Xiamen Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"they are a 3rd rate airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Seattle to Manila via Xiamen. My wife and I planned a trip to the Philippines from Seattle and decided upon Xiamen Airlines Business Class. The routing was Seattle, Shenzen, Xiamen and Manila. We traveled late October 2018. The seating configuration in the Boeing 787, Business Class was 2-2-2. The seats were lay flat for sleeping, but unfortunately were leatherette covered which meant one would slide forward when seated upright due to the slippery covering. Lunch was served and I chose duck. This was the consistency of rubber and virtually inedible. The 12.5 hour flight was uneventful, however during this time the cabin staff barely checked on us. When they did, there was a distinct language problem. We couldn't understand them and they couldn't understand us! One would think when one is on a international flight a common understandable language should be used. When we arrived at Shenzen we had a layover of 2 hours during which time we had to clear Chinese Customs and Immigration. After this we had to wait in a departure lounge without being told anything about our next flight leg. There were about 12 onward passengers waiting for the next leg. Eventually we were told our boarding gate and ETD. The flight to Xiamen was around 1 hour. After arrival we had to pick up our luggage and we went to the Xiamen Airlines counter to get a hotel voucher as we had 20 hour layover. Xiamen Airlines to not have a hotel bus or any means to transport us to the hotel. We had to change money to get a taxi. This was an effort in its own right. We did leave some of our baggage at the left luggage office at the airport, which helped. The next day we caught a taxi back to the airport. We go through security on entry to the airport before checking in for our flight to Manila. I should mention that boarding to Manila like the short leg for Shenzen was chaos. No boarding by class or seating, just go for it! Service on board was almost like a domestic flight, again a language problem. We arrive in Manila after almost 36 hours after leaving Seattle. It was nice to experience the friendliness of Philippine Customs and Immigration. The return from Manila to Seattle every bit as bad as when we arrived late (11:30pm) in Xiamen we had to clear customs and immigration and by the time that happened it was around 2am banks were closed and we had now money for a taxi to the hotel we finally change $20 with a Xiamen Airline staff member and got to the hotel around 2:30 am. We were again routed via Shenzen and had to go through immigration and carry ALL bags through security. The flight back was slightly better, but there was still the language barrier. All in all the Xiamen Airlines experience was poor. The airline should make sure the cabin staff have sufficient English to carry out a basic conversation. The airline should upgrade all staff to a level of what is expected from a good international airline. At the moment they are a 3rd rate airline.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Manila via Xiamen
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"at a very cheap price"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Vancouver via Xiamen. Note that my rating here is for XMN-YVR, not considering SIN-XMN, and not taking into account the visa issues at XMN. If you are not a holder of one of the 53 countries' passports that qualify for visa exemption by the Chinese government, then you need to apply for a visa before flying. XMN does not offer visa services at the airport. The main reason for the need of a visa is, XMN does not have a usual transit arrangement, which usually doesn't require you to go through immigration. At XMN, in order to transit, you have to go through immigration, which means you are entering China and then leaving China officially, just to transit between flights. This is why people transiting with passports that do not qualify for visa exemption have to apply for visa. If you are unsure, please make sure you email your local Xiamen Air representatives to check. Regarding SIN-XMN, it was below average. It was an older aircraft, without individual IFE system. The stewardesses were willing to help and respond to demands, but they were typically brisk and curt with their responses. Food was okay, not remarkable. XMN-YVR was excellent. The economy seat was comfortable, and leg room was good. Food was excellent and more than sufficient. In fact, the stewardesses made rounds between meals to ask if people wanted snacks, like bread rolls, sandwiches, or peanuts. The stewardesses were very friendly and approachable, very willing to help the passengers. It is unfortunate that their command of the English language is below average, but if you speak Mandarin, then you are fine. All in, it was an excellent flight at a very cheap price. I think, if you are travelling on Xiamen Air's Boeing 787, then there is a good chance that your flight will be a very good one. But if you are travelling on Xiamen Air's older aircraft, then you may not get to experience the better side of the airline. Finally, there is no online check-in services for international flights for Xiamen Air. You can choose your seats only if you spend some money. Otherwise, you have to request for your seat at the counter at the airport. So, if you want to choose your seats, either pay for it, or go to the airport and check in early (I went 2.5hr before flight) to get the seats that you want.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Vancouver via Xiamen
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"tasty Chinese food"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Xiamen. The aircraft offers basic comfort and only overhead entertainment. I was impressed by the crew service - they were polite to the elderly folks onboard, checking on them and offering them blanket and pillow. The food is very local and tasty Chinese food, which I enjoyed. I will fly Xiamen Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Xiamen
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impressed by this airline"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Wuyishan. It's a leisure trip to visit the homeland of tea: Wuyishan, Fujian province. Xiamen Airlines does a twice weekly direct flight from Hong Kong. They deploy a small 737 aircraft. Similar to Malaysia airlines when using this small aircraft, 4 cabin crew work tirelessly to keep the journey smooth and comfortable. With one aisle and 3x3 seating, the pitch is quite comfortable. A simple hot meal (in the style of a bento box) is served, and is sufficient for a short 90 minutes journey. 2 rounds of drinks is a nice touch. Seat has no power outlet or personal, we were provided visual entertainment in the form of overhead TV, with mainly Chinese program. Luckily, since January, mobile phones in flight mode are now allowed to be used on board. So you can still listen to your favourite music, or watch your own videos etc., on your phone or tablets. That really help kill time. If there is one complaint, it's the excessively warm cabin temperature. I am impressed by this airline. I wouldn't mind trying them for long haul flights in future.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Wuyishan
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food was fantastic"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Fuzhou. The service in flight was good. The food was fantastic compare to Air China. Too many peoples onboard during the flight. We had to wait when we arrived Xiamen.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Fuzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"first airline to make me cry"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | In my entire life of flying cheap, this is the first airline to ever make me cry, out of frustration and feeling beaten up. Not once, but twice. Booked a trip from Sydney to Fuzhou via Kunming. I arrived at Sydney airport only to find out that my Fuzhou - Kunming has been changed (amusingly and amazingly) to earlier than my flight from Sydney. Talked to service desk, couldn't help, gave me a number to call. Called all the numbers he gave, none worked. Went on Google and called the number online. They speak Chinese in their automated voicing system. I had to get the guy from the service desk to go through it for me. Eventually answered but staff was so slow and gentle (my flight was in 2h). He tried to book my connecting flight 2 days later. I was crying so much, begging him that we have schedules booked and everyone will leave me behind. I don't speak Chinese and I don't know anyone. Finally managed to find me a flight the next morning. Put me on hold. Came back half an hour later saying their system crashed. Told me he couldn't help anymore, and that I have to hang up and call back and go through the line again. It was 1h before my flight and I still couldn't get my flight confirmed. I was crying so much that the guy at the service desk told me to charge some international calling on my phone and then he helped me call the airline in China. They got it sorted out in like 15min. I went through everything, got to the gate and my flight was annouced delay. For the return flight I went to the airport at 4am for my flight back at 7am. The girl at check in counter gave me 5 words of horror : "We can't find your flight" Turned out flight was cancelled (ah yes again) and have to take the one 5 hours later. Fine. Waited a few hours, went to check in again. This time there were 5 other words of horror: "Your passport number is incorrect." Uhm... Sorry? Double checked my booking. My passport was entered correctly. So imagine being by yourself, running around China airport trying to get this sorted when they don't speak English. No, seriously, save yourself the trouble and never fly with this airline. No matter how good their in-flight service is, it can't compensate all the time and emotions I have wasted on this. Never again. Period. I'm cheap but this is way beyond imagination. I am now making sure non of my friends or family is flying with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Fuzhou via Kunming
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"no personal TV"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Cebu to Xiamen return. Economy: food OK service okay but no personal TV. Business class: food OK service good but still no personal tv, I was given an ipad to watch movies.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCebu to Xiamen
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Better than Delta or United"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Manila via Qingdao. Most impressed. Better than any Delta or United flight I've ever used. I was fed many times and received respectful treatment. I was particularly impressed by Xiamen airport. The view from the taxi port was as stunning as a ranked wonder of the world. LAX was particularly unremarkable. For an international airport it was just pathetic. Maybe 40 years ago LAX's art deco design was charming, but it just looks like a roadside tourist trap now. Doesn't even have usable wifi or updated drinking fountains.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Manila via Qingdao
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"try to avoid Xiamen Airlines"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Fuzhou, and the experience is not good at all. It disappointed me a lot. I have to admit the food & beverage are decent. But I got cold before the flight so I tried to ask for a blanket from the cabin crew. The lady was not so nice and showed obvious impatience for such normal request; she told me she will remember but she never got back to me. The AC was strong and I had to suffer it for 3hrs.If possible, I will try to avoid Xiamen Airlines and also not recommend my friends to take it.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Fuzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"belligerent towards us"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Manila via Xiamen. Horrible service and no English. They lost my bags and didn't give compensation. 15% refund on being refused boarding without a reason. Worst airline. They pretend they can't understand English and care less about foreign travellers. Intentionally belligerent towards us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Manila via Xiamen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews