Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1778 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I'm now seeking refunds"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | My flight for September 2020 has been cancelled numerous times, destinations have been changed, etc. But that's kind of ok considering the whole Covid-19 situation. I'm a very patient person. Customer Support on the other hand is a bunch of unprofessionals. I had probably 10-12 different conversations with their staff over more than 5 hours. They either hang up on me or "line broke down". But it get's funnier. Someone changed the date of my flight Without my authorization, very very unprofessional, outrageous!. It was Not a mistake! Also: no one at Turkish Airlines knows that my flight has been cancelled, which I found out while trying to book some add ons. I've tried to explain the situation in a calm manner to plenty of their staff. No One helped! I am now hopeless that I'll ever board a flight of Turkish Airlines. I've filed several complaints, no reply. I'm now seeking refunds and I'll never book this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Istanbul
Date FlownAugust 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"e-visa was not accepted"

(Bangladesh)

Trip Verified | I was at the airport the early morning of 28 July 2020 to take TK 713 to Istanbul after I confirmed my booking the previous morning. I completed my Covid-19 screening at 2:20 AM (slip available on request). I proceeded to Turkish Airline check-in to be told that only Turkish passport holders and people with Turkish resident cards are now allowed into Turkey. I had an e-visa with me but it was not accepted. I also had a letter with me from my embassy in Ankara to confirm that I will be taking a repatriation flight with Turkish Airlines to Johannesburg on 31 July 2020. When I suggested that they allow me to stay in transit at Istanbul it was refused as well. According to them it was more than 24 hours and is not allowed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disgusting way they mistreat clients"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The coronavirus-related compensation programmes announced by Turkish Airlines are there just to fob clients with empty promises. They refuse to apply them and do not follow ticket change/refund terms as advertised on their website. I had a flight booked with Turkish Airlines from Montreal to Sofia in second half of March 2020. I could not travel due to rapidly evolving pandemic situation, with new travel advisories and restriction imposed, and borders closed literally every 24 hours. At that time, Turkish Airlines had already cancelled virtually all European flights as of March 14 and had announced seemingly customer friendly compensation policies such as the Open Ticket and the Zero Change Fee. Back then, I called Turkish Airlines customer center, explained precisely my case, provided airline confirmation number and they told me my ticket was cancelled and I was eligible for free ticket change under their Zero Change Fee policy. Whenever I’d decide my new dates of travel, I should simply call them back for issuing my new ticket – that’s what they told me and this fact is well documented. Beginning of July I contacted them to request ticket change for a flight in August for the same destination and same cabin class as per the Zero Change Fee policy terms. It’s been 3 weeks now and I still do not have my new ticket issued. During that time I spend a lot of time calling Turkish Airlines call center, speaking to customer care department, writing several feedbacks through the form on their website. They would not take responsibility, I was given a bunch of ridiculous explanations and excuses, even got shameful demands to collect fare difference or cabin class ‘upgrade’ for more money, all of which contradicts the published terms of their Zero Change Fee policy. So, bottom line is that they do not adhere to the terms of announced policies, waste customers time and deride customers by asking them to contact third parties or their sales offices that may be closed, despite their website states clearly that all requests can be completed by calling the call center or online, as I was told back in March. Their call center and feedback form is a complete waste of time, they are not there to solve problems, but just to lead customers to a dead end – replies are but general wording and one can clearly see nobody in their customer care department is really following your case, aware of details or even reading what you wrote to them. Everything is done to deceive customers and to procrastinate the fulfilment of customer’s requests, ultimately ruining their travel plans. It is a disgrace for a Star Alliance member to treat its customer in such a way and my vow to Turkish Airlines would be that more actions are coming to denounce the disgusting way they mistreat clients.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Sofia via Instambul
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they canceled my flight"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Rubbish! Booked this airline - they canceled my flight from SIN - IST, then when it got that settled, they canceled all flights from IST - EWR and charged me for some reason the price difference to change my destination to JFK airport even though they canceled my flight in the first place. I should be getting compensated for all these cancellations by them but somehow they are charging me for it?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to New York via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"sitting on customers money"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight TK185 and then TK68 Barcelona to Istanbul, a stop-over 3hrs, then Istanbul to Bangkok. This is to have been 1 flight with a stop of convenience to Turkish Airlines. They cancelled the 2nd part of the flight on 4 days notice and will only refund 473.38 Euros out of the 858.62 Euros I paid. They have not mentioned the 120E I paid for excess baggage. We knowingly booked anon refund flight as we want to get home. We booked 1 flight not 2 as Turkish appear to be trying to say. They have offered no alternative flight wise except to fly us to Istanbul and leave us there. My full fare should be refunded, as I do not want to stay in Istanbul as nice as it may be. To date I have credit voucher with KLM, waiting refund from SWISS and paid excess charges to CheapOair all to make one flight. Virus or not the airlines are sitting on customers money.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Bangkok via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"warning to anyone buying a ticket"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | This is a warning to anyone buying a ticket from Turkish. In case of cancellation of the airline, they will only start refunding customer 60 days after they resume their full international schedule flight. That may be in a very, very long period of time. I was told this today. That means that you should not expect any refund from this airline this year or maybe next. It is a shame that a star alliance member airline can behave in this way.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Copenhagen
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"deceiving you as a customer"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | During the time of a pandemic you would think that airlines would stop being greedy and stop deceiving you as a customer. When booking on the website, the middle seats on the flight were blocked as in the middle seat cannot be occupied in order to keep some distance. When I boarded the flight was full, and some people weren’t even wearing their masks. On top of that, you pay a full ticket price assuming that since you’re not on a low fare airline you would be served a snack or coffee. Nothing was served except water. And while booking if you wanted to choose a seat you’d have to pay extra! I don’t understand how is this allowed at a normal airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Izmir
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no refund after 3 months"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very rude call centre people once they take your money from card you are abandoned as no help you get from them. Flights have been cancelled, no email notification, no live information, no refund after 3 months! This is the last time I am using them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dubrovnik via Istanbul
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airline ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airline ever. My 2 baggage have lost around 4 months. I have done everything that you can imagine: filling report, calling the airline, following their website's feedback but up to now, no one takes responsibility. No one says what do I do to get my luggage. So irresponsible
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Sao Paulo
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't fly Turkish Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Starting with the first purchase with Turkish Airlines, I have ordered a ticked for June 22, 2020 (After airline began flights starting June 19th), my flight got canceled. I opted in to have my next flight July 7,2020 ... a week later that flights get canceled as well, so I call the 1-800 number, wait for 45 minutes to be connected with someone, that is each time I have to call and wait for 45-70 minutes to be connected. Once done so, the airline schedules me for July 1st. The flight they scheduled me for uses United Airline to fly from DEN-ORD and then Turkish Airlines from ORD to Istanbul and to Kiev. Long story short, I am moving to Ukraine permanently so I cancel my lease and get to the airport only to find out that flight from United doesn't even exist. Calling Turkish .. after 30-40 minutes of wait, I get a feedback case number. 7 hours later, still nothing besides the email saying "we have a feedback case open". Basically no flight rebooking, no rerouting. Now I am sitting in hotel as I have no place to stay, no relatives in USA and I don't have a lot of money to do this for more than few days. On top of everything, I am sitting on the phone with Turkish Airlines and waiting for 1 hours 32 minutes and 33 seconds as of now. No response. Always book on Expedia or other merchants as they offer protection... don't fly Turkish Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Kiev via Chicago / Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no