United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3045 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"They make you go in circles"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Columbia. Just do not fly United. Third time in the past month their plane was delayed by over 2 hours due to mechanical issues. They ended up cancelling the flight. I called customer service. They said they couldn't do anything, and to talk to the gate agent. Once we deboarded the plane, I talked to the gate agent, and once again they said they couldn't do anything and to talk to customer care. They make you go in circles. Now I am waiting at customer "care" in the airport with 14 people in front of me. United is an awful airline, only cares about money, and doesn't care about it's customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Columbia
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing but headaches"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phoenix to Kona via San Francisco. Hawai’i - a - no - go is all I can say about our move thanks to United Airlines. My family was originally booked to leave PHX (Phoenix AZ) to KOA (Kailua Kona HI) on Tuesday August 13th; departing at 530 AM with a connection in SFO (San Francisco) departing at 831 am. Only to receive a phone call at 300 am stating that there was an overbooked situation and that we were going to be placed on a flight departing at 1229 PM. That was not the case at all! We never received an updated confirmation and in calling to verify were told that we would be placed on standby. The next flight that we would be confirmed on was not until Monday August 19th but we would be upgraded. Unfortunately come Monday my partner was sick, he has Multiple Sclerosis, and was needed to see the doctor that day to be able to fly. (not United’s fault) United said they could rebook us on a flight leaving Thursday August 22nd with rebooking fees. Thursday came and the same scene happened again; we were alerted that our 1229 PM flight to SFO had been oversold and that we were going to have to go on a 1000 AM flight to LAX (Las Angeles), then to SFO (San Francisco) , then to OGG (Maui) spend then night in the airport and take the next day’s morning flight to KOA (Kailua Kona HI) on Hawaiian Air! Now it is Friday August 23rd and we are still in Phoenix awaiting our new flight on Hawaiian come Sunday. So in short if this were a vacation, it would have been ruined. Luckily we are able to get a refund and rebooked on another airline and are moving and have our home until the end of August here in Phoenix! Thanks for nothing but headaches and no follow through United.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RoutePhoenix to Kona via San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"ended up losing a whole day"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Idaho falls via Denver. I booked my flight weeks before my departure date of 8/9/19. I woke up to a text message saying my flight was cancelled to Denver CO. No reason why. Now I was only going until the 8/14 and had limited time with my family and many plans were made for my visit in Idaho falls which was to arrive at 10:25 am. I could not get another and waited for hours on the phone. I eventually found a flight through Houston to Denver to Idaho Falls. I arrived to my destination at midnight. While in Denver I noticed nothing wrong at the airport. I ended up losing a whole day. I am very busy and I wouldn’t have taken this trip if it was a day shorter. Everything else was fine on my trip.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Idaho falls via Denver
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"missed our flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Male. Horrible check-in customer service. Our family of 6 missed our flight to The Maldives even though we were all at the terminal at least 2 hours before our departure. We informed a staff that the line was taking too long & that we were afraid of missing our flight. He literally walked away from us instead of checking us in & getting us a cart to security. We got stranded at the airport for an entire day. They even tried to charge us a no show fee of $600.00 a person. Will never fly Emirates ever again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Male
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could have driven faster to my destination"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New Jersey to Rochester. It’s honestly disgusting you can call yourself an airline company. I will never ever be taking United fights ever again. After the countless mistakes given today I could have driven faster to my destination and now instead I’m having a panic attack inside an aircraft that was updated over 30 times telling me we would depart by 1.50. Now it’s 4 o’clock. The aircraft is 4 hours late and I have no reason to be going to be going where I am because my meeting was already missed. I would like someone from United to contact me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Jersey to Rochester
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"how terrible United is"

(United States)

Not Verified | Rapid City to Chicago. In a word horrible. We started off the day in a small airport, Rapid City regional airport. We then learned that our flight had been delayed for an hour because of thunderstorms, no problem right? Wrong. After an hour of extra waiting we finally boarded our flight to learn we had been delayed another hour. One word: O'Hare. We sat on the tarmac to learn our flight had been delayed 30 minutes. We then deplaned. We had been hanging around the gate for 5 minutes when they decided that they wanted board the whole plane again after 5 minutes at the gate. That was a waste of time, what didn't help was the front to back boarding also known as the reaper method due to the time it takes for the flight board compared from front to back which is sadly the industry standard. So our plane finally takes off and we get a small snack and an orange juice after almost 8 hrs without food. So we finally land and that's when you think it would be over. No, because of our delay there is another plane at the gate so we taxi on the runway for a full 50 minutes. Welcome to O'Hare I guess. We finally get off the plane to realize that our connecting flight had already taken off. So we had to rebook for a flight 3 hours later which wouldn't you know was also delayed. So here I am in the gate writing about how terrible United is.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRapid City to Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"6 hours delay so far"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to West Palm Beach. 6 hours delay so far with no reason! There is only one customer service with 2 persons and 100 customers who want to know if we finally are flying or not? I would never ever fly with United Airlines. Not only this particular flight but also most of the flights with this airline have delay! All you see on the monitors is United Airlines delayed.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to West Palm Beach
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly United after this experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Austin to Newark. Basically canceled our 7.05pm Sunday evening flight for 7.05pm Monday evening flight which is ridiculous because they gave us notice at 4.14pm, about under 3 hours before boarding. Went to airport - basically the attendant stated it was snowing/raining and hence the reason for the cancellation. Completely unprofessional. Didn't even give us any discount/voucher for baggage check in. I hope $UAL stock price sinks. What a disaster of an organization where you can cancel at will. Smart move on their part to cancel due to weather related conditions. At least, book us onto an earlier flight. They also wouldn't give us a refund to use another airline which is ridiculous. I will never fly United after this experience. They do have a phenomenal tag line "United We Cancel". My cohort and I had work the next day and ended up having to call a day off.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAustin to Newark
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they couldn't care less about our dilemma"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am writing on behalf of my co-traveler/wife and myself regarding terrible and unbelievable experiences we had with United from Prague to LA via New Jersey EWR, on July 23, 2019. The first and second legs of our flights were with Austrian Airlines (OS 0082 and OS 0721) on July 11 and 15 which went through without a hitch and in most courteous and professional manner by Austrian. The third leg was with Czech Airlines (OK 079) on July 19 which again was also completed without a hitch. However, the fourth and fifth leg of the flight (UA 0187 and UA 2394) on July 23 were total disasters. In Prague airport, we were told that due to weather conditions the flight would be delayed approx 7 hours. Having given no other options for other United flights or otherwise, we had to wait out the delay and board the plane about 7 hours later. In New Jersey, having missed our connecting flight to LAX, again without any other options given by United, we had to stay overnight in Ramada Plaza Hotel (a virtual dump of a Hotel) for about 4 hours before returning to the airport for a 6am standby! Although vouchers were issued for the hotel (United's choice) and some food, we had to take a cab at our expense to the hotel, as no vouchers were provided, and it was very late at night. During all the interactions with United employees, customer service, supervisors, and hotel crew we were treated unprofessionally, rudely, nonchalantly, carelessly, and aggressively. At all times, the attitude of the United employees was insulting and such that they couldn't care less about our dilemma, and that they had heard these sort of complaints a million times before, that it is what it is, and basically take it or leave it. Beside suffering the aggravation and stress, the above delays, totaling a whole day, caused tremendous backlash for my wife and I, as we are both professionals with appointments and commitments to meet (which we missed), having counted on the on-time arrival in LAX. We could not even spend our food vouchers due to lack of time, and United flight crew denying our vouchers for food on the plane (EWR to LAX), and the Mexican Grill denial of vouchers in the food court of LAX arrivals. The way we see it, United has received its full payment for the tickets, but we have not received the full service promised nor have been compensated for our losses suffered. To say the least, improper actions or non-actions of United have bitterly ended a much-anticipated joyful vacation. If you have a choice, avoid United, and spare yourself lots of heartache.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrague to New Jersey via Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It was a horrible experience"

(United States)

Cincinnati to Washington. The flight itself was fine, the pilot did a good job, the other passengers around me were great, and one of the two flight attendants (female) was very kind. My issues with this flight, which caused me great distress, stem from one flight attendant (male) who publicly humiliated me. I was traveling alone with my 16-month-old son from Cincinnati to DC – the second flight he’d ever taken in his life. He’d done pretty well on our outbound flight a few days prior (his first-ever flight); - I scheduled it around his naptime so he slept the whole time. This flight I’d scheduled around his bedtime, hoping for the same thing (that he’d sleep). In the hours before the flight while in the airport, I did everything I could to get him tired – let him run around the airport (CVG has an amazing children’s room!); gave him dinner, a snack, and a bottle; gave him Motrin in case his ears would bother him on the plane; changed him into pajamas. As soon as we got on the plane, I got him comfortable and read him a few books, which is the normal bedtime routine. It was clear after a few minutes that he had no interest in sleeping, and was very interested about what was happening outside the window and around him in the cabin, so I accepted he’d be awake for the duration of the 90-minute flight. There was an empty seat next to us, so I put his bag there so that I could easily access his books and toys to keep him occupied – which worked for the majority of the flight. The issues began when we started our descent into IAD. The fasten seat belt sign turned on, so I began gathering up my son’s toys and books into the bag to put the bag under the seat in front of us. The male flight attendant began impatiently and aggressively moving my bag under the seat before it was even zipped up. I had a ton of items in there – toys, bottles, my purse, an iPad – and I had to ask him to stop so that I could actually zip my bag so that everything didn’t fall out and potentially roll down the aisle of the plane. Then, now that the seat next to me was empty, my son was very interested in trying to get into that seat (this entire time he’d been sitting on my lap). I knew that if I continued to hold him on my lap that he would start to fuss, so I put him in the seat next to me, while holding on to him the entire time (he was never once out of my grip). The male flight attendant returned and told me it was unsafe for him to be in that seat and I would have to put him on my lap. My son was trying to stand in the seat and face the passengers behind us – granted he’s only about 30 inches tall – but the flight attendant said that if we had turbulence that he’d hit his head. I told him that I understood, but was trying to explain that he was fussing sitting in my lap, that I was trying to not disturb the other passengers, and that I had a solid grip on him. The flight attendant responded with “no, I do not think you understand” and continued to berate me for having my son in unsafe conditions. So, I put my son in my lap, and brought back out all the books I had packed away in my bag, in addition to the iPad and my iPhone, to see if he’d remain calm in my lap. No dice. My son began to cry and scream and try to wiggle out of my grasp, because he wanted to sit in the seat next to me. The flight attendant returned, saying that I needed to “get control of my child.” I explained to him all the things I was doing, and asked him what else he wanted me to do. He did not respond to my question, walked off, and that was the last time I saw him on the flight. My son continued to be unhappy and cry (and in my opinion, be more unsafe, because I was constantly having to adjust my grip on him to keep him in my lap) for the remainder of the flight. I’m the daughter and granddaughter of pilots. I’ve been in planes all my life. I understand plane safety more than the average person, and would never allow myself or my child to be in an unsafe position on a plane. I also greatly care about the comfort of others around me (I even brought extra earplugs with me and offered them to the people sitting around me), and was very upset that my son caused their flight experience to be subpar because he was so noisy. However, I am most upset by the blatant shaming of this flight attendant, who came to me on three separate occasions to berate me, the way I was managing my child, and how I was affecting other passengers. His words and actions brought me to tears in public, and I cannot believe that someone who is employed to attend to passengers on a flight would have so little compassion for a mother flying solo with her young child, who was clearly trying to follow the rules, and clearly struggling. In the future, I’ll literally take any other flight possible other than United or Mesa. It was a horrible experience that has still affected me over a week after it occurred.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCincinnati to Washington
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no