Volaris

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 120 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not worth the savings"

(United States)

Not Verified | Avoid this airline at all costs even if you have to pay a little more, the aggregation is not worth the savings. In two occasions I used this Airline first time they tried to charged extra money because I was 1.5 hours at the counter and not 2 hours. Yesterday they overbooked the flight from Guadalajara to LAX and moved me and my family to a later flight or the other option was to send us to another airport 1.5 hours drive from LAX where my car was parked. They did not give us any options to stay in the booked flight they forced us into two options. Horrible company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuadalajara to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"6 weeks to get reimbursement"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tijuana to Culiacan. My daughter (minor) was flying by herself, they charged her for 1 bag because their sytem showed incorrectly, which we noticed 1 day prior, we called to check on it and we where told it was fixed already, but at the airport they still charged my daughter for it, even though she asked them to check in the notes as we had previously "fixed" such issue but they refused to do so and advice her to leave her bag or pay, of course she paid for it. In our first call to ask for our reimbursement they acknowledged it was a mistake but still took over 15 calls and Over 6 weeks to get the reimbursement but they did a wire transfer which i had to pay for, when it was their mistake 100%!! Worse company ever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTijuana to Culiacan
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"last time I fly on this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Mexico City. Never again, Volaris excuses everything on process and others. There’s zero accountability, from changing flight dates and time to swapping aisle and boarding time just few minutes at the airport. Staff is just not qualified to perform a decent job, last time I fly on this airline even if the tickets are free!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Mexico City
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"taking my money elsewhere"

(Cayman Islands)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Miami. I called to call centre today to add extra baggage to my flight. Apparently my flight from Mexico City to Miami on 2th September was cancelled due to some operational malfunction as quoted by customer representative. This wasn’t communicated as the booking was done through other website so no mail was send. I kept checking on volaris website until yesterday and there were no signs of cancellation shown in my trips. I explained to him about my connecting flight to grand cayman from Miami that day and asked for alternative flight options. Below are 3 options given 1: fly either on 16th or 23rd. If I wanted to fly any of those days, I would have bought tickets for those days and not 20th. 2: alternative flight to Orlando on 20th ..that too connection through Chicago anyways I would have not reached Miami in time for my next flight. when asked about how to reach Miami .. the gentleman said I would have to take care of that expenses and he would give 1500 pesos voucher for future volaris travels i.e 79 dollars for both passengers in total. After this incident, I don’t think I will travel anytime with volaris again. And how can a alternative flight be to a different location than the destination. 3: when asked if they can get us on any other company flights; which they cannot and the last option provided - refund of the money back to agency which almost comes to ticket price for one at this current time as it is too near to travel date. One thing that I didn’t understand is when u cancel the flights due to ur own reasons; why do the customers like me have to suffer ?? Why the alternatives provided is not even close to satisfactory.?? I don’t know if this message will make any ifference; but one thing for sure I am taking my money elsewhere to spend next time I want to fly in Mexico .
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Miami
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"suggest to do your homework"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tijuana to Guadalajara. I have flown with this airline 6 times and only 1 bad experience. My bad experience was my first time flying with them. I had purchased specific seats for the flight but because it wasn’t a booked flight they said they needed to even out the weight on the plane so the attendant at the gate moved our seats. I told him I had paid for these seats so he said he would put a note in the system and if I called the airlines customer service 800# they’d refund me my money I paid for the seats. I called customer service and basically the guy lied to me about the note. Whatever! - lesson learned don’t pay for specific seats just let the system choose them for you and you don’t have to pay. The on board airplane staff is always nice and courteous. They have sandwiches and snacks that are not overpriced on board. They will have people at the gate sometimes asking if you want to check in your carry-on free of charge because there’s no room in the overhead compartments. They have an app I use every time that is very convenient. You don’t need to print a boarding pass because the app has it on there, simply take a screenshot just in case your phone fails to load at the airport. Check in on the app before hand and purchase any add ons like luggage, extra weight to luggage or special seating ahead of time before you check in so they don’t charge you heavy fees for doing it at the airport. I learned how to work with them and for a low cost flight I don’t mind flying with them. The only terrible thing about them is their customer service at the 800#. I learned you don’t really get anywhere with them so don’t use their airline if your plans are susceptible to change. I suggest to do your homework, check in ahead of time and be at airport at least 2 hours early to be safe of any overbooked flights and so you can check in your Bags. Make sure your luggage doesn’t weigh over the limit. Check in using the app and save a screenshot of your confirmation # plus boarding passes. Overall my experiences with booking flights with this airline using the app and flying from the Tijuana airport to Guadalajara and back again haven't been terrible. I Will continue to fly this airline within Mexico.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTijuana to Guadalajara
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Volaris customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Cabos to Tijuana. Ok en primera ves que me pasa esto y no creo k este permit to que una aerolinea ke es la de volaris revenda los voletos de avion ke ya estan bandidos y no te kieran dar un rembolso de tu dinero mi ayudar con nada make te disen k compre el stan by pero si se comprar todos los bolanos de avion tu tequedes otraves sin vuelo eso es un abuso al cliente a vista de todo el mundo y muy mala reputation para su aerolinea volaris ya se me voi a encargar de segur los procedimientos ke se davan hacer para no le vuelva a pasar a nadie mas porke yo no fuy el unico ke le isieron eso otros señores ya pusieron su queja a donde coresponde y al igual seguiremos los procedimientos del clientele grasias por aserle perder mas dinero de lo devido
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Cabos to Tijuana
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Torreon to Guadalajara. The worst airline ever. Although the ticket prices appeared to be cheapest, it quickly added up as they charge for selecting your seat $12.95 US, luggage $50.00 per luggage piece one way, and if you require more leg room, you can "upgrade to the first row seats labeled as Premium for $17.00. the flight attendants do not greet passengers upon boarding and once you land, the captain/first officer leave the cock pit to chat with the flight attendants and the staff ignored the passengers. At the airport we learned of their app, which allowed passengers to go through an expedited lane -On our way back staff in TRC were charging from $5-360 pesos to help passengers download it! We reported a broken seat on our way back - GDL - SMF - to the only flight attendant that was greeting passengers, "Ivon", and she acknowledged the broken seat and offered to report it for future flights, but did not offer another seat, because they were full to capacity, even though they had just offered Premium seats for sale! If you want a cheap transaction flight without any level of service, this is it. otherwise stay away from it as far as you can!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTorreon to Guadalajara
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Fresno to Cabo San Lucas via Guadalajara. Horrible airline, was unable to check in via website for return flights. I was able to check 4 out of 5 family members in which required a visit to the ticket agent once at the airport. I was informed at this time that I would have to pay $7.00 + pp to print boarding passes. My family and i traveled from Cabo to Guadalajara for a 1.5 hour layover. Once boarding started for the final leg we walked into a plane that was completely inundated with mosquitos. Once everyone was seated the airline staff began spraying an aerosol product above the cabin storage bins. This helped with the mosquito situation but created concern as to what was being sprayed and recirculated through the plane while we were seated. The staff made 4-5 passes through the plane using this aerosol product. Will never fly this airline again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFresno to Cabo San Lucas via Guadalajara
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is ridiculous!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We had booked a round trip flight from Los Angeles to Guatemala City. Volaris cancelled twice without sending us adequate notice. First cancellation we received a vague email with 'call for an update', we rebooked for the next night. Just a few hours before we were going to again drive to the airport (3 hours from us), we just happened to call because a flight confirmation was sent to us that said we were booked at a hotel in Brazil, which we were definitely not! Volaris said our flight was cancelled, this time due to 'weather', we rebooked it again for the next night (now shortening our vacation by 3 days). Right after, we looked up the 'weather' in Guatemala - there was a volcano eruption that killed over 60 people near where we were going to stay! Not wanting to breath poisonous gas, be covered in ash, and go to a place in crisis, we called Volaris to cancel and were told there was no way to change the date or the destination without a $972 change fee! This is ridiculous! We waited on hold for over 30 minutes and we were transferred to at least 6 different departments with everybody saying the same thing-- no real options, so we ended up just eating the money we spent on the 2 flights. Very frustrating!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Guatemala City
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I would fly them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | My sister and I flew from Oaxaca to Los Angeles and had a great experience. The flight was on time, the crew was very friendly, and the seats (premium) were comfortable and roomy! I would fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOaxaca to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes