Viva Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 9 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst experience ever"

(Peru)

Trip Verified | Tarapoto to Lima. Worst experience ever! Do not fly Viva Air. To begin, we had to fly standby on the way out because they overbooked the flight and then they blamed us. On the way back, after paying extra for selected seats, extra for baggage, we were required to pay extra for a printed ticket even though my reservation said completed. Corruption at its worst. Do not support Viva Air!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTarapoto to Lima
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rip you off at checkin"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I have taken over 30 flights in the last 18 months and this one has created the strangest policies designed to rip you off at checkin. I had downloaded my ticket to my phone as I don’t always have a printer handy. Therefore I was charged 12 USD for a printed ticket that I never saw but I was handed a boarding pass. Next was the most interesting. I always travel with cabin baggage only that weighed 8:2kg. Checkin stipulated 10kg maximum. I thought great, I’m under. As I reach checkin the VivaAir employee grabs my bag and goes to the size stand and tries to shove my Universal cabin sized bag that has never been a problem to fit in the overhead cabins on any airline and says no it won’t fit. I thought no it’s not going to fit in that. So I was charged 69 USD to take my bag as cabin luggage and it would have been a few more dollars if I opted to check it in. This flight cost me in Australian dollars an extra $100 at check in. Be warned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Medellin
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rescheduled without notification"

(Bulgaria)

Not Verified | Worst company ever! Flight was rescheduled for 10 hours earlier without notification and we missed it! The other flight from Medellin to Cusco got also rescheduled 3 times without notification. First promise to refund then deny it always in a written format. Will never fly with this company! Avoid it!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Iquitos via Sofia
Date FlownJune 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cartagena to Bogota. Worst airline ever, very bad customer service and they will charge extra money for absolutely everything. Printing the boarding pass (they do not provide copies on pdf or email), seats (there were no free seats anywhere in the cabin whole plane and all of them are cheap seats) even small luggage that fits on the overhead compartment and that is accepted on all airlines, they have smaller measures and will end up charging extra for luggage. This is not a cheap airline, they just deceive customers to rip them off at the airport.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCartagena to Bogota
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cusco to Lima. Worst airline ever. Before we even arrived in Peru they changed our flights twice, as much as a day so our whole tour was effected. Today our flight was cancelled and only option given was later tonight so we missed our connection to Iquitos which affects our Iquitos hotel Booking and Amazon tour. They offered free lunch and hotel. The hotel we couldnt arrange until lining up in Lima airport al over again. Zero information. We have had to book another airline for 6 people so we can make our Amazon tour. Absolutely furious!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight got rescheduled"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | We booked a flight from Cusco to Medellín which took us 3 times longer than it should have. Our flight got rescheduled two days before from Cusco - Lima - Medellín to cCusco - Lima - Bogota - Medellín, which prolonged our traveling time from 6 hours to 15 hours. Delayed twice, which almost made us miss one of the connection flights. They also charge you 50 sol if you don't print your boarding pass. Even if they change your flight last minute. Don't hope for support or retribution because you will get none.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Medellín
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Took 2 flights which have left me in no doubt that I will never fly this airline again. Our first was Pereira to Santa Marta. At check-in my wife's regulation cabin bag was deemed too large (by 5 cms) & would cost in excess of £20 to place in the hold. This bag has met the requirements of every other airline we have flown with (and that is many). The assistant was at least ready to offer an option - transfer all the contents & the bag into our hold baggage as they were under-weight. This we did, not without some inconvenience & embarrassment as our belongings spread across a very crowded & restricted check-in floor. The second flight was from Cartagena to Bogota. This time pre-warned about baggage we fell foul of another Viva rule. Travelling around Colombia it had not been possible to print our boarding passes, the penalty - £18 to have the check-in desk print them for us, totally unsympathetic to our situation. So be warned if flying with Viva Air, which we will certainly not be doing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePereira to Santa Marta
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this feels like a scam"

(Aruba)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Pereira. I was charged as much as the ticket cost because my 5kg backpack was 5cm too tall. It ended up fitting perfectly fine in length in the baggage bins, I have travelled all over the world with this same backpack on many different low cost airlines. For me this feels like a scam.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Pereira
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

travel with another airline"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Cartagena to San Andres. They never sent us mail or warned that we had to print the tickets in advance, or they would charge us 34,000 cops (12usd) to print the tickets. It had never happened to me to be charged for printing tickets at the AIRPORT. In addition to that we were charged the tax to enter the island, which was a mistake for not having set us in a blog, although I maintain that they must also warn the amount when making the purchase of the ticket. The worst part is that they do not accept a credit card to pay a tax. Where that money goes, I do not know. Yes or yes cash 112,000cop (40usd) Bad attention. For the money they charge you, it's better to travel with another airline. ES: Nunca nos mandaron mail ni avisaron que debíamos imprimir los pasajes con antelación, o nos cobrarían 34.000 cops (12usd) por imprimir los boletos!!! Nunca me había pasado que me cobren por imprimir unos boletos en el AEROPUERTO. Ademas de eso nos cobraron el impuesto para entrar a la isla, que eso fue un error nuestro por no habernos fijado en algún blog, aunque sostengo que también deben avisar el importe al realizar la compra del pasaje. Lo peor de todo es que no aceptan tarjeta de crédito para pagar un IMPUESTO. A donde va ese dinero, no lo se. Si o si efectivo 112.000cop (40usd) Pésima atención. Por la plata que te cobran me conviene viajar con otra aerolínea mejor.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCartagena to San Andres
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no