WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 387 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight was delayed 1 hour"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Saskatoon to Calgary. Very disappointing. I am a frequent flyer with this airline to the tune of 40-50 flights a year! I was a gold member until Sept 30 2018, they have changed their booking classes and now when you book economy you have no seat selection, they now want to charge you for it. Most disappointing is that my flight was delayed 1 hour and they would not put me on another connecting flight. The WestJet I grew to love for their accommodating services has gone away. When the delay is their fault they should still do what they can to accommodate but they just don’t care.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Calgary
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancel an earlier flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to New York. I’ve flown with them a few times, they always do one of these: get everyone boarded then tell you they can’t fly and don’t have updates for at least an hour, or cancel an earlier flight because it is not full and consolidate you into another flight (sometimes next day and not provide accommodation). I don’t know why I booked with them again today, that was one very dumb decision on my part.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to New York
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They just don’t care"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Cayo Coco. Everything was ok until our return flight. They sent a piece of junk aircraft that never took off. 3 hours inside aircraft without a glass of water. 4 hours inside Cayo Coco terminal without info on what’s going on. Cayo Coco terminal would not accept visa. Good thing we had cash so we could feed ourselves. Finally, they said we had to stay in Cayo Coco one more night. Very unorganized accommodation (transfer and hotel). Told us to relax at hotel as they were going to pick us up at 3 pm next day. Called us at 1am and told us to be ready at 9 am as we will depart at 11 am. Bus was late and when we finally reached the airport, it was closed. Waited 1:30 hours to check in, standing as there were no seats and 2 hours in terminal as it was raining and no bus to take us to aircraft. All this with a 4-year-old with us. The cherry on the cake was that the captain apologized for all this and we wold be contacted by westjet as this was not the way westjet wanted us to end our vacation. It has been three months and nobody contacted us. I know they have my contact as received all info about delayed flight through phone and email. They just don’t care.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Coco
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"totally incompetent"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Vancouver. This is the last email I received: Hello Patricia Louise, Your departure time out of London has changed. New time 11:58 WestJet flight WS23 from London (LGW) to Vancouver (YVR) is now departing Friday, October 12 at 11:58. Visit westjet.com or download the WestJet app for iPhone, iPad or Android for flight status. Check airport departure screens for accurate flight updates. New estimated arrival time: 14:07 We apologize for any inconvenience this change may cause. Thank you for being We got through security to see our flight was boarding now. Ran all the way, did find our flight was leaving on time. No update email. These people are totally incompetent. I will never fly WestJet again. No apologies whatsoever - no explanation other than to say it is operations fault in Canada. I will also be cancelling my WestJet credit card.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"arrived 30 mins before flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Kelowna. I arrived 30 minutes before my flight and they said I have to buy a new ticket for four times the price because there wasn’t time to get my luggage on the flight. They also refused to send my luggage on a later flight so I could still catch my flight. As a result, I can’t visit my family.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Kelowna
Date FlownOctober 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disappointing to say the least"

(Bermuda)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Bermuda. I travel quite often using various airlines depending on the best price to get me from point A - B. So I have experience with other airlines. My experience with this airline is disappointing to say the least. I started from Bermuda to Toronto and then from Toronto to the UK and then returned the taking the reverse rout back home. I have a lot to complain about. I will number them below. 1. No seat back televisions 2. Some of the agents really need customer service training 3. Overhead bins to small for long trips 4. Charge for everything on the flights except the pretzels and cookies 5. Serve Dasani bottled water known to have been banned in the UK 6. Treated like a kindergarten school kid (told where to sit regardless of empty seats on the plane.) 7. lack of professionalism when it came to ground staff from one of the agents. My biggest complaint is about the seating on the way back home to Bermuda from Toronto. The flight was about 3/4 the way full and there were plenty of three seater rows that were empty. I asked the airline stewardess if I can sit in one of the many rows that were empty and she responded no please stay in your own seat. I couldn't believe my ears. I have flown with many different airlines where I was able to switch seats providing that they were not occupied. Never the less I did not challenge it because I already had a few bad bouts with this airline during this trip. It would've been okay to be in a three seater row was full but if the plane is got room on it for people to have their own space why not? This put the nail in the coffin for me. After all I had been through on that airline they couldn't even let me spread out and be comfortable. Secondly there are no backseat TV's on the plane. When you are on a long flight all the way to the UK there should be complimentary entertainment available for the passengers. I asked the airline steward "Why are there no back seat TVs?' His response was that, "They removed them because they kept loosing signal and they now provide TV's that attach to the seat for $10 Canadian for each passenger. I didn't buy that bunch of hogwash for a minute. I have flown many flights to the UK with back seat TV entertainment that never lost signal. Obviously they found a creative way to rip the passenger off even more. Of course I went ahead and paid for a TV for my niece and for myself a total of $20 I had no intention of spending. The service I received at the counter by one of the agents in Bermuda was unprofessional as she accused me of not having my documents in order. Which wasn't true I had tried to get everything sorted out before hand over the phone the night before but the customer service told me over the phone she had no access to the check in procedure and I would have to get it sorted out at the counter. I had mentioned this but I was still getting yelled at by the first agent I was dealing with and thankfully another agent came over and dealt with me. She was very kind and helpful. She managed to get it all sorted out and we were able to fly out without any further incident. Overall my experience was not as expected. I was looking forward to a smooth trip to Canada and then the UK and back to Bermuda but instead got a few unwelcoming surprises. The overhead storage bins are small and have very little room for regular suitcases. The flight was smooth and comfortable and the majority of the staff were good to me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Bermuda
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"say a huge thank you"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Calgary to Vancouver. Myself & Ben would like to say a huge thank you to Brooklyn for helping us with our flight cancellations and rebooking this evening! She was an absolute legend and made everything so chill!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cats were not given water"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Vancouver. Read if your pets are your family and you would have issues if them being mistreated on a flight. On a whole, I’ve always been happy with WestJet and have welcomed them into my life as my preferred carrier for Canadian and US flights. I moved across the country on September 17th and choose to fly to my new home with my extended family (my furchildren - two cats and a dog) with WestJet. Having travelled with a pet in cabin before I was sure they were the best option for my cats in cargo however I couldn’t have been more wrong and contacted WestJet immediately (before even taking off) and didn’t hear back until yesterday. The flight had already started off on an annoying note. Once checking in, we were advised to go over to the oversized baggage area to scan our carrier and someone from WestJet would come and collect our cats to board them. We waited for over 40 minutes as the staff member who is usually at that post did not show up for work and they couldn’t find a replacement. The security guard was a lovely lady who chatted with us and made the annoyance disappear (although it took 5 phone calls to a manager to get someone to finally show up). Eventually we made it on the plane, confirmed our cats were boarded and were ready to take off on time. A minute later the captain came on, let us know they’re we’re mechanical issues and we would have to deboard and find a new plane. After getting off the plane we decided to wait by the window and watch our cats to ensure they would be transported with us. It was a hot September day (over 30 degrees c with the humidity) and we were promised that our cats would be kept in climate controlled areas for the duration they were in WestJets care. My husband and I witnessed our cats left in the heat in the loud tarmac for over 15 minutes. They were being tossed around by the baggage handlers (literally thrown into the baggage cart and throwing suitcases on top of them). At this point, we were extremely anxious about their wellbeing and got the gate staff involved - who were more than happy to help and were able to get them moved somewhere climate controlled. The cats were transported in a closed (with no circulation) baggage trolley which proceeded to drive around in circles a few times before heading off into the distance. When we finally made it to Vancouver, over two hours delayed, our cats were covered in feaces, crying and dehydrated. They were not given water (it just marked on their cage if they do) even though they were left in the sun for over 35 mins in total, sometimes without circulating air. At the end of the day, I’m happy to have received my cats from cargo alive, there’s lots of pets who don’t make it and this is exactly how it happens. Pet owners be ware if you plan on flying with them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Vancouver
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"turbo prop so loud"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. The gate in Toronto was the furthest from the terminal there is. It is about a 25 minute walk after security. When you get to the gate, there isn't enough seats in the waiting area for the flight. Then you walk out on the tarmac and it was raining while you walk to the portable stairs to climb into the plane. Overhead bins are so small your carry on doesn't fit. The plane on this 1 hour flight was a turbo prop and so loud your ears ring for a hour after you get off the plane. There is no entertainment on these planes and the beverage service is poor. The person beside me ask for a coffee, which they don't have, they have a instant coffee pack with warm water.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"unacceptable and deplorable"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to London via Halifax. I have never traveled with an airliner that has such little regards for their customers. I arrived in London only to be told that my luggage was sent to Winnipeg instead and I will get it the next day. I had all my belongings in my luggage so I went to the Westjet desk to ask if could get some form of assistance a voucher etc. since I was left with nothing to wear or use. The lady at the desk bluntly said "no WestJet don't give vouchers" I did not receive my luggage until four days later with not even an "I am sorry for your inconvenience" this is unacceptable and deplorable that an airline can do this to their customers with no consequences.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to London via Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no