Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 642 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"there is no smoking area"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | The security was very fast and I like the fact that the baggage can be left at self check-in, there are many different station for fast check in which is a plus. Biggest problem is that after the security there is no smoking area and this is not stated anywhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airport at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Another week another flight to Schiphol. The flight was delayed at departure for 1.5 hours because Schiphol can’t cope with the incoming flights. What should be a 1 hour flight means 2.5 hours sitting on the aircraft and if this isn’t enough wasted time the queues at passport control is just a disgrace with hundreds of tired and weary passengers waiting in the terminal. We can’t even get downstairs to the line of hundreds more waiting to exit. Avoid this airport at all costs and if you have a connection flight give yourself lots of time. Gets my vote for the worst airport of 2024..
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“queues are unbearable”

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The queues at passport control are unbearable, it’s ridiculous that people have to snake round and round whilst only 2 people checked the passport for thousands of passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"have standards dropped"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Walk from the arrival gate to the exit is at least 2km and 50% of the escalators don’t work. Only 1 exit is open and the queue to passport control is enormous. I am a frequent travel and there was a point when I avoided Heathrow opting instead for the efficient Schiphol but goodness have standards dropped. I now rate Schiphol as the worst airport in Europe and if you can my advice is to avoid it like the plague it’s a disaster. You need to be fit and have plenty of time for waiting in queues
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

“Very poorly organised airport”

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very poorly organised airport, with long queues and passport control and security, little information and poor crowd control. People were getting visibly angry seeing banks of turned off passport control gates whilst waiting in a snail slow line for manual checks. Dark, gloomy and long walks to the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Best avoided if possible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | What used to be a very good and well managed airport is now frankly a zoo, planes take a good 20 minutes from landing to the terminal. It’s a huge airport and if you have any mobility issues you should avoid this airport but worse still is the queues at passport control which are in a different league and can easily take 1 to 2 hours to pass, due to the lack of staff often travelers can’t even access the passport control area and the queue starts in the terminal. Best avoided if possible
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not allowed to assist me"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I am in a wheelchair. Assistance requested when leaving states. In the states and Iceland there were lifts or ambulift to get me in and out of plane. Not in Amsterdam and then to top it off no elevator available or someone to assist me yo the lower baggage claim area! Personel were not able to help me. I had to walk down stairs and get someone to take my hand bagage down and my chair as personeel said they were not allowed to assist me.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"you are simply dumped"

(United States)

Trip Verified |   Today was our second time connecting to another flight through Amsterdam and each was terrible. The first was USA to Vienna via Amsterdam and today it was Prague to USA via Amsterdam. When you arrive you are simply dumped. There are no signs or people to tell you your next step to get to your connecting flight. So ultimately you discover that the reason for this is they make you leave the security area and come back through both customs and security regardless of where you came from or going! If you’re departing from or going to Amsterdam it would not be an issue but for goodness sake don’t connect here without a minimum of 3 or 4 hours between flights. Somehow all these years I have missed having to connect through Amsterdam and I will never do so again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"one major thing is missing"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | I think Schiphol is probably the best airport in the world with wide range of options for eating, resting shopping etc. However one major thing is missing - any sport facility for passengers in transit who want to get some exercise from the eating and drinking and sitting on the planes. It's certainly doesn't have to be top quality professional sports gym but basic equipment that could allow people to stretch and move their muscles more would be highly appreciated.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"too many flights cause delays"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | In general good airport, but too many flights cause delays Flying out around noon and had to wait 20 min in plane before start. There are lots of flights at this time and planes are waiting. Did I get that right - they plan a schedule that often not works, just to maximize revenues and profits, and don't care about customers?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes