WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 526 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"good legroom, service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Gatwick to Toronto return. Flew economy out and premium return - both no complaints. On-time, good legroom, service and entertainment. Credit where it's due, far better than more traditional airlines. I recommend.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"horrible flight experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Took the red-eye from Calgary to Halifax. The flight attendant did not stop talking the whole flight to her coworker. Never heard her coworker. For an overnight flight, this is unacceptable. People are taking this flight to possibly get to work but even if not is looking for sleep. That did not happen at all! My husband had his earphones in and has tinnitus and still could hear every word she spoke! I love Rick Steves too and eating around the world but I don’t need to know about her experiences at 4 am. What a horrible flight experience to say the least. Very disappointed in what I can honestly say has been the first bad experience with WestJet to date
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Halifax
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a great experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Calgary to Vancouver. Such a great experience. My suitcase was overweight and I was stressing over which clothes to leave behind as I'm moving to Vancouver. Someone came over and helped me and was just so nice to me it really meant a lot. Definitely going above and beyond, especially since it was my own fault.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancelled our flight"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Calgary to San Diego. We booked our direct flight tickets for our family trip to go to San Diego on Mar 21 even though those tickets were more expensive than indirect flight because we felt more comfortable to take care of two small children. We got an email on Jul 19 that our direct flight was cancelled and had to select indirect flights. We had no choice to select an indirect flight because we booked our hotel already and were scheduled to take vacation days from Sep 1. After I confirmed the indirect flight to Vancouver, I found that these indirect flight tickets were about $80.00 cheaper per ticket than direct flight, so I asked to get refund of $240.00, but the airline company has own rule and WestJet had absolutely no interest to refund even though WestJet cancelled the direct flight and it does not make sense that we had to pay extra money because WestJet cancelled our flight. If this is fine to do, all airline company can cancel the direct flight and charge the same amount of money to change to indirect flight. I thought that customer services for WestJet was better than Air Canada and we will be treated in a fair way, but it never happened and we were very much disappointed how WestJet treated customers this way. After this incident, we have found WestJet and Air Canada have exactly the same customer services, so we no longer prefer to buy from WestJet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to San Diego
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"boarding pass was missing"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I along with my wife was travelling from New York to Victoria via Calgary on October 13th by Westjet flight WS1681. Reached airport 2 hrs before our flight. Noticed at the airport that one of my boarding passes is not issued by WestJet online. Went to WestJet counter and met one of their agents, she started escorting us but the security officials did not allow us to get in because of one of four boarding pass was missing. WestJet agent went inside the security to get us the pass but never came back, as a result, we missed our flight. We called WestJet on phone and requested for booking on next available flight but was not offered. From the airport, we rebooked our flight from New York to Toronto and spent a night at the airport and came to Victoria the next day around 1:00 pm. Sent an email to Customer service, who denied our claim and told do whatever you want to do. Sent an email to CEO and see the same lady responding, claim denied, file closed. Now the customer is at mercy of WestJet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Victoria via Calgary
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not accommodate my seating request"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Winnipeg to Vancouver. Terrible customer service at airport. Was told they could not accommodate my seating request because they were fully booked. When plane prepared for takeoff there was 10 empty seats in the first 5 rows, At least in left close to scheduled time as last trip was rescheduled for the next day. Will be looking at the competition next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff was friendly and helpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Toronto. We had missed our earlier flight due to another airline having short delay. However, WestJet was able to accommodate us and bumped us to a flight two hours later. Ground staff was friendly and helpful. Flight attendants were friendly and onboard service was good. Flight was uneventful.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"cold and unforgiving policy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I needed to fly internationally to get home for a funeral for a family member and WestJest uses partner airlines to fly into and out of the US. Their bereavement policies give no allowances for being forced to fly with partner airlines, will not reimburse for any checked luggage and if you do not book directly with them over the phone for bereavement fares there is no chance of any reduced fares. This is a very cold and unforgiving policy for people trying to be with loved ones in times of sudden grief. Do not choose WestJet if you are travelling due to a family death, Air Canada has a much better bereavement policy in place.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePittsburgh to Toronto via Detroit
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"isn't the first bad experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Westjet used to be the best in Canada and that is why they were our first choice for many years since their inception in 1996. Unfortunately that is no longer the case. On our last flight my wife and I decided to try Westjet's new "bidding" process for the Premium (formerly Plus) seats. Firstly we had already paid for our seat selections in Row 4 (window and aisle). Anyway our bid ($660.00) was accepted and it can't be withdrawn (which is fine) except that upon check-in we discover that we each had a Premium seat for the roughly 5 hour flight but not together and no availability to change it. One of the major benefits to paying this amount of money is that we get to share the common area between us and travel together rather than sharing with an unknown traveler. When I registered my dissatisfaction by email all I got was a generic response reiterating the bidding process and no offer of any compensation. By the way the middle seat in Row 4 remained empty so we could have just kept the seats we originally paid for and had an acceptable trip (and saved $660.00!!). On top of that I was the 9th person to be offered a choice of meals. There were only 2 choices, one being curry which I dislike, and the other a beef tenderloin. I chose the beef but was informed that they had already run out (9th person!!). We fly with Westjet a lot and this isn't the first bad experience. This airline used to be different and that's what made them number 1 in Canada.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKelowna to Halifax
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we lost a whole day in our trip"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Westjet, you've ruined my trip. For my only vacation week in the summer, I decided to go to Las Vegas for 4 days with some friends. Our flight was going from Montreal to Toronto where we had a little stop and then from Toronto to Las Vegas. Due to temperature in Toronto (according to some Westjet agents) or too many planes on the ground in Toronto (according to other Westjet agents), our flight from Montreal has been delayed by 1 hour. When we arrived in Toronto at 8.45 pm, we ran across the airport to get to the borders and take our plane that was leaving at 9 pm. We arrived at the borders at 8.50 and we had to wait in a room for our luggages to be cleared. Some people, sitting in chairs for clients to wait, told us that we had to wait. There were some kiosks for each airline, but they seemed closed with no one inside to help us. At 9pm, we walked back to the Westjet desk to explain the situation. They told us that we should go and see the person at the Westjet desk in the waiting room, but we told them there was no one and they were surprised. We then understood that the people that were sitting on the chairs for clients to wait were the representatives for each airline, but they were waiting for their shift to end at 9 instead of being in the kiosks. We tried to get another flight later that night because we paid for a hotel in Las Vegas for that night and we only had 4 days there. Westjet told us they could do nothing for us. They had no other planes that night going to Las Vegas and the border closed at 9pm anyway (some other Westjet agent was confused and told us 8pm). We were, therefore, really sad and we accepted that we had to sleep in Toronto for the night. We asked Westjet where they could send us and they told us we had to pay our own night and we could go wherever we wanted since they were not responsible. We were disappointed and tried to talk to the manager. We have been told that she would come: 'In a long time'. When I asked approximately how long, we've been replied with an attitude: 'In a long time'. We never got to see the manager. We've been told that if we didn't want to pay $300 for the night in Toronto, we could sleep on the floor in the airport. They didn't have any lounge where we could rest for the night. Just to give you an idea, we were 3 young girls alone in an airport, we didn't feel safe. We asked for water or food, we've been told that Westjet would not give anything to us except for a flight at 12pm the next day (which got delayed by the way). Therefore, 1h30 later, we were really disappointed and we went to get our luggages. What a surprise when we heard that our luggage made the trip to Las Vegas, but we didn't! We therefore had no luggage and no clothes for the night. We ended up in a hotel where we had to pay $300 for the night, when we already paid for a night in Las Vegas, we paid for our breakfast, and we lost a whole day in our trip. I will never take a Westjet flight again. Not because of the service in the plane (which is not excellent, but it comes with the price you pay), but because of the service we received at WestJet desks where people didn't care about us at all. I encourage you to take other airlines. You will definitely have a nicer trip and you will feel safer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto via Las Vegas
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no