Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 123 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Clean, efficient terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at ATH after comfortable flight on Aegean from the monstrosity of Istanbul. Bused to terminal due to air bridge not being available due to late aircraft occupying stand. Not an issue as buses arrived quickly and we were in the terminal in no time. Clean, efficient terminal, Covid procedures observed. Within 10 minutes, luggage was on belt and undamaged. Good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"without any passenger moving walkways"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Arriving from Larnaca on a delayed Aegean airlines flight (10/11/21) which parked away from passenger jet steps. No distances or anything, a simple check of our EU vaccination certificate and in you go into probably the only airport without any passenger moving walkways, walk a kilometer to collect your luggage. Arriving in Greece one might expect to listen to lovely Greek music, instead of heavy disco and screams.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Is Athens a war zone now?"

(Portugal)

Not Verified | Aegean Airlines told me that a covid test was necessary to enter Greece, and that it should be presented on arrival. I was tested at home, and brought the negative result with me. After landing, passengers had to queue up and show their results to the military police! I showed my (negative) result to the soldier, who very aggressively told me to test again (he couldn’t understand English) in these covid testing stands they have. I tried to explain that I was already tested but he interrupted me and said “go!” Very aggressively. Is Athens a war zone now? Why do they have special police serving customers at a commercial airport?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"It definitely shows wear and tear"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | A moderately sized airport serving the capital of Greece. It's been around for a while so it's not a very modern one. It definitely shows wear and tear. Security checks are fast and efficient tho. Duty-free shopping is readily available, food courts less. Transportation to the city is done by metro or bus, in both cases it takes at least one hour. Taxi cost about 45 euro. The Lufthansa lounge I visited was small but offered delicious Greek mezze.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"all Covid checks carried out efficiently"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Landed on time after comfortable Aegean Airlines flight, we deplaned quickly and were in the Arrivals Hall in minutes. Cleared Immigration without issue, all Covid checks carried out efficiently, bags were already coming through on belt as we entered Baggage Reclaim. Very easy to navigate. Good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The worst airport I was in"

(Poland)

Not Verified | The worst airport I was in. We couldn't take with us peanut butter and pesto, but we could go in with yogurt and hummus, when we asked 'why?' the answer was 'because peanut butter is a cream and pesto has an oil' and when we sad that hummus has oil also and we have yogurt which is a cream, the guard didn't know what to say.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Terrible indications"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolutely zero arrangement for connection flights. My Aegean flight came 30 mins late and I had only a 45 minute connection window to catch my flight to Thessaloniki with Olympic Air. No one made sure they waited for us, the boarding gate was across the airport so I was running for 15 mins. Had all my papers, covid pass and PFL checked before departure yet they check passport and another security check in control despite not leaving the airport. Terrible indications. At the end my hand luggage was taken at the plane baggage section because there was no space upstairs. Think about connection flights! Also shame Aegean and Olympic Air.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"Almost no vegan food option"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Almost no vegan food option. I found 2 sandwiches but they didn’t look great. So could only have a drink and something sweet, but not a sandwich or other meal
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"There is very little seating"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | This airport has some pleasant, generous features (a museum, free and unlimited wifi) but the basics are not well managed. There is very little seating. This matters when I have been waiting 45 minutes in a check-in queue and expect to wait as long again before I get to the front (although this may be the fault of my airline, which has not allowed online check-in for this flight). Navigation is needlessly difficult because (astonishingly) the maps of the airport at information points lack a ‘you are here’ indication. If I knew the airport well enough to know where I was on the map, I wouldn’t need the map! There are very few restaurants. All were full, with long queues. Combined with the massive shortage of seating, this meant lots of passengers sitting on the floor eating take-away food from their laps. It just doesn’t have to be this way in a country where tourism is so important. All in all, my time at Athens Airport was a tedious, needlessly uncomfortable and unpleasant end to a wonderful holiday in Greece. The ‘hospitality’ provided by the airport was a major contrast with the wonderful service and help we received from every other Greek person on our holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"walk a km to the exit"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | The airline chose to use the boiling hot bus at temps of 37+C. Passengers were pushed like sardines in the bus. In the miserably empty airport only a brief check of EU vaccination certificate, no body temp screening, and then you have to walk a km to the exit, this airport being without any passenger moving walkways. No, despite its cleanliness, this is not my favourable aiport..
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no