WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1043 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"gesture is greatly appreciated"

(Canada)

Not Verified |   Just want to give a shout out to the Westjet pilot on flight 287 from Edmonton to Abbotsford for rescuing my iPad from a charging location within the terminal. I left my iPad charging while I waited for my flight and forgot it when I boarded the plane and sitting in my seat. The pilot was amazing - he went and found my iPad (where I left it) and returned it to me. The gesture is greatly appreciated and shows me the extent that someone will go to assist their customers under the circumstances. Thanks again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"it's such a bad experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | They canceled our flight 10 minutes before boarding, because of some unscheduled maintenance, and booked me to another flight 3 hr later. I paid on my initial flight to get business class, but when they cancelled my flight and out me in the other one I lost my business class seat, and now I need to call to have a refund. The lady at the counter said she couldn't do anything, so what's the point of having people in the front lines of they are not prepared to fix or give a proper solution. Don't travel with this airline, it's such a bad experience
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Winnipeg
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"didn’t get my 2 pieces of luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My flight had a delay from Vancouver because coffee maker wasn’t working and because of that delay, I didn’t get my 2 pieces of luggages at my final destination and now I have to wait 3 more nights for next flight to bring my suitcase for all personal and business essentials related.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Lloydminster via Calgary
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"kind, and conscientious employee"

(Canada)

Not Verified | On January 12th our flight had a 2 hour delay from PG. The Vancouver airport was overwhelmed with passengers needing assistance. We were fortunate enough to eventually find a wonderful young man who managed to get us on the red eye that night rather than getting sent to Mexico city. Many thanks to Sukhmanraj for his service. He was a most kind, and conscientious employee.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrince George to Puerto Vallarta via Vancouver
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"abandoned us at airport"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | They completely abandoned us at airport on Jan 13, 2024 when they had a hard time to manage their flight due to weather conditions. We literally hours on hold over phone ended up going to YVR and no one was there to manage the situation and answer passengers question properly. Their automatic stupid flight replacement had 2 extra stops and even that one got cancelled and we had no choice to cancel the vacation package that we book 6 months earlier as they had no other flight available for 2 days. And today, after almost 1 month they said only they will reimburse for the cancelled flight not for hotel reservation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Punta cana via Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shame on you Westjet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Calgary airport 2 hours before our flight departure to Cabo and given that from arrival to reaching the boarding gate takes half an hour on the busiest days, we thought 2 hours was enough time. However, when we reached the check in counter we saw a huge lineup. After standing in line for a bit, we realized since the line wasn't moving we were going to miss our flight. As a result, we walked up to the person managing the line and asked her if anything could be done and if we could get some help since we had a 3 year old traveling with us. To this, she flicked her hand and said "You should have come to the airport earlier so get back in line". Feeling helpless at this point, we went through the huge lineup and finally reached the counter when there was only 50 min remaining for the flight to depart and the lady at the desk told us that there is nothing she could do since the Westjet cutoff for bag drop was an hour and 15 min and that we should have just let the line manager know that we were going to miss our flight. To this, I told her that she asked us to get back in line in the rudest way possible. At this, she spoke with her colleague and we heard her say that that is why they were continuously rebooking and this is why the line wasn't moving. When we said we wanted to report the staff, she wrote her name on a piece of tag and gave it to us. And if she wasn't rude enough earlier, she snatched the piece of tag from my hand, told me "how dare I had her name written down", and then threatened me by asking her subordinate for my PNR number as if she was going to be taking it to some higher authority or something. The sense of entitlement she had and exercised was something I have never experienced ever in my 30+ years flying experience. It felt like she was doing a favor by helping us fly with Westjet and as if we were flying for free. I am appalled and felt humiliated by the behavior of the staff and I will make sure, I never fly Westjet again. I remember how they used to be good when they first started, but clearly, they have gone off the deep edge. Shame on you Westjet for treating your customers like no human should ever be treated!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to San Jose del Cabo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"WestJet has not refunded me"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I was booked on WS1936 out of Saskatoon to Las Vegas. Its 270km drive from home to the airport. By the halfway point of my drive, I got a text that my flight was delayed . By the 3/4 mark of my drive, my flight was delayed again. Westjet knew by this point that the flight would not go. When I got to the airport I was greeted by a hostess who told me my bag was too big for carry on. Funny thing is I've used the same bag for my last 6 flights without being harassed, so i pay 55$and check my bag. I got through security no problem. then flight delayed again and again, until we are told we will board and they will deice the plane and we have a 9 minute window to take off. As soon as we are boarded, they come in and cancel the flight. I go back to the desk and ask what to do. I'm told go home. Its 10:30 and -35 temp. I'm angry, I live 270 km away and I'm 70 years old, I dont want to drive in this. Their response "its not our fault". I make phone calls to cancel my hotel and car reservations, the hotel cancels no problem. The car rental wont give my money back. Its been 2 weeks and WestJet has not refunded me or given me another flight option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Las Vegas
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“It’s demeaning service”

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We sat behind the “first class” section. They save one bathroom on the plane for 12 people (first class) and then another bathroom for the rest of the entire flight, which I’m guessing was between 100-150 other passengers. I find this ridiculous. Food service was an absolute joke, inedible. Got the “3 cheese pasta bowl”. I suppose for legal reasons they can’t call it Mac and cheese. Was so disgusting and it reaked a nasty smell which I think upset the first class traveller in front of me. My mom got mr noodles (5 bucks!) and the noodles were hard. When ordering food they took my money gladly and then said soberly “it’s going to take a while”. They offer water bottles to the people at the front of the plane and then lie to your face if you ask for one in economy (we don’t have water bottles on this flight was th response I got). You are offered a tiny plastic cup for a drink included with the price of your ticket. No alcohol (that’s fine) unless you buy it. The 150ml drink you get must last you. They wont offer another unless they bring the cart around again. You cannot get a can of any pop unless you purchase a mixed beverage (8 bucks). The drink cart makes the bathroom situation on the plane dire. As it makes its way from the front to the back, the people behind first row are then forced to wait for the whole drink cart to pass the entire plane before being allowed to use the bathroom. The 1 bathroom for 150 passengers is pathetic. And be prepared to have sarcastic responses if you try to get any service in the back of the plane (“oh that’ll take a while” was a response I frequently heard). They don’t try to explain further what you get for the price of your ticket. It’s demeaning service in my opinion. I understand why ppl pay thousands to sit in the front of the plane cause they get a little bit of service (ridiculously dumb stuff like hot towels, but also drinks that are normal size, and the ability to travel to the washroom when they choose which I would assume to be standard service). Economy was treated like cattle. I would never fly with WestJet again. I hate that they are one of the main options here. Customer service (phone) are really helpful, at least the person I spoke to was, and if you have an issue on your trip I would definitely reach out to them. They try to accommodate. Really everything except for the actual experience of flying in the plane was par for the course. The plane wasn’t the cleanest, there was a sticky mess on my table when I first pulled it out. Seats weren’t comfy. The charger didn’t charge on our flight to Calgary. Arm rests about 2 inches wide. The row behind first class has nice leg room. Otherwise it’s pretty crammed but I was ok. I could easily imagine people bigger than me having a problem fitting in to the seat. I waited on both flights to be one of the last people getting on the plane (both cause of being zone 3 and also because ppl just rush to line up at the gate) and found overhead space to not be a problem. People who rush to be on the plane are so funny. That’s the last place I’m in a rush for. In flight entertainment was meh. Saw the Barbie movie. That and Dumb Money were the only movies that really appealed to me. Most of the options were old or not noteworthy at all. TL;DR expect bad treatment in economy. Bring your own food. Don’t ask for service. Pray the stewards don’t enforce cabin segregation or just pray you don’t have to pee for the flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Comox via Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

“I would highly recommend business class”

(United States)

Trip Verified | The family at AtlasAdventured recommends this airline! We flew WestJet Airlines as a family of 3, 2 adults and 1 toddler, from LAX to Calgary, Canada, then continuing on to Paris, France. We booked our tickets about 4 months before our trip, and decided to book the Business Class. Our very first business class trip, and with a toddler! We also flew with 3 other family members, who all flew in different classes. The price tag for the business class seats were not nearly as steep as I expected. We would have saved a few hundred dollars if we had booked earlier. Our first flight from LAX to Calgary had no “lay flat” seats available, but the business class seats were big and comfy. We were not offered any pre-flight drink or cool washcloth, but it was a shorter flight (about 3 hours). As we were getting ready to take off, our daughter who was about to turn 4, was trying to get comfortable in her seat, when 2 flight attendants came over and yelled at her to sit down. She wasn’t standing, merely adjusting her legs. I was actually pretty shocked at this instance, as was the rest of our family who was sitting around us. Instead of yelling at a 3 year old to sit on her butt “immediately”, they should have said something to myself or my husband. I told the attendant she should have expressed that to me and to not talk to my daughter so rudely. She later came back and apologized and handed me a bag of candy for my daughter. After that incident, it was a good flight. The food was alright, but they only had one option left once they got to my seat. I received the chicken breast with a veloute herb sauce served with fingerling potatoes, baby carrots, and seasoned broccolini. The chicken and veggies tasted like cafeteria food, and the dinner roll it came with was still frozen in the middle. It also came with a fresh asparagus salad and a chocolate cake which were the best things on the plate. The next flight, from Calgary to Paris, was by far the best flight. As soon as we boarded and found our seats, we were handed a glass of champagne. The lay flat seats are very spacious and came with an amenity kit which was filled with compression socks, eye mask, face wipe, lotion, and lip balm. There is a lot of storage around the seat, and the blanket and pillow provided were warm and comfortable. Our 3 year old daughter fell asleep in her seat pretty much as soon as we boarded. The service and attention to details from the flight attendants was great. The food service came out in a timely fashion, and the menu was superb. I ordered the butternut squash ravioli served with sauteed spinach and a parmesan marinara sauce. It also came with an asian slaw salad, dinner roll, and a chocolate feuilletine cake. It was delicious! Shortly after I put my chair in the lay flat position and got some much needed rest! Since it was a long flight, we were also served breakfast. Great breakfast menu with options for everyone. I ordered the bacon, egg and cheese sandwich on an English muffin and a breakfast bowl which was a small bowl filled with grapes, a chunk of Brie cheese, cherry tomatoes, half of a boiled egg, and an apricot. It was satisfying and delicious. Having the lay flat seats was so amazing. It’s hard to fly without those seats now! The staff was great and the seat was very comfortable. I would highly recommend business class for any long distance flights!
AircraftBoeing 787-9 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Paris CDG
Date FlownJune 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no attempt to retain business"

(Canada)

Not Verified | 5 yr old boy off leash in the Premium cabin spent 5 hours and 55min screaming, running, throwing toys, and crawling under seats disrupting passengers who spent thousands of dollars to fly in PLUS. As a ten year westjet Platinum status customer I was told by WestJet that they would do nothing to compensate us for our experience. Even thought the attendant on the flight urged us to communicate our experience with the company in hopes they would do something. I was also told that, even though my wife and I had flown 18x on WestJet in 2023, that my spend had not reached the qualifying for the year (somehow) and that our status would now be switched to the lowest tier. Former WestJet loyal customer, now switching airlines due to poor customer service and no attempt to retain business.
AircraftBoeing 737 Max 8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCalgary to Cancun
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no