkways and is so confusing though on the positive side, very clean. No, it cannot be my favourite airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"average European capital airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Arrival within Schengen flight easy. Luggage was available within 20 mins. I plan to take Metro to downtown and walk around 10 mins to station. Unfortunately very long queues at ticket vending machines and counters. So I went back to taxi stand, very long queue also. For return flight check in went smooth, also security was done within minutes on a Monday afternoon around 4 pm. Behind the security check is a duty free which evrybody need to pass, after that gates and several restaurant and a few shops. Nothing special, but its ok, average choice I would say, prices for Europe not that bad. Smoking rooms and Wifi available, toilets in the middle of the halls are crowded and not so clean, at the end of the hall it was empty and cleaner. Concluded that airport is like an average European capital airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"clean, well organized"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Clean, well organized, fast baggage reception on the belt, no damages to the luggages. Facilities available for all passengers. Passport control was fast thus no delays on the way out, toilets were well cleaned and organized, free drinking water machines on the way out. Very handy and passenger easy to use airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"everything was very clean"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | In comparison to some airports everything was very clean, I was especially astonished by the toilets. Not all staff spoke good English but I could communicate with everybody and could sort out all my issues which was what I needed. Great!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"low quality, uncivilized and primitive services"

(France)

Trip Verified | Several comments marking, low quality, uncivilized and primitive services at or servicing the airport: First, the handicapped parking spaces in the long term airport parking (P3) is constantly occupied by 1/3 or nearly completely in the summer by illegally parked traveller's vehicles. This has been going on since its construction nearly two decades ago with no corrective measures taken whatsoever. Second, the indoors parking ticket stations to pay for the stay (in P3), are only three and one of them for the last two years claims to allow payments by credit card but then all credit card are declared "invalid" and you are sent to cash. Us sufferers know this and simply go to another line but innocent travelers from abroad get confused. Third, on our recent trip to Thessaloniki with Aegean in a shuttle service with 3-4 flights in the morning, there were 3 delays then cancellations due to fog at destination, but there was no announcement of either "Delayed" or "Cancelled" on screen but only "Gate open"! A bizarre irony for passengers already treated as cattle by Aegean. The above has to be added to the third world booths for train / ticket issuing at train/metro hub, the lack of control of a queue there, etc.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"impossible to rest, let alone sleep"

(Greece)

Unverified | I travel to the UK twice a year from my home in Crete to visit family in South Wales. In the summer, Ryanair and other airlines have direct flights from Chania to Bristol which makes the journey really easy. However, in the winter I have to fly from Chania to Athens and then Athens to London and travel to South Wales by bus/train. On the way to the UK, I usually manage to book a flight that leaves Athens within a couple of hours of my arrival there which isn't a problem. However, for the past few years I've had a 10 hour overnight wait in Athens (for a 30 minute flight) which is an absolute nightmare. The only hotel nearby charges €140 for the cheapest rooms, the airport is a long way from the centre of Athens so I end up having to wait overnight at Athens Airport. The seats are perforated metal and really uncomfortable - impossible to rest, let alone sleep. There are a few coffee bars open overnight which makes it a little easier. If you try to lie down on the floor and rest, you get reprimanded by airport staff. Even if you do manage to find a comfortable position to rest in, frequent security announcements ensure that sleep is impossible. The very worst thing about Athens Airport is that it continuously plays the most godawful muzak on the planet - the sort of music that makes any normal music lover want to cover their ears. I'm pretty sure that the music choice at Athens Airport is designed to prevent sleep, prevent relaxation, prevent rest and prevent any semblance of sanity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"used to be a nice, modern, well signed airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have used Athens airport annually since it opened. Previously the departure gates had plenty of seating but recently this has decreased as more retail outlets have been crammed in. This year awaiting an Aegean Airlines flight to London the only seating by the gate whilst awaiting for the gate to open was seating in either of two bars or you stood! This used to be a nice, modern, well signed airport. Check in and security was always quick with plenty of staff available. Come on Athens don't turn your airport into a version of London Heathrow which is a disgrace to my own country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews