Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 464 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Never want to use this airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After travelling for 30+ hours and nearly home in London, I missed my flight. There were 2 flights both departing to London Heathrow at 11:40 am. I looked at the screen many times and must have misread or something but it said gate D24. An hour later when it is meant to leave, nothing is happening even though the sign at the gate said London Heathrow, 11.40. No people are moving and so I go online and see Gate D14. Go to gate D14 and they say my flight just left. One announcement could have saved me money and time and frustration. The airport then made an announcement for lost and found. But not for me being a 2 minute walk away from the gate I was meant to be at. Absolutely stupid. You should be more accomodating. Never want to use this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Definitely the worst international airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Definitely the worst international airport experience I have ever experienced. The walk from gate D26 to passport control and then to the exit was poorly signed and the distance was horrendous. Some of the walk along escalators were also not working. I suffer from a back condition and had I known the distance I had to walk, I would of sought help. From leaving the aircraft to exiting the airport it took me approximately 70 minutes and I only had carry on luggage. The experience left me crippled in pain and for that reason if anybody suffers with any mobility issues then I suggest you contact the airline and seek assistance as the distance from the gate to the exit has got to be at least 1 mile if not longer taking you through all the shops. The security passport scanners at passport control are fairly slow. I won’t be returning to this airport anytime soon.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"put the telephone booth in the airport"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Please, put the telephone booth in the airport areas so that people can talk to their loved ones. I found not a single one, I asked people at the airport where can I make a telephone and no one knew if there was any. I don't have a cellular phone but I can afford some dollars to call my family from the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"whole experience most unpleasant and difficult"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Circumstances meant our daughter had to travel home with her two little boys aged 2 and 10 months. We the grandparents were booked on the same flight so were willing and able to help. The hardest part is going through security. We went through the barriers with our boarding pass, but our daughter with the buggy and two boys - one in a sling and one in the buggy - was directed to a gate. This meant we were separated as she was directed to the right and we were told to go to the left. We explained that we could help her and wanted to go with her, all that separated us was a waist height bar. The GS4 staff member said we couldn't be together and we didn't understand that both ways lead to the same place. She was very forceful and wouldn't listen to our plea. She stated again that both ways went to the same place. This was not true and meant our daughter had to cope with her babies though security. We had her bag, which we hadn't packed and didn't know the contents! (mainly nappies and toys, but an iPad was in it - of which we were unaware and she would have removed before going though). Her boys were then taken from her, while she was scanned. The two year old was quite worried by this. Everyone else, Easyjet desk and all staff were lovely, but this one member of staff made the whole experience most unpleasant and difficult for a mother with young children when there didn't seem to be any benefit to general security, which we wholly agree with and support.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shockingly lacking at this airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Probably the worst international airport pretending to be an international airport. Queueing times, luggage handling. Customer friendliness, service orientation, practical thinking, proper solutions for all the passengers being lured to this airport as an 'international hub', all of this is shockingly lacking at this airport. 2 hours waiting for luggage doesn't even happen in the worst airports of the world. If I could skip it, I would.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Such a bad experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Unfriendly and harsh security personnel. Such a bad experience before flying because it ruins your whole mood. Messy and bad crowd control. One of the worst airport experiences I’ve encountered.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"fancy but no substance"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst I have seen in my life; fancy but no substance. Dislike the fact that body scanner is used as a default means of screening unlike anywhere else in the developed world
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Long queue. Bad crowd management"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Understaffed airport. Long queue. Bad crowd management. Rude staff. It looks like the airport management does not prepare for the volume of morning Asian flights at all. Only three of the Tax validation counters out of six was staffed despite the long queue of angry mainland Chinese tourists. (By the way, why isn't self-service a thing here?). The queue for security check is insanely long that the airport staff has to block people from entering at the departure halls. Not to mention that there is no attempt to divert the crowd at all so people would just come in and cause a little stampede in wait area. There are only four immigration counters with a long backlog of foreign tourists waiting to go home. The staff also rudely told people off when they asked about priority line, which they have none and there is no visible signage stating that. Dear management, please do learn how to airport from Changi, KLIA, Taoyuan or any Japanese airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst I have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travel a reasonable amount and have to say Schiphol airport is one of the worst I have experienced in the last few years. I was travelling by myself with carry-on only luggage with BA. Firstly we taxied for 25 minutes. Not waiting for a stand but going all the way around the airport to D gates. The next challenge was trying to find your way out of the airport. No 'Exit' or 'Way out' or 'Passports' signs, just 'Arrivals Hall'. It was a very long walk and you were forced to pass through the shopping area. Three toilets I stopped at on the way had 1 or 2 urinals only and queues of people waiting. I eventually found the narrow entrance to the passport area where there was a large crowd of people being asked to wait by an official. EU passport holders were let through to the queue downstairs which was substantial, particularly for non-EU travellers. There were only 4 or 5 e-passport gates which seemed to operate much slower than the ones we have in the UK. Further walking to find my way out to a taxi rank. Then again a significant queue to actually get out of the buidling through a slow 'double-revolving door'. So landing to taxi rank took over an hour. I can imagine this would be significantly longer if you were travelling with bags, children or was a slow walker. On the reverse trip we must have been dropped off at the wrong part of the airport as it was a very long walk to the D gate area. Security was reasonable with new machines and took about 15 minutes. The main problem was the extremely slow e-passport gates. Maybe only about 10 machines each with a long queue of frustrated travellers behind. The machines were incredibly slow and I began to worry that I would miss my flight. The walk from passport control to gate D26 was again very long indeed. I had to run to catch my flight and wished I’d measured the distance. A few travellators helped but would take 20 minutes plus at a slow pace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"airport could be really nice and comfortable"

(France)

Trip Verified | This airport could be really nice and comfortable - there is a lot of shops and food areas, not as expensive as some other European airports too. All information is also quite clear and signs very helpful. But when it comes to "human factor" it's just a nightmare, security check is extremely slow. I think I have never seen so many staff at security check and yet, it took some 40 minutes for 20 people which were in front of me to pass it. Staff seem bored and slow, if you mention that your gate is closing it's not bothering them at all. I met only one nice lady who helped me a bit to advance, but the rest of colleagues were as in kind of slow motion movie. Usually 1 hour 30 min before the flight is more than enough in any European airport, for internal (no passport control) flight, in this case I nearly missed my flight. klm flight attendants were very kind to wait for passengers stuck at security and apparently it's very common and well known problem. Of course it's important to keep a good level of security, and I think we are all thankful for that, but somehow other airports manage to organise everything much much more effectively. Just got an impression that staff is just unmotivated and bored. So your stress is almost kind of amusing for them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no