Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 586 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Kilometres line for security control"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | What can I say about this airport this over the last couple of years. Amsterdam Schipol airport is like a third world this last two years. Kilometres line for security control, for the passport control and long waiting for the luggage. How is that possible! All they do is announce into the PA "no staff".
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"forgotten how nice it is overall"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Transit process for non-Schengen to non-Schengen flights was seamless and logical. No security check required, just follow the ample signage to your gate. The airport is laid out for "lateral flow" of the gates. I'd heard that runway delays were terrible at Schiphol, but my flight from the US made it to its gate only a few minutes late and that was because of delays in the US. There was a long queue at the departure gate, but, even with that, my flight to eastern Europe left only slightly late. The airport has a very modern and "industrial" sort of layout, and is very clean. Even the restrooms were clean. I hadn't used this airport in almost a decade, so I'd forgotten how nice it is overall. Side note: If an Albert Heijn store is convenient for you to walk into, do so. It's one of the best things about the Netherlands, as cliche as that might seem for the Dutch person reading this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"A pleasant surprise"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was expecting a disaster zone on arrival from Belfast on EasyJet. I was surprised to find it was fairly quiet. The queue for “other passports” at passport control was not too bad - the egates were open for those that can use them - sadly not for British passports any more. I didn’t have luggage to collect but it seemed quiet at baggage reclaim. I went straight through customs and was in the arrivals hall about 30 minutes after landing. A pleasant surprise after all the negative reviews.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"this is the worst airport I have ever been to"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travel often for work and I have to say that this is the worst airport I have ever been to. The queues were extremely long and slow. I understand the workers are overworked and tired but this is unacceptable. The rest of the airport was depressing….if you can, try to avoid it at all cost.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this disaster of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Reviews hold very little weight...but if I can convince one person to change their plans and avoid this disaster of an airport then it'll be worth it. We stood with at least another hundred passengers for two and a half hours at passport control for a 1 and a half hour transfer window! Staff were useless and unhelpful. I asked one member of staff whether we've just been unlucky and was told it's been like this for months which begs the question why hasn't this mess been addressed? We then queued again for the transfer desk, only 75 minutes this time, rebooking the next available flight. So for the next 8 hours we mooched around the airport waiting for our next available flight and took in all the splendour of the shut retail units, dirty toilets and huge queues for food. I've travelled frequently through Schiphol regularly over the last 25 years and always thought is was decent and could easily spend hours in between flights in the bars etc.. but not any more. I will now never fly KLM or use Schiphol if I can avoid it until they sort out this mess. I will now go through the process of claiming compensation for my delays. This cannot be a sustainable business model. If you want an example of how not to run an airport then now sadly Schiphol is the one for you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"expect long walks and difficult transit"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Not sure I can add much to the terrible reviews and PR this airport had gotten recently but will make a few comments. There isn't anything particularly good about Schipol. It's far too big, expect long walks and difficult transit, it's far too crowded and simply a sea of people that you cannot escape from and it's woefully understaffed. The immigration and security queues are embarrassingly long and slow. If you can avoid this airport you should.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I was shocked at the state of the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I used Schiphol at the end of October, the pros is that the airport has great transport links so easy to get into and out of. But that is it I used to love Schiphol, I was shocked at the state of the airport, no space, overcrowded. Trying to get any to find a seat was impossible, trying to buy a simple coffee was also impossible due the the ques at every outlet! Seriously it was an extremely poor airport, I often use Schiphol to connect to long haul flights but not sure if it is worth the hassle unless things get better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dysfunctional, dirty, overcrowded"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Last minute trip to Vienna via Amsterdam. Schiphol is dysfunctional, dirty, overcrowded - none of the airport's services functions well. Restaurants totally full, not possible to buy even bottle of water due to enormous queue to the cashier. You can find the toilets on the basis of smell.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"SkyPriority check-in and security clearance worked wonders"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Schiphol has had enormous staff problems, both at security and at luggage handling. This trip I have seen none of those problems. SkyPriority check-in and security clearance worked wonders, in all it took me perhaps 25 mins. Plenty of time for the lounge. Tip for business class travelers (also for other airlines than skyteam, e.g. Lufthansa what I experienced in October): you can also go through fast priority security clearance. Don't be shy not to ask a staff member. They will gladly point you where to go. This can save you from having to queue up the sometimes long lines for economy, although they are slowly thankfully getting better too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"they closed the Restaurant"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We ordered lunch and drinks at Silver Screen Restaurant and 10 minutes after we sat down, they closed the Restaurant and started cleaning the floors and tables around us. We were unable to refresh our drinks and were told there were other places to eat and drink. We found that other options (10 minute walk away) were also closing - at 2pm. Very poor, especially after many hours of travel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no