T'Way Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 11 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"made me feel discriminated against"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | It is the first time I flew with this airline. The aircraft was fine and for a low cost airline the legroom for someone tall like me was fine. Especially for a 4.30 hours long journey. Two things really disappeared me. Firstly, as opposed to other low cost airlines, T’way does not allow you to purchase luggage excess if it’s less than 24 hours before the flight. That is a real con compared to other low cost airlines which allow you to purchase luggage up to 3 hours before the flight. So, for 11kg of luggage I had to pay $84 because I couldn’t purchase it online the night before the flight. Secondly, the on board service made me feel discriminated against. I wanted to buy some food and beverages but I could not because I did not have a Korean credit card or Korean won. I could not believe it! I had foreign universally accepted credit cards and a Korean current account card but they were not acceptable to them. It had to be Korean credit card or Korean money. How ridiculous is that! Please remember this was an international flight flying from Vietnam to Korea. They wouldn’t accept Vietnamese Dong either. I complained about it and I have to say the staff were understanding about but were unable to help me. I actually asked them, it this an international flight or is it just for Koreans? I truly felt discriminated against and pointed out to them that a foreigner travelling with this airline to Korea stand a very good chance of not having Korean money or a Korean credit card. That means that you cannot buy anything on that flight. Only the Koreans travelling with them. Needless to say I will try and avoid them if I can in the future. I live in Korea and unfortunately this reinforces my existing belief that Korea is still very Korean and for Koreans and nowhere near as international and inclusive as other countries in Asia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDa Nang to Seoul Incheon
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I had a pleasant experience throughout"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I flew with T'way for a return trip from Singapore - Seoul this past week, and having read all the bad reviews I was initially skeptical about this airline. However, I had a pleasant experience throughout. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient, the check-in process was smooth, both flights were very punctual and smooth, good cleanliness and the cabin crew were all excellent. They may have significantly improved from previous years. Although the website may not be the most intuitive (I didn't manage to check in online so arrived at the airport 3 hours in advance and everything went well), the seats are not as spacious as more expensive airlines (which you should expect given the ticket cost), and the flight timings are a little inconvenient for this route currently, I honestly have no complaints and the quality was much better than expected given the cheap ticket fare. I would say it's definitely worth a try, if you're looking for a cheaper alternative and don't mind there being no in-flight entertainment. I was very satisfied with everything overall!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Seoul
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"we will never choose Tway Air again"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | We waited approximately 1.5h just to check in our baggages with unclear instructions given only in Korean. 0 regard was given to international travellers that cannot speak Korean. We had to rush around to the assistants to seek clarifications from them. Even then, instructions remained unclear. For avoidance of doubt, we reached the airport almost 3 hours before the departure time, hoping to get a good dinner before leaving Korea but ended up boarding the plane, breathless and with empty stomachs. Further, it is beyond ridiculous that Tway Air was ambitious enough to open only 3 counters for check in and baggage drop despite the long queues - due to various flights departing at the same time. This is not the way to treat passengers. This is the first time we have had such an unpleasant experience with an airline. If we had a choice, we will never choose Tway Air again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline is a total scam"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | T'way Air cancelled my flight without warning or reason. The notice was sent out on Feb 11, cancelling all flights from Chiang Mai to Seoul from Feb 12 - Mar 28. They've left me stranded in Thailand with no other alternative flight that can get me back to Seoul on the same date - and they won't even refund money unless customers manually cancel their bookings through their awfully-designed booking system (I'm still wrestling with the system, and haven't gotten my money back). This airline is a total scam.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Seoul
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my bag was over the weight limit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Taipei. Absolutely one of the most horrendous flights I’ve ever been on. The staff and general company are so incompetent at doing the bare minimum. The staff at the desk were extremely rude and rolling their eyes when my bag was over the weight limit. They expect passengers to pay $12 for every kilogram the luggage is over the 15kg weight limit. When I stepped to the side to rearrange my bags the staff at the counter left within 15min .. and then another staff told me that check in bags are now closed. I’m honestly speechless with the lack of respect this company has for its customers and ridiculous policies. I will never be flying with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Taipei
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I assumed details would be the same"

(Vietnam)

Not Verified | Seoul to Ho Chi Minh City. I have had to buy 2 flights and pay an 80,000 KRW baggage fee because of the incompetence of this airline, and particularly the website, which does not work. Neither of the two sets of log-in details I was given was recognised, and the first time the website screwed up the date, giving me a flight on the week before. Calling the contact center (in Ho Chi Minh city, by a native Vietnamese speaker) and they could find no details at all of my flight, but said that since they couldn't find the flight details, that I would have to rebuy the ticket. This I did. On the website (Trip.com) there was no details at all about checked luggage, so I assumed the details on the previous flight would be the same. A simple google search reveals the following "Baggage allowance: The maximum weight allowed is 20kg for international flights and 15kg for domestic flights. For hand baggage, you are allowed one small carry-on bag with three sides less than 115cm and lighter than 10kg." Check-in staff at Incheon recognised my position as being just but refused to do anything at all to help, and dumped me with an 80,000 KRW fee. This will be the last won you will get out of me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"These amazing people"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Seoul. These amazing people who work for T'Way got me on the plane from Japan to South Korea even when there was a problem with my visa. They listened attentively and at the end came up with the solution that allowed me to get home in time to say good bye to my mom who died of cancer two days later. I thank everyone who worked on the 14th of September, 20:55 flight from Tokyo to Seoul.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Seoul
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"not fly with them again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Jeju. Buying a ticket online was difficult for foreigners. It's better to go with Jin airline if you're not Korean. The check-in process was long because we couldn't check in online. The aircraft was clean. The seat was extremely uncomfortable, it felt too upgright. The service was mediocre. Would not fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Jeju
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"staff were really friendly"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Flying from Tokyo Narita to Seoul Incheon. Plane was had one hour delay and my friend and I did not receive any notifications, so we arrived at Seoul around midnight, train had stopped services so we had to take the taxi or freeze to death waiting for a night bus. T'way did not want to refund a part of the taxi bill. Other than that, we had what we paid for. It is a low cost airline, so not much space for legs, seats are not really comfortable but I saw worse that this, and no entertainment available. The inflight staff were really friendly, and they serve some food (if you pay for it of course, something that we didn't do, of course).
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"with uncomfortable seat"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | I flew with their domestic flight from Jeju Island (South Korea) to Gimpo Domestic Airport. T'way has been keep on changing their departure gate three times due to flight delayed about 1 1/2 hour. Cabin crews were quite attentive and good throughout the flight but their cabin was quite disappointing. Small leg room with uncomfortable seat. Cabin looked old and aged. No food or drink serve due to budget airlines and short flight (1 hour). Nothing else special about this airline. May consider other budget domestic flight eg: Jeju air, East starjet, Air Busan.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJeju to Gimpo
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 11 Reviews