Viva Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the worst airline ever"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline ever. They showed a price on the screen of about 300 Euros for a return flight between Cal and Santa Martha for two people. I specifically took care in not accepting any of the extra services they offered. My surprise comes when we received the email with the confirmation of the payment. It appears as if we have clicked yes to every extra additional service they offered and, we have requested it twice for every passenger. Now the price is 2 times higher. We contacted them immediately and at least five times later. The answer is always the same. Nothing can be done, if you cancel we give you a voucher minus taxes and administrative costs. Of note, the first employee who answered the call told us that their system was experiencing some problems. I read the reviews after, should have done before. Please avoid them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCali to Santa Marta
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"A complete ripoff especially if you are a tourist"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I hope this helps anyone buying a ticket from this airline. Don't, they will rip you off. They charge a hidden fee at check-in. I got charged $240 for four tickets, because I missed the web check-in time. I told them I never received a email notification. They said it was in the fine print. Horrible service, they sat us all separate even though the flight wasn't packed. They charged for my carry-on although people had bigger ones. A complete ripoff especially if you are a tourist.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Cusco
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"give us half the money"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What a sad day! We have tried so many attempts to resolve our situation. My mother died from COVID-19 and we had to cancel the trip, but they decided after two months to give us half the money and a voucher for the amount. This voucher is to be used within 12 months. It sickens me to know how evil these people are after knowing that no one has control of this virus, and it affected my family without warning.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Cancun
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have ever flown"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline I have ever flown. From the booking thru landing. There is little to no technology to expedite processes. I tried the online check-in process and it continuously failed. So I got charged a check in fee. The documentation required is not explained prior to boarding, so you spend a good half hour filling documents. The COVID verification process is duplicated time and time again. Why because it's written down, not entered into a system. To top it all off, I asked a question about the verification process and the clerk gave me the third degree. Complained to the supervisor who went on to give me a lecture. To top it all off I was hand selected for a special security process.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Medellin
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Ground service was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was not my first trip with Viva nor my only ticket bought. I have made biz with then multiple times. But for my return fly Medellin to Miami for return on 07/05/21 @ 9:02 the staff was a pain and she wasn’t friendly. She decided to close the fly super early even as some of us vague for her help while waiting for the covid test results. Technically she closed the flight in my nose while I was holding the test in my phone and kept repeating flight is closed like 45 minutes before departure time. Ground service was terrible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Medellin
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"$30 dollars for my tiny carry on bag"

(United States)

Not Verified | I decided to give Viva air a second chance but it has been one of the biggest mistakes I’ve ever made. My last experience was horrible and after complaining I received vouchers for the tickets that I had purchased. It turns out that when paying taxes for those tickets it was pretty much like buying a new ticket. The customer service is horrible! When I got to the airport this time I expressed my concern about not being able to check in online and the answer that I got is that I made a mistake and I would have to pay $25 dollars for them to check us in. Then, I said that I had a small carry on suitcase to bring with me and their trick is that if your “personal item” doesn’t fit in the box that they have designed to measure your luggage you have to pay extra. Well, my bag was too big (for the box) and I ended up paying $30 dollars for my tiny carry on bag to be checked. Am I using this airline again? No way! T
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Cartagena
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This was a terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was a terrible experience. We had to return to our hotel because of some items left behind and tried to send our adult kids ahead of us knowing that we were going to miss our flight and the airline did everything they could to make this experience impossible. The lady helping them couldn’t have be any worse. We then bought tickets on Avianca and it was a very pleasant end to a bad day.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They issue only vouchers"

(United States)

Not Verified | Please do yourself a favor and save yourself a headache and losing money. Do not book on this airline! They are booking customers on flights, taking payment and days or a week later cancelling flights & rebooking passengers on flights on different days without consent. I confirmed with 3 Viva Air agents by telephone prior to booking these tickets that their flights were running on time and not being canceled. Each assured me the bookings on their online website were legitimate and safe to book. Then they cancel your flight and hopefully, you are fortunate to even find out that they have done so. Now they have your money and will not issue a refund. This is Viva Air problem, their mistake, which should be taken care of by Viva Air not put the burden on their customers. They issue only vouchers. What good is a voucher that we will never be able to use? What a rip off! Don't be the next victim.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Miami
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cheap flights turn out to be expensive"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I searched on their website for two tickets one-way. The price for two was $40 more than buy them individually. I figure because we were going to sit next to each other. Well then I was charged extra for seat selection. When we arrived we were charge again 140000 COP to check in! Also, we were not give the seats next to each other and I was charge extra for this. Viva Air is simply a horrible company. They will not refund any of my money. They said it was my fault because I should have said something. Well being blind-sighted by additional fees, yes I did not noticed the seats were not next to each other. Over $150 additional fees. Their cheap flights turn out to be expensive.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiohacha to Bogota
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"intransigent and unethical"

(Peru)

Trip Verified | Do not fly with Viva Air. I have traveled with quite a few agencies, but this is the most intransigent and unethical I know of on the market. Their economic cost does not compensate for the terrible service they offer. On the Lima to Cuzco route, my carry-on bag was measured and I was allowed to travel because the excess of 2 cm (seriously 2 cm) was from the suitcase design. Upon return, they made me remove the straps from the backpack because the manager happened to measure the excess with a ruler, leaving my backpack damaged. Wait a bit or pay a few more estimated dollars. No vuelen con Viva Air!! He viajado con bastantes agencias, pero esta es la más intransigente y poco ética que conozco del mercado. Su costo económico no compensa el pésimo servicio que ofrecen. En la ruta Lima a Cuzco se me midió la maleta de mano y se me permitió viajar porque el excedente de 2 cm (en serio 2 cm) era del diseño de la maleta. Al retorno, me hicieron desmontar los fierros de la mochila porque al encargado se le ocurrió medir con una regla ese excedente, quedando estropeada mi mochila. Esperen un poco o pague unos dólares más estimados
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCuzco to Lima
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews