WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 395 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very disappointed in Westjet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Lethbridge via Calgary. I’m very disappointed in Westjet lately. I’ve flown with the lots this year and was supposed to once more to fly home for Christmas but ended up cancelling my flights with them because they have just gotten terrible. The flight attendents all seem to have an attitude and look miserable and are not approachable or friendly. The seats are tiny for anyone and are not comfortable at all. Do not waste your money upgrading to premium economy because there is no difference between economy and premium economy other than you get to board faster. My flight ended up taking 9 hours from Edmonton to Lethbridge because they took a long time de-icing the plane and then when I had got to Calgary for my next flight I found out that the plane had left without half of us on the flight and the flight had taken off early causing the half the people on the plane to have to wait 3 hours at the Calgary airport for the next flight. Some people didn’t even get to go on the next flight because it was too full. I will not be booking anymore flights with westjet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteEdmonton to Lethbridge via Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Westjet in future"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Calgary to Montreal. Worst airline ever. I thought I was better by buying a ticket 40$ cheaper than Air Canada. Oh my was I wrong, my knees are right against the other seat in front of me (I'm only 5’10 tall) the seat are paper thin, no tv or electric outlet. They want you to buy internet instead. I will never fly Westjet in the future, i will stay with Air Canada from now on
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Montreal
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"impressed with customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I just wanted to show my appreciation for staff at WestJet, after having a pretty stressful day. Yesterday I flew from Portland to Seattle, and then to Calgary with Alaska Airlines. When I arrived at Calgary I went to collect my bag and it wasn't there. It appeared it had been left at Seattle Airport, so after reporting it to Alaska and a frantic rush I made it through security and caught my next flight to Kamloops with WestJet. When I arrived at Kamloops airport, I spoke to a very friendly, helpful woman called Jessica, who was very apologetic, very reassuring and made me feel like the situation was totally under control. She also said that the WestJet policy is to deliver any lost luggage, so I wouldn't even have to make the 50 minute journey back to the airport to collect it. Just as she promised, she rang me that evening to let me know that my bag had been found and was being delivered the next morning. After realizing the address that I gave was not going to be open at the weekend, I rang the WestJet baggage help and spoke to another very helpful very friendly woman called Fab (very appropriate!) and she contacted the delivery company and gave them the new address, and my bag arrived exactly at the quoted time. The man who dropped it off was from Prestige and was also friendly and cheerful. Overall, I am so impressed with the customer service I received from WestJet, the inconvenience of losing my bag was minimal thanks to them, and I would highly recommend them on this basis. Thanks!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Calgary via Seattle
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I am just flabbergasted"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | 2 weeks ago I booked a flight to Winnipeg from Calgary to see my boyfriend. The next day I flew to the UK for an 11 day holiday. Upon returning on Wednesday I saw that I made a serious mistake and booked my flight backwards from Winnipeg to Calgary. Yesterday I called Westjet willing to pay the whopping $100 fee to change the name to my boyfriend who is willing to just come here on the 17th when the flight is as that seems like the easiest solution. They pretty much told me I’m out of luck. I am appalled! I’ve paid for this flight, I am willing to accept my genuine mistake and pay for changes and the airline to tell me that is extremely upsetting. The people at Hopper were more understanding and compassionate towards me. They even tried to call Westjet to get a waiver so they could make the change and were also told flat out no. I fly all the time and have to say I will have a hard time supporting Westjet in the future. I am just flabbergasted. This is a Canadian company! Where is the compassion and understanding?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"planes were old and dirty"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Great check in staff and friendly onboard service. As usual, flights were late and planes were old and dirty. I was really put off when my brand new luggage was scuffed up on all sides far beyond normal wear and tear and then the luggage claim service played hardball with my claim. I appealed the initial decision noting that I was a Westjet World Elite card holder and a Westjet rewards customer. All to no avail. They blew me off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Edmonton via Calgary
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made me pay another 300 dollars"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Manitoba. I initially was on vacation from YVR to YWG and then back but I had an unfortunate circumstance arise so I had to immediately change my flight ticket going back to YVR. They made me pay another 300 dollars to change my flight when I had already paid 400 dollars initially to book the flight. I had to get to YVR to catch a flight where I was to attend a funeral so they gave me a "discount" of 30% which made it to be close to 400 dollars (300+tax). I cannot believe that is the only thing they can do and have me pay the same amount of money I initially paid for. They kept saying that there was nothing they could do other than the 30% discount. This was absolutely disappointing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Manitoba
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"one of the best WestJet flights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Winnipeg to Vancouver. The flight was one of the best WestJet flights that I have flown on. The flight attendants were very nice and supportive. A complaint that I have is that they have no in-flight entertainment system.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteWinnipeg to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolute joke!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Toronto. This was our first trip to Canada, to attend our friend's wedding. We had no preconceptions of WestJet prior to travelling but have been flying a lot between the UK and the US and the UK and Mexico so no strangers to transatlantic flights. We were supposed to arrive in Toronto in the late afternoon, in plenty of time to have dinner with our friends (who live an hour away from Toronto) before the wedding. We went to bed on the Thursday night, fairly early as we were meant to get up early on the Friday. When we woke up on the Friday we found 3 emails saying that our flight was delayed by 4 hours. We got to Gatwick and a lovely member of ground staff gave us food vouchers and explained that we may be entitled to compensation as our flight had been delayed by so many hours.There were quite a few things we did not expect about the flight. We did not expect to have no in-flight entertainment (the only way was to either download the app and watch films on phone or tablet or pay $10 each for a tablet). We did not expect to have to pay for food, only the pretzels and cookies are free and when they give you a drink they don't even give you the whole can. We arrived in Toronto so late that we barely managed to see our friends before going to bed as we had a long day ahead the following day. On the return journey to London, again, we were delayed by 2 hours as we were already on the plane. One of the air hostesses had the cheek to tell my husband to remove his hat and earphones presumably because he wouldn't hear the safety briefing. Given that we were stuck on the tarmac and he just wanted to sleep in the meantime, that was a bit rich. By contrast, a guy seated in a seat near us was an off duty crew member and they couldn't have been nicer to him. They told him to just holler if he wanted more food or drink. He was carrying 4 pieces of hand luggage while they asked customers to check their hand luggage in the cargo! All in all a very bad experience that we hope never to repeat. I emailed them to complain and their answer was that it was all out of their control, both times they blamed medical emergencies. They also blamed the poor weather in Canada and said that, basically, that's what customers bought travel insurance for, because as far as they are concerned, they are blameless. Absolute joke!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed 1 hour"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Saskatoon to Calgary. Very disappointing. I am a frequent flyer with this airline to the tune of 40-50 flights a year! I was a gold member until Sept 30 2018, they have changed their booking classes and now when you book economy you have no seat selection, they now want to charge you for it. Most disappointing is that my flight was delayed 1 hour and they would not put me on another connecting flight. The WestJet I grew to love for their accommodating services has gone away. When the delay is their fault they should still do what they can to accommodate but they just don’t care.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Calgary
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancel an earlier flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to New York. I’ve flown with them a few times, they always do one of these: get everyone boarded then tell you they can’t fly and don’t have updates for at least an hour, or cancel an earlier flight because it is not full and consolidate you into another flight (sometimes next day and not provide accommodation). I don’t know why I booked with them again today, that was one very dumb decision on my part.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to New York
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no