VietJet Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 315 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Great service as always"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Once again we flew with VietJet Air to Hanoi from Siem Reap. Great service as always, I had a very pleasant flight with a low cost. We must say we love the new pre order service where you can make sure products are available. Planes were clean and comfortable and felt roomy too, a lot better than some of the bigger airlines!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Hanoi
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very pleasant experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Nice flight from Tokyo to Hanoi and back on VietJet. Was a quick spontaneous decision to visit Vietnam after my Tokyo trip and I booked a flight on VietJet. Then reading all the bad reviews I was trying to find an alternate different carrier. Unable last minute I braced for VietJet. But I had a great experience with VietJet. Friendly good check-in, no carry on bag problem and flight crew was very friendly and helpful. The flight was on time and very pleasant experience. Definitely would fly them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Hanoi
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airline out there"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dalat to Krabi via Bangkok, Vietjet is the worst airline out there. I’ve had so many negative experiences with them, but this was special. We had a connection in BKK, so we had to go through immigration, and recheck in. Ok, no problem. We go to the VJ counter and they tell us to get in a huge line. It took us 40 minutes to get to the check-in counter. Then they tell us it’s too early to check in (2.5 hours early), and we would have to stand in the line again. This was too much. I can handle the terrible music they play on a loop, I can deal with the little-to-no legroom. This was infuriating. If you can afford it, please take another airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDalat to Krabi via Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bali to Tokyo via Ho Chi Minh. Worst airline experience I’ve had to date. The check in process alone was a nightmare and their customer service was surprisingly extremely unhelpful. I’ve been in their shoes and give them the benefit of the doubt but this time it’s unbelievable. All foreigners were having issues with the VISA which isn’t the airlines fault but the attendants when asked what to do just laughed and said to google it, it made for some very upset passengers. I would recommend maybe a guide to help or someone they can talk too because the comments from the clerk definitely didn’t help the situation. Next while on the flight the seats itself weren’t terrible, not the comfiest but definitely weren’t bad. The in flight entertainment is your phone, there’s nothing else. So definitely bring a portable charger for electronics. The food was a mess of in itself, they have a menu for food and drink but good luck getting a stewardess to order. We tried multiple times to buy food or drink but we couldn’t get their attention, we tried to use the bell above the seats but that was unsuccessful as well. I highly recommend to bring your own food and drink, or purchase a ticket that has food with it. My vacation was great but it was the only negative and bad experience we had. Will always check my itineraries to make sure they aren’t apart of it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Tokyo via Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"weighing hand carry luggage"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Ho Chi Minh City. First time and certainly the last time travelling with them. First the staff at the check-in counter told us it is alright to take our fragile goods as hand carry luggage. Carry on luggages and checked in luggages weighed on the belt. Check-in procedures pleasantly performed, no issue at all. Then at the boarding gate another staff started catching passengers with luggage which they deemed not acceptable right when they commence boarding. They start weighing passengers' hand carry luggage with a big scale. They don't care what's inside and stack all our luggage on top of each other and count to the nearest precision. Then they will say the hand carries are overweight and deny us from boarding before we pay them a fee of 950,000 dong. [This rate is for 1kg to 20kg, non negotiable] Worse still, the check-in counter staff that attended to us earlier was also there but when we raised the issue to her, there was no assistance at all. It was as if that was the first time seeing us. Cold shoulder, period. Just when passengers are good to board, good to go, the airline will caught you by surprise. Very double standard and sneaky indeed. Should never convey something to passengers and then practice otherwise.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrific experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | DaNang to Ho Chi Minh City. Trying to book tickets with the app keeps telling me my card cannot be accepted. 5 times I tried then checked bank accounts and see 5 amounts debited but no reservation number no nothing. Have to go to Vietjet office to try to get fixed but say accounts department problem. Organise tickets at office all good. Email just before flight saying delay 30 mins. That ok. Get to airport and flight delayed another 30 min. No reason given. Then another 30 and gate change without notice. Finally away and arrive nearly 2 hours late. After arriving observed ground staff standing around mobile exiting platform for approximately 20 minutes no movement at all. Then finally pushed against plane and wait another 10 minutes before door opens. Horrific experience all to save a few $. Never again unfortunately have to use for return trip.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDaNang to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I regret flying this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Denpasar. In 30 years of flying this has been my worst experience with an airline. I felt extorted by the gate staff and manipulated into paying for carry on baggage or resulting in missing my flight. It's obvious this budget airline has tactics in place to receive extra compensation from customers. The guidelines for carry on baggage says 7 kilos which was the weight of my luggage. They decided to also weigh my laptop and camera which were in my backpack to ensure I was overweight by 1.5 kilos. I pleaded that this wasn't in my carry on luggage this was in my personal item (backpack). The person traveling with me also was put in the same situation which we were left with the option to either pay the $45 USD fee each for extra baggage or miss our flight. We then tried to put our 3 kilo total overage weight in one suitcase to only pay the fee once but we were informed that even though we were traveling together we could not rearrange our items into one suitcase to avoid being charged twice totaling $90 USD. In the end to not miss our flight we paid $90USD. I regret flying this airline, please advise if you decide to fly this airline and take all precautions to avoid being put in this situation.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Denpasar
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"complicated, tedious, expensive"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Flew Saigon to Hue on a Monday afternoon October 2019 on a brand new, beautiful, spacious and clean A321. As usual, flight changes and emails came to my mailbox starting days prior to departure and went on until original departure was overdue. In my case the change was less crucial, but I lost 3 hours due to the continuous delays. What I don’t like is that their emails are repetitive, robot generated, and irresponsible. All their emails do not provide clear changes and do not list old but only new itinerary. Often there are no changes but they cause stress and confusion. Duplicating emails needs also to be very carefully checked as one never knows what/if/how/how much/why has been changed. In this case they cancelled flight VJ306 6 days before departure and put me on VJ304 80 minutes later. That took them 5 emails to communicate. Further delays of new flight added 2 hours delay. Check-in and baggage went fine. I got the best seat onboard without requesting, 11D. Have never paid for excess hand luggage with this airline which contradicts several other reviews. The gates for this carrier is in Saigon clustered into a big hall which is messy and overcrowded like a bus station in a 3rd world country. Always tedious bus gating with lengthy queues, shortage of busses, and long outdoor waits. In the sky they are faultless with fresh crew, clean cabins, and inexpensive catering with many options. This flight was full but CC were handling all passengers perfect. VietjetAir is complicated, tedious, expensive, and risky until you are on board. However, for less busy airports like Hue, they are somehow keeping schedules, especially in the mornings. 35 USD paid would normally be cheap fare but 3 hours delays makes it expensive.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSaigon to Hue
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh. How can an airline manage to make so many mistakes on one short return journey. Delays, changes, more delays, lack of communication, zero care or consideration for the customer. We literally have no idea when or even if we will be returning back to Bangkok. It’s was the same on the way to Ho Chi Minh too. 2 flights and 6 delays and changes and were still running late. We were even stopped at security to tell us the flight was delayed again. I will never use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a wonderful experience"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho chi Minh to Nha Trang. Excellent service with affordable price. Flight attendants are young, beautiful and hospitality. I have a wonderful experience while traveling with Vietjet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo chi Minh to Nha Trang
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes