Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1839 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"have not refunded us $6800"

(United States)

Not Verified | They have not refunded us $6800 and it has been almost 4 months after telling us it would take 30 days, then later told us 90 days for a refund. We bought 5 tickets through Turkish airlines online. There must have been a computer glitch or something because after booking for 5 different people they told us we booked them all under the same name which was not true. They proceeded to tell us that because the tickets were booked incorrectly, we would have to cancel the tickets and rebook them (after paying an additional $700), and we would be refunded in 1 credit card billing cycle. We did not expect this from such a large airline company and will not be booking with them ever again for our travels. Our entire family travels often and I will recommend everyone against booking with Turkish airlines after this horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Karachi via Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"customer service are not very friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | Their customer service are not very friendly nor hospitable most especially in their host country. They could barely speak English. I was denied boarding in Istanbul, which is my layover, on a flight to Cancun. It was Christmas Eve and I was traveling for 28 hours just so I could be with my mom on Christmas eve. When they denied my boarding due to my inability to produce a printed copy of my hotel reservations which was on my phone, they refused to help me with rebooking and I had to find my way out of their huge Istanbul Airport and book a Lufthansa flight on my own. To make matters worse, they made me a "no show" and cancelled my return flight back to Manila from Cancun forcing me to buy another ticket. All they care about is money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to Cancun via Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I have sent them over 20 emails"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst international flight experience. They cancelled my ticket 3 hours before the flight last February for Coronavirus and over 10 months later, they have not yet refunded me. I have sent them over 20 emails but they just directed me to fake agencies and numbers. My ticket was about $1300 and the only thing I can call this is stealing. Save yourself the headache and don't fly Turkish (Thief) airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShiraz to Chicago
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst long distance flight in my life"

(Turkey)

Not Verified | It was the worst long distance flight in my life. I was flying from Istanbul to Bogota and I didn’t even get hot tea or coffee. There weren’t any hot meals, the only thing they give to the passengers was a sandwich in the evening and a sandwich in the morning. I really I don’t know where the positives review of this airline come from.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTurkey to Colombia
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"wish they would bring back the Turkish Delights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | COVID-19 means fewer passengers in the air. Good for travellers – not so good for airlines. Our flight was on an older A320-200, but the cabin was clean and the crew were ultra-friendly. There is a Sky-Bridge at Istanbul's IST airport - unfortunately, there is NO Sky-Bridge at Malta's MLA airport. The bottom line. We do wish they would bring back the Turkish Delights as a boarding gift.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Malta
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"enjoyable check-in to curbside experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Turkish Airlines delivered a seamless and relatively speaking enjoyable check-in to curbside experience. What I love about the A320-300 seat configuration is that if you are travelling as a couple and one of you want an aisle seat and the other a window, you don’t have to worry about anyone sitting between you.
AircraftA320-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAntalya to Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I feel very unsafe traveling back with them"

(France)

Trip Verified | We were crammed on that flight like sardines, not one seat was empty on that plane, but then they don't serve you any beverages because it's "unsafe during Corona" (?). And even the food was just one horrible cheese sandwich and a small piece of cake. How is serving proper food and refreshments more of a risk than cramming 3 passengers on each side of the aisle? I feel very unsafe traveling back with them, but I will definitely not book again with them. This is not to mention the horrible and unhelpful customer service, which first told me I am entitled to a partial refund because of a class degrade, but then told me I am no longer entitled to this refund because since my flight was cancelled, the rescheduling (and hence the class downgrade) will be offered free of charge. I had to reschedule and get a class downgrade because my flight was canceled, not the other way around! Don't act like offering this rescheduling was a favor for me! Never again Turkish Airlines!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLyon to Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"appalled by the customer service"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | I am completely appalled by the customer service of Turkish Airlines. I had a positive Covid test on the 25th December so I could not fly on this date. I had to change my flight to an open ticket. When I called the airline to change my date they told me to pay almost 400 dollars.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Kyiv via Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"not good at resolving issues"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Turkish Airlines need to improve the quality of their customer call center services. They change flight times or dates owing to C-19, but once a flight changes, then it is near impossible to do anything online, and their call centres are not good at resolving issues. Their computer systems are either slow or not functioning, and they keep on telling you to go to a ticket office to resolve issues. The ticket offices are equally incompetent in what they do. I have probably spent 10 hours on the phone trying to resolve simple issues, and until the very last day several hours before our flight, these issues could not be resolved, including giving us the extra leg room seats that we paid for. Re. the flights being covid safe, i think the cabin crew should do a better job in ensuring mask wearing compliance, and social distancing when disembarking. Either they don't want to confront passangers owing to language barriers or they do not care, disembarkation and mask compliance during flights are both shambles. Last but not least, don't bother complaining about your issues, their complaint team responses are a joke, and they give the impression that they don't read what you wrote or worse don't care about actually resolving your complaint or making you feel like a valued customer.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Madrid
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I was a little surprised and disappointed"

(France)

Trip Verified | I flew with Turkish Airlines from Basel to Johannesburg through Istanbul for my new year's holidays. The flight was on time, everything was smooth. We received a covid kit containing 2 masks, a hydro alcoholic gel, and wipes. The food looked good, although it didn't respect the dietary restrictions, so couldn't eat most of it. It was clean and wrapped in plastic. My return flight was canceled due to the new covid strain in South Africa. I learned this from the official Turkish Airline Twitter account and only received an email from the company a week after the cancellation. I've flown with Turkish for years and I was a little surprised and disappointed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBasel to Johannesburg via Istanbul
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes