Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 161 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"He went above and beyond"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew out of Athens on July 10th 2024 with American Airlines and I had requested wheelchair assistance. The gentleman who assisted me at the airport, Aggelos, was absolutely amazing. He took great care of me and was extremely respectful and helpful in anyway possible. He actual went out of his way, and even performed beyond his job responsibilities, and provided excellent customer service! In my years of travelling, I have never experienced such superb customer service. He is a very valuable employee who needs to be recognized for his outstanding customer service skills. He went above and beyond for a customer. I will never forget my positive experience with this Greek fellow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Overall not a good experience"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | This airport need to up their standards! Even though you check in and print your bag tag you still have to wait in line with everyone else, which kind of defeats the purpose. And the line moves so extremely slow. I’m sure the staff at the check in counters are lovely people but I have never seen anyone work slower. This resulted in a man from Aegean having to shout out for passengers to flights that were on closing because they couldn’t make it through the line on time. Then you finally get to security and here they have staff guiding you to the different security points but they seem to have no sense of which line is actually full - I was directed to the longest line. Overall not a good experience. Arrived to the airport at the estimated time but couldn’t even make it to my gate before they started boarding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very tiny spaces"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Likely the worst airport. Very tiny spaces, is an airport crowded, full of shopping businesses that actually were not intended to be there taking up already the small place, not enough seats to accommodate passengers, WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for all that. C
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"departure area is often congested"

(Greece)

Not Verified | Positive: Duty free areas upgraded to expected standard. Access to public train (to avoid cash gauging taxis). Negatives: Main departure area is often congested (too small). Lack of clear signage and thought out flow design. Poor service staff process often cause delays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute disgrace at arrivals"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolute disgrace at arrivals. 400 passengers and just 2 staff processing passports. Had to wait for ages. Ours and so many people's schedules messed up. Positively third world.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Employees are helpful and polite"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | The efficiency of check-in and security checks is high. Employees are helpful and polite. Signposts are clear. The WiFi connection is stable. The ambience is clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Well done Athens airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We had airport assistance for my elderly mother, and the chap who met us at the plane (Giorgious) was excellent. He spoke very good English and was super courteous and respectful and helpful throughout our transit. He took us through immigration and then onto our lounge for a flight to London with Aegean Airlines. He knew us by name within an instant and always explained what was happening next. He should be celebrated. The staff at the boarding gates were also very courteous and respectful as well. I can’t speak highly enough of everyone we dealt with at Athens Airport. Even the ladies serving at the cafe, considering how busy it was, was excellent, friendly, and on point. It’s always a pleasure when you meet good people doing good things. Well done Athens airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"it’s a complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified |   Flew with Easy jet arrival area before passport control had 1 male and 1 female toilet we were allowed to use. Staff sitting outside toilet chatting, horrendous queues. Passport control no better only two guys checking passports so really slow dealing with the flights arriving. Please bear this in mind when booking taxis, because it will take over an hour to get through and then a very long walk to the baggage reclaim. A lady walking up and down in high heels by the passport control, not sure what her job was but perhaps she could have helped with getting more resource for the passport area. This is worrying if you have another flight, ship or taxi to get it’s a complete shambles for arriving brits!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"try to avoid transfer in Athens"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | For the second time in the last 6 months I had to transit Athens Airport and both times was horrible. I am talking about transfer, connecting flights. Basically, there is no such option, as long as you have to get out (following all the procedures) and re-enter the airport (following again passport control, security check and everything). More than this, all the staff is absolutely anti-helping, showing a kind is satisfaction to see you taking it the hard way. I had this incredible situation today, 8th October 2023, around 18:00, when after running all this stupid get-out/get-in fiasco, my wife asked the woman police officer at passport control if she found normal to wait in all these queues when transferring, she said: “yes, is normal and hopefully the lines are long!” On the other hand, it was absolutely non-sense to be in front of the sign “Gates A1-23”, try to enter as long as we were supposed to board from an A gate, and the police officer (a woman again), very arrogantly told us that we are in wrong way, we should follow the signs (which we obviously did), and told us we are not allowed. We could literally see the gate behind her, but no, she refused our acces. So we had enter Greece (follow all the controls, we arrived meters away from the street and nothing would stop us to leave airport) and immediately try to leave Greece, as we were in transit only (by the way, only 1 hour, thank God the first flight was on time). And instead of 10-15 minutes transfer , we had to literally run 50 minutes and make it to our connecting flight in the very last moment. And absolutely all the airport staff was constantly rude. So sad! So, if possible, try to avoid transfer in Athens, and if not possible be sure to have at least 2 hours transfer time and be prepared to suffer. Both physically and mentally (humiliation, without any exaggeration).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"fly from elsewhere"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Definitely the worst capital city airport I've ever been to, you have to walk about a km from the entrance to get to security. Then, there was a huge queue which took us around 40 minutes to get through because out of the 8 security lanes only 2 were open. Finally get into the lounge to see that there's only 2 restaurants. Absolutely rubbish, fly from elsewhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no