Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 543 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"more legroom than most airlines"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Singapore to Hanoi. Boarding was quick and efficient, as expected at Changi. Typical economy seats but more legroom than most airlines. Hot towels provided after take off, with a prompt bar service complete with a packet of nuts. There seems to be competition between airlines to reduce the size of tumblers provided. Meal service followed quickly, with a choice of two eastern meals. A nice touch was a photograph of the two meals offered for those not familiar with eastern food. Quality was good. Drinks were offered with the meal, and there was a wine top up run during the meal. This was my first experience of Vietnam Airlines, and I was generally impressed. It is worth noting that Vietnam have added a third toilet at the back of this stretched A320.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Hanoi
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I could upgrade my ticket"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Min City to Shanghai. Using Optiontown, I could upgrade my ticket to business class at a very affordable price. Sadly, my flight departed early in the morning so there was no priority lane at the immigration area at the airport. I have flown with Vietnam Airlines for so many times, so I knew what to expect; nevertheless, this was the fist time I flew with them in business class on an A350. The aircraft was fresh and clean, but the staggered seat was not very great though compared to the herringbone ones on B787 or the newer A350. Menus for breakfast were distributed, but the breakfast itself didn't have many options. Meal quality was good enough. Throughout the flight, I could see the presence of cabin attendance quite frequently to check if passengers needed anything. In-flight entertainment was not very various and updated, as I had watched all the movies presented in the system a long time ago. Overall, it was a slightly better product than other airlines operating on the same route.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHo Chi Min City to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was generally pleasant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Seoul in March 2018. The A350-900 is the newest addition to Vietnam Airlines' fleet, however I prefer the seating arrangement on their 787-9. The seat was good and on par with premium airlines around the world. Catering is quite behind other top airlines in Asia, but I'm excited that they begin to offer local signature dishes. The "hu tiu" dish served on my flight was reasonably tasty. Cabin service was generally pleasant. The restroom by the business class section had no running water, so staff put a bucket of mineral water in the restroom for us to wash our hands. This is minor, but I'm surprised how this can happen on such new equipment.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Seoul
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"humiliating cost-saving experience"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hue to to Ho Chi Minh City on 14/10/2018. Flight initially rescheduled 3 weeks earlier giving me stress to a vey narrow timed international connection onwards. However, it was a lucky day: we departed 20 min early from Hue and arrived 20 min early in SGN. Onboard, they now serve several soft drinks in economy – before only water was provided. Check-in took seconds. Additional luggage acceptred. They allowed me to take luggage onboard as I had narrow connection onwards (their fault!). Bus gating in both airports (embarking and disembarking) is not funny – an extremely humiliating cost-saving experience to endure to be stuffed 50 pax in a bus and then been drove around in blindness. They stuff their buses to maximum capacity and provide no information. Extremely humiliating. All the time that we gained in efficiency from origin and during flight was completely wasted in Saigon where we suffered endless taxiing, stops and unannounced waiting. I may take the train next time: much more dignity and priceworthy.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHue to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Cabin staff was quite good"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Moscow to Hanoi. On time flight, seat was good, but checked in at Moscow Domodedovo airport was a bit messy. Food was also very good, 2 meals were served and pot instant noodle was available during flight. The Boeing 787 was amazing and new. Cabin staff was quite good.
Aircraftboeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Hanoi
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"needs to pay more attention"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Paris. Vietnam Airlines needs to pay more attention on customers's needs. When I asked for Western dish in the menu the man told me there was no more of them. Then I asked why and he started giving some excuses. And then the head air hostess came to give me the Western dish about 5 mins later.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"the service was excellent"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Hanoi. The booking was fast and the staff were super friendly, Check-in was a bit slow. The flight was on-time. On-flight service fantastic, the seat were comfortable, the food were great, the staffs were nice, there was a strong turbulance when we were landing, so the landing didn't go very smooth, But overall the flight was good, the service was excellent and the food is acceptable! Keep up the good work.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Hanoi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and thoughtful"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I took an economy class flight from Ho Chi Minu city to Singapore.The aircraft was Airbus A321 and uncomfortable to sleep. The cabin crew was very friendly and thoughtful. The seats had many free space. Food was delicious with chicken and rice.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"ATR 72-500 was old and dirty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dalat to Da Nang. Horrible. The ATR 72-500 was old and dirty. The galley did not have a trash bag and the lavatories were lacking in soap and potable water. One cabin crew member didn’t even tell passengers to place their seats in the upright position for landing until my mother reminded him to. Vietnam Airlines flies the ATR 72-500 through VASCO. I would only recommend if you were flying the A330 and above with Vietnam Airlines.
AircraftATR 72-500
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalat to Da Nang
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew nice and very helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi. Old Airbus A321. Very outdated interior. Crew nice and very helpful. Personally, they made this flight great. Food wasn’t great. I only ate it because I was hungry. Since it was a morning flight, the breakfast was a meat pie and some fruit. Legroom was nice. Equivalent to JetBlue in the USA. Entertainment was provided on the inflight ceiling video screens. To be honest, if Vietnam Airlines decided to retrofit the A321, it would be a great experience. Overall: 8/10. I would recommend flying them, but try to snag a seat on the newer airplanes like the B787 and A350.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Hanoi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes