Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 353 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they changed my flights"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight for January with Ukraine International from Krakow to Yerevan, via Kiev. About 3 weeks after booking this flight I was informed by Ukraine International that my flight had been cancelled from Kraków to Kiev. After a day of trying to get hold of someone to help in this matter, they changed my flights, without any extra charge, to another flight on the same day, although departing at 15:45, instead of 05:45 as originally booked. This meant that I would be arriving in Yerevan at 00:55, the originally planned time was 15:45! Two weeks have passed and I have again received another email from Ukraine International, informing me that the other flight that I was moved to, from Kraków to Kiev, has also been cancelled! I cannot begin to describe the frustration. I have had to alter my travel plans once again and cancel hotels booked for this trip. I lived in Ukraine for 5 years, and once had a flight to London cancelled by Ukraine International, but that was 8 years ago and I never had a problem since, and regularly used them to fly domestically and internationally. I have now managed to find a connection to Yerevan which requires two Ryanair flights from Poland, via Italy, at just about the same cost as the Ukraine International tickets were. I've been a regular traveller with Ryanair for years. They may be cheap, but I have never experienced a flight cancellation or a delay with them in all that time! I can say that my trust in Ukraine International airlines has well and truly evaporated, and will very likely stay away from using them ever again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKraków to Yerevan via Kiev
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No comfortable seats"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Kiev. Worst flight I have ever get into. They are not giving correct information and charged 15 euro at the time of boarding. Also, the staff was too rude and in front of me, they start speaking very badly in German. (They assumed that I don't understand German). The flight was delayed for a long time, No comfortable seats, No good food and staff were not helping properly. In short, never ever go with Ukraine Airlines. It is the worst airlines in the world.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Kiev
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Seats are extremely uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Gatwick to Kiev. This airline seems to be cheap but be aware. The check in must be done on line otherwise they charge you extra in the airport. Also in Kiev whilst we were boarding for our second leg flight they started to measure the hand luggage and were asking to pay extra money from passengers who had their first leg flight with the same airline. It was strange and people were angry. Why a hand luggage is allowed in one leg and not allowed in second leg of the Same airline. Seats are extremely uncomfortable and aeroplane were noisy. Staff were good and polite.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Kiev
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never, ever again"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | Riga to Kiev. The worst airline I have ever flown with. I regularly fly with Wizz Air, Ryanair, LOT but Ukraine International (FlyUIA) is terrible. Initially they cancelled my flight, then delayed for almost 4.5 hours. I had to buy new ticket, because I missed my next flight in Ukraine. Not recommend at all. Very disappointed, might be cheap but not worth at all. Employees not helpful at all neither at the airport nor UA company. Seriously never, ever again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Kiev
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never, ever again"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Seriously the worst airline I have ever flown with. I regularly fly with easyJet, Ryanair, Wizz Air but Ukraine International is incomparable when it comes to Customer Service. So what happened: I checked in online for my flight from Kiev to Berlin the day before, everything worked just fine. When I showed up for luggage drop-off, they told me I cannot check my language in because the flight is overbooked and there's no seat left for me. While I know that overbooking is common practice for mostly all airlines, what really annoyed me, was the way they handled this case. So the lady was just like, "you can't fly" no excuse, no recommendation, nothing. After 5 mins of arguing she pointed me to the other end of the airport to the Ukraine International Customer Service. The guy working there was even worse. He said, the plane is full, but I still have to show up at the gate. Pointing at my still not checked-in luggage, he said I have to go through security and immigration with my huge suitcase. If I don't do this, I will be counted as a no-show, which means no compensation. Only after arguing for another 10 mins he finally accepted to check-in my luggage, so I can show up at the gate. He warned me again, although the flight is very likely to be full, that I still have to show up at the gate. At the end with a lot of running I finally made it to the gate. I had to wait till the end of boarding, and as somebody didn't show up, they let me finally board. So let me be clear: Overbooking is always bad news. But even Ryanair handles this in a far better way than Ukraine International. What annoyed me the most: they overbook the plane and then kind of blame you, like it's your fault, that the flight is overbooked. Seriously never, ever again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Berlin
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"flight was comfortable"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Kiev. The flight was comfortable for a Economy-class flight. You have to Check in online, you have to buy your food or drinks on board. You are able to take only one hand-luggage. UIA shows every time before that flight the conditions via email. My summary: if your expectations are just to fly and save money, I‘ll recommend UIA.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Kiev
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Toronto. The cabin crew didn't speak two words in English offering food saying veg no veg, what does that mean ? Is that a new way to ask what would you like? My luggage was lost in Kiev airport and was returned to me in 5 days (the purpose of my trip was my niece's wedding for which I had to arrange all new wardrobe cause everything I had in my suitcase that was lost!) Then my husband left on October 23 and his luggage was lost which he still did not receive back. On October 30 i was returning and at the airport had to pay 150 euro for my carry on luggage cause i was told it was too big! I flew with the same carry on on the way here and with the same airlines so how in the world my carry on was ok then and too big on the way back? Total nonsense! I was trying to explain that but no one wanted to listen! They treated me like I was crazy and threatened me if i won't pay they wouldn't board me. So having no choice i paid right there at the gate. And then again the same story .. the crew didn't speak two words in English so most of the passengers couldn't get the food they wanted cause they didn't know what was offered to them. There was zero customer service I will never fly with this airline again. There was no wifi at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"there are better ways to travel"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Gatwick. Trying to check in online as premium economy was interesting, and it would not let me select my seat as As when you call customer service in Ukraine from Ukraine, they will charge you money for the call. When finally reaching the rep, I was told that I did not have premium economy booking even my booking states that and can not select my seat and got hung up. Decided to call their US number and the rep gave me option to select seat but with attitude asked what seat I had in mind to chose for me and notified me if I want to change seat again I would have to pay extra. In Kiev I asked for my bag to travel to final destination and was denied because I did not book with them. UIA carry on policy is 7kg/15lb Max. Plane was new, but seats very uncomfortable and cramped in with little to on leg room, no TVs or any kind of entertainment for 3.5 hour flight and snack average say the least. Overall there are better ways to travel, and unnecessary to see national airline operates like this.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Gatwick
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"got me where I needed to go"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chisinau to New York via Kyiv. I checked in on the app and received mobile boarding passes, which I used in Chisinau and Kyiv with no issues. Make sure to do this, because they will charge you 15€ if you don’t. They did not weigh anyone’s bags in Chisinau. In Kyiv, they did weigh and measure bags. I was waved through without a weight or measurement check. There were huge bags allowed through at the gate, so I don’t know what metric they use to determine what is an acceptable bag versus not. The plane was old, cramped, and way too warm. The seats were the tiniest I’ve ever had and the person next to me took up what little room I had with his huge duffle. There was no IFE in the seats, only a big screen playing the same movie for everyone. I didn’t watch. This isn’t a big deal for me because I tend not to use the IFE. The food was horrendous. I chose the vegetarian meal, which was rice with a few peas, carrots, and beans mixed in with no sauce. Bland. Overcooked. The side “salad” was a cucumber, tomato, and a piece of ham and cheese (which was slimy). The cake and roll were ok. Beverage service was only twice. I’ve live in Eastern Europe so the flight attendants seemed fine to me. Other Americans would probably call them rude or unfriendly. Either way, the plane got me to New York, and that’s what matters. Would I fly Ukraine again? No. But it got me where I needed to go.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChisinau to New York via Kyiv
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth a penny"

(Iran)

Not Verified | Tehran to Kiev. Normally I don't rate bad service but this flight with Ukraine International was so terrible. The plane was awfully old, seats were so tight, aisles were so narrow and cabin staff services was poor. It's not worth a penny.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTehran to Kiev
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no