WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 865 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Rip off. Never with you again WestJet!"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We went to Portland in November with our carry on bags and personal items with no problem, although the plane was to the full capacity. On the way back from Portland to Toronto (on November 28, flight 3627), however, as we were getting our boarding pass. The WestJet staff warned us that her "mean supervisor is in today!" (That's how she put it) and she is going to ask everyone to put their carry on bags into the sizing device that's in front of the gate and if the bags don't fit, you have to check them in. So we got to the gate and the supervisor and another staff asked us to size our bags. So we did, two of our bags went inside the device with no problem, as my husband tried to put the third one she yelled "don't push, it should slide down with out any force." I told her that we came with the same carry on bags and we had no problem with our bags! The other staff looked down and said quietly I'm really sorry! I said it's ok we can check them in, as I have heard you guys announcing because the plane is full you are asking volunteers to check in their carry-ons. She said "you have to pay 63 American dollars!" As your carry-ons are over sized. We did. We came inside the plane and right before take off I took a picture of the over head department after they shut down the doors for take off! I attached the picture so everyone can see how many empty spots were available! Rip off. Never with you again WestJet!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Calgary via Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no departure in sight yet!"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | First the booked us on a flight from Kelowna to LA via Calgary transfer, we were in the air when they realized they would be able to transfer the luggage so they rebooked us to fly to LA the next day without informing us! My sister is a paraplegic so travel is difficult for her and we were flying to medical treatments. They said they would hold the plane 15 minutes - so we arrive the next morning to catch our flight but we are sitting at the gate waiting for a delayed flight this morning to arrive- it’s 15 minutes past the time we were suppose to leave now and no departure in sight yet! Wow they wouldn’t hold it yesterday but today is ok! This is ridiculous!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Was not a good experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My luggage was 2.6 kg over weight. They charged me $104.00 on top of the $40.00 I had already paid to check it in. The suitcase was brand new, when we picked it off the carousel the wheel was rammed up into the suitcase. They also went through my luggage and left a note saying they did, which is fine, advised they took my lighter. There was no lighter in there! Somewhere along the way, my hairspray totally emptied all over my clothes. I find it is costing more to fly with them, the staff are getting ruder. Was not a good experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Las Vegas
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lost my luggage for the second time"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | WestJet lost my luggage for the second time. Customer service ineffective and website worse than useless. For the second time in under a month WestJet have lost my baggage on the Calgary to Vancouver Island leg of my journey.
AircraftBoeing 787-9 / Q400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Nanaimo via Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"show my appreciation for the wonderful service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | When getting off my Uber at the terminal in Toronto at 6.00 am I forgot my telephone in the car. It is also a wallet. All my credit cards & other items were in it. Donna was assisting passengers with their luggage at that time. I informed her of the situation and she immediately responded & called my phone. The Uber driver found it and brought it back. Donna was very kind, courteous & helpful in recovering my phone. Under present circumstances people do not share their phones due to covid. I would like to show my appreciation for the wonderful service Donna provided.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Nassau
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Thank you for your excellent service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Because of medical reasons, we had to cancel our flight on November 12/22 @ 5:00 AM. The agents name we talked to was Jodi. Jodi was exceptional in completing our cancellation, She worked over two hours to complete the process, checking in with us every 15 minutes to give us updates. She was very courteous, sympathetic and knowledgeable. Thank you for your excellent service.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGrande Prairie to Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2022
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"obviously don't care about their customers"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This should be a short, easy flight. But WestJet made it as difficult as humanly possible, and then damaged my luggage somehow. No need to worry about me every using west jet again. I should have driven, it would have been a calm and pleasant 10 hour drive, instead of that horrible mess. They should sell their planes, and close the doors permanently, since they obviously don't care at all about their customers.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RoutePrince George to Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" will never fly WestJet again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight# WS1416 from YYC to MCO was cancelled on Sunday, Nov 6, 2022 while we were waiting at gate. Luggage already through US customs and we were waiting to board. WestJet staff took a long time to "figure out" how to get us back to ticket counter to rebook. They rebooked me to Toronto on 3:30 flight. I'd have to overnight there and fly into Orlando the next day. That meant I had to cancel surgery for 4 patients of mine Monday as I am a surgeon. There seems to be no end to the ripple effects from West Jet's incompetence. There was no hope for baggage to follow me as West Jet could not "figure out" how to get bags off of the plane as they were on "American soil" as we had gone through US customs, despite sitting on a plane that I could see out the window in the Calgary airport. I booked a premium seat and paid $1700 CAD for it. I was placed in economy seat on flight to Toronto and on to Orlando the next day. I spent $435 USD for a hotel room in Toronto airport. WJ did not offer a refund for fare difference and has not answered emails re: reimbursement for hotel costs, fare refund, etc. Above all, 4 days later they still have not located my luggage! One is a rifle in a rifle case! I have held on the phone over 1.5 hours to speak to someone, but no luck. Baggage claim filed online, but no progress. Their baggage office in Orlando was locked and lights off at 10:30 am Monday morning. They clearly do not take their responsibilities to their customers seriously. They are incompetent in the customer service department. While I have flown them twice in the past and those trips were OK, this experience has made up for it big time. I will never fly WestJet again and recommend that you do not either.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Orlando
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"What a joke WestJet customer service is"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Booked a flight from Abbotsford to Saskatoon about a month in advance for a friends wedding on the weekend, and 12 hours before the flight is scheduled to depart (flight leaves at 10:15 am) I get an email saying that flight plans are changed and now I depart a day later and around 2:00 PM. Well obviously that doesn't work when your supposed to be a part of a wedding party, so I try their westjet chat system with "Juliet" and what joke that is. Basically answers any questions a person could find by reading their own flight itinerary. So then I get put into a queue but no answer on how long the queue is or if someone will even get back to me within the 12 hours. So I then look up west jet phone number and give them a call, and get the usual "higher then usual wait times" which is code for we don't care about customer service. And so currently on wait and probably have to go in early to the airport and try and figure something out at the desk. What a joke WestJet customer service is, I get that issues arise, but their should be able support to figure out last minute changes and not leave it up to the customer to figure it out. Westjet has been a good airline in the past, but just hope that you don't have to use their "customer service" as it doesn't exist.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Saskatoon
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"assistance provided no help whatsoever"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Keep in mind that the events from November 5th to November 9th with WestJet for myself and many other flyers was due to a cooling issue at their data centre causing their data centre to shut down. You would think an industry that is so dependent on their computer systems would have a redundant system in place. November 8th I was to depart Fort St. John BC airport at 5.55 am to Calgary WS3308. WestJet knew that the crew to operate that flight did not get in until 4.30am that same morning. This meant that they required a minimum break time. The quest assistance provided no information concerning the delay due to this fact. As a result, the flight to Calgary was more than 3 hrs late departing. This meant that I would miss my connecting flight from Calgary to Atlanta Georgia which was to depart Calgary at 10.00am. When this became obvious, I requested a rebooking. Fort St John quest assistance provided no help whatsoever and told me go ahead and go to Calgary and see what they could do there. So, I did, as a result I spent more than 4.5 hrs in a line waiting to get rebooked. Guest assistance in Calgary told me that they could not get me any flights to Birmingham until November 10th. I chose the option to come back to Fort St John because the option to wait in Calgary till November 10th would consume too much of my trip to make it worth going and when I asked if a hotel would be provided the answer I got was no, when I asked for a meal voucher the answer, I got was no. According to the Air Passenger Rights the airline is to provide reasonable food, water and hotel for such situations. That same night I was to fly back to Fort St. John that flight was almost 3 hrs late. When we landed, I checked my email I noticed an email from WestJet stating that my flight to Toronto was delayed. I called guest assistance only to find out someone had booked me on a flight from Calgary to Toronto and Toronto to Atlanta Georgia for November 9th. No flight booked to Birmingham. I was not told of this booking and was not given this as an option probably because my final destination was Birmingham Alabama not Atlanta Georgia. During that phone call I was informed that I would not be getting any credit for my flights because I chose to come back to Fort St. John.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFort St. John, BC to Birmingham, AL via Calgary, AB
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no