WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 787 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"literally beg to get me on that flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had a 2:15 fight so I got to airline at 10am. I was in line for 3 1/2 hours just to get my boarding pass. Once at the counter I checked my bag $42. I was told to drop off my bag at the international drop off. I went to drop off my bag and was told I couldn't because my flight was domestic first so I was sent to domestic drop off. They would not take my bag and sent me international again, keep in mind I had 30 minutes to get to my flight. They wouldn't take my bag and had to go back to domestic drop and the employee went with me. After they had it out. I tried to drop off my bag again and now the computer said it was too late I had to take it as a carry on. I took my bag and barely made it to my flight. I get to my layover destination on time with 30 minutes to run to my next flight. I get to my gate they tell me my flight was changed to the next day because my flight was 40 minutes late. I had so literally beg to get me on that flight. She finally did and guess what the seat in the middle was empty. There were many empty seats and they made it seem as though it was full. After all that. I got to my destination. I called customer service to get a refund on my bag that I had to carry on. I was on hold for 2 1/2 hours they told me no that they couldn't because they allowed me to carry it on the plane. Ridiculous.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Phoenix
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Next time I will book with a proper airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Four hours before flight departure, having already printed our boarding tickets, we received notice that the flight was canceled and they booked us on a flight the next day, on Canada Day. The whole reason for going to Quebec was to celebrate Canada Day there. Trying to get customer service I gave up after 54 minutes waiting. How does this company survive? Next time I will book with a proper airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Quebec via Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this was just an awful experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We were booked to fly from Toronto to Calgary and when I was trying to check-in I found our that the flight was cancelled. I called WestJet and was on hold from 9am to 3pm and the agent reply was that it should have been Delta Airlines that should have informed me about the cancellation. We were going for a function the next night and his offer was to fly our today at 10pm from Toronto to Edmonton at 10pm and wait in Edmonton for 6 hours to land in Calgary at 7am. The agent was absolutely rude and not helpful at all blaming the airport for the cancellation and further saying that I should have booked direct with WestJet not cash in Skymiles which really is my prerogative. Being on hold for over 6 hours to get an agent like this was just an awful experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Calgary
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I won’t travel with them again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The worst airline experience in my life. I checked in two suitcases and I paid for both. They checked in for me and my companion and the employee at the counter gave us seats 6 rows apart (although we checked in together). The flight time was delayed 3-4 times and we ended up with a total of 4 hours delay time before we enter the plane finally. We stayed in the plane an other half hour waiting for the crew to count the passengers because they were 2 passengers short. The seats were so old that the polyurethane foam was 1 centimetre thick and the feeling was the same with sitting on cement. The service included 1/2 a paper cup of a beverage and a tiny bag of pretzels or a cookie. That was everything. I won’t travel with them again.
AircraftDe Havilland Dash 8-400 Turboprop
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Winnipeg
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"rude and not caring at all"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Was flying home from a wedding and my original flight from London to Calgary was delayed by what was supposed to be 20 mins but ended up being 45 mins causing me to miss my connection in Calgary Alberta. They refused to help me with a hotel or even food vouchers for my overnight stay while waiting for my next flight! They were rude and not caring at all!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Ontario to Kelowna via Calgary
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lost my carry on luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | 37 days ago WestJet lost my carry on luggage. As I entered the plane I was approached by an attendant who let me know the plane was too full for my small gym bag. Meanwhile the overhead compartment was full of larger suitcase carry-ons, removing one would have added room for three gym bags. The flight attendant takes my bag and tells me it will be on the belt in luggage in Toronto. I told her, this plane may be going to Toronto but my final stop is Halifax. She proceeded to take my bag and as I looked past her into the back two staff members worked frantically with a large pile of bags. As someone who is a frequent flyer, I knew I was never going to see this bag again. I arrive in Halifax 3.5 hours later due to flight delays and sure enough no bag. I go to the WestJet Information desk to find out my bag was never assigned to me so I had to call a number. Next day I call this number, 2.5 hours on hold to get to a rep who tells me their system is down and she can’t file my claim to call back next day. 2.5 hour hold again and we file my claim. As per WestJet policy at 21 days I’m eligible for reimbursement, so I call and they apologize they are behind and I would be assigned to a claim representative. 5 days go by I get an email, in which I respond I don’t have my bag. Another two days later I get my reply with my claim email. I file it, 5 days go by and I email them back and get a poor ass excuse why I don’t have my claim, “we’re busy” “finding your in tagged bag is like a needle in a haystack”. I reply back extremely annoyed and I end up calling WestJet on Friday. I waited 3 hours this time to speak to someone who was actually fairly proactive. This rep tells him she’s on my file, answering my email and I should have an email shortly.  It’s Tuesday, no email, no claim reimbursement. Literally ignored. What I do have is a shortage of $1200 worth of my every day stuff I would love to replace. We are at day 37, 16 days past their own policy. I fly every airline many times A month for years. This was my first time with WestJet and the last. Before you make the decision to pick an airline, please understand this one does not respect their own policies. Everything was great until something went wrong. It has been officially hell. I have spent to many useless hours on a phone trying to get it sorted. They list them on their website and they are very clear. I have followed every single direction they have provided me to get nowhere. I have been nice and understanding this entire time which got me nowhere. I have learned that paying more to fly doesn’t mean anything.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrince George to Toronto via Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charging them 200.00 for overweight"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My family was 1hour and 45 minutes late leaving Montreal. Had to run to to catch connecting flight to Kelowna. They finally arrive but they lost both their suit cases. Took them two days to deliver the lost baggage. This is a quick trip of 5 days total for a wedding. They had to run around for 2 days trying to find clothes to wear not to mention wedding attire. Now that their returning home they are charging them 200.00 for overweight and refuse to give a receipt.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Kelowna
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Tried calling them multiple times with no assistance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We will never be flying WestJet again. We had to recheck our bags at Toronto airport on our way to Barcelona and they never arrived in Barcelona. We have filled out reports and called and checked the airport each day of our stay and there has been no news. Earlier they also rescheduled our flight over 24 hours from our original depart time so we had to reschedule a different flight that worked with our travel plans. Changing flights was a nightmare. Their customer service agents were very unhelpful and unsupportive to the changes that WestJet made to our flights. We are on a month trip in Europe from the states and now we will have to travel the rest of the trip with just our small backpacks. Very unsure if we will ever get our bags back. Tried calling them multiple times with no assistance. Absolutely terrible company and very little support that has caused us so much stress and has made us waste our time and money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Barcelona via Toronto
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I’ve been given the run around"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My flight was originally scheduled for Dublin but was cancelled. I was luckily able to get a flight to LGW but unfortunately my bag did not make it. I’m extremely frustrated as my baggage had close to $3000 CAD worth of personal items. I’m now left continuing onto Dubrovnik with nothing more than the clothes on my back. The disregard the WestJet employees treated me with in London is outrageous. I’m unable to contact anyone by phone as I’m international. I’ve been given the run around. No one will help me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to London via Toronto
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"treated us dismissively"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We are missing (so far) an entire day of our trip to London after WestJet canceled the first leg of our trip, refused to book us on another Airline leaving at the same time, and treated us dismissively when we sought alternatives. This used to be a good airline. IF they manage to get us to London, I cannot recommend flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to London Gatwick via Toronto
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no