United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2929 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ground staff were rude and lazy"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Los Angeles. Rudest airline ever! They have zero respect to their customers. The check in agent and ground staff were rude and lazy. We had been treated with grumpy faces and such attitude. I was asking for a senior assistance for my grandmother who doesn’t speak English and under no circumstance that I expected to receive a straight face with the rudest response ‘that is not our responsibility that your grandma doesn’t speak English’. Understanding my grandmother might not qualify for the help but they didn’t have to respond in such unprofessional and uneducated way. We did not beg for the free flight, if you are unable to provide a basic service with courtesy then just shut your business.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"This was a very nice act"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Dallas. I witnessed the United crew making the plane go back to pick up a passenger that arrived late to the gate due to another delayed flight. This passenger was meeting his wife and daughter in this flight who jumped in joy when the saw him walking thought. This was a very nice act that deserves to be shared as an example to other airlines who need to consider that there is always a family behind that passenger that is left out.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to FORT WORTH
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"worst is handling of problems"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Washington. This airline can’t handle any change of weather or slight change of schedule without significant delay. It doesn’t help that Newark, one of the worst airports in the world, is their hub. I’m one of the elite flyers who hates United for their lack of ability to handle any problems arise. There was some rain briefly this morning but the flight delayed and we were stuck on tarmac for 3 hours without food or water. They didn't even turn on the wifi. I’m going to miss the connecting flight and was rebooked to late flight at the end of the day. By the time I will get to my destination, the rental car counter will be closed. I’ve flown United 4 times in the past few weeks (I travel for work) and it rarely ever gets anywhere or departs on time. But the worst thing is their handling of problems.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Washington
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I had a pleasant time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Newark. I had a pleasant time on my way back to the United States except for some heavy turbulence, but we made it. United has the best business class service than any other US airline. The amenity kits were cool in Spider-Man, I have never seen anything like that before.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Newark
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Couldn’t use the bathroom"

(United States)

Not Verified | Portland to Buffalo via Chicago. Usually, I’m not a complainer. Plus its summer travel season. But this time I’ve had enough. Flight just got cancelled and moved from Monday to Wednesday. Pretty much we were stripped down 2 vacation days and missed the occasion that we planned attending. Then, we were put on different seats (but I paid extra when made reservations). Going back from Buffalo to Portland was another hassle. Flight from BUF was delayed, we barely made it to our connection (had to run through Chicago O’Hare). Got on the plane, had to sit and wait for our turn to take off. Took us 1.5 hours. Couldn’t use the bathroom. When we were finally able to take off, we weren’t allowed to use the restroom for another 1.5 hours. Crying kids. Angry passengers. This is not OK! Never ever I will use United again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Buffalo via Chicago
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would they please move us"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Savannah to Newark. On a recent United flight (UA 138) that I had booked in February 2019 for a Flight on 24. June 2019, the following happened to me and other passengers, please note that several other groups of passengers experienced the same thing on this flight and have reported to have seen the same practice on other flights as well. I was traveling with my two underage children ages 13 and 15. I was placed in Row 12E while my children were both placed in Row 20, which is an Exit row. Note that my 15 year old is old enough to sit in this row and assist other passengers in an emergency but my 13 year old is most certainly not and cannot sit there per FAA regulations. When I stated that we need to moved elsewhere the flight employees told me to just switch seats with the 13 year old. Subsequently I protested and informed the flight employees that none of us want to sit in an Exit row, even though I am old enough, I do not want to sit in an Exit neither. My 13 year was subsequently moved to row 12E and I was left without a seat. Finally I was told to move to the back of the airplane Row 34 ‘somewhereʼ (no specific seat was given to me) and my 15 year old was left in the Exit row on his own. At this point I switched with another passenger at the front row 7 which was closer to my children than Row 34. The Stewardess on this Flight then informed me this is also an Exit row. (She later remarked that since I called her a ‘Stewardess’ I do not fly very often. Despite the fact I’m in the air every month. She really went out of her way to be insulting.) I repeated the fact that I donʼt want to sit in any exit rows and I want my second child also moved away from the Exit row. I repeated that I believed that itʼs FAA regulations that we must agree to sit there and agree to assist or be moved and would they please move us. At this point the Stewardess started to get very aggravated and said ‘we offered you a seat in the back‘ and you didnʼt take it and subsequently switched me again from Row 7C to 8C. She rolled her eyes an also stated that ‘here we go again, acting demeaning and rude. I didnʼt ‘buyʼ a seat that means they can put me wherever, even in an exit row- apparently even without my consent. I would like to add here that I very much liked to have bought assigned seats; however the first opportunity I got in the entire purchase / check-in process was two hours before boarding when all the seats for sitting together already were taken. In summary my 13 year old was placed into Row 12E and my 15 year old was in an exit Row 20 the entire flight although he was a minor and I did not agree for him to sit there. Finally in the last 30 minutes I approached the staff again to re-seat us. Furthermore security measures ask for parents to assist children during a flight with oxygen masks as well as ensure that seatbelts are worn between and after bathroom breaks. How can a parent assure that this happens properly when the parent is placed on the opposite side of the airplane with isles blocked by carts and other people? In my case this was not as big of a deal as my children are teenagers but there was another group of passengers where the parent was split from a 6 year old child and the child was expected to basically fly on their own? She was crying and was not allowed to be seated next to her parent.
AircraftUnknown
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSavannah to Newark
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"wants to charge me for backpack"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Juan to Portland via New York. Always trying to take advantage of the customers by creating dumb policies. I've never had any problems passing through with my backpack but now United wants to charge me money for my backpack. The main reason that I bought a backpack is to carry it myself. United is a low class and cheap airline trying to take even the last dime from every customer and they don't even serve nothing in 4 hour flights. I'm disgusted by this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Portland via New York
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hands down the worst airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Baltimore to Los Angeles. This is hands down the worst airline to ever exist! My family and I were heading to LAX for a connecting flight to Kauai, but the plane we boarded had this clunking noise under our feet. The crew didn’t bother to call maintenance until everyone was on board and we were delayed by 30 minutes. Once that was finished, we were delayed again because of the paperwork. So we were behind schedule by one hour! We did make it to LAX, but the crew didn’t bother to let those off who had connecting flights that were leaving in a few minutes. Honestly United, you could’ve called maintenance before everyone got on board, but you tortured us with this stupid problem that you obviously wanted to share. So, in the future I will not be flying United.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"United cannot handle ticketing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Raleigh Durham via Newark. I purchased a round trip ticket valued at $1,435 only to find out the day of my first flight that one leg of my trip was never ticketed. I had to call United Customer Service to get the issue resolved. They representative told me that the flight was full and there was nothing that could be done. On my return trip, I was told again that two of my legs were not ticketed. So basically I purchased a ticket that was not even real. Customer Service did not offer to help me or compensate me in anyway. I’m not sure why an large airline such as United cannot handle ticketing it’s own tickets.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Raleigh Durham via Newark
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst trip I’ve had in years"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Washington to Winnipeg via Toronto. United was delayed for over 4 hours and I was only notified while checking in at the airport. (3 hours prior because it was an international flight) I arrived at the airport at 5 am and had been up since 3 am already. The plane was then delayed a total of 4 times pushing it a total of 4 hours late. Upon my arrival to Toronto, I was told that I do not have a flight home. I was on standby as no one from any united desk would assist me. My daughter called United and they stated I had to either wait standby or take a flight the next morning and could not be simultaneously on standby and hold a ticket for the next day. They also could not guarantee any overnight accommodations, stating that I would need to leave the secured area go to the ticketing booth and tell them your new confirmation number, and at that point they would decide whether or not I would receive any overnight accommodations. I was supposed to be home by 130pm, but Instead I came home the following day at 130am as I made the last standby plane. United airlines is not helpful nor is their staff and ultimately it was their fault I was delayed and this resulted in me missing my connecting flight. I was not reimbursed or aided in any way. Worst trip I’ve had in years. Bottom line up front, I fly frequently and will not be utilizing or recommending their services to anyone whatsoever.
AircraftCRJ-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Winnipeg via Toronto
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no