Amman Queen Alia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"traveller friendly"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | The best airport with the best wifi. Very traveller friendly. Toilets are very clean, many smoking accommodating areas. The duty free a bit expensive than others but understood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"always face the same problems"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | As a frequent flyer through this airport, arriving at this airport I always face the same problems. The border control is the best part of this airport, because of the employees. Other than that everything else is a chaos. Business luggage is always delivered as the last bags in the queue. Not to mention that they might search your bags before delivering it on the belt, which is ok, but if they find something suspecios, they leave you waiting for your bag until all bags are delivered and then call you to come check your bag, wasting an hour of your time for nothing. You can smell the bathrooms 3 miles away and they are really dirty. Then when you leave at the declaration point they are nice but you might have to throw all of your bags at the belt with other 200 bags for search, which this should be random search!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is average in my opinion"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is average in my opinion. I have travelled to and from it multiple times and have never experienced any real issues. Upon arriving here, getting an on arrival visa is easy. There are mobile phone offices and a WHSmith outside the departure lounge. The taxi stand is easily accessible with clearly marked prices. There are a few currency exchange offices. Departing from here is again fair with checking in and immigration being hassle free. There are a few restaurants here ranging from McDonalds to local cuisine but it's mostly fast food. There is free Wi-Fi at the airport but it's quite slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"It is a dull airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I spent here five hours for a stopover. It is a dull airport. Food is expensive and mediocre, server chose to finish other work before serving me. Alcohol is available but very expensive. For loading the battery of my mobile phone, there was no converter from English power plug to normal power plug available, so I had to buy one from the one and only electronics shop on the airport. The lady at the shop knew little about her products. The e-mail I sent to the hotel at the aitport was not answered. For a five hour stopover, it is not doable to go into town, if only due to (expensive) visa requirements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"They were awful and rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrival was great, friendly people no issues. Departure started out that way, check-in, passport control were both so friendly. Then I got to security. The worst experience I’ve ever had at any airport in the world. I am diabetic. I wear an insulin pump. After explaining several times that it cannot go through the x-ray and metal detectors and having to almost physically take it from them to keep it away from there they finally cleared it. Then they went through every single item in my purse and backpack. Had to explain 3x what a pen was. And then they said I could not carry my insulin or supplies on the plane but that I would have to check those in. Anyone who travels with medication knows you carry your meds w/you in case your bags get lost. With insulin this is even more pertinent due to the nature of the medicine and the exorbitant cost if it were lost. They said I could only take what I needed for the flight. Again I had to explain why that wasn’t acceptable. More harassment, threats that I couldn’t carry it and being told for 20+ minutes “one more minute”. Finally someone said it is policy not to allow those things on board and the airline would have to sign off. Which they did immediately. When I mentioned that none of it was dangerous they said it’s not about danger. Really? Then why, with copies of prescriptions and doctors notes is it not allowed on board. The guy going through my bag almost broke my camera and two ornaments as well and kept wiping his nose and touching my stuff after I repeatedly asked him not to and to get someone else with clean hands to finish the job. I waited there in total 30 minutes. They were awful and rude and two men claimed not to know English, after already speaking to me in English. Get it together Amman airport security. 176 countries are trained to know how to handle diabetic insulin pumps and supplies. In the last 4 months I’ve traveled to 13 and have not had an issue like this. I’ve been diabetic for 25 years and have never had an issue like this. Nearly ruined my experience in Jordan. Worst airport experience ever in life.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"good shopping and facilities"

(Saudi Arabia)

Unverified | Amman is a good overall airport, good shopping and facilities, clean, good WiFi but few restaurants. There is an excellent service called Tikram, it's a paid service to help you in airport. Fast time to receive your luggage and many lounges and stores.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a lot of incompetence"

(Papua New Guinea)

A lot of incompetence, otherwise a nice modern airport. The airport looks great as you taxi up at night. A long walk to immigration and then the “Visa purchase” queue - which includes using the Jordan Pass - had one-hour queues. Two people (one for the visa, one for the immigration clearance), both very slow. Then I was sent to a manager for a problem with the Jordan pass, then cleared and sent back. It took me nearly 2 hours overall and was a good introduction to the abysmally low service standards in Jordan. My hotel pickup driver had left by then but don’t bother with a pickup for anywhere nearby - the airport taxi service is well organised and has fixed rates to various places, e.g., JOD18 to the First Circle, although the bellboy will want some baksheesh. There is one ATM before the visa counters, then a duty free shop by the luggage carousels, then ATMs, forex, phone shops, car rental and cafes once you’re out. Departure was better. Well, first I had to spend ages dropping off the rental car and telling Avis about the dodgy brakes, the shredded spare tyre and the lack of a fire extinguisher, which is required by Jordanian law. Then the Qatar Airways check-in was pretty slow, despite having more than 10 counters open. But emigration and security was fast and friendly and there are plenty of the usual shops afterwards. But there are no signs for toilets - you have to start walking out to the gates before you see any.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a bizarre experience"

(United Kingdom)

Our second visit but the first to the revised airport. It is spacious and modern, a good first impression upon landing. However we arrived on a late flight, entering passport control around midnight. There were two queues of people looking to get through and to buy a £40 visa on entry, and another which was for those that had a visa already. I strongly recommend getting your visa in advance. The immigration staff on the desks were slow and in no hurry to help open other desks to speed up the processing. There were elderly and young children standing for more than an hour while the staff chatted, walked about and observed the queues. My wife who understood that she needed a visa too was asked where she was from and then told she didn't need a visa after which she was led off to a different desk manned by four staff. I eventually got through, meanwhile my wife was still being questioned and it turned out that they were fascinated by her name! A bizarre experience, and one that makes you appreciate the staff at UK and many other airports that take pride in their job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"very good facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Amman is an excellent airport with very good facilities. Open plan seating makes it easy to enjoy your wait for your flight rather than heading to the gate early and then having no facilities to pass the time. Clean and tidy with people constantly mopping for the 3 hours I waited there. Very helpful staff and clear directions and signage make it simple to navigate around. Duty free shops are top class.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"numerous options for food"

(United States)

This airport is very modern and there are numerous options for food at a reasonable price. There are enough instructions in Arabic and English to find your way. One setback is that there aren't coolers and you have to purchase bottled water from shops. Additionally you cannot bring water bottles to your flights traveling to the US (and maybe Europe). However it remains one of my favorite airports.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews