Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 135 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Avoid this airport"

(Israel)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport. Another security check when you are trying to make your connection? Please. Staff communicates by grunting and chopping the air in the direction you should go. The transfer information counter is never open. You must wait precious moments for the digital signs to change from Greek to English. Gates above number 20 are in a section of the airport that looks like it's a prison. We were also subjected to a ridiculous weighing of our carry on bags at the gate. If you were 'overweight' you were encouraged to check your carry on, or shift a few kilos to your purse (this option was offered after we protested that we were flex tickets and not light). And then they didn't even double check. Not one person. The bus that took us to our plane: waited for 5 minutes with closed doors next to the plane, then they opened the doors to the bus but told us we couldn't get off for another 5 minutes. I have NEVER seen something like that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"90 minutes to transfer at Athens airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | You need at least 90 minutes to transfer at Athens airport. I flew from Istanbul via Athens to Chania with an hour to transit and it was hell on earth. Unlike other airports there’s zero provision to get people through immigration or security quickly so you’re dependant on the kindness of fellow passengers or begging airport staff to let you through. The signage is also very poor so you’re forever second guessing yourself or asking staff for the right direction. I’m a physically fit 30 year old and made my flight to Chania with minutes to spare after running through the terminal at full speed and begging people to let me pass. I know that there were some older people on my Athens flight who were getting the same flight to Chania, who wouldn’t have received assistance, and I didn’t see them board the plane. Ignore the advice that you only need 45 mins as you definitely need at least double that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hot, overcrowded and filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It takes a lot to rank below Manila airport, but Athens managed it for us. By taking a lift after clearing security (we had a child and buggy), we followed signs for the gate and ended up back at security. So had to queue and clear again. The security officer nodded knowingly, so it clearly happens often. The ‘satellite’ terminal (A30-43) was hot, overcrowded and filthy. With long waits for the toilet, food and water. Also, no lounge. We discovered that this part of departures is the Schengen area. Also, WiFi not working and no loo roll. Awesome.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Toilet bins overflowing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at airport at 9 am. Flight was 1.10 pm. Could not check in until 10.45 by which time queue for two planes for same counters was going around the airport. Took over an hour to check in, so slow. Had to run through airport & then get on to plane & told could not fly for 50 mins. Very few places to sit & seats looked like my dog had chewed them. Toilet bins overflowing with toilet paper on to the floors. If you are requesting that paper is not placed in toilet at least empty the bins. Disgusting behaviour.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Terminal was clean"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at a very busy time, terminal was buzzing with people. Check-in completed without issue. Had a few questions and queries for airport staff. Response was polite, efficient and in perfect English. Resolved quickly. Terminal shops and eateries were busy but queues shortened quickly. Great selection of Duty-free products. Had a very tasty vegan croissant filled with vegan cheese and mixed salad. Terminal was clean, and toilets were spotless, manned by attendants. Nice airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst airport I have ever been to"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever been to in my life. Sat in the check in line for an hour and a half then was told I had to wait 30 minutes for a break. Also pretended to not know English while I asked what was happening. Almost missed my flight because of this. Don’t expect anyone to help you. Highly recommend you do not go to it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"have lack of staff"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | On the 14/08 a flight supposed to leave at 14:00 to Heraklion we got a delay of 2 hours seating inside the plane as the pilots informed us that the main cause of that was the reduced airport’s staff that could not service us. unbelievable on the middle of August such an international airport with the tourism to be on the top to have lack of staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A continuously unpleasant experience at this airport"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | A continuously unpleasant experience at this airport. What is the purpose of going through security again while on a transit (all within Europe?), we almost missed our connection as we had 30 min security queue. A complete waste of resources, time and cause of unneeded stress to travelers. Will certainly try to avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nowhere near enough seats for everyone"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight was assigned to leave from Gate A18. We were early (our departure was delayed about an hour) and decided to sit and wait in the Gate A18 waiting area. But we were asked to leave and wait elsewhere while another flight boarded. And then the people from that flight were moved out if they weren't part of a given boarding group. So, the area outside Gate A18 was overflowing with people waiting for two flights, with nowhere near enough seats for everyone. What are gate waiting areas for? It seems the design/procedures at Athens airport need a significant upgrade. It was a mess of crammed together passengers with little information about what was going on for about two hours. Please either build a bigger terminal or figure out a better system for handling passengers with comfort and convenience. Thank you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Well organised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at Athens Airport, followed the clear signs to the check in area. Proceeded to Passport Control and Security without any difficulty. Efficient and polite staff did the necessary checks. One of the few airports in the world where I'm addressed as Sir. Duty Free area is well stocked with the usual variety of shops and services. Great selections of authentic Greek products. Olive Oil, nuts, Greek Delights and a huge range of sweet pastries. Toilet areas were clean and well maintained by attendant. Proceeded to gate and started boarding without difficulty. Well organised airport. I have experienced far worse and some were in northern Europe..
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes