Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 280 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"recommend to avoid "

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | Normally I do my best to avoid flying Ukraine International, however there were no other realistic option to get from Kharkiv to Yerevan so I decided to give it a try. I had some miles left from two years ago and I wanted to spend them to reduce the ticket price. I applied at the UIA website and received a letter with a link to the invoice. Unfortunately, the link was expired when I wanted to use it to pay for the ticket. I have reapplied at the website and received a letter with some nonsense comments that I cannot use my miles. I have explained that it was a mistake in my reply. I have received a letter from another representative with another link, however the fare price has gone up by that time. I have received no apologies or explanations of the situation. I just had to pay more because of the incompetence of the UIA employees. Our plain from Kyiv to Yerevan stayed on tarmac for almost three hours with all the passengers aboard. We were not even offered water! UIA is a low cost airline in terms of service (you are charged for everything from check-in at the desk to drinks and food) but with prices of a normal airline. Strongly recommend to avoid at all cost!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKharkiv to Kyiv via Yerevan
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they charge you for tea"

(United States)

Not Verified | Kyiv to Amsterdam. Second time flying and same experience - cheap airline with greedy, socially awkward registration reps, indifferent management. No snacks on international flights, they charge you for tea. Carry-on flying in with KLM allowance was 12 kg but flying out with UIA was 7 kg on a Transatlantic flight! What are we supposed to do with 5 kg? Horrible service!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKyiv to Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"couldn't check in"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Amsterdam. I've booked a ticket for a flight for my dad in October for flight in February. I received a ticket and booking confirmation. Two days before flight the online check in opened and I couldn't check in because my booking number was wrong. I've contacted their call centre and they told me that they forgot to take money of my credit card so I didn't have a ticket. They couldn't explain to me why this happened and why I had received a ticket. Because I needed to fly I had to buy a new ticket for 300,- more than the one I've bought! The new ticket required a online check in. So we did that and the boarding pass was send to my email. Unfortunately when we came to the airport we have to pay 15 extra because we we're not checked in. We've showed our boarding pass but still we had to pay! And the they've printed a new boarding pass with the same seat number! So for us it feels like fraud. Because they send documents witch are not real!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"attitude towards customers is terrible"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Dnipro to Berlin via Borispol. Usually on time and connections via Borispol are mostly safe. No complimentary refreshments on medium-haul flights but that is common now in Europe. However, anything else about this airline is awful. Their general attitude especially in terms of communication towards customers is terrible. On my last flight a weather-related delay occured (destination airport operations limited due to heavy snowfall). They just boarded the aircraft as scheduled. After boarding was completed they announced a two-hour delay without any reason. Having now flown this airline a few times now on mostly expensive tickets, I wanted to redeem my Panorama Club (their ffp) points. One need to fill out a form in order to redeem points (in 2019!). I did and got a confirmation, that my request has been received. That was three weeks ago now and I still got no answer. Simply impossible to redeem points.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDnipro to Berlin via Borispol
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"cabin crew was invisible"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Zaporizhzhia to Tel Aviv via Kiev on a packed ER145. 1 hour flight, a quick water round, and both staff were never to be seen again till landing. They were hiding behind the front galley. It was amusing when upon landing in Kiev they said they hoped 'we enjoyed our flight'.. How could we if cabin crew was invisible. 5 minutes of work over a 60 minutes flight. Second flight onboard another packed flight, this time a B737-800. Boarding started on time just to make us stand, children and elderly 15 minutes locked in a freezing jetway, gate agents obviously in a rush. Finish boarding,with zero care for their customers. Flight quick and smooth, only 2:40, a great surprise, as cabin was stifling hot, cabin crew only sold food, no smiles. Some feeling of being welcome or some smiles would have been nice. Their announcements are very promising re service and comfort, but zero in reality.
AircraftER135 / B737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteZaporizhzhia to Tel Aviv via Kiev
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"things got bad from the start"

(Greece)

Not Verified | Istanbul to Vilnius via Kiev. on the way to Vilnius things were ok, but on the return things got bad from the start. I was trying to do the online check in but there was a problem with the their server (i tried to do it several times beforehand) and finally i was not able to do it. So i went to the counter and they asked me to charge 15€ for the check in. I explained that the server was not able for me to do the online check in (which if for example you would fly with any other company they would understand and not make you pay). So they told me i need to pay and ask the many back afterwards. They also charged me 55€ extra for my luggage (which i had booked and paid already) - again the same response. So 70€ already because of their fault. During both flights the crew missed me - they did not ask if i wanted to drink or not (had to mention that the room for feet is also the smallest of any companies i have ever flight with. and I'm 194cm tall so to me its a big issue). I finally landed to Istanbul and the luggage I was charged 55€ extra for did not arrive. (Got it finally after 6 days) I had no other clothes and some other things so i had to buy some clothes and hygiene products (and basically the airline companies are in order to pay these if the luggage is lost also they should deliver the luggage to your home or accommodation [which also was not the case here]. After all of this i wrote to their customer relations and explained everything, send all the receipts (everything needed) and they tell me they will contact in 3 months. I still have not gotten a reply). I have sent them several e-mails and basically nothing.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Vilnius via Kiev
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Staff were generally rude and unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible airline. Would not recommend to anyone. Every single flight was delayed, causing us to miss connections. No food or vouchers were offered, sometimes having to wait in the airport for 10 hours without food. One of our flights randomly landed in Azerbaijan to refuel, adding an additional two hours to the flight time. The flight itself was uncomfortable, no entertainment, one meal served in 9 hours which was bland. Only water available as a drink. Seats dated and uncomfortable. Staff were generally rude and unhelpful, both at the airport and on the flight itself. Additionally, for some reason the plane that was used was small and we felt every small bit of turbulence. Would never fly with Ukraine International again. I don't have one good thing to say about them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Delhi via Kiev
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extort extra money from you"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was taking a vacation for a couple weeks in Kyiv. I flew for the first time on Ukraine Airlines. I bought my ticket on-line so it was paid for weeks ahead of the trip. Coming to Ukraine was painless and very nice. But the flight home was terrible. Ukraine Airlines said I owed them $200 because I didn't check in ahead of time and I had a bag. No one said a thing about this on the way out. I guess they want to trap you before they extort extra money from you. In any case I was forced to pay this money or I could not get a ticket. Keep in mind i already PAID IN FULL for the ticket. I will never fly Ukraine Airlines again! Thank God there are many other airlines flying into Boryspil. Beware UIA!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKyiv to Amsderdam
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they just cancelled it"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Zürich to Lvov via Kiev. I had to fly to Lvov, but because of health reasons I should stay in Kiev. In 5 days I had my back flight, which was just annulated! I called about 10 times, trying to explain my situation. So much nerves for nothing. At the end I should buy another expensive ticket for my own money, although I actually had a ticket. But they just cancelled it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteZürich to Lvov via Kiev
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"shallow and disrespectful"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Tel Aviv to Toronto via Kiev. I made a connection flight to Toronto, the flight itself was ok, but when I arrived at the airport I was disappointed to see the luggage didn't arrive.. I was way more disappointed from the way they handled the situation, so I've reached to the Uia representative and I expected them to approach the matter like they "actually lost my luggage" which is basically everything I had. unfortunately, that wasn't the case at all, after standing there for 90 minutes that I've been ignored completely, and been treated disrespectfully (shocking!). I had to leave the area. I found my self in -17c with no proper clothing or any of my stuff after trying to contact them about 40 times! over the phone (which is enough to tell if they're customer service even "actually exist"). Also tried to contact the company in any other possible way (phones and multiple Emails), with no response. I can't find the words to describe the level of the shallow and disrespectful way that I have been treated as a customer, its one thing to lose baggage and another thing the way they choose to handle it as an International airline company! Bottom line I would describe the last couple of days since the flight as a complete nightmare, it safe to say they ruined my vacation completely. until today I'm still waiting for someone in the company to show a little bit of responsibility and call back to try to explain they're side of the story.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Toronto via Kiev
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no