Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 389 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Great service on the ground and on board"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Multi-stop from Munich via Kiev to Istanbul. Then back to Munich after some days of holiday in Kiev. Perfect flight times, all flights landing ahead schedule. Great service on the ground and on board. Relaxing lounges. UIA highly recommended.
AircraftEmbraer 195
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Istanbul via Kyiv
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"charge extra fees at every step"

(France)

Trip Verified | Avoid it at all cost! They never respect the schedule, lose the luggage every second trip and never excuse or compensate anything. Moreover, they try to charge extra fees at every step.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Odessa via Kiev
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked to pay again for my carry-on"

(Turkey)

Not Verified | I paid 650usd for the one way ticket for a 3hr flight which is already clearly overpriced given the low/no quality of the service. Despite the fact that my ticket was premium flexible which had all these perks such as priority checkin, priority boarding and baggage drop off, none of these perks were delivered. In addition, although i had bought the most expensive ticket on the flight, at luggage drop off, i was still forced to pay 60 eur for my luggage as they claimed mu luggage was overweight. I had a 27kg single piece checked in luggage vs my allowance of for 2 luggage of 23kg each. Additionally at the gate, i was asked to pay again for my carry-on, which is even okay for Ryanair but clearly not acceptable for these guys. As you can see, this is a complete rip-off from the beginning to the end.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKiev to London
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No assistance whatsoever"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Denied boarding Kyiv-Amsterdam, due to false-positive express COVID-19 test (which was not required at destination - only 72hour one which we'd had and negative). Once we've got re-tested and negative express results - lady at a counter told us - you've been already crossed out from the flight - you won't board this one - go figure it out with the main office. No assistance whatsoever, no tickets for the next flight, no vouchers, nothing. We are family of four (with 2 kids - 2,5 and 5,5 yo) had a 'wonderful' time (~5+ hours) trying to understand what to do next on our own - no one from this 'company' came with anything.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKyiv to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I won't be flying with them anymore"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | My flights got cancelled and rescheduled three times. When I finally flew, I wasn't expect anything. I just wanted to get home quickly, but that didn't work out. First they had to reissue a new boarding pass, because the one I'd printed out wasn't working in the new Berlin airport. Everybody had that problem, so we had to stand in line and wait 1 hour, just to get the new boarding passes. In Berlin the Immigration Control was overcrowded and nobody from the airline cared about asking the Federal Police to opening up more Immigration desks, in order to be able to handle all of these people. Then, after running to the gate and boarding, we had to wait 45 minutes for everybody else to slowly arrive. But we still made it to Kiev on time. When boarding in Kiev, the whole boarding process took 1 hour. The crew was visibly overwhelmed by the crowd, but we still made it to Yerevan kind of on time. On my way back, the boarding in Yerevan was more coordinated. When I arrived in Kiev, I had to find out, that my flight has been rescheduled once again, resulting in me missing my classes in Berlin. The Babooshka at the Information point didn't feel like answering and there was no flyUIA representative in the transit zone. Once boarding started around 2 hours after the original time, I asked the representative why our flight was delayed and why we weren't notified, she just said that there was an operational delay and that they were sorry. Nothing else. No kind of reimbursement was offered, not even a proper apology. I guess I learned my lesson: no matter how cheap flyUIA is, I won't be flying with them anymore, since you don't get anything in return, no matter how low your expectations are. Even the most basic thing, such as bringing you to your destination on time, are not met by this Airline. Cabin crew was just friendly enough, but nothing compared to other low-cost or traditional airlines. The seats were narrower than on other low-cost-airlines and not comparable to "normal" airlines. The seats on the Embraer 190 were slightly better than on their B378, but still horrible, even compared to Ryanair and EasyJet. Do yourself a favor and book your flight with an airline that is a little more reliable and not a complete disappointment.
AircraftEmbraer 190 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Yerevan via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they have consistently managed to be the worst of the worst"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have used many different airlines since 1994. There are times you may have some bad experiences with some airlines from time to time. With FLYUIA, I had four different flights within the last 3 years and they have consistently managed to be the worst of the worst airline for many reasons - 1) Their employees at different roles, e.g. from check in desk to flight attendant are mostly rude and uneducated and really disrespectful. 2) They rip you off with different strategies. For example, if you have a connecting flight, they let you fly with oversized (maybe 2 kg max) hand luggage and then at the second leg of your flight, they create problems to force you to pay ridiculous price for the overweight. If it is not allowed, why would they allow you to take your overweight hand luggage in the first place? What was the reason behind that? I could have sorted out my overweight hand luggage before my first flight started! This is scam 1. 3) My last booking was for 4 May 2020 and they had cancelled it on 25th Apr 2020. For the past 10 months, I regularly attempt to contact them via customer service call centre, email, "Get a refund" form (90 days waiting route but still no response at all), but no response in any form of contact method and no refund at all! This is scam 2. I am extremely surprised how such an airline can get away without refunding money that belongs to people and still continue to operate while they scam thousands of people. How can the government let them continue? The complaints are not limited to comments made on this site.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to London Gatwick via Kyiv
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst company I ever dealt with"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ukrainian International is simply the worst company I ever dealt with, no other comments. Two flights with UIA since 2017 were a total disaster, but for different reasons.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Kyiv
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with Ukraine International again"

(United States)

Not Verified | So they cancelled flights due to COVID-19. Good luck getting a refund from them. They are offering vouchers on their website. I disputed the airfare charge with my credit card company. Initially, they credited it back to my account, but then they received a response from Ukraine International Airline and reposted the charge. In their response the airline was appealing to the restrictions imposed by the Ukrainian government due to the global COVID-19 pandemic. As a result of these restrictions, the airline was unable to operate any international flights at that point. The airline further insisted that due to the extraordinary circumstances the airline should not be liable. Duh Well, on April 3, the the U.S. Department of Transportation issued an enforcement notice where it clarified that U.S. and foreign airlines remain obligated to provide a prompt refund to passengers for flights to, within, or from the United States when the carrier cancels the passenger’s scheduled flight or makes a significant schedule change and the passenger chooses not to accept the alternative offered by the carrier. Furthermore, the notice clarifies that the longstanding obligation of carriers to provide refunds for flights that carriers cancel or significantly delay does not cease when the flight disruptions are outside of the carrier’s control (e.g., a result of government restrictions). I submitted a complaint with DOT. We'll see how that goes. The bottom line: - I will continue fighting this - I will never fly with Ukraine International Airline again - I'm cancelling that credit card too as they have not been very supportive in this situation. P.S. my ratings for the seat comfort, inflight entertainment etc. are based on my prior experience with this airline. The only reason I used to fly with them is because this is the only direct flight from NYC to Kyiv. Well, never again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Kyiv
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"overbooked the flight"

(Ukraine)

Not Verified | Kiev to Vilnius. I checked in online a few hours before departure, having booked the tickets weeks earlier as a birthday treat for my partner. UIA overbooked the flight and gave me standby boarding passes. They wouldn't let us on the flight. When I followed their complaints procedure they failed to respond in their agreed time and eventually agreed to compensate me, but insisted that they have to pay half of the money to my partner despite the fact that the whole payment had been made by me. It is now March. I have received my half but my partner has still received nothing despite having filled on the complicates online form twice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Vilnius
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they have disrespectful employees"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Vilnius to Izmir via Kyiv. A woman who claimed she was manager in front of the boarding gate of Izmir Flight at Kiev Airport did not allow my hand baggage who insistently claimed it was over-sized, but it was accepted in Vilnius Airport for the first plane. She did not listen to me when I said her it was accepted in my first flight and before the flight, also said I paid 70 extra Euros for my excess baggage beforehand, but instead she threatened me I would not be allowed to the plane like that. At the end, I was forced to dump some clothes on the trash and passed through the gate at the last minute. That is unacceptable service and I will never use their service as long as they have disrespectful employees.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Izmir via Kyiv
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no