Abu Dhabi Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 235 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"too small for the amount of traffic it receives"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Airport is too small for the amount of traffic it receives. Terminals are outdated and in need of upgrade. Layout is impractical. No flow through. Security area is a bottle neck. Severely overcrowded, slow, unfriendly and intimidating staff. Chaotic. Will never travel through here again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Transfer security is pure horror"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Transfer security is pure horror in the early morning hours, took 30-45 mins in a giant crowd in a long walkway without seeing the end. Don't want to know what would have happened if panic occured there. Airport is older and has clearly not been designed to handle the amount of passengers it‘s currently forced to do. Long, narrow, twisted walkways, confusing airport layout, insufficient and confusing signs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"security screening was horribly overcrowded"

(India)

Not Verified | Transiting through this airport was the worst thing that could have happened to me. The 2 times I landed here, the security screening was horribly overcrowded and no efforts were made to fastrack the process. Oddly enough, both the times we faced the exact same scenario, wonder if the authorities are aware of this clogging. The cherry on the cake was, the AC wasn't functional on a pretty warm night which made this whole experience a nightmare. Etihad is going to miss out on quite a few passengers if this issue isn't fixed which is a shame for a reputed airline.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"too small to support volumes"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This airport is just too small to support volumes. 3 out of my 4 flights were to/from a remote gate and this just takes up time. On top of that there was no priority security screening which again adds time. That said the buses were always waiting though on one of the transfers we sat there for 20 mins before leaving with doors open and a 34 degree day. Was travelling at a quiet time of year so the airport itself was quiet but at peak periods you can’t move freely around. New airport looks great and would hope there are less transiting problems when this opens. Shops are a bit limited. Would have expected far more options.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Terrible layout and architecture"

(Lebanon)

Not Verified | Claustrophobic and dizzying airport. Who’s great idea was it to put everything inside a circle. Terrible layout and architecture. The only good thing is the passive transit security. No problem transiting sealed wine bottles in my carry-on.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"place is severely overcrowded"

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | As usual arriving anytime after 7.30pm night time this place is severely overcrowded - for some reason we arrived at T1 yet on an Etihad Flight you should disembark at T3? At least we were lucky no bus. T1 security seems more efficient than T3 so was through this in around 5 minutes which is unusual here .. there is no fast track or business class lane here so be warned if you are a business class passenger .. then you have a walk to T3 which is fine but the air conditioning doesn’t work so the heat is still felt here on this walk. When arriving at T3 you just get hit with an overcrowded terminal with masses of people everywhere..... again using the toilets at gate 58 area it’s still well clean & no waiting. At this end of the terminal it’s less crowded with good working air conditioning so I waited for my connecting flight here.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Terminal 1 is particularly awful"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This airport became a mess in the morning at the time I think most of the international flights arrived. Shoes were supposed to be taken off at security check. Pathetic. Terminal 1 is particularly awful. Repugnant smell, over crowded and small. Once you enter T3 you feel like breathing again untill you reach the ground floor concourse which is again pitiful with insufficient seating space and gates too congested. Toilets were tidy though with regular cleaning. Please avoid this airport untill they open the new terminal which looked quite impressive from flight. Till then absolutely not recommended.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Couldn’t wait to get on the plane"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Possibly the worst international airport I have been through: Courtesy = 1/10 Scanning = 3/10 Restaurants = 0/10 Organisation = 1/10 Chaos = 10/10. Couldn’t wait to get on the plane.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"disorganised and unfriendly staff"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I travel a lot between Europe and Pacific Asia. Second time I transited through Abu Dhabi Airport and this was by far my worst experience in a so called "modern" airport: overcrowded airport, endless bus rides to and from the plane, disorganised and unfriendly staff, endless queues for security check, and even to go to the men's rooms (which are not that clean), lines, crowed, lines, lines, lines, even hard to know which lines goes to which gate! With so many poeple walking everywhere! 2 hours is very short for a tansit because such a poorly managed airport. First time I was in that airport it was a bit less busy but staff for security check at the gate was quite rude. A place to avoid when you have so many better options.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Hoping new airport is more spacious"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Arriving reasonably early from Melbourne at T3 which sadly we were as is the norm bused once again from a major destination from a faraway area & we must have got very lucky as the security control for transit passengers was virtually empty so it was a breeze of only 2 minutes to get through and done! At this time in the morning you can at least walk around the airport unhampered. I used the toilets next to gate 35 & they were clean & not crowded with passengers despite the gate being in use. WiFi here was awful though this time & just hanged for several minutes & sometimes disconnecting - early morning before 7.30am this airport is easy to move around but after that it’s back to being overcrowded with many morning flights scheduled to leave. Hoping the new airport when open is more spacious.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no