Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 603 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"I enjoyed time on board"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh City. Offered food was not so various even for business class. A350 was clean, up-to-date, business seat can turn to flat bed. In flight TV provides mostly Vietnamese shows, movies, music with subtitle and some old-school Asian/international entertainment. I enjoyed time on board, boarding and landing time, thanks to the crew. It will always be my prior choice.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Cabin crew disappeared"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Hanoi. Drinks were not frequent enough. Meals were 8 hours apart with no snacks in between although some people got random pot noodles during the flight. Cabin crew disappeared between meals.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Hanoi
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"started with a tasty dinner"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City. Even on a 2-hour domestic flight, an A350 where you can turn your seat into a flat bed in business class. My great time on the sky started with a tasty dinner, slept on a flat bed, and ended with some refreshments before landing.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHanoi to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"seats which are fully flat"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Paris to Singapore via Hanoi. The queue to check in at the Paris CDG Sky Priority counter was the longest wequeue as Business class passengers. Air France lounge at 2E was pretty good, with chicken & fish as hot dishes. Paris to Hanoi was in a A350, with 1-2-1 reverse herringbone seats which are fully flat! Food onboard with good French standards. FAs helpful and pro-active on this sector. Stopover in Hanoi was about 2 hours. Though the Lotus Lounge was spacious, modern and bright, the only edible food to us was the hot Chicken noodle soup. The greatest disappointment from Hanoi to Singapore was in an older A321 plane with 2-2 angled seats. This last sector of about 3 hours we could not rest well due to the old & poor Business Class seats. There was no amenities like eye shades, ear plugs nor slippers for Business class on this sector so you should keep your slippers from the earlier A350 flights. Overall, we arrive about 30 mins earlier than scheduled and all luggage arrived safely. Hence, if their rates are attractive enough, worth a go!
AircraftA350 / A321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteParis to Singapore via Hanoi
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"not a full 4-star airline"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hue to Danang via Saigon on Vietnam Airlines domestic aircraft, the A321. In Hue, check in took only 15 seconds (no lies!) as 4 counters were open. In Saigon I had to wait 2 Minutes. Had 14 kg hand-luggage only, which was, upon clarification, accepted both ways. Ticket was bought 5 weeks earlier and was cheap, only 60 USD including luggage allowance. No Mileage given in those heavily discounted fares. Free to choose seats at check-in. Transparent pricing when booking. Onboard, drink service (soft drinks) but no bites nor hot drinks offered. FAs were fine. Full flights. Almost punctual, a minor delay of 20 Minutes was clearly announced in Airport and no further delays incurred. 2nd flight on time. IFE has become a bit better though showing from only small ceiling shared monitors. Earlier IFE was a disgrace by forcefully showing foolish “Hidden Video” episodes in plenum as for Kindergarten incumbents. Arrival and Departure were quick through airbridge gates (Saigon). That’s the spirit of a 4-star airline. They are close but, however, not a full 4-star airline as yet.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHue to Danang via Saigon
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"food was quite good"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Bangkok. The flight was on shedule and on time. Check in very fast, boarding with aerobridge. The food was quite good. My seat was quite comfortable and the view was nice. A lot of magazines.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to HCM City was a good flight. The flight was on time, no delay. The food was hot and delicious. My seat was very comfortable with a large leg room. The view was awesome. A lot of film, music and entertainment were on my personal screen. And the price for both 2 flight was $35. Very cheap!
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to HCM City
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the staff friendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Vientiane to Phnom Pemh. The check In was well organized and the staff friendly. The departure / arrival was on time and the aircraft made an average maintained impression. During the flight there were small bites and drinks. Overall, a good experience
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVientiane to Phnom Pemh
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"it did not disappoint"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | First time trying this 4 star airline and based on the prices it charged, it did not disappoint. First flight to Ho Chi Minh City was in a A350 with 1-2-1 lie flat staggered seats. The seats were visibly narrower than the Boeing 787’s reverse herringbone seats. Food was almost inedible but since the Changi Airport Terminal 4 lounge was quite good, we did not mind. Once in Ho Chi Minh City, the 3rd floor lounge was filled to the brim and we were brought to a first floor lounge. Food was below par except for spring rolls. Second sector in Boeing 787’s reverse herringbone 1-2-1 full flat seats (very similar to Finnair’s). Slept OK. All flights were on time and we even arrived in London 45 mins earlier than schedule. On each flight, there was 2-3 very attentive FA with the others being less helpful (more training needed). Did not take the supper but breakfasts was tasty, albeit too small portions. Toilets not as clean. Entertainment not as varied with only about 5 Chinese movies. Overall, recommended to give this airline a try. Keep on improving, Vietnam Airlines.
AircraftA350 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to London via Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"seems to be getting better"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh to Denpasar. Platinum skyteam member on Vietnam Airlines. Overall a solid airline that seems to be getting better, however 3 main areas for improvement: 1 Almost all domestic and short haul intl flights under 5 hours you get no IFE. New 787s and A350s are good. Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi route is only domestic route to serve meals, and then only during meal time. Off meal time its dry snacks. On time departure rates are lower than officially stated.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Denpasar
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes