Amman Queen Alia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport treatment"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Just had an international flight with a short layover at Amman. We had to stay overnight because our flight was delayed and we missed the connection which is fine. However, when my group went through customs they took everything out of our baggage and questioned us about every piece, and destroyed right in front of us no less than 5 expensive souvenirs from Egypt including carved alabaster, special stone, etc. and they didn't care. Then they decided my bag had sand in it (I collect little vials of sand from destinations) and that is unacceptable in a carry-on so they walked me out to force me to check my carry-on bag. Which, since it's now a checked bag after being thoroughly checked at customs, it got checked again. This time they destroyed some glass pyramids. This was absolutely the worst airport treatment I've ever had at any location and I will absolutely not take another flight that lands in Amman ever again. Take your service elsewhere if you carry anything valuable or sentimental.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"rated this airport very positively"

(Qatar)

Not Verified | Clean, all services were very good. I have used this airport more than a hundred times, always as expected, need more staff to help travelers, but as an overall experience I rated this airport very positively.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"staff not friendly at all"

(United States)

Not Verified | Extremely poor seating, staff not friendly at all. Flight kept getting delayed but I only knew because of my app. Not one single person would provide an update for the flight at all, we just kept sitting there not knowing when it was going to take off. Not too mention I had to wait an extra 20 minutes for the security to swab my laptop (they didn’t have the tool to swab it). When they swabbed it for residue they swabbed mine alone with three others on the same swab. What would happen if one of the laptops hit positive and they transferred it to my laptop?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst Airport ever encountered"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | With a wife and 2 minor children I travelled through this poor excuse of an airport simply en route to Egypt and Turkey respectively. Let's begin with the first day in July where naturally two minors fell asleep on the Royal Jordanian flight. Cabin crew were brilliant and suggested we take the food packs for the children to eat whilst waiting at the airport. Once there, we were sent from one place to the next, received by a group of Male staff near x-ray machines commenting in Arabic amongst themselves in a derogatory fashion about the women they saw like a pack of teenage adolescents with no professionalism. Once greeted by them, lo and behold they confiscate the airline's own sealed pre-packaged food trays. Then, over the moon with their accomplishment, thinking nobody but them understands Arabic, they giggle at one another and say "let's take their water bottles too (airline provided whilst leaving the plane and unopened!) and say it's a security matter". What I can say other than the fact they have to be the worst, most rude and undignified pack of so-called security staff I have ever encountered and I travel the world! Needless to say the other airports visited in the same trip, Cairo and Istanbul were 5 star, Amman desperately need to emulate and Royal Jordanian really need to take such complaints forward as it doesn't help them either. Returning in August, experienced the same with airport security staff, so this time I passed them a little extra food purchased specifically for them and told them so to prove a point! This time the rabid dogs had a female employee arguing with her colleague in Arabic at the top of her voice regarding her rota. If you use the Airport lounge in Amman as we did, be prepared to be charged fraudulently and expect your belongings to go walkies if you don't have a guard dog! Worst Airport ever encountered.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely negative experience"

(Lithuania)

Trip Verified | We had extremely negative experience with Queen Alia airport security service at afternoon 11th March 2019. Despite of proper packaging (according to internationally accepted requirements – 100 ml one item max volume, 1 liter/person in special bags) of Dead Sea cosmetics in our hand luggage, these items were confiscated by security. Explanation of such action - “new” rules, recently issued specifically for this airport, do not allow carrying of Dead Sea products in hand luggage?! Security officers could not provide us with official document (printed, online etc.) on that matter. However we received clear proposal to buy the same products in duty free shop – three times higher price. Unofficial agreement between security and duty free shop is very likely. Communication and confiscation process was realized in unacceptable and rude manner. Nice building, but obscure, not transparent procedures and actions. Airport administration and customer service stay away – security actions are sacred and indisputable. Surely there is inhospitable place for visitors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Good experience"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | Good experience, beautiful airport, kind staff, perfect gates, it's really a good airport which will achieve more success in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Better to find another place to transit"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Free WIFI. Security scan just took my lens blower because it is dangerous? Sign on gate told people to board plane but ground service just let people wait for no reason. Better to find another place to transit. Battery cannot be in carry-on baggage here. It needed to be in checked baggage.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"55 minutes for baggage"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Everything generally fine but waiting 55 minutes for baggage is unacceptable. This is not the first time either. Please QAIA get your baggage handlers to improve. Otherwise a decent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent staff"

(Spain)

Not Verified | The worst airport ever! It's shiny looks nice but I've never meet such an incompetent staff and Im traveling a lot. I enter here from Muscat only to transfer to Warsaw. They said to me I have to pick up the baggage and check it in again. But for do that I have to pass the passport control that was the most rude staff I have ever meet working in the custom chamber. To get any information they send me from one point to other like a fool. I meet lot more unfriendly staff and finally I have to buy a visa that is 40$ just for entering taking bag and check it in again. The most ridiculous thing in the world. That way my foot will never come back to this country. And I will never recommended to come here to anyone. But you are lucky you earn 40$for nothing.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"traveller friendly"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | The best airport with the best wifi. Very traveller friendly. Toilets are very clean, many smoking accommodating areas. The duty free a bit expensive than others but understood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews