Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 102 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Swissport business lounge was total rubbish"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The airport processing was easy and efficient but the Swissport business lounge was total rubbish and a let down for Qatar. Food at Swissport business lounge is not up to standard, I recommend that this lounge is avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Very clean terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very easy airport to arrive at, transit through and depart from. Connections from aircraft via foot bridges or buses depending on gate availability and aircraft used. Very clear and easy to understand signage with clever use of blue and white colours refelecting colours of the Greek flag. Short queues at passport control / immigration. Bags arrived on belt within 10 mins of landing from connecting flight. Security and bags check staff were very pleasant and polite using 'Sir' and 'Madame' when addressing passengers. Very clean terminal, toilets were spotless. Plenty of well stocked duty free shops selling a huge variety of Greek products which were very busy. Cafes / food outlets were plentiful with decent variety of hot and cold food and snacks as well as drinks. Well priced. 2 small bottles of mineral water were only 2 euros, airside. Boarding gates well manned by polite and cheerful staff. Great airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"they will have to fix their technology"

(France)

Not Verified | Arrival from a non-Schengen airport. Luckily very few passengers had EU passports, because the new cameras take easily one minute to recognise your face! One does not really understand where to look, the camera seems to be on the upper side, an arrow shows right. I have gone through this kind of machines in several airports in usually less than 10 seconds, but they will have to fix their technology! A pity for an otherwise functional airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"a totally disappointing experience"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Delayed Aegean flight just before midnight, and this airline in their usual manner (inexplicably why they insist on the good old bus service) prefers to park the plane away from airbridges. In line for passport control despite special corridors for EU citizens, a mixture of go wherever you wish, only two controllers and a long long line for the passport control. Arriving in Athens one would expect some lovely greek music, oh no, music reminding you of low class saloons in Texas. Luggage took 45 minutes to start arriving on the carousel. Another major problem is the very very long walk you have to go, and probably this is the only airport in Europe without any pedestrian moving belts. All in all, a totally disappointing experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"don't have any hesitation in recommending Athens Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A good airport considering it is now 20 years old. The bus stop is literally outside the terminal and the X96 for 6 takes you straight to Glyfada and Piraus. Security length and time was painless and they were polite. Coming in late at night however there was only a one passport booth open and the EU passport queue took a long time. Toilets were very clean. WIFI is available everywhere, the signal is strong and it is free. The same amount of cafes and resturants selling goods at extortionate prices. I don't have any hesitation in recommending Athens Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

"looks like the shelter for homeless"

(Belarus)

Trip Verified | The most awful airport I've ever seen! Not because of the facilities (they are good) but of the great amount homeless people which sleep everywhere! It looks like the shelter for homeless. These people sleep everywhere, even on the floor. Some of them even brought a cot. I am shocked how the police and airport employees can allow this. We had 2 connecting flights and they both have been delayed for 2 hours! There is a great mess at the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"it was clean and well lit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived here for a two week break on 1st July. Some of the recent reviews appear unfair and not accurate. I would like to point out that yes there are moving walkways at Athens Airport. I found there was a long walk from the plane. Wizz flight from Luton which was not parked out on the tarmac but attached to the Terminal. Yes there was a track to the Carousel. But hey ho when isn't there unless you arrive at a tiny one flight a day as at Carcassonne in France. Yes the country has gone through hell financially but it was clean and well lit with lovely touches Re historic sites etc.. I cannot speak for customs or immigration on arrival as very late and low key. But anyone we asked in uniform were very helpful. Have departure tomorrow from Athens and will review the experience as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"I am very disappointed"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | It was just a routine check at customs clearance for departure. But the officer in charge disallowed me to claim my personal belongings, which is a bag that consists of a few boxes of cookies. The officer wanted me to wait till a female colleague was free to examine me. As a result of waiting, I was not able to retrieve my food item placed in the tray before it got pushed off the platform due to overcrowding, and it dropped hard onto the floor. I am very angry about the delay, as well as the damage caused to the box of biscuits. I wonder if this is what Athens custom officers do to passengers? I am very disappointed to find out if this is how Athens airport custom officers treats their international tourists.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"must be carrying the bags one by one"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Waiting time for luggage at Athens airport is always a joke. They must be carrying the bags one by one. But the best is that the always put a dummy bag on the elevator to show fast ‘first bag’ times immediately after landing to manipulate statistics and then they really take their time! It’s hilarious hillybilly Greek style of dealing with things.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"some gates are too far away"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Lost my flight (along with 15 more or so passengers) although we had all checked in and dropped our luggage in time and were also in time for hand luggage control. Please be careful, some gates are too far away and passengers just don't have enough time to walk there, even if they go through all previous stages in time. The airport does not let you know how long in takes to get to the gate until you're already on your way and running. People on the flight next to our gate also experienced the same issue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no