Viva Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"families are not sat together"

(United States)

Not Verified | Santa Marta to Medellin. How is it possible that families are not sat together. Empty airplane and they only have emergency seats to sit us together for an extra charge. So rude and want to charge for everything.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Medellin
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is the worst airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bogotá to Santa Marta. This is the worst airline I have ever flown, their customer service is so poor and bad I have not words. They will charge even for a check in, their web site is trash, couldn’t use the check in and they blame me for it. They broke one of my suitcases and they said they are not responsible for any damage. I am so upset.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogotá to Santa Marta
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never book with them again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Lima to Talara. Easy to book the ticket online and cheap but you get what you paid for. They charge a lot for checked baggage which made the final cost of the flight close to it's competition. Customer service is clueless and needs to maybe smile more. Flight ended up being cancelled. Peruvians sprinted to the check in line and basically had a riot. Staff couldn't communicate a thing which definitely would help. I kept getting bump back in line even though I went to the counter shortly after the cancellation. People were insane. No control from ur staff just useless people. There was no direction .. no signs defining lines. People catching different flights would come to the line up and stand their thinking it was their flight .. we were the ones telling them what line up/counter they should go to. Why isn't Viva Air staff explaining anything to anyone. After a 5 hour wait in a line of crazy people our flight was rescheduled to the following day. The new flight was terrible, people threw up including myself and I fly often with no issues. We've booked 3 more flights while in Peru.. Not one is with Viva Air. We will never book with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Talara
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"read their website"

(United States)

Not Verified | Miami to Medellin. Viva air is a low cost airline. You have to read their website. Their website states very clearly the additional fees you can encounter. You can only take 1 free bag with specific measurements and weight 10kg. If you go over in measurement or weight, they charge a fee. Their carry on is not free and the checked is not free either. They let you change seats free, if there is empty seats. My total flight including 1 checked bag for each flight was 413$ for two people. My husband and I shared a 20kg checked bag. We took our backpacks for dirty clothes and for additional last minute travel purchases. I had compared my airline prices AA = 373$ per person Avianca =414$ per person However, I am leaving a 3 star because our flight back to Miami from Medellin was a bit stressful the check in process was very disorganized and the lady gave us separate seats. But I was able to switch seats when we boarded the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Medellin
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not sent a reminder email"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Santa Marta to Medellin. At the bottom of several pages of small print on e-ticket, Viva Air states ‘not submitting a printed boarding pass at the airport for domestic flights will incur a charge of $33.000.‘ Viva Air does not sent out a reminder email before travel. I assumed I could check in at the airport and was charged $65.000 (rather than $65). This strikes me as a cowboy practice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Medellin
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" worst airline I have ever flown"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Juliaca to Lima. The worst airline I have ever flown with! Terrible service, they try to charge every possible penny out of their clients. I have travelled with my backpack all over the world and never had any problems, not even with low cost such as RyanAir. I had to pay US$36 to travel using the same backpack I have been using for years, and that was not even for shipping but for carrying it the overhead compartment. Such a rip off! The flight was late, the plane was dirty, I don't recommend them for anybody and I for sure will never give them another penny!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJuliaca to Lima
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Viva Air customer review

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Santa Marta to Bogota. Had the misfortune of booking flights with Viva Air. Their business model is clearly designed to catch out people and sting them with extra-large unreasonable fees. I bought tickets, and couldn't web check-in in advance and so got stung by fees over half the cost of the ticket just to get access to my tickets. How the hell they can sell tickets but then charge extra to access them is pathetic!. It cost me 715000 cop or approx 350 au for them to issue me tickets! Also, the people in front had one carry on bag that was literally 1 cm protruding out of the bag size and they had to pay for checked luggage - 1cm! Furthermore, at the airport, the supervisor started raising their voice at us, especial to a 70-year-old in our group and then they simply walked off leaving us at an unattended service counter. You could not find an airline with worse customer service and ethics!. I hope their reputation and service (lack of) is their downfall, they don't deserve to be in business!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Bogota
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is poor to miserable"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Flight Bogotá Lima. Reclining chairs, but barely room for my legs in the chair (I measure 1.75). I had to pay extra to sit next to my wife. All the time in fear that the bags we carry would be extra charged. Cuzco Lima Not even a USB port to charge cell phone or tablet. Everything, including water is charged. Plastic chairs that do not recline, just better than those on an urban bus. My wife changed position with a woman since she had been separated from her 5 year old son. Lima Bogotá We had to pay 40 us for printing 2 passports. The same fear that the suitcase will be charged extra for passing us a couple of centimeters. Plastic chairs do not recline, for a 3-hour flight. I did not sit next to my wife, for not paying extra. If they could, they would charge the toilet paper per square. Really awkward. I understand that it is low cost, but the service is poor to miserable. No screen, no usb port, no water, no space, no comfort. Everything has to pay extra. In the end, it ends up leaving at the same price or even more expensive than better airlines like Lan or Avianca. Vuelo Bogotá Lima. Sillas que reclinan, pero apenas espacio para mis piernas en la silla (mido 1.75). Tuve que pagar extra para sentarme al lado de mi esposa. Todo el tiempo con miedo de que las maletas que llevavamos fueran a ser cobradas extra. Cuzco Lima. Ni siquiera un puerto usb para cargar celular o tableta. Todo, incluyendo agua es cobrado. Sillas plásticas que no reclinan, apenas mejores que las que hay en un bus urbano. Mi esposa cambio puesto con una mujer ya que habia quedado separada de su hijo de 5 años. Lima Bogotá. Tuvimos que pagar 40 us por imprimir 2 pasabordos. El mismo miedo de que la maleta la cobraran extra por pasarnos un par de centímetros. Sillas plásticas.no reclinan, para un vuelo de 3 h. No me senté al lado de mi esposa, por no pagar extra. Si pudieran, cobrarían el papel higieníco por cuadrado. Realmente incómodo. Entiendo que es bajo costo, pero el servicio se pasa a miserable. No pantalla, no puerto usb, no agua, no espacio, no comodidad. Todo toca pagar extra. Al final, termina saliendo al mismo precio o incluso más caro que aerolíneas mejores como lan o Avianca.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteArequipa to Lima
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"didn’t let me board"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Lima to San Andres via Bogota. We arrived on time to the flight. Right before boarding they told me I had to validate my boarding pass. I waited where she told me. There was a group in front of me paying their instruments. I was never attended. Then they closed the door and didn’t let me board. The worst thing is that the lady wrote in her computer that we refused to pay for our luggage and that’s why we didn’t board, which was false.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to San Andres via Bogota
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible service"

(Colombia)

Not Verified | We flew with the same airline from Bogotá to Santa Marta and received all our bags without problem, since they complied with the established measures, and today when we show up to fly from Santa Marta to Bogotá they tell us that the same suitcase does not comply with the measures established by the airline and we must pay $ 80,000COP to return the suitcase to Bogotá. They also told us that they were not responsible for the "negligence", which they say the workers in Bogotá had when they received the suitcase, and finally they did not fix us and we had to pay. Terrible service of the airline Viva Air Colombia. Volamos con la misma aerolínea de Bogotá a Santa Marta y nos recibieron todas las maletas sin problema, ya que cumplían con las medidas establecidas, y hoy cuando nos presentamos para volar de Santa Marta a Bogotá nos dicen que la misma maleta (la cual es de pasta y no se puede modificar su tamaño) no cumple con las medidas establecidas por la aerolínea y que debemos pagar $80.000COP para poder devolver la maleta a Bogotá. También nos dijeron que ellos no se hacían responsable de la "negligencia", que según ellos, tuvieron los trabajadores en Bogotá al recibir la maleta, y finalmente no nos solucionaron y nos tocó pagar. Pésimo servicio de la aerolínea Viva Air Colombia
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Bogotá
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews