Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1700 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"most definitely recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to London. I have flown Turkish Airlines a lot in the past and the service quality has almost always been flawless. Planes arrive almost always on time, the food is very good with a wide variety of beverages including nice wine, beer and other alcoholic drinks. Seats are usually leather, with a decent amount of leg-space and the best in-flight entertainment I have ever seen: they even have premiere movies! Cabin staff are very nice, always try to help and will give you more snacks and drinks if you ask! I have also noticed that kids love this airline because many things are designed for them like free toy bags and books! On my recent trip to Istanbul, all of my friends told me they were impressed with the service and the value for money! Moreover, they have a brand new hub in Istanbul that is really fancy, and if you can go to their lounge, you'll be even further amazed. I was really impressed. Would most definitely recommend!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to London
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Not worth the cheaper fare"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Tokyo Narita via Istanbul. My flight was delayed out of Lisbon which caused me to miss my connection in Istanbul heading towards Tokyo. The airline did not have anyone who could communicate with any of us (5 other people missed the Tokyo connection as well) and they wouldn't allow us to use wi-fi to at least try to translate what they were saying. Just terrible. Not worth the cheaper fare.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Tokyo Narita via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"unprofessional and incompetent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Istanbul. As we were checking in at the counter, the staff at the check-in were clueless and unprofessional. They made us move to the back and rearrange our bags at least 4 times. Every time we deal with a different employee, we are told something completely different than before. And instead of monitoring the situation and trying to satisfy us, the manager was so inconsiderate and made it seem like she does not care at all. We were left scratching our heads as dealing with such unprofessional and incompetent team of employees was impossible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"still didn’t get any refund yet"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Malta to Almaty via Instambul. I ordered the tickets online but the company made a 5 min change that made my cancellation process unbearable. I was required to call to their international call center when I decided to cancel the tickets. I called to their call center 5 times and spent a lot of money for international calls and could not cancel the tickets. First agent put me on hold for 10 min and disappeared, so I had to call second time when the agent messed everything, made me agree and confirm the 5 min changes in the flight created the new tickets for me but I only asked her clearly that I need only cancel the tickets. She explained me that these all needed for cancellation, but that everything were incorrect which I only found out after I called third time, the third agent couldn’t help me with cancellation due to those changes. The only one option left to go to local Turkish airline office in the city where I was located. To clear everything up I called 2 more time to local call center, unfortunately nobody could help me. I spent half of my day for calls for going to the office, filling out documents and still didn’t get any refund yet. I am very desperate about this process, I wish I would have never chosen this airline. Please, be aware of it before ordering their overpriced refundable tickets.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Almaty via Instambul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will drive you to insanity"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | My flight from Istanbul to Milan was delayed by 4 hours - no explanation whatsoever from the crew or ground staff. Took me 6 hours in the IST airport to reschedule my ticket for the next day, get a hotel room for the night and get my luggage. 95% of staff don’t understand English, they all have a comprehension issue. They will drive you to insanity and test your patience to the most extreme limits. They treat you like they are doing a “favor” for you. Be happy if you manage to get a voucher to eat some disgusting fried chicken or Burger King while you wait for your delayed flight. My flight back from Sharjah to Istanbul departed on time but we arrived over 2 hours late and I lost my connection. First time I flew Turkish Airlines and last one. Definitely not worth the cheaper fares.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Milan
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"third rate underclass airline"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Malaga to Tehran via Istanbul. A two hour delay in Malaga Ground staff had no clue and were not prepared to change the ticket. Arrived in Istanbul for the connecting flight. Again ground staff didn’t know whether we had missed it or if it was still boarding. Ran to the boarding gates but flight had gone. Advised reluctantly to go to their information desk. At 2 :30 am having waited in a queue for 45 minutes. The attendant says what’s your problem. I explained what happened. He reissues a ticket for the 10:30 am flight and gives me a voucher for one slice of pizza at Sbarro. No hotel have to sit in the airport for seven hours. No apologies. No offer of the lounge. The manner in which this was done was abominable. So I missed one day out of the three day return ticket that I had and TA was very blasé about it. The food, Service and comfort of the plane itself leaves a lot to be desired. Definitely the last time I fly with this third rate underclass airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalaga to Tehran via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"run out of some choices"

(France)

Not Verified | Hurghada to Paris via Istanbul. Overall the experience with was okay. Flights on time, they offered you a free visit of the city when transiting over Istanbul. Staff are friendly, aircraft is comfortable. However, when we got our luggage in Paris, it was soaked in water. Not really very pleasant. There are no USB sockets in the plane (really annoying if you want to recharge your phone on a >3hrs flight) and for the food, which was good compared to some airlines, they tend to run out of some choices and you have to go with what's available / left which is also a bit annoying.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHurghada to Paris via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"travel two kids on one seat"

(United States)

Not Verified | While traveling from San Francisco to Lahore via Istanbul I had different type of bad experience. But when we were going back to USA (San Francisco) from Lahore, on our 14 hours flight from Istanbul to San Francisco, they separated our whole family. One of my 6 years old was assigned a seat 29J, I was assigned 28J, my 4 years old was assigned 23D, and my wife had 8D although my ticket was showing us sitting adjacent but they changed while issuing us boarding pass. So, it was very difficult for our kids to travel without any grown up. They also have lots of needs which can't be fulfill without an adult's supervision. We requested neighboring passengers to allow us to sit together but we found very non-cooperative neighbors. We requested airlines staff and they called their supervisors. The supervisors arranged two adjacent seats by requesting one of the neighbor and asked us to travel two kids on one seat for 14 hours (how silly). They left after doing this however our kids were not comfortable sitting like this. We again called the supervisors and they started harassing our kids that they will leave them at the airport or leave their parents at the airport if they will not stop crying and travel as the supervisors are thinking. They also threatened us to off board us, then we harshly told them that what you did (requesting the neighbors), we ourselves can do that and we don't need you. The reason we are requesting you guys is that we are parents concerned about our kids (food, sleep, safety, restroom needs etc.) which we cannot cater if we are sitting far from them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLahore to San Francisco via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"an excellent experience"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Athens to Bogota via Istanbul and Bogota to Athens via Panama city and Istanbul. All flights were on time, the FA's were extremely helpful and attentive, and food was very tasty. The new seat on the Boeing 787 despite looking claustrophobic in the beginning turned out to be very comfortable providing an excellent sleep. The only negative was that I had no wifi connection to all my flights. Also the business lounge at Istanbul airport is an experience by itself. All in all, an excellent experience.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAthens to Bogota via Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Never use Turkish Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Nursultan via Istanbul. Its was my first time and for sure last time I was fly with Turkish Airline. On the way back home plane landing 1.5 hours late, which put me late for connection flight, and I have to stay in LA 24 hours to get on my next flight, customer service sucks. We found out at home items was stolen from our two bags, now we have to deal it and file report online, no real person can help. I was fly 4 times during my trip and its normal for Turkish Airline to be late. If you have 3 hours or less between flights don’t buy tickets, you will be late. Never use Turkish Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Nursultan via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no