Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 137 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Total chaos"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Transfer not possible at this airport. We were told by staff to leave the transit area by entering Greece. Imagine I needed a visa. We wasted a lot of time for passport and security control. All totally unnecessary. Total chaos. Third world airports are better organised than the Athens Airport. Food offering is a shame for Greece. Very poor and overpriced food offering. The restaurant we ate at offered a Greek salad buffet without onions. They even have the audacity to charge 0.05 Euro for knives and forks. Maybe they should also charge something extra for grinding the coffee and pouring it into the cup?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I feel ashamed of our airport"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | As a Greek I feel ashamed of our airport as it’s in a terrible shape, starting your way to the airport all the signs are in wrong position and make you take the tolls to xtra miles and also the stupid fee as it could be avoided, then the long term parking which you have to walk for 20 mins with your luggage and etc if you find a space! Then we get inside the terminal. After check in the duty free shops have major shortages in cigarettes for an example I wanted Marlboro soft pack which is very common nothing! Then since I was travelling to a third country a friend requested some cohiba cigars .. nothing! Actually no cigars! Then I saw the empty shelfs in general of duty free check MCM shop! And a lot more! The catering shops are also very limited and worse of quality charging a cheese pie which is 6 euro and cold as also old! I forgot my Apple charger wanted also the power bank - nothing! This is our airport badly managed shame to the government and to the handling company duty free! I travel a lot and i feel ashamed as we could have a great airport as we are a country that relies on tourism and the highest tax in eu for its survival!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airport"

(Israel)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport. Another security check when you are trying to make your connection? Please. Staff communicates by grunting and chopping the air in the direction you should go. The transfer information counter is never open. You must wait precious moments for the digital signs to change from Greek to English. Gates above number 20 are in a section of the airport that looks like it's a prison. We were also subjected to a ridiculous weighing of our carry on bags at the gate. If you were 'overweight' you were encouraged to check your carry on, or shift a few kilos to your purse (this option was offered after we protested that we were flex tickets and not light). And then they didn't even double check. Not one person. The bus that took us to our plane: waited for 5 minutes with closed doors next to the plane, then they opened the doors to the bus but told us we couldn't get off for another 5 minutes. I have NEVER seen something like that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"90 minutes to transfer at Athens airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | You need at least 90 minutes to transfer at Athens airport. I flew from Istanbul via Athens to Chania with an hour to transit and it was hell on earth. Unlike other airports there’s zero provision to get people through immigration or security quickly so you’re dependant on the kindness of fellow passengers or begging airport staff to let you through. The signage is also very poor so you’re forever second guessing yourself or asking staff for the right direction. I’m a physically fit 30 year old and made my flight to Chania with minutes to spare after running through the terminal at full speed and begging people to let me pass. I know that there were some older people on my Athens flight who were getting the same flight to Chania, who wouldn’t have received assistance, and I didn’t see them board the plane. Ignore the advice that you only need 45 mins as you definitely need at least double that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hot, overcrowded and filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It takes a lot to rank below Manila airport, but Athens managed it for us. By taking a lift after clearing security (we had a child and buggy), we followed signs for the gate and ended up back at security. So had to queue and clear again. The security officer nodded knowingly, so it clearly happens often. The ‘satellite’ terminal (A30-43) was hot, overcrowded and filthy. With long waits for the toilet, food and water. Also, no lounge. We discovered that this part of departures is the Schengen area. Also, WiFi not working and no loo roll. Awesome.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Toilet bins overflowing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at airport at 9 am. Flight was 1.10 pm. Could not check in until 10.45 by which time queue for two planes for same counters was going around the airport. Took over an hour to check in, so slow. Had to run through airport & then get on to plane & told could not fly for 50 mins. Very few places to sit & seats looked like my dog had chewed them. Toilet bins overflowing with toilet paper on to the floors. If you are requesting that paper is not placed in toilet at least empty the bins. Disgusting behaviour.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Terminal was clean"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived at a very busy time, terminal was buzzing with people. Check-in completed without issue. Had a few questions and queries for airport staff. Response was polite, efficient and in perfect English. Resolved quickly. Terminal shops and eateries were busy but queues shortened quickly. Great selection of Duty-free products. Had a very tasty vegan croissant filled with vegan cheese and mixed salad. Terminal was clean, and toilets were spotless, manned by attendants. Nice airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst airport I have ever been to"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever been to in my life. Sat in the check in line for an hour and a half then was told I had to wait 30 minutes for a break. Also pretended to not know English while I asked what was happening. Almost missed my flight because of this. Don’t expect anyone to help you. Highly recommend you do not go to it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"have lack of staff"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | On the 14/08 a flight supposed to leave at 14:00 to Heraklion we got a delay of 2 hours seating inside the plane as the pilots informed us that the main cause of that was the reduced airport’s staff that could not service us. unbelievable on the middle of August such an international airport with the tourism to be on the top to have lack of staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A continuously unpleasant experience at this airport"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | A continuously unpleasant experience at this airport. What is the purpose of going through security again while on a transit (all within Europe?), we almost missed our connection as we had 30 min security queue. A complete waste of resources, time and cause of unneeded stress to travelers. Will certainly try to avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no