Turkmenistan Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 38 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Ignorant and arrogant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Ashgabat to Birmingham. This was a last minute booking due to a business meeting back in the UK. The best way to describe the airline is "Disorganised". Ground staff are surly and don't appear to know what is going on and the flight crew are not a lot better. I flew on a 737 which was worn and dirty. Only 4 fare paying passengers in Business Class with 2 flight attendants but almost impossible to get their attention. There were however another complete crew flying in Business to fly the plane back. Ignorant and arrogant is the only way to describe them. Food inedible. No alcohol. No inflight entertainment. Crew constantly going to the toilet to smoke. Cockpit door left open with the Pilot and Co Pilot smoking. When we landed the 2 flight attendants weren't even strapped into their seats. No pre landing checks made. I am amazed that this airline is allowed into UK airspace.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAshgabat to Birmingham
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Great Indian vegetarian food"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Birmingham to Amritsar via Ashkabat. No nonsense air line. Great Indian vegetarian food. There was no flight screens, no seat screens. We stopped at Ashgabat for one hour, its nice modern airport with all facilities. The good thing was that the time at Ashgabat and time in India is only 30 minute difference.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Amritsar via Ashkabat
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"how not to do long haul"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Ashgabad to Birmingham. I read some reviews before I flew on this airline so my expectations were pretty low. People were smoking in the toilet throughout the flight, pumped into the circulating air conditioning, it stunk. The stewards did two meals and two coffees in the entire flight. Was a drunk passenger staggering up and down the aisles ranting. I would have expected a steward to tell him to sit down, didn't happen. He must have brought his own alcohol. No TV, no alcohol, no duty free, no WiFi and rubbish food. This was a long haul and expensive flight, if you can avoid Turkmenistan Airlines avoid it. Was a true experience on how not to do long haul. So far out of all the long haul flights I have been on this was by far the worst. This airline makes EasyJet and Ryanair look good.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAshgabad to Birmingham
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Seats cheapest ever"

(France)

Verified Review | Ashkabat to Bangkok. As other flight from Paris, 2/3 full so easy to move seats. Food was worse this flight, barely edible. Plenty of soft drinks, but never had someone hand me a packet of instant coffee and a cup of boiling water. Seats cheapest ever. No in flight entertainment except overhead map. Was way too warm and try getting any staff to come through during flight is impossible. For second time, someone lighting up a cigarette and no announcement to stop it. Stunk up the place. Flight was on time, landed early. Plane seemed new but like other 737. They got the absolute cheapest configuration. I would fly again if I was assured the 737-800 but not the 757-200, as they are 25 years old.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAshkabat to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"bring your own water and food"

(France)

Verified Review | Paris to Ashgabat. Check in baggage allowance was 25 kg, not the 33, that most others have. Flight left on time, 2/3 full. Plane new, but no entertainment except map overhead. Seats maybe cheapest I've ever seen. Like most 737 planes rows near exit doors do not recline. food was hot, ok, but definitely not the ritz. No alcohol served. Plenty of soft drinks. If you are squeamish, bring your own water and food and entertainment. The big complaint was someone smoking and no one said a thing. It stunk up the whole cabin. Staff emotionless. Price was cheap, so value for the trip was ok. Ashgabat Airport is new, almost no one speaks English and definitely not French. I went in expecting horrid and disastrous, but all in all was a new experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Ashgabat
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cabin crew were emotionless"

(United Kingdom)

Was booked on Turkmenistan Airlines to return to the UK after completing a work assignment in the Caspian. First of all, by their nature, the Turkmen people are standoffish. Multiply this by 20 if they wear any form of uniform, so going through Ashgabat Airport is not an enjoyable experience. The aircraft, a Boeing 777, looked fairly new and as I was flying Business Class I had high expectations. The cabin crew were emotionless and stilted when I was shown my seat, and I was offered a plastic cup of water or Pepsi as a pre-flight drink. I asked if there was any Champagne but was told "No -a lcohol is not allowed" There were only 6 pax in Business Class, but Economy was full. Crew were very lax completing pre take off safety checks, and we took off with 2 passengers with their seats in lay flat bed mode. The minute the wheels left the tarmac the crew released their seat belts and started walking around the galley and cabin. There are large seat back TV screens, but there is no entertainment onboard. Food is served piping hot, but is so bad that it is inedible. Around an hour into the 6 hour flight a male FA plonked himself down in the empty seat across the aisle from me, reclined the seat and then watched a movie on his smart phone. When the seatbelt sign came on for landing at Birmingham the crew went through the motions of pre-landing safety checks, but did not ensure that seats were upright or that window blinds were open. One stewardess was still walking around the galley when we landed. Avoid flying with them if possible!
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteASB to BHX
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airline at any cost"

(United Kingdom)

London to Bangkok via Ashgabat. I read the reviews for Turkmenistan Airlines before I flew, and thought that if I went in with low expectations then I couldn't be disappointed. I was wrong. The outgoing flight was delayed by 2 hours with no apology and worse there was nobody to be found to explain what was going to happen with our planned changeover. No one at Heathrow knew how to contact them or were even aware that they flew from the terminal! Most of the food was inedible and the in-flight entertainment non existent. Our return flight left Bangkok at 4.40am and when my boyfriend asked for a blanket he was told they were only for business class passengers and babies. The lack of organisation at both check in and flight changeovers was laughable, I've lost count of the number of hours we have wasted standing around in chaos. In short, avoid this airline at all and any cost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via ASB
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"air crew were miserable"

(United Kingdom)

Birmingham to Amritsar via Ashgabat with Turkmenistan Airlines. Flight time was moved forward by a few hours and we were not notified. When we arrived at airport they were already boarding the aircraft. Fortunately we could still check in and did not miss our flight to India. Staff are a bit disorganised. Seats were allocated so couples sat on opposite ends of the aircraft which did not make any sense. The return flight was due to leave at 9am but did not depart until later in the afternoon. We were not provided with any refreshment or information during the long delay. The aircrew were miserable. No in flight entertainment and food was average to tasteless. The curry spice foods are too spicy hot to eat. If delayed for 5 hours they should have at least provided fresh water and sandwiches in the airport free of charge. No apology, partial refund or refreshments were given.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBHX to ATQ via ASB
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with the service "

(United Kingdom)

London to Amritsar via Ashgabat with Turkmenistan Airlines. Disappointed with the staff and the service both ways of the route and the staff seemed disorganised of what they were doing. We were delayed by 4 hours and we sat in the plane without the staff giving any snacks or water. The seat quality was also bad. The size of food portion was a lot. There is no entertainment on the plane and there are no tv's at the back of the seats.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ATQ via ASB
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend to anyone"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Birmingham to Amritsar via Askhabad return on Turkmenistan Airlines and flights delayed on both occasions due to plane issues at Ashkhabad Airport. Going out we were delayed 6 hours, and 4 hours on return flight. We were made to wait ages before being given any info re flight issues. Staff on flight were miserable and curt when being asked any questions. Staff at airport were OK but due to lack of English it was very difficult to find out what was happening and no-one felt it was important to inform us passengers as to what was going on - whilst we were made to wait in the airport. Water was the only thing provided from airline so we had to pay over the odds for the food at the airport. Would not recommend Turkmenistan Airlines to anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBHX to ATQ via ASB
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 38 Reviews