Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 540 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"humiliating cost-saving experience"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hue to to Ho Chi Minh City on 14/10/2018. Flight initially rescheduled 3 weeks earlier giving me stress to a vey narrow timed international connection onwards. However, it was a lucky day: we departed 20 min early from Hue and arrived 20 min early in SGN. Onboard, they now serve several soft drinks in economy – before only water was provided. Check-in took seconds. Additional luggage acceptred. They allowed me to take luggage onboard as I had narrow connection onwards (their fault!). Bus gating in both airports (embarking and disembarking) is not funny – an extremely humiliating cost-saving experience to endure to be stuffed 50 pax in a bus and then been drove around in blindness. They stuff their buses to maximum capacity and provide no information. Extremely humiliating. All the time that we gained in efficiency from origin and during flight was completely wasted in Saigon where we suffered endless taxiing, stops and unannounced waiting. I may take the train next time: much more dignity and priceworthy.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHue to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Cabin staff was quite good"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Moscow to Hanoi. On time flight, seat was good, but checked in at Moscow Domodedovo airport was a bit messy. Food was also very good, 2 meals were served and pot instant noodle was available during flight. The Boeing 787 was amazing and new. Cabin staff was quite good.
Aircraftboeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Hanoi
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"needs to pay more attention"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Paris. Vietnam Airlines needs to pay more attention on customers's needs. When I asked for Western dish in the menu the man told me there was no more of them. Then I asked why and he started giving some excuses. And then the head air hostess came to give me the Western dish about 5 mins later.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"the service was excellent"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Hanoi. The booking was fast and the staff were super friendly, Check-in was a bit slow. The flight was on-time. On-flight service fantastic, the seat were comfortable, the food were great, the staffs were nice, there was a strong turbulance when we were landing, so the landing didn't go very smooth, But overall the flight was good, the service was excellent and the food is acceptable! Keep up the good work.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Hanoi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and thoughtful"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I took an economy class flight from Ho Chi Minu city to Singapore.The aircraft was Airbus A321 and uncomfortable to sleep. The cabin crew was very friendly and thoughtful. The seats had many free space. Food was delicious with chicken and rice.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"ATR 72-500 was old and dirty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dalat to Da Nang. Horrible. The ATR 72-500 was old and dirty. The galley did not have a trash bag and the lavatories were lacking in soap and potable water. One cabin crew member didn’t even tell passengers to place their seats in the upright position for landing until my mother reminded him to. Vietnam Airlines flies the ATR 72-500 through VASCO. I would only recommend if you were flying the A330 and above with Vietnam Airlines.
AircraftATR 72-500
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalat to Da Nang
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew nice and very helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi. Old Airbus A321. Very outdated interior. Crew nice and very helpful. Personally, they made this flight great. Food wasn’t great. I only ate it because I was hungry. Since it was a morning flight, the breakfast was a meat pie and some fruit. Legroom was nice. Equivalent to JetBlue in the USA. Entertainment was provided on the inflight ceiling video screens. To be honest, if Vietnam Airlines decided to retrofit the A321, it would be a great experience. Overall: 8/10. I would recommend flying them, but try to snag a seat on the newer airplanes like the B787 and A350.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Hanoi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not good service at all"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh City. This was not good service at all. The flight was first delayed for 6 hours, then it was finally cancelled. They did thankfully put everyone up for accommodation. However, passengers had to wait for 2 nights before their flight was re-booked. I personally think that this is horrendous - do not recommend.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"girlfriend cancelled his flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Saigon via Phnom Penh. My son’s girlfriend cancelled his flight from Melbourne - Saigon, Vietnam air then cancelled all of his subsequent flights without any notice. He had to then re-purchase all of these flights again so he could get home for $1300. Our flight from Phom Penh to HCMC was cancelled with no notification. Luckily our hotels concierge was able to get an alternative flight with Qatar or we would have missed our connecting flight from HCMC to Melbourne, book another nights accomodation & fly the next day. Vietnam airline was uncontactable on a Sunday & the guy at the transfer desk said this happens all the time. We would never fly with them again even though Vietnam is an excellent destination for holidays.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Saigon via Phnom Penh
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"friendly cabin crew"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Ho Chi Minh City. Great seats space, friendly cabin crew, the fish and bread are delicious. Our flight was delayed 30 minutes than departure time because of the weather.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes