Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 126 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Well organised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at Athens Airport, followed the clear signs to the check in area. Proceeded to Passport Control and Security without any difficulty. Efficient and polite staff did the necessary checks. One of the few airports in the world where I'm addressed as Sir. Duty Free area is well stocked with the usual variety of shops and services. Great selections of authentic Greek products. Olive Oil, nuts, Greek Delights and a huge range of sweet pastries. Toilet areas were clean and well maintained by attendant. Proceeded to gate and started boarding without difficulty. Well organised airport. I have experienced far worse and some were in northern Europe..
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"No one will help or support you"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I've ever come across! Please don't take connected flights from Athens. No one will help or support you. No proper signs or markings. Coming out of the bus, you get lost about what to do next if your flight is connecting and time is little then you mess up your journey. Before you head to the Gate A you got security man in cabin looking for your passport and boarding card at least he takes 5-10 minutes for per passenger. Then you need check your hand baggage the worst experience with the arrogant staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"special services in Athens were appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Due to technical faults our plane to Hurghada was diverted to Athens for several hours. Unfortunately this caused several problems. The special services in Athens were appalling. They were extremely rude and condescending me and to another several passengers. I am a full time powerchair user and took my lightweight powerchair on vacation. When re loading I was treated very disrespectfully and shouted at, telling me to get out of the wheelchair and walk. When they loaded another passenger onto the ambulift they pointed at her and said, see she is more disabled. Extremely judgmental, discriminatory and impolite to myself and the other passengers. Other infirm passengers were also shouted at. I was separated from my carer when offloading plane and also reloading. When my powerchair was presented in Hurghada, the strap which holds the folding chair together was missing and the power arm of the chair was broken. The engineer in our resort managed to temporarily repair the powerchair and we purchased a belt to hold chair together for return travel. I have always been extremely satisfied with EasyJet and special services in various countries. I feel special services, especially, fell short on this particular flight. In addition, being given a delay meal credit my husband found the upstairs catering venues were abrupt and most wouldn’t accept the vouchers. My husband and carer had to carry the power chair batteries plus hand luggage around Athens airport for over 6 hours. I was dumped in an attendant airport chair at the departure gate, unable to self propel. etc. The whole experience has certainly affected my confidence in EasyJet and special services. Especially in Athens.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Clean, efficient terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at ATH after comfortable flight on Aegean from the monstrosity of Istanbul. Bused to terminal due to air bridge not being available due to late aircraft occupying stand. Not an issue as buses arrived quickly and we were in the terminal in no time. Clean, efficient terminal, Covid procedures observed. Within 10 minutes, luggage was on belt and undamaged. Good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"without any passenger moving walkways"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Arriving from Larnaca on a delayed Aegean airlines flight (10/11/21) which parked away from passenger jet steps. No distances or anything, a simple check of our EU vaccination certificate and in you go into probably the only airport without any passenger moving walkways, walk a kilometer to collect your luggage. Arriving in Greece one might expect to listen to lovely Greek music, instead of heavy disco and screams.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Is Athens a war zone now?"

(Portugal)

Not Verified | Aegean Airlines told me that a covid test was necessary to enter Greece, and that it should be presented on arrival. I was tested at home, and brought the negative result with me. After landing, passengers had to queue up and show their results to the military police! I showed my (negative) result to the soldier, who very aggressively told me to test again (he couldn’t understand English) in these covid testing stands they have. I tried to explain that I was already tested but he interrupted me and said “go!” Very aggressively. Is Athens a war zone now? Why do they have special police serving customers at a commercial airport?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"It definitely shows wear and tear"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | A moderately sized airport serving the capital of Greece. It's been around for a while so it's not a very modern one. It definitely shows wear and tear. Security checks are fast and efficient tho. Duty-free shopping is readily available, food courts less. Transportation to the city is done by metro or bus, in both cases it takes at least one hour. Taxi cost about 45 euro. The Lufthansa lounge I visited was small but offered delicious Greek mezze.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"all Covid checks carried out efficiently"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Landed on time after comfortable Aegean Airlines flight, we deplaned quickly and were in the Arrivals Hall in minutes. Cleared Immigration without issue, all Covid checks carried out efficiently, bags were already coming through on belt as we entered Baggage Reclaim. Very easy to navigate. Good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The worst airport I was in"

(Poland)

Not Verified | The worst airport I was in. We couldn't take with us peanut butter and pesto, but we could go in with yogurt and hummus, when we asked 'why?' the answer was 'because peanut butter is a cream and pesto has an oil' and when we sad that hummus has oil also and we have yogurt which is a cream, the guard didn't know what to say.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Terrible indications"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolutely zero arrangement for connection flights. My Aegean flight came 30 mins late and I had only a 45 minute connection window to catch my flight to Thessaloniki with Olympic Air. No one made sure they waited for us, the boarding gate was across the airport so I was running for 15 mins. Had all my papers, covid pass and PFL checked before departure yet they check passport and another security check in control despite not leaving the airport. Terrible indications. At the end my hand luggage was taken at the plane baggage section because there was no space upstairs. Think about connection flights! Also shame Aegean and Olympic Air.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no