Amman Queen Alia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst Airport ever encountered"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | With a wife and 2 minor children I travelled through this poor excuse of an airport simply en route to Egypt and Turkey respectively. Let's begin with the first day in July where naturally two minors fell asleep on the Royal Jordanian flight. Cabin crew were brilliant and suggested we take the food packs for the children to eat whilst waiting at the airport. Once there, we were sent from one place to the next, received by a group of Male staff near x-ray machines commenting in Arabic amongst themselves in a derogatory fashion about the women they saw like a pack of teenage adolescents with no professionalism. Once greeted by them, lo and behold they confiscate the airline's own sealed pre-packaged food trays. Then, over the moon with their accomplishment, thinking nobody but them understands Arabic, they giggle at one another and say "let's take their water bottles too (airline provided whilst leaving the plane and unopened!) and say it's a security matter". What I can say other than the fact they have to be the worst, most rude and undignified pack of so-called security staff I have ever encountered and I travel the world! Needless to say the other airports visited in the same trip, Cairo and Istanbul were 5 star, Amman desperately need to emulate and Royal Jordanian really need to take such complaints forward as it doesn't help them either. Returning in August, experienced the same with airport security staff, so this time I passed them a little extra food purchased specifically for them and told them so to prove a point! This time the rabid dogs had a female employee arguing with her colleague in Arabic at the top of her voice regarding her rota. If you use the Airport lounge in Amman as we did, be prepared to be charged fraudulently and expect your belongings to go walkies if you don't have a guard dog! Worst Airport ever encountered.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely negative experience"

(Lithuania)

Trip Verified | We had extremely negative experience with Queen Alia airport security service at afternoon 11th March 2019. Despite of proper packaging (according to internationally accepted requirements – 100 ml one item max volume, 1 liter/person in special bags) of Dead Sea cosmetics in our hand luggage, these items were confiscated by security. Explanation of such action - “new” rules, recently issued specifically for this airport, do not allow carrying of Dead Sea products in hand luggage?! Security officers could not provide us with official document (printed, online etc.) on that matter. However we received clear proposal to buy the same products in duty free shop – three times higher price. Unofficial agreement between security and duty free shop is very likely. Communication and confiscation process was realized in unacceptable and rude manner. Nice building, but obscure, not transparent procedures and actions. Airport administration and customer service stay away – security actions are sacred and indisputable. Surely there is inhospitable place for visitors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Good experience"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | Good experience, beautiful airport, kind staff, perfect gates, it's really a good airport which will achieve more success in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Better to find another place to transit"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Free WIFI. Security scan just took my lens blower because it is dangerous? Sign on gate told people to board plane but ground service just let people wait for no reason. Better to find another place to transit. Battery cannot be in carry-on baggage here. It needed to be in checked baggage.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"55 minutes for baggage"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Everything generally fine but waiting 55 minutes for baggage is unacceptable. This is not the first time either. Please QAIA get your baggage handlers to improve. Otherwise a decent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent staff"

(Spain)

Not Verified | The worst airport ever! It's shiny looks nice but I've never meet such an incompetent staff and Im traveling a lot. I enter here from Muscat only to transfer to Warsaw. They said to me I have to pick up the baggage and check it in again. But for do that I have to pass the passport control that was the most rude staff I have ever meet working in the custom chamber. To get any information they send me from one point to other like a fool. I meet lot more unfriendly staff and finally I have to buy a visa that is 40$ just for entering taking bag and check it in again. The most ridiculous thing in the world. That way my foot will never come back to this country. And I will never recommended to come here to anyone. But you are lucky you earn 40$for nothing.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"traveller friendly"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | The best airport with the best wifi. Very traveller friendly. Toilets are very clean, many smoking accommodating areas. The duty free a bit expensive than others but understood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"always face the same problems"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | As a frequent flyer through this airport, arriving at this airport I always face the same problems. The border control is the best part of this airport, because of the employees. Other than that everything else is a chaos. Business luggage is always delivered as the last bags in the queue. Not to mention that they might search your bags before delivering it on the belt, which is ok, but if they find something suspecios, they leave you waiting for your bag until all bags are delivered and then call you to come check your bag, wasting an hour of your time for nothing. You can smell the bathrooms 3 miles away and they are really dirty. Then when you leave at the declaration point they are nice but you might have to throw all of your bags at the belt with other 200 bags for search, which this should be random search!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is average in my opinion"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is average in my opinion. I have travelled to and from it multiple times and have never experienced any real issues. Upon arriving here, getting an on arrival visa is easy. There are mobile phone offices and a WHSmith outside the departure lounge. The taxi stand is easily accessible with clearly marked prices. There are a few currency exchange offices. Departing from here is again fair with checking in and immigration being hassle free. There are a few restaurants here ranging from McDonalds to local cuisine but it's mostly fast food. There is free Wi-Fi at the airport but it's quite slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"It is a dull airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I spent here five hours for a stopover. It is a dull airport. Food is expensive and mediocre, server chose to finish other work before serving me. Alcohol is available but very expensive. For loading the battery of my mobile phone, there was no converter from English power plug to normal power plug available, so I had to buy one from the one and only electronics shop on the airport. The lady at the shop knew little about her products. The e-mail I sent to the hotel at the aitport was not answered. For a five hour stopover, it is not doable to go into town, if only due to (expensive) visa requirements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 65 Reviews