WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 596 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"refused to offer me a refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | March 2018 I vowed never to fly with WestJet due to their terrible customer service and leaving passengers stranded in the middle of the night, resulting in missed connections. Fast forward a year and a half and I broke my promise because they were the only airline offering direct flights to and from Halifax - Vancouver. Several weeks after booking I was informed that my flights have been switched to go through Toronto. I didn't accept the changes. After 3 hours on hold I finally spoke with an agent who told me the have removed all direct flights and I will have to go through Toronto/Montreal/Calgary. All bad options. I decided to cancel my trip and the customer services rep refused to offer me a refund. Travel credit only. I spoke with her manager after and he said the same thing. When a company retracts a service without offering a reasonable replacement, it is time to offer the customer a refund. Very poor customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Halifax
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"offered a refund less $210"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Flight was cancelled because of Covid. Not anyone’s fault of course but we’re only offered travel vouchers. Because of our family situation this didn’t work for us and requested a refund. We have finally been offered a refund less $210. Last time we ever do business with WestJet again. We had another flight was with Delta which was cancelled and they happily refunded us our money.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Maui
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"are only offering me rewards"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Toronto. The airline cancelled my flight twice in light of covid19. It was fine. No problem. But, they withheld my payment and are only offering me rewards that i do not want. T They will not have my business again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"did not issue a refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | WestJet cancelled my flight and did not issue a refund as stipulated in their tariff. I paid in full and they will not issue a refund to my credit card. They won't answer email and phone calls go to a 600+ minute wait on hold. They are not to be trusted with your money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Liberia
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never receive my business again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Vancouver via Los Angeles. Westjet will never receive my business again. I have received refunds due to COVID 19 from the hotel and cruise line we booked our family vacation with, but Westjet stated that our tickets are nonrefundable and that they will only give us credit towards another international flight within the next two years. Although Vancouver airport is receiving passengers, you must be quarantined in your room for two weeks and no one wants to spend their whole vacation in a hotel room. Westjet and travel agencies have figured out a way to make money off the COVID 19 epidemic legally and it is by ripping off hard-working people with legal loopholes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Vancouver via Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"barriers put up to providing refunds"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | So much ill will generated with the artificial barriers put up to providing refunds - they are even holding on to the air taxes. My family and I received COVID-19 refunds from hotels, car rental, car insurance, Air Canada, Qantas, and ski passes. The only one holding out is WestJet. Hours spent holding for customer services, only to be lied to.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Calgary
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"look forward to travelling again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | There was a problem where the crew did not show up to take our flight. After a bit of chaos, dealing with WestJet at the airport we finally got onto a different flight out of Regina. Our trip turned out great, I am thankful to have booked Premium, because the airplanes were packed, and Coronavirus was just becoming an issue. I look forward to travelling again, but I hope the airplanes are not as crammed with people, and sanitation is improved.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRegina to Los Angeles via Edmonton
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"airline has done nothing positive"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This airline has done nothing positive in the covid related flights that were canceled. I have spoken to many people online and on the phone. Their online chat told me first I was to be issued a travel bank, then told me right after I was not, then told me I was then right after told me to contact the original form of booking and that she didn’t know. I spent $2000 and now it’s nowhere to be found. They cancelled my trip I did not.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownJune 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they only offer vouchers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very disappointed in this airline. We booked flights for a trip to France 3 months prior to the Covid-19 pandemic. Our flights to France were cancelled by the other airlines. Norwegian refunded our money immediately, but WestJet refuses to do so. For some reason they only offer vouchers for future flights. However, the flights were $1300 and we are strapped for cash at this time. This is utterly unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they charge $35 handling fee"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Ottawa to Edmonton with WestJet Airlines. What a company. In times of need, they are unreachable! Trying to cancel a round trip not only do they offer only a credit instead of full refund, they charge $35 handling fee per flight? What handling fee if I have to do it all myself on the website? What a rip off! I was never fond of this airline, and this situation just confirmed that!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Edmonton
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no