Amman Queen Alia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 64 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"extremely negative experience"

(Lithuania)

Trip Verified | We had extremely negative experience with Queen Alia airport security service at afternoon 11th March 2019. Despite of proper packaging (according to internationally accepted requirements – 100 ml one item max volume, 1 liter/person in special bags) of Dead Sea cosmetics in our hand luggage, these items were confiscated by security. Explanation of such action - “new” rules, recently issued specifically for this airport, do not allow carrying of Dead Sea products in hand luggage?! Security officers could not provide us with official document (printed, online etc.) on that matter. However we received clear proposal to buy the same products in duty free shop – three times higher price. Unofficial agreement between security and duty free shop is very likely. Communication and confiscation process was realized in unacceptable and rude manner. Nice building, but obscure, not transparent procedures and actions. Airport administration and customer service stay away – security actions are sacred and indisputable. Surely there is inhospitable place for visitors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Good experience"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | Good experience, beautiful airport, kind staff, perfect gates, it's really a good airport which will achieve more success in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Better to find another place to transit"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Free WIFI. Security scan just took my lens blower because it is dangerous? Sign on gate told people to board plane but ground service just let people wait for no reason. Better to find another place to transit. Battery cannot be in carry-on baggage here. It needed to be in checked baggage.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"55 minutes for baggage"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Everything generally fine but waiting 55 minutes for baggage is unacceptable. This is not the first time either. Please QAIA get your baggage handlers to improve. Otherwise a decent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent staff"

(Spain)

Not Verified | The worst airport ever! It's shiny looks nice but I've never meet such an incompetent staff and Im traveling a lot. I enter here from Muscat only to transfer to Warsaw. They said to me I have to pick up the baggage and check it in again. But for do that I have to pass the passport control that was the most rude staff I have ever meet working in the custom chamber. To get any information they send me from one point to other like a fool. I meet lot more unfriendly staff and finally I have to buy a visa that is 40$ just for entering taking bag and check it in again. The most ridiculous thing in the world. That way my foot will never come back to this country. And I will never recommended to come here to anyone. But you are lucky you earn 40$for nothing.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"traveller friendly"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | The best airport with the best wifi. Very traveller friendly. Toilets are very clean, many smoking accommodating areas. The duty free a bit expensive than others but understood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"always face the same problems"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | As a frequent flyer through this airport, arriving at this airport I always face the same problems. The border control is the best part of this airport, because of the employees. Other than that everything else is a chaos. Business luggage is always delivered as the last bags in the queue. Not to mention that they might search your bags before delivering it on the belt, which is ok, but if they find something suspecios, they leave you waiting for your bag until all bags are delivered and then call you to come check your bag, wasting an hour of your time for nothing. You can smell the bathrooms 3 miles away and they are really dirty. Then when you leave at the declaration point they are nice but you might have to throw all of your bags at the belt with other 200 bags for search, which this should be random search!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is average in my opinion"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is average in my opinion. I have travelled to and from it multiple times and have never experienced any real issues. Upon arriving here, getting an on arrival visa is easy. There are mobile phone offices and a WHSmith outside the departure lounge. The taxi stand is easily accessible with clearly marked prices. There are a few currency exchange offices. Departing from here is again fair with checking in and immigration being hassle free. There are a few restaurants here ranging from McDonalds to local cuisine but it's mostly fast food. There is free Wi-Fi at the airport but it's quite slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"It is a dull airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I spent here five hours for a stopover. It is a dull airport. Food is expensive and mediocre, server chose to finish other work before serving me. Alcohol is available but very expensive. For loading the battery of my mobile phone, there was no converter from English power plug to normal power plug available, so I had to buy one from the one and only electronics shop on the airport. The lady at the shop knew little about her products. The e-mail I sent to the hotel at the aitport was not answered. For a five hour stopover, it is not doable to go into town, if only due to (expensive) visa requirements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"They were awful and rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrival was great, friendly people no issues. Departure started out that way, check-in, passport control were both so friendly. Then I got to security. The worst experience I’ve ever had at any airport in the world. I am diabetic. I wear an insulin pump. After explaining several times that it cannot go through the x-ray and metal detectors and having to almost physically take it from them to keep it away from there they finally cleared it. Then they went through every single item in my purse and backpack. Had to explain 3x what a pen was. And then they said I could not carry my insulin or supplies on the plane but that I would have to check those in. Anyone who travels with medication knows you carry your meds w/you in case your bags get lost. With insulin this is even more pertinent due to the nature of the medicine and the exorbitant cost if it were lost. They said I could only take what I needed for the flight. Again I had to explain why that wasn’t acceptable. More harassment, threats that I couldn’t carry it and being told for 20+ minutes “one more minute”. Finally someone said it is policy not to allow those things on board and the airline would have to sign off. Which they did immediately. When I mentioned that none of it was dangerous they said it’s not about danger. Really? Then why, with copies of prescriptions and doctors notes is it not allowed on board. The guy going through my bag almost broke my camera and two ornaments as well and kept wiping his nose and touching my stuff after I repeatedly asked him not to and to get someone else with clean hands to finish the job. I waited there in total 30 minutes. They were awful and rude and two men claimed not to know English, after already speaking to me in English. Get it together Amman airport security. 176 countries are trained to know how to handle diabetic insulin pumps and supplies. In the last 4 months I’ve traveled to 13 and have not had an issue like this. I’ve been diabetic for 25 years and have never had an issue like this. Nearly ruined my experience in Jordan. Worst airport experience ever in life.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews