Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 106 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"luggage takes too long"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | How can an airport that claims to be efficient accept people using 3 or 4 seats to take a nap, the airport is clean with a fantastic shopping area, however upon arrival you go thru the corridors and then walk a km to reach the luggage collection area. There are no moving conveyor walkways for passengers. To the surprise of everybody though we were at the luggage collection point and the airport was not that busy, our luggage started coming out 35 minutes later - this was not my first experience at this airport where luggage takes too long to be delivered. Insignificant as it may sound, when you arrive in the UK you expect to hear english music, in France , french soft music, in Greece famous for great sweet tender music no sir, the sounds
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a good functional airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Athens Airport is a good functional airport. Queues are minimal and have flown in and out this year three times. The staff are polite and efficient. A refreshing change from many airports. Directions are good and walking distances are on a human level. The WiFi is great and it is free and transportation to the airport is excellent. It's few faults are that it is starting to show it's age. It needs a renovation. A good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"A great way to leave Greece"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | A great way to leave Greece. Upon arrival, there was food being offered where cars drop off passengers. The sandwich I ate was top notch, especially for the price, a heavenly experience from the first bite to the last. The food and the staff made of that restaurant my experience at the airport memorable. I also enjoyed the espresso I had from a different establishment. The seats were OK in the terminal but were a lot better near the gate, which also feature a few plugs for electronics. The ground crew took us to our plane in a bus, we boarded and left on time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Very disappointed in Athens Airport staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Airport itself is nice and clean. However, customer service from those that work in customs and VAT tax office (entry/departure) is a grade of 0 out of 10 or an F. There is no “Welcome to Greece I hope you have a nice stay”, there is no eye contact, nothing. The workers in VAT office would rather talk to each other than help you out and provide stamps on your documents original and copies. The workers in customs upon exit, are once again not friendly. I understand that people in Europe may not be too friendly to strangers, but this is an airport where you welcome visitors and say good-bye to visitors that have spent money in your country. Customer service drives if people will return and if good things are said about Greece. Does Greece want visitors or not? Then treat people nicer - it is an international terminal after all. Very disappointed in Athens Airport staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Swissport business lounge was total rubbish"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The airport processing was easy and efficient but the Swissport business lounge was total rubbish and a let down for Qatar. Food at Swissport business lounge is not up to standard, I recommend that this lounge is avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Very clean terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very easy airport to arrive at, transit through and depart from. Connections from aircraft via foot bridges or buses depending on gate availability and aircraft used. Very clear and easy to understand signage with clever use of blue and white colours refelecting colours of the Greek flag. Short queues at passport control / immigration. Bags arrived on belt within 10 mins of landing from connecting flight. Security and bags check staff were very pleasant and polite using 'Sir' and 'Madame' when addressing passengers. Very clean terminal, toilets were spotless. Plenty of well stocked duty free shops selling a huge variety of Greek products which were very busy. Cafes / food outlets were plentiful with decent variety of hot and cold food and snacks as well as drinks. Well priced. 2 small bottles of mineral water were only 2 euros, airside. Boarding gates well manned by polite and cheerful staff. Great airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"they will have to fix their technology"

(France)

Not Verified | Arrival from a non-Schengen airport. Luckily very few passengers had EU passports, because the new cameras take easily one minute to recognise your face! One does not really understand where to look, the camera seems to be on the upper side, an arrow shows right. I have gone through this kind of machines in several airports in usually less than 10 seconds, but they will have to fix their technology! A pity for an otherwise functional airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"a totally disappointing experience"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Delayed Aegean flight just before midnight, and this airline in their usual manner (inexplicably why they insist on the good old bus service) prefers to park the plane away from airbridges. In line for passport control despite special corridors for EU citizens, a mixture of go wherever you wish, only two controllers and a long long line for the passport control. Arriving in Athens one would expect some lovely greek music, oh no, music reminding you of low class saloons in Texas. Luggage took 45 minutes to start arriving on the carousel. Another major problem is the very very long walk you have to go, and probably this is the only airport in Europe without any pedestrian moving belts. All in all, a totally disappointing experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"don't have any hesitation in recommending Athens Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A good airport considering it is now 20 years old. The bus stop is literally outside the terminal and the X96 for 6 takes you straight to Glyfada and Piraus. Security length and time was painless and they were polite. Coming in late at night however there was only a one passport booth open and the EU passport queue took a long time. Toilets were very clean. WIFI is available everywhere, the signal is strong and it is free. The same amount of cafes and resturants selling goods at extortionate prices. I don't have any hesitation in recommending Athens Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

"looks like the shelter for homeless"

(Belarus)

Trip Verified | The most awful airport I've ever seen! Not because of the facilities (they are good) but of the great amount homeless people which sleep everywhere! It looks like the shelter for homeless. These people sleep everywhere, even on the floor. Some of them even brought a cot. I am shocked how the police and airport employees can allow this. We had 2 connecting flights and they both have been delayed for 2 hours! There is a great mess at the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no