Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 311 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst experience with Ukraine flight I boarded from Delhi to Toronto via Kiev. At Delhi airport there was no issue with my luggage but at Kie v When I went to board my second flight I was told to check my carry-on bag for CAD 200$ . I asked if I couldn't pay for a second carry-on bag. Than they told me to leave that bag on airport (that cost 15k-20k Rs.)th I had to pay compensation. I will buy more expensive tickets but will never travel again in this flight. Very rude behaviour by Ukraine Airlines staff at Kiev airport . No entertainment in flight . Seats were not comfortable. Will never recommend to anyone. Very bad experience
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Toronto via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They overbooked our seats"

(Armenia)

Trip Verified | Awful airline and staff in Kyiv. My friend and me we had flight from Stockholm to Yerevan via Kyiv. In Stockholm all was normal but in Kyiv Borispol airport they announced that my friend couldn't fly and me I had to pay for my Laptop. They overbooked our seats,o my friend couldn't continue her flight, charged for my laptop in the Gate, but we were in transit zone. After paying, I had to keep my laptop under my feet between narrow seats whole way. It's nonsense. The problem was only with Armenian flight as there were other international flights without problems. It was first and last time having flight with ukrainian Airlines - the worst company ever I used with awful customer service. Don't use it even for free.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Yerevan via Kyiv
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Ukraine Airlines always does this"

(Turkey)

Not Verified | London to Istanbul via Kiev. When I boarded in London (cabin baggage only - I hadn't paid for checked luggage) I had no problem even though my carry-on bag was 3kg overweight. I stopped in Kiev and bought some duty-free liquor. When I went to board my second flight, I was told that I couldn't carry my duty free as it was a second carry-on bag. I had no room to put it in my first carry-on so I was told to check my carry-on bag for 60 euros. I asked if I couldn't pay for a second carry-on bag and was told yes, that would cost 15 euros. I did question this policy, and was told that there was information about it in the duty-free shop. (If there was, it wasn't very obvious!) I asked a few people about this and two people told me that they travelled regularly, and Ukraine Airlines always does this. There was no room for all the cabin baggage in the plane, so several people - myself included - had their large carry-on bags taken away and put in the checked baggage as we boarded. To be fair, those bags were not delivered on the baggage belt, so the breakable stuff in my bag was completely fine.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Istanbul via Kiev
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"It was a good flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I recently flew from Kiev to Lviv. It was a good flight, food was included in my ticket as well as drinks. Leg room was great, staff friendly and aircraft was clean. I will fly with UIA again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Lviv
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"will be a great price"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Kyiv with Ukraine International. Wonderful airline. Good staff, excellent service. If you buy in advance will be a great price. Thank you very much!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Kyiv
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"forfeited my entire flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I felt scammed. I flew Toronto-Kiev, Kiev-Lviv, and on the way back I had tickets from Lviv-Kiev, Kiev-Toronto. I was in Kiev that day, so I decided to get on the aircraft in Kiev. However, they wouldn't let me board and said I had to buy another ticket because my ticket was no longer valid and had been canceled. I was told since I didn't board in Lviv, I had forfeited my entire flight. I had to pay a fine (which way more than I paid for the original round trip ticket cost) just to fly home. I was very upset. When I asked if I would have been fined if I only flew from Lviv to Kiev and no father, they said no. Only if I miss the first flight. This information was not on my ticket.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Lviv via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I am really disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am really disappointed by this airline. UIA is providing cheaper tickets, but be aware you may pay them much more than you would pay for 1-2 hundreds more expensive ticket for Lufthansa or British Airways (these two are amazing). You must check in online prior you arrival to the airport otherwise you will pay fee. There are many old people who don't know how to that online check in. And in addition to everything, feels like UIA website was created by 1st grader, very unprofessional and confusing. And a "new rule" system is picking you a seat and you can change it only by paying extra fee. It should be first come first serve, so like they had before - you can pick your seat by doing online check in.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Kyiv
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience I had with an airline"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Flight from Lviv was on time, but a dirty airplane. In Kiev, Ukraine International Airline denied me and two other persons boarding as the flight was overbooked. Staff at the gate was extremely unfriendly. They paid compensation but that's not what I wanted. They randomly picked out three persons w/o any announcement. I do not recommend this airline to anyone, it is the worst experience I had with an airline. The planes are dirty, no food nor drinks included, unfriendly staff and actually not really cheap.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLviv to Kiev via Yerevan
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"planes felt decrepit and dirty"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Tel Aviv to Prague via Kiev. I bought this ticket even though it wasn't that much cheaper than alternatives because it had a shorter layover than the alternatives. Little did I know the ordeal I'd be subjected to. Check your ticket closely. It is not immediately clear that it only includes one small carry-on bag. Trust me, when you get into line, you will quickly realize your mistake. They send aggressive gate agents to confront each person in line. I was willing to pay, but I was irritated by her treating me like a criminal so I insisted on checking my original receipt and she sat snapping in my face for three minutes while I did so. The fee is 80 euros. I saw people being charged this cost even when they had a small shopping bag with their lunch; they were told they had two carryons. One man threw out his lunch to avoid the fee. The planes felt decrepit and dirty inside; the color of a faded PC from the early 90s. The fixtures looked like they hadn't been replaced in at least 20 years. This airline has poor legroom and no TVs even on international flights. They charge three euros for a small coffee. You get the Ryanair experience for not much cheaper than competitors. On my return flight, they insisted I needed to check the bag. This is the first time that has ever happened to me on a half dozen airlines with this bag including the departing flight, but I relented because the agents were aggressive and rude and I just wanted to get out of there. I was flustered and left my camera in the checked bag and discovered it had disappeared along with my charger when I arrived at my destination. I immediately reported this to the airline, who told me to contact the bag check contractor, who told me to contact the airline. I got an automated email in Ukrainian saying they would decide in three months, whether they'd provide compensation for my stolen camera. This is the first time I have written an angry review about basically any business, but this is not really a business.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Prague via Kiev
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute worst experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Kiev. Absolute worst experience I have ever had when traveling internationally. My husband and I were an hour early and coming from a connecting flight. The counter had shut down check in an hour before the flight was scheduled to leave. I talked to the manager, supervisor, and online support to see if someone could help us. Everyone refused help. We already had reservations in Yerevan that we now missed. Our flights were non-refundable. These flights were booked over three months ago. They wouldn’t issue a boarding pass even though we had an hour. I have now spent over $5000 dollars on airfare tickets when my original tickets were $1625.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Kiev
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no