Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 110 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"very small waiting area"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Outbound flight, long walk to Passport Control, queues, very small waiting area. Inbound flight very long walk to aircraft checking area, past pillars with video clips of various people speaking, which I found un-necessary . I tried out one of the duty free shops which was ok, but an eleven euro extra charge for a plastic bag , when this should be free with every purchase, was a surprise to me. Baggage check was also slow. Water isn't allowed, and then you can buy water in the duty free area, which is a contradiction, especially as bottle water was only half a euro, for one and a half litres, and on the plane the charge would have been two and a half euro for a tiny bottle, to last you three hours in a hot and stuffy metal tube. Honey is also cheap, but has to be purchased from the duty free shops, the other side of your baggage check. Some body has seen a money spinner here. When is a liquid not a liquid, that is the question.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Baggage delivery is a joke"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Baggage delivery is a joke. Just landed from London on the Aegean flight arriving 3.30 am. Traveling Business class all my luggage is priority tagged. 1st set of luggage appears on the belt at 03.44 and it’s not priority tagged. Then nothing for 5 minutes, then the rest of the non-priority luggage gradually comes out, then nothing for another 5 mins and finally at 4.07 the few priority items of luggage appear. Needless to say that the whole business class cabin was waiting together, while the rest of the passengers had left. This not the 1st time I had the same experience, apparently luggage handling randomly picks some luggage and brings to the belt, in order to hit their “1st bag” metric, and then it’s just a random and slow process with complete disregard for business class customer. It’s a pity because a few years ago baggage delivery was top notch.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"extraordinarily quick security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Athens is one of those rare relaxing airports where the stress of travelling just flies by. It starts with the extraordinarily quick security line and process (for an airport of this size) the politeness of the security staff so rare nowadays - a good final impression of Greece to departing passengers. The very short immigration lines. To the shorts walks to the airport gate. Free excellent Wifi. Plenty of seating. I have used this airport 5 times this year and I'm always in and out within 15 mins. Athens Airport gets everything right. The best airport in Europe by far.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a very comfortable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have been travelling to Greece for many years via Athens airport and must say that since the latest renovations and extensions I cannot believe its only a 3 star airport. Great shops, good food, good wifi and a very comfortable experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"luggage takes too long"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | How can an airport that claims to be efficient accept people using 3 or 4 seats to take a nap, the airport is clean with a fantastic shopping area, however upon arrival you go thru the corridors and then walk a km to reach the luggage collection area. There are no moving conveyor walkways for passengers. To the surprise of everybody though we were at the luggage collection point and the airport was not that busy, our luggage started coming out 35 minutes later - this was not my first experience at this airport where luggage takes too long to be delivered. Insignificant as it may sound, when you arrive in the UK you expect to hear english music, in France , french soft music, in Greece famous for great sweet tender music no sir, the sounds
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a good functional airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Athens Airport is a good functional airport. Queues are minimal and have flown in and out this year three times. The staff are polite and efficient. A refreshing change from many airports. Directions are good and walking distances are on a human level. The WiFi is great and it is free and transportation to the airport is excellent. It's few faults are that it is starting to show it's age. It needs a renovation. A good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"A great way to leave Greece"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | A great way to leave Greece. Upon arrival, there was food being offered where cars drop off passengers. The sandwich I ate was top notch, especially for the price, a heavenly experience from the first bite to the last. The food and the staff made of that restaurant my experience at the airport memorable. I also enjoyed the espresso I had from a different establishment. The seats were OK in the terminal but were a lot better near the gate, which also feature a few plugs for electronics. The ground crew took us to our plane in a bus, we boarded and left on time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Very disappointed in Athens Airport staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Airport itself is nice and clean. However, customer service from those that work in customs and VAT tax office (entry/departure) is a grade of 0 out of 10 or an F. There is no “Welcome to Greece I hope you have a nice stay”, there is no eye contact, nothing. The workers in VAT office would rather talk to each other than help you out and provide stamps on your documents original and copies. The workers in customs upon exit, are once again not friendly. I understand that people in Europe may not be too friendly to strangers, but this is an airport where you welcome visitors and say good-bye to visitors that have spent money in your country. Customer service drives if people will return and if good things are said about Greece. Does Greece want visitors or not? Then treat people nicer - it is an international terminal after all. Very disappointed in Athens Airport staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Swissport business lounge was total rubbish"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The airport processing was easy and efficient but the Swissport business lounge was total rubbish and a let down for Qatar. Food at Swissport business lounge is not up to standard, I recommend that this lounge is avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Very clean terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very easy airport to arrive at, transit through and depart from. Connections from aircraft via foot bridges or buses depending on gate availability and aircraft used. Very clear and easy to understand signage with clever use of blue and white colours refelecting colours of the Greek flag. Short queues at passport control / immigration. Bags arrived on belt within 10 mins of landing from connecting flight. Security and bags check staff were very pleasant and polite using 'Sir' and 'Madame' when addressing passengers. Very clean terminal, toilets were spotless. Plenty of well stocked duty free shops selling a huge variety of Greek products which were very busy. Cafes / food outlets were plentiful with decent variety of hot and cold food and snacks as well as drinks. Well priced. 2 small bottles of mineral water were only 2 euros, airside. Boarding gates well manned by polite and cheerful staff. Great airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes