Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 570 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"friendly but just incompetent"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Ho Chi Minh City. Able to make Premium Economy feel like Economy Minus! I fly on a weekly basis for work, so I would say I have quite some reference material. Going for a personal trip with Vietnam Airlines last week, I had good expectations because of there membership of the Skyteam alliance. However, from the booking onward, they continued to disappoint. First of all the customer service was not able to understand my straightforward question in English, and I eventually gave up. The plane was a new A350, so that looked good and the seat was comfortable. However, the inflight entertainment is the worst I have seen in the last 10 years. Very limited amount of movies, but the worst of all is that they played Advertisements the almost the whole flight - you just cannot believe it. Also, while having your own screen, they put on a 'candid camera show' for all screens, for over half an hour. Absolutely terrible, this is so far below par. Cabin crew was friendly, but just incompetent. Poor English, ignoring call-signs throughout. Terrible experience on almost all levels and disappointing for Skyteam. Many improvements needed! Hope they do something about it, because they do have the potential with the new planes (that's why I give 2/10)!
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSingapore to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Cabin staff routinely ignore attendant calls"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Hanoi. I have worked in Vietnam for more than 10 years. I noted that the Vietnam CAA recently released a report stating VNA fights were on time more than 75% of the time. My experience makes me doubt this statistic, for domestic flights. On international flights the entertainment system frequently had problems. On international flights the toilets are never cleaned unless a passenger complains. Cabin staff routinely ignore attendant calls. I fly with VNA because it is the only non stop service available.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Hanoi
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Flight time changed 5 times"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh City. I have never had a bad experience with an airline until now. Food rating - very low, they only had one option available because they ran out of the other option. Flight time changed 5 times - very inconvenient and no straight forward response was given. After requesting an aisle seat, they offered very little help and told me it’s not their problem.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ended up being delayed 3 consecutive times"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Nha Trang to Ho Chi Minh City with Vietnam Airlines. I must give the lowest scores on every ranking that I can for this awful airline. I had to pay douple the price compared with other cheap airlines to ensure the departure time and ended up being delayed 3 consecutive times, which made me cancel my meeting after that. A laugh and short explanation were all I receive from its employees for its delay.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNha Trang to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Seats comfortable enough"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew with Vietnam Airlines from Sydney to Hanoi, then Ho Chi Minh City to Sydney, flying on the 787. Planes were new and clean, and food was fine. The flight attendants were efficient and mostly friendly. Seats comfortable enough. The TV touch screen was easy to navigate, but the selection of movies wasn't that good. Enough to keep you occupied, but a wider variety would have been better. Both flights left a little late and arrived early. Overall, I found Vietnam Airlines to be quite good overall, I'd fly again if there were competitive prices. If it weren't for the entertainment, I'd rate this airline much highter.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Hanoi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"entertainment very limited"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Hanoi. Upgrade from Premium Economy to business must be requested 2 days in advance and then picked up at the counter. I found the food on board very economical. The collection of drinks in the kitchen difficult, since staff barely visible and then busy. First meal metal cutlery, breakfast only plastic. My seats was in need of renovation and I found the entertainment very limited and very old movies. Internet not available on board. DE: Upgrade von Premium Eco in die Business muss 2 Tage vorher beantragt wrrden und dann am Schalter der VN abgeholt werden... ein Upgrade wie bei anderen Airlines am Check-In nur gegen Bezahlung möglich. Wozu man 100.000. Milen hat...keine Ahnung. Die Verpflegung an Bord ist sehr sparsam. Das Abholen von Getränken in der Küche sehr schwierig, da Personal kaum sichtbar und dann mit sich beschäftigt ist. Unkoordinierter Service, erste Mahlzeit Metallbesteck, Frühstück nur noch Plastik. Sitze sind wie überall auch sanierungsbedürftig, sehr abgenutzt. Das Unterhaltungsprogramm sehr eingeschränkt und sehr alte Filme. Internet nicht an Bord verfügbar.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Hanoi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Great service by the crew"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I flew with VNA for the first time on my trip Kuala Lumpur to Hanoi on April 2019. It was an Okay flight though it could be a bit bored as not much activities during flights - Value money: Not so understandable cuz though there's 30kg baggage and meal in flight however there was no IFE in that flight while other carriers offered IFE with basically same price (Malindo, MAS) - Ground service nothing much to say though I had to wait nearly half hour for my luggage to come out. Good comfy seat with great leg room though no IFE. Great service offered by the crew. Very friendly and responsive, speak good English. I had a pleasant experience with them. Food & beverage: One meal served during 3 hour flight with no snacks. I had beef and potato and it was really good. Came with a sort of dessert cake and bun. Good overall - flight to/from KL operated by VNA are often delayed.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Hanoi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Stressless and genuine"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Saigon-Hue 4 April 2019 on A321 aircraft. They cancelled my initial departure 4 weeks before I was to fly. However, that gave me clear notice and chance to rearrange their now proposed late Saturday night departure. I decided to prepone my entire trip to arrive 2 days earlier from abroad. They promptly changed free of charge and apologized deeply. I checked in online for the first time with VN. Physically, allowed to check-in 5 hours early. In SGN airport, everything functioned well: I was granted priority at all steps from check-in, security, and boarding. Their Lotus lounge in Saigon domestic is modernized, good and spacious but food and drinks are poor. Only 2 beers offered and local, cheap “redwine”. Onboard, the business cabin has classic, huge, well bolstered business class seats in 2 x 2 configuration (where economy has 3 x 3). No entertainment. Poor food, but nice, wide range of beers offered. Mileage given. 2 pieces of luggage were well handled, though 30 kg in business is a too small allowance. The weight of suitcases were well over maximum, but not a word against it! 2 pieces of luggage received as the first ones when landed in Hue. Gate changes and slight delay. Bus-gating in both ends really destroy any feeling of exclusivity. Business Class must wait longer as they are only provided 1 trip small bus which not leaves before all business class passengers have entered the bus. Thus, economy passengers wait less as they leave whenever a bus if full. Air bridge boarding and disembarking should apply instead of bus-rides! Twenty minutes delayed. Otherwise, the reliability and communication are fine and timely. Stressless and genuine airline!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSaigon to Hue
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refuses to provide compensation"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Da Nang. VN did not recognize privileges granted by SkyTeam Elite Plus status (eg. lounge access, free checked in luggage, priority boarding and ground checks). Furthermore, the personnel spoke poor English and was rude to the point of coming across as openly aggressive. No drinks or snacks were offered aboard, and my flight was delayed for more than 3 hours due to 'technical and scheduling difficulties. VN refuses to provide compensation.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Da Nang
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"unpleasant experience"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Hi Chi Minh City to Taipei. Online check-in not available. Unable to use kiosk at airport. Very long check-in queue which we had to join despite having no check-in bags. No online or kiosk check-in means no bag drop. Seven counters for all VN flights leaving that day. The fare allowed seat selection at time of purchase, but almost all seats blocked off. Managed to get an emergency exit seat, however, it appears anyone can sit in the emergency exit rows, and the ones on the other side were occupied by passengers who piled bags and coats in the row. The cabin crew were unfriendly almost to the point of rudeness and allowed people to hang off seats, block the aisles, general chaos. Gate changed at last minute without announcement. Water dispensed once in a half-filled cup. Beer on the outbound flight at room temperature. This is not a cheap fare and it would have been pleasant to have anything to drink on a 3+ hour flight. No air bridges at all despite the air bridge being extended to within six feet of the plane. Rear stairs provided but no crew at door to admit passengers. Uncomfortable seats. I have flown this route on other airlines and VN are to be avoided in future. What an unpleasant experience.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHi Chi Minh City to Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no