VivaAerobús

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 8 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"such bad service"

(Iceland)

Trip Verified | I understand that budget airlines offer less amenities but politeness and fair business practices do not cost anything. I traveled with my family on a VivaAerobus roundtrip from Mérida to Veracruz and despite being a frequent flyer I have never experienced such bad service and bad business practices - I would recommend that family travelers stay clear of this airline. First I should state that we bought the most expensive tickets with every add on included, i was traveling with my pregnant wife and one year old infant (with a paid seat). First VivaAerobus wanted to deny us taking our FAA authorized car seat on the plane at check in, after an argument and being told to call service center for resolution - we finally were allowed to take it through receiving rude remarks while boarding, on the return the car seat was all of a sudden not a problem but we needed to pay extra for bringing this safety equipment for our child on the plane, despite payment the stewardess demanded that we leave the car seat when we boarded, saying the plane will not leave until we remove the sleeping baby from the seat, not until I started taping the conversation and the captain came and said everything was ok was the issue resolved. This is just the issue of one car seat I will not go into details about no help in dealing with seating together for the family or nobody being able to communicate in English, at least not when they wanted to ignore the customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMérida to Veracruz
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"smallest seats I have ever tried"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Merida. The smallest seats I have ever tried to sit in. I was hit twice by luggage of other passengers and once by the vendors of drinks and snacks, trying to navigate the narrow aisle. Impossible to stretch your legs under the seat in front of you nor stand up to get out of your seat. To evacuate or exit, the passenger in the window seat has to raise the armrests and slide himself to the aisle. They continuously changed the departure time and listed the aircraft as on time. Very confusing to the driver who was to pick us up. An hour after our so called "on time " flight arrival time, the driver left since the flight supposedly arrived on time and he couldn't find us.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Merida
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is the worst airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Tijuana. This is the worst airline, first and last time flying with them, bad service, delay both ways for more than 4 hours. They did not communicate the reasons for the delay. The seats don’t recline, the airplane was dirty. Worst experience with an airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Tijuana
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"$50 to check my carry on bag"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Guadalajara to Tuxtla Gutiérrez. Horrible airline. Worse even than United. Avoid even if it is slightly cheaper. They will gouge you will extra fees just before you fly. My flight was $100, then they added an unexplained $15 "extras fee", then charged $50 to check my carry on bag because it was 12kg instead of 10kg.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuadalajara to Tuxtla Gutiérrez
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly VivaAerobus again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Guadalajara to Los Angeles. My 4 beautiful days in Ajijic ended badly thanks to Viva Aerobus. First of all, you can't check-in online within 24 hrs of departure. But in all fairness, I'm not sure if it's airport policy or because VA hasn't caught on. So I had to be there 2.5 hrs prior to departure, checked in and was given my "VIP" group boarding pass. As we were boarding the plane, several of us were asked to step aside and go to another line to weigh and or measure our hand carry-on bags. When they took my bag, a man, without looking at me in the eyes, proceeded to invoice me for US$52 because my bag was 1" above the limit. He never even showed me the measurements! Mind you, I've used the same bag traveling to Europe, Asia and multiple US domestic flights and had NO problems. Because I felt like I was being bullied by the "polecias", I paid the US$52 and was asked to give my bag to someone by the door of the plane. There was no one there so I proceeded to take my bag in and placed it in the overhead bin. And it fitted perfectly as expected and like it has with all my other flights in the past. Also, it would be nice if VA would send us all an email warning us of their strict policies and perhaps mention that seats do not recline and there is no IFE. So much for being in a "VIP" that they couldn't even accommodate a bag that's 1" over their limit. One thing for sure, I will never fly VivaAerobus again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuadalajara to Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"downsides are the booking process"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Puerto Escondido to Mexico City. The flight was good, punctual, clean cabin, good onboard service, nothing to complain about. VivaAerobus is a low cost-carrier with very competitive prices for flights within Mexico. The big downsides are the booking process, multiple hidden charges and a bad customer service. First of all, the website seems to provide for online-booking and online-check-in. What the site doesn't tell you is that if your credit card is not issued in Mexico, the website doesn't accept your payment and ultimately your booking gets canceled. I spend hours trying to book a ticket online and failed. So if you don't have a Mexican credit card, don't bother about the website, try calling their hotline (during normal business hours they should have English-speaking staff). The booking confirmation does not say you have to check-in online, rather it says do the check-in at the airport. Unfortunately you do have to check-in online, and you can't do it on their website with a mobile phone for some reason. So check-in online with a laptop or, if you don't, you pay an additional charge at the airport (50 MXN in October 2017). If you have any complaints, their staff at the airport will not respond by direct you to their hotline (which I wouldn't bother using).
AircraftA320-232
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Escondido to Mexico City
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never use this company again"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Cancun to Mexico City. Apart from hiding charges on their booking system (Be very careful on which options are automatically selected every time you click next. The company refuses to allow passengers with children to bring the stroller to the door of the aircraft. I was travelling with my 3 year old on a 9pm flight and the manager made me document my stroller and carry my kid who was already sleeping for about two hours until the flight was due to depart. This includes passing through security. On top of that the flight was 50 minutes delayed and we basically had to walk to the aircraft right next to the people putting the luggage into the plane. The personnel in the ground were also very rude. At the end we were able to manage but with more that 1 kid, or a slightly older kid this would have been almost impossible. The ground personnel indicated that there is a package for travelling with children however since my child is older than 2 this package is not offered. I will never use this company again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Mexico City
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"price could not be beaten"

(United States)

Mexico City to Puerto Vallarta. The seating comfort was what you'd expect for a low cost airline, but the flight is short, and the price could not be beaten. I had a good experience getting my ticket, the flight was a bit late, but I kind of expected that. The inflight service was fine and the VivaAerobús crew were friendly.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEX to PVR
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes