WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 712 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"annoyed by how the whole situation was handled"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst customer service! Arrived at the airport with an injury and requested assistance for luggage as I cannot lift heavy bags. The customer service rep insisted that I take my bags but I told her about my injury and she just says ok. Another person helped me out instead. Th service was abysmal and neither were they friendly and took too long to acknowledge travellers in line. Mind you we had arrived on time for the flight. Once checked in, I went to have my luggage searched and waited for the flight. Which got delayed for over 3 hours due to the weather. That wasn’t a problem, however the process in retrieving my bags after waiting for another 2 hours was exhausting. I return to the check in point and find other traveller as myself who missed their connecting flight. Only to find nobody available to assist with our flight that now is clearly cancelled. Then an email is sent with a new itinerary. Yet, nobody available in person or over the phone which now ends whenever you call their 888 number to have someone explain to us how to proceed. Now, with a second PCR test to be done within less than 24 hours at my cost and no promise of compensation if I file a claim, I’m stumped. I need medical care yet this airline has made me feel like it seems not to care. The frustration, the physical pain and lack of communication is deeply concerning and all at my expense! I’m absolutely annoyed by how the whole situation was handled!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"waiting 6 days for a call back"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Edmonton to Cancun. Get out before they go bankrupt. My review is going to be referring to the booking of WestJet vacations to Cancun, Mexico. I paid $12600 back in Sept 2021 for a Feb vacation (for 6 of us) to Cancun, Mexico. I ended up having to cancel yesterday the entire trip and here's why. I should also tell you first that I have flown with WestJet many times before the company went in the sewer. I originally booked and paid more for a direct flight. In November I was emailed a notice that my flight has changed. Now a 90 min stop in Vancouver. I accepted it even after waiting 6 days for a call back from WestJet (which was the soonest they had). Then last week I was emailed again. Now the flight changed to a 12 hr layover in Vancouver thus eliminating one entire day of vacation. That was unacceptable. But here's the kicker: I checked online and WestJet still had a direct flight to Cancun on the same day and at the same time as I originally booked. I waited 6.5 hrs on hold to finally talk to someone who said they couldn't put us on that flight even though they had more than enough seats. Unbelievable. This company will go bankrupt guaranteed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Cancun
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Overall poor performance"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Return itinerary from HNL to YLW (Kelowna) changed 4 times in month prior to departure date. Earlier departure essentially robbed me of an extra day in Hawaii. Flight uneventful from HNL to YYC except no food on board other than a bag of pretzels. Evening flight from YYC to YLW cancelled two hours prior to flight. Had unplanned overnight stay in Calgary but no accommodation or food vouchers from Westjet as they claimed cancellation was weather related. Weather was clear and AC flew same route at essentially same time. Flew the next morning but bag did not show up on turnstile as it had been sent to Kitchener. When it was eventually delivered 30 hours late it had been severely damaged and is now unusable. Overall poor performance from this airline that used to be a leader in the industry.
AircraftBoeing 737 Max
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Kelowna via Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No apology on their part"

(Canada)

Not Verified | On December 4, 2021 in Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada we arrived at the James Richardson Airport and approached the Westjet booth after waiting about twenty minutes. My partner and I gave the clerk our tickets and she said we were put on a flight the next day at five pm. We would have to pay for our own hotel and could not stay at the airport. She asked if we had relatives to stay with and we did not have any in the city. She said our flight was overbooked. I asked to speak to a manager and she said they would tell us the same think she said. I insisted and she said she would fly us to Calgary, on to Edmonton and then back to Toronto our destination. We accepted and waited at two airports for hours, first in Calgary and then Edmonton. My partner was not feeling well and we also had to endure a gate change and walking around airports to find our gates. A kind supervisor in Edmonton let us use a room to help my friend with a medical issue. In Calgary we spoke to somebody at the Westjet desk that said our flight was not overbooked. We didn't know who to believe. We took the redeye and arrived in Toronto at five am the next morning. I wrote a letter to Westjet over a month ago and received no response. Cannot get through to customer service at any time. Westjet has become a horrible airline since it was acquired by Onex Corporation. No apology on their part. Shame on them for not giving us the choice of flights home and not informing us of the changed flight. Perhaps they did not have enough people for full flight and just bumped us for that reason. we are not sure.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Toronto via Calgary / Edmonton
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Thanks for getting it back to me"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I flew from Nanaimo to Calgary via Vancouver over Christmas. On departure from Nanaimo I put my bag on a rack and forgot to pick it up in Vancouver. I submitted a claim to their baggage services and they searched for my bag. After one month to the day they found my bag and drove it to my doorstep, a two hour round trip with two ferry rides from the nearest airport. Thanks for getting it back to me!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNanaimo to Calgary via Vancouver
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"he really tried to help us"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We awoke today to find our flights for our work/leisure trip to Mexico had been changed and the new dates were unsuitable. After 3 hours on hold the agent answered the call but decided we were to hard to please so chose to hang up on us. We rang back and the new agent escalated our call to the customer satisfaction team. He was outstanding. He listened and actually showed empathy to our situation. There was give and take, but we felt he really tried to help us find a suitable outcome. Overall I'm less than impressed by WestJet, but customer service agents like Jonathan restore some faith in the system.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKelowna to Cancun via Vancouver
Date FlownDecember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"rebooked us at no charge"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My partner and I were flying back to BC from UK and we missed our connection to the WestJet flight, and our bags did too. An angel named Heather at Toronto Pearson WestJet customer service made an exception for us and "rebooked us on our Toronto-Calgary flight at no charge. As for our lost luggage, Westjet agents helped track the bags down and ensured that they got forwarded on to our final destination. Even better, they paid for the bags to be delivered to our house.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airline going"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline going. I had trouble booking ticket, price did not match booked price of ~230 per seat with bags/Taxes, but came up near double at the end of the booking procedure. Obviously some sort of system glitch. I tried phoning "Customer Service " after waiting 2+ hours, what a waist of time., I was given an option to get a call back 7 days later. I spoke to a rep eventually 7-8days later and she said she understands there was a system problem, but she could do noting about it. I asked to speak to "Guest Services' the next level up. She assured me I could talk with them and explain my case fully. I got a unfriendly letter/email from them about 2 days later saying they review my case and there is 'nothing that can be done- phone the Government regulator '. How odd is this. I never explained my case in full.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Cancun
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don’t fly with this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hands down the worst airline. Not trying to bash the kind ones that work here but the management is horrible. The airline only cares about making money and does not think twice to cancel your flight 3 times in one day and rebook you for later on in the week. Please stand up for yourself and your money because this airline will treat you like garbage. You will have stress and rescheduling nightmare around work, education, and arranging rides. Don’t ever count on your flight actually happening. Just don’t fly with this airline, save the stress and hassle.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Victoria
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"WestJet cancelled our connecting flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew from Victoria, Dec 4 at 10am to allow for airport Covid-19 tests. WestJet cancelled our 6pm connecting flight via email while we were waiting at the departure gate for Kauai. Having cleared US Customs and Immigration, we were blocked from leaving the departure gate area by Canadian security as we did not have the documentation to re-enter Canada. After 2 hours, Canadian security were able to find a WestJet person to get us back to the WestJet counter. We received no other information from WestJet. We had to wait 24 hours for the next flight. Our cost, a night in a hotel, a paid for night lost in Kauai, lost rental car reservation replace by a car at a higher price to avoid being stranded at the Lihue Airport with a 10.40 pm arrival. WestJet saved money by consolidating two under-booked flights. We are out about $1000. WestJet's reply after one month "Based on the details of your itinerary, we are unable to approve your claim for compensation as your flight was impacted due to flight crew member availability and was required for safety purposes."
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVictoria BC to Lihue, Hawaii via Vancouver
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no