WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 504 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"will not fly WestJet again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Vancouver to London. Our flight started by us being dropped off at the International Departure gates, only to be told to walk to the Domestic gates to check-in, then walk back to the International departures to go through security- dumb! Our flight was over 9 hours so I assumed there would be on-board entertainment, but there was not. You had to have downloaded the app before departing to be able to even watch anything on your i-pad. We were served pretzels- not once but twice, for a flight that left at 3:45 pm and arrived in London at 10 am the next day. You could buy a meal. We didn't. I wouldn't have really thought anything about it except our friends traveled on Air Canada and had movies and a meal! On our flight home, we used Air Transat and it was amazing. We had a beautiful hot lunch - free! including wine or beer, then later we had a substantial hot snack and drink. We had all kinds of on-board entertainment. It was much roomier, and the staff was super helpful, much more than WestJet was. I will not fly WestJet again knowing now what other airlines can offer for about the same price.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"only one of our bags turned up"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Calgary to Boston via Toronto. We flew Westjet as a cheap option to get from Calgary to Boston. The lack of staff at Calgary check in was a concern, but we made it through the automated madness and checked 2 bags. We nearly missed the first flight due to a gate change but caught that one and ended up on a new 787 and right up the back. Arriving in Toronto saw a late gate change so we sat around for over 30mins before disembarking. The next flight also had a gate change and was a small prop-jet with hard seats. Arriving in Boston around 6.00pm only one of our bags turned up, and we were not alone here as others were in the same boat. There was no one there despite a big sign to the contrary, and all the check in staff had also gone home. After trying the number in the Westjet app which was not connecting, we finally got through to help staff in Alberta. I gave them all the information which they confirmed by return call, indicating that the bag was in Toronto and I would be contacted by Boston staff in the morning when it arrived. No joy! In fact the info provided had conveniently disappeared so I gave it again. We were supposed to have got emails as well - nada! Still no joy, still they lost the details but this time promised to get the bag sent on. We were contacted by the baggage service and the bag finally arrived somewhat worse for wear around 11pm after 48 hours.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Boston via Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed and frustrated"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Calgary to San Francisco. My family had a terrible experience on Sep 08 2019. Prior to boarding, this flight was delayed by 3 hours and because of this, my family had to wait in the airport for 5 hours. Starting from their boarding, the flight attendant never showed any warm welcome to exhausted passengers. Instead, she was very hostile to my family. Due to the stress, my son was very tired and could not easily get calmed down while seated. My wife and my mother-in-law were trying their best to calm down him and let him well sit and tied with the seatbelt. However, only after about 3 minutes, this attendant came and demanded my family to leave the aircraft immediately. The total time from my family boarding to get kicked off from the airplane was only around 5 minutes, my wife even didn’t have time to get the phone out from her purse to entertain my son. My family had to leave the aircraft. The attendant even didn’t tell them what to do next. My family had to walk a long way holding the 2 year baby to outside of the airport and re-check in to purchase the next available flight tickets. I cannot image this could happen in a civilized community. I called WestJet customer service immediately after receiving the call from my wife and also got very rude response. I am very disappointed and frustrated with WestJet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to San Francisco
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not be supporting Westjet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Winnipeg. We have always been huge Westjet supporters but since recent changes in owners have led to changes in flights specifically to Maui as well as the extremely abysmal service we recently received we are no longer a fan and truly disappointed in this airline. In June we booked a flight to see my mother in law who had failing health. Before we were able to travel she passed away. Because I booked basic and yes I did read the small print but had not expected her to pass away, I was not unable to change our flights. My husband spent hours on the phone but to no avail and in fact not one of them even told him if he had to rebook he could ask for compassion price. So not only did we pay for competed new flights for 3 of us I also used westjet dollars. Those dollars were earned after paying annually for a Westjet MasterCard and faithfully using my Westjet MasterCard. Westjet refused to reimburse us or compensate us in anyway and in fact those tickets we bought and paid for were back on the market ... talk about double dipping at the expense of the customer who just went through a terrible loss. I used to be touched by those Westjet Christmas commercials. I sure hope I don’t see one this year it would be such a ridiculous joke. They were a once compassionate company but no longer. When we can avoid it, my family and I will not be supporting Westjet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Winnipeg
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lost another customer"

(Canada)

Not Verified | You lost another customer WestJet. For the longest time, WestJet was my carrier of choice to fly several times per year from Montreal to Fort Lauderdale and Orlando. For some obscure reason, at the end of 2018 WestJet decided to discontinue all direct US flights from Montreal and force a huge detour with a connection thru Toronto, thus turning a 3h pleasant flight into a 7h nightmare thru one of the worst airports to connect thru in North America. I very much enjoyed your service but I'm left with no choice but to fly with the competition which still has direct flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMontreal to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have flown"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We started out our trip home from a family vacation in Minneapolis with a 3.5 hour delay on the tarmac in Minneapolis. Then we were re routed to Edmonton for a 6 hour layover then home to Regina. The 6 hour layover turned into an 18 hour layover. Long story short we ended up in Regina 24 hours later then we originally had booked. WestJet would not pay for our hotel in Edmonton, we had to pay for it then go through a painful process on their website to possibly get reimbursed. On top of this WestJet offered us 100$ in WestJet dollars for our delays. This is the worst airline I have flown and will never make this mistake again. We used to try to fly WestJet exclusively for the last 20 years as we thought they were the best choice but that is definitely no longer the case.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Regina
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude, unprofessional"

(United States)

Not Verified | Vancouver to Montreal. The customer service in Montreal was rude, unprofessional and awful. Because WestJet arrived late in Montreal We lost our flight connection. They didn’t want to help us with a hotel or food, and we had to spend the rest of the day and night in the airport until our next flight. We will never use WestJet again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"They lost a customer"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I have already had issues with Westjet in the past, but they fly direct between Edmonton and LAX so it seemed like the most rational choice. I was wrong - on a 3h flight, we had 2h delays both ways. Compared to the ordeals that people are describing here, I feel very lucky (if my flight does leave at the new scheduled time). I guess I should have read the reviews before booking flights - I won’t be booking Westjet again. But what impresses me is how easy and common it is for them to to just bump you 2h with a casual explanation that they had crew issues. Well, if they are overworking their crews, I’d suggest better planning. For such a large company, it seems like they should have the ability to do so, not cut corners and fly them at the limit so that something not planned doesn’t cause snowball delays. Maybe it is a strategy to plan to the limit of no penalties under the new bill of rights (nothing happens under 3h as it seems). But it is quite disruptive to passengers who have young children lie myself. They lost a customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"incapable of being flexible"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Toronto. I had a change of plans during my day and arrived 6 hours early for my flight. Usually, with Air Canada it's not an issue - they will put me on an earlier flight for free regardless of my flyer status (because I don't have a status). I asked West Jet and they said it's minimum $100 for a seat change if I'm not a platinum or gold member and it doesn't matter if there are extra seats available. The only seats available were premium and it would be $250. There is no waitlist you can be put on for an earlier flight. I find this pretty absurd and such a money grab. Definitely going to avoid flying with West Jet if they are that incapable of being flexible for flyers who sometimes need an adjustment.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was unsafe for her to walk"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Vancouver to Gatwick . I knew that there was no complimentary food service, but the quality of food offered for purchase was not adequate for me. No TV screens, very uncomfortable seats. My 5 year old son was very sick when we were landing in Gatwick, I called for help with no result, and one of the cabin staff came just to tell me that it was unsafe for her to walk during the descent. And even after landing nobody came to help with the sick child.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Gatwick
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no