Almaty Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 31 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I was most disappointed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | My first time transiting in Almaty. Kazakhstan, being an resource rich country, I expected that the airport of their largest city to be at least an international airport. I was most disappointed. 1) The business class lounge - guests must pay $26/pax to have snacks. All drinks are chargeable except for hot water, tea and instant coffee. There is no shower and no service. The ladies who work there really could not be bothered to serve anyone except to remind any guests who walk nearby the snack table that the snacks were chargeable. And guests are not allowed to bring drink/food from outside. Air Astana really needs to build their own lounge instead of using one provided by the airport. Being a Emerald frequent flyer under One World, I know I am spoilt at the First Class Lounges around the world. But this lounge in Almaty borderlines to be offensive. 2) Stairs, stairs and more stairs. This airport cannot be used by those who have disability or travel with baby strollers. There are stairs everywhere - first down from the air-bridge to transfer security, then up the stairs again to the gates. There is actually an elevator - but their are locked and guests are not allowed to use it. 3) Limited choices of food - there is only snacks and coffees. Do not plan to have a dinner in this airport while waiting for your flight. 4) Service - Lack of it. The Air Astana team is helpful. But other than them, service is so poor from the security team, to immigration as well as the waiting staff at those food stalls. Overall - avoid this airport if you have a choice.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not good for transit"

(Cyprus)

Trip Verified | Not good for transit passengers. Staff are polite and helpful but nowhere to relax/sleep in a darker and quiet area. No ATMs/shops/food outlets, just a cafe upstairs. Toilets clean. Electric socket near where I was sitting didn't work. I obtained wifi with the help of someone as there seems to be no airport wifi. This lounge is just a square room, brightly lit, with toilets/chairs and a few coffee tables. Please improve our flying experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experienced huge crowds"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | The airport itself is very small. I experienced huge crowds at the entrance of the terminal for the first security check line. The same at the passport control. Waiting area for departure is too small. On the way to the aircraft you have to deal with no escalators and elevators are too small. Terminal announcements on the departing and arriving flights were made permanently, even if I was traveling internationally I was forced to hear information on domestic flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport itself is too small"

(Thailand)

Most of the flights use the gates, but even though they are empty many low-cost flights (all except Air Astana, Etihad etc) use the ramps. The staff were reasonably friendly, and the immigration process was no bother compared to Tashkent Airport. The airport itself is too small. One of my friends in Business class decided to not use the lounge because it was just rubbish. The staff don't really care if the people in the business class lounge talk loudly or anything. The airport's check-in could be improved, and the domestic arrivals hall has too many taxi drivers trying to find customers. Food choice is also limited, but the duty free was actually pretty decent. However, I would not use this airport again, but I have to next year.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lacks most of the conveniences"

(Malaysia)

Agree with other reports that this airport lacks most of the conveniences which a frequent traveller expects. What is worse is that the Airport authorities don't take any of these comments seriously. Even frequent travelers qualifying for a lounge are disappointed, as the lounge lacks free drinks, free food and internet access. The staff just does not care. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"needs care and an upgrade"

(France)

Small airport, somehow disorganised, rather confusing. Check-in area is confusing. 2 different zones, international and domestic. There is a customs check at the entrance of the international check-in zone but they don't check anything and you can walk in and out. The reason for these 2 check-in zones makes no sense. For bording gates yes it does. You never know what to expect after entering a new zone: will there be food? Drinks? For domestic there is not a lot after passing through security so my advice would be to get the food in the main hall. The domestic departure gates are separated into 2 zones: gates 2 to 6: avoid this hall even if your gate is there, they put the security scanners in this hall and it makes it noisy and busy. The second hall with gates 7 and 8 has more space and is quieter. The good: clean airport. WiFi is rather good, without need to sign in. The bad: the information office on arrivals that don't speak English. I ask where to take the bus and how the transportation system works, the officer hands me a phone number. Very useful! If you take public transportation, wait at the shuttle bus stop and take bus 92. No soap in the bathroom, no drying tissue, the hand dryer doesn't work. Somebody does not do their job here. The ugly: taxi drivers soliciting in the arrival hall and then again outside. This should not be tolerated by the airport management. Still a better airport than Astana, but needs care and an upgrade.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"services are almost non-existent"

(United States)

Almaty is among the worst airports I have ever visited. Jetways seem not to be used, requiring passengers to walk down shaky stairs, antique buses to the terminal. I thought this was the 21st century. Additionally just going to the transit area involves more red tape than immigration into many countries. Why would someone want to subject themselves to this? Services are almost non-existent, and lack of ATMs or even ability to use a credit card at anything other than the duty-free store makes getting food and beverage is quite difficult. WiFi access is abysmal. I spent over 2 hours trying to just get one phone connected to the WiFi. Even then it frequently disconnects. I would never come to this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a very basic airport"

(Thailand)

Almaty is a very basic airport - I was transiting from Astana-Tselinograd (domestic flight) to Bangkok (international flight), and in order to do this, you have to walk from one building to another one. Bad signage, quite dark at night. Very few facilities in the airport, waiting area crowded and not very comfortable. Free Wifi and good duty-free for drinks, at excellent prices. Announcements in English difficult to understand.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not so far from the city"

(France)

Small airport, not so far from the city, easy access. Not a new one. No good indication to knwo where to go when you arrive. Check in was quite quick. Lots of people for controls and stamps! After control, no real shops - one coffee. no problem for Check in . Not much of seats to rest.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very relaxing place"

(Kazakhstan)

As always a good simple airport to negotiate. Smoking areas by the gates which many airports could learn from to reduce delays. Friendly little cafe bars scattered about (the cheapest downstairs) which although expensive by Kazakhstan standards provide quality products and are spotlessly clean and tidy. Very relaxing place to depart from although the announcements are totally unintelligible
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews