Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 435 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Not a very good experience"

(United States)

NotVerified | Lack of monitors at arrival gates for connecting flights is dangerous for older passengers connecting to other cities. Then gate was changed without any PA announcement. Not a very good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Good "a well-organised and customer friendly airport"

(Netherlands)

NotVerified | Good experience. Security screening in hall 3 is very efficient and stress-free, you no longer need to take any liquids, laptops, etc. out of your bag and can keep your belt and watch on. Staff friendly. Queue for passport control a bit longer but easily manageable (although the staff redirecting passengers to the right queue could be a bit more efficient). Good impression of shops and cafés in G/H pier area, modern and clean toilets. Boarding for my easyjet flight from the H-pier fast and efficient. Overall, especially considering it's size and the number of passengers using it, a well-organised and customer friendly airport. If management could ensure all the travelators and escalators worked all the time, it would be even better!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"very limited vegan options"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | There are very limited vegan options in Departures 2. It is very frustrating that in general there is a lack of diversity in the food selection in this area of the airport, especially given the size of the airport. It is even more disappointing that almost none of the food vendors have vegan options.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"What a complete nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What a complete nightmare. It took 40 minutes to get through security, they briefly shut off security, leaving me and my mum standing without so much as an explanation. Furthermore, having to walk from one side of the airport to the other for the departure gate is an absolute joke. The only decent thing I have to say is the signs are okay and they have a good selection of restaurant I suppose. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"nightmare to try and navigate"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a nightmare to try and navigate. Arriving by train and then trying to find the check in area is a comedy of errors. You have to exit the terminal and walk outside to a completely different terminal and then walk all the way back to the original terminal where you just came from?! But, only in the morning (what we were told). When you approach the security checkpoint they have bins to throw away your liquids and after you have done so, a man posted there informs you that you now don't have to get rid of liquids any more (news to me). I watched him tell everyone after they had pitched their water in the bins?! Security tells you not to take your belt off at the scanner machine and then I got rubbed down and told "next time take every thing off" by the following guy. Then get to your gate area (if you can find it) and enjoy the claustrophobia of the boarding areas with no restrooms and barely any seating. I have decided to just avoid AMS at all costs in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"incredibly rude to myself and my travel partner"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I was in the Amsterdam airport on 20 July 2019 going through the security check point near ‘gate M’ where the male security person was incredibly rude to myself and my travel partner. The way he spoke to both of us and how he mocked me to his colleague was unacceptable! I was very disappointed with the treatment by this staff member in this airport. The staff at the security gate should receive some training on developing skills when communicating with travellers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"all the signages are clear"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Passport check had a long queue but it moved fast enough to catch my flight. From international arrival to Schengen area departure, the security check was very careful and it took around 30 minutes including opening my backpack. The airport is big but all the signages are clear and easy to find directions wherever you want to go. Public toilets are a bit lame compared to such a scale of the airport. However, the wifi service didn't work out according to the instruction due to some technical bugs I guess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
7/10

"nice number of shops"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Very busy airport, but is well connected to the trains. The airport is busy but has a nice number of shops. We had to walk quite a distance to find check-in 1A from the train station. Staff are friendly and professional. Not enough seats though. It would be good if the airport has more seats at the boarding gates
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"long lines of baggage check in"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We missed a flight connection due to long lines of baggage check in. Our lay-over was 2 hrs 10 min. but the KLM agent who informed us the flight was no longer taking bags said 3 hrs is what they recommend for changes involving passport verification bag retrieval and re-check in. The result was our having to purchase new flights back home
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"treated with such disdain by staff"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | To begin with all the important stuff, security, passport control etc is fine. However the hospitality services are universally dreadful. I travel from Schiphol regularly and have probably dropped into most of the eateries for a drink and occasionally some food. The quality of the produce varies but the service is so lax it’s apparent that the staff in every outlet hate their jobs and really aren’t bothered that people are there to catch planes. Schedules are tight, service doesn’t match. This fact also stretches to some of the gate staff. During one departure a passenger had vomited on the floor at the gate. People were forced to move away the smell was so awful. On informing the gate staff I was literally told it “wasn’t their job” to sort the situation and when I pushed the issue was openly treated with contempt and laughed at. Airports are supposed to be places that put you at your ease and for many people are the places from where begins a well earned holiday. To be treated with such disdain by the majority of staff is quite unforgivable especially considering the amount of money we spend there. To end on a lighter note the staff on the makeup counter in Duty Free were a delight when I asked for help with buying gifts for my daughters. So it’s not all bad, but what is substandard takes the shine off the good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no