Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1331 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"like to travel with TK next time"

(Swaziland)

Trip Verified | Lvov to Johannesburg via Istanbul. The first leg was flown by a A321. Check-in was smooth and efficient. The plane seemed to be pretty old, with an old school PTV - there is PTV, but it's not touchscreen nor anything on demand, you could only choose from the few existing channels. Since it's a flight less than 2 hours so it's not a big problem. A excellent light meal was served. I had a long layout in Istanbul so I left the airport for a while. Istanbul airport was a bit crowded, that's why the new airport is opening soon. The next flight, IST-JNB, is on a A333. The food was also good - probably the best food I've ever had in economy, but there's only one option if you didn't book special meal, so it might be a problem with some people. The seat pitch wasn't very good for a long haul flight but still acceptable. Amenities were good. Overall, I was impressed and would definitely like to travel with TK next time.
AircraftA321 / A333
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLvov to Johannesburg via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the bad reviews are accurate"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Miami. After reading the reviews I understand that I am not the only one, so yes all the bad reviews are accurate don't waste your time with this airline pay a little bit more and get better service. They might have good deals for their flights but trust me you will pay. Specially for a long flight and you don't want to bother with their rudeness not only in the cabin but specially with their horrible check in counter staff can't care less. Also if you don't speak Turkish you are totally screwed. I flown to Asia before for 17 hours plus. This flight was only 12 hours and it was completely hell from the check in counter to the end of the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Miami
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"underwhelming, and offensive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We have just returned from our honeymoon to Mauritius of which we flew from London to Mauritius via Istanbul. When we checked into the flight (hours before departure) at London Heathrow, we mentioned that we were on our honeymoon to request some good seats or potential recognition of this monuments trip which is typically offered by other airlines. What followed was both underwhelming, and, quite frankly, offensive. On the 9 hour outbound flight between Istanbul and Mauritius, we were told at check-in that we would be allocated an entire Central row as the flight was not full, so we were individually allocated seats 15D and 15G (as the plane had 4 seats in the central row). Instead of being allocated the row as promised by the check-in attendant, seats 15E and 15F were allocated to two other passengers meaning that not only was this trivial attempt at recognition of our honeymoon trip not honoured, but we had to sit apart for the entire 9 hour journey to Mauritius! We were also told that we could not change seats even by the cabin crew when I spoke with them. A similar lack of empathy for our honeymoon was demonstrated by Turkish Airlines on our return journey also. In summary, if you are planning for a special trip (E.g. A honeymoon), I would strongly recommend choosing another airline as Turkish Airlines knowingly separated us for our outbound trip. Thank you for ruining our honeymoon journey.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to London
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very friendly cabin crew"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Sharm el-Sheikh via Istanbul. One of the best airlines I had the pleasure to fly with, offering great catering on board, even Chardonay white wine and very friendly cabin crew. Space between seats could be improved though as it was difficult to find a comfortable position to sleep and sometimes to eat. Also some room for improvement in cleaning of aircrafts' cabin. Great entertainment options on board and possibility of recharging mobile phone even if very slowly.
AircraftA321 / Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Sharm el-Sheikh via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"gave us false information"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Istanbul in August 2018. On just our second day abroad, my wife called me to tell me that we had lost my mother. She was being cared for but suddenly her health deteriorated further. Naturally I had to go home as soon as possible, we had to cancel our trip. My son, who had lost his grandmother had to deal with the customer service employee who was unempathetic and dismissive. We wanted to change our return tickets which was from Hong Kong to Istanbul on Sunday and asked them to change it to Beijing to Istanbul on Wednesday. We were told by the Turkish Airlines representative we had to pay the price of a new ticket because our ticket was no-change, but we could get the refund after we present them with the death certificate of my late mother. We had to take this option as we had to be there on time for my mothers funeral. When I went to the Turkish Airlines office in Turkey after 10 days, they told me I cannot get a refund because I already used my ticket. I told them this is what the customer service told me, and the reply is "There is nothing we can do". But it was the Turkish Airlines representative who persuaded us not to cancel our flights and change them instead. Turkish Airlines deliberately gave us false information on this subject and lied to us for the price of two tickets! A company that sees profit in death of a loved one, is not a company I am willing to work with ever again unless I absolutely have to.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Istanbul
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my luggage never arrived"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew back from Yaounde to Washington Airport but my luggage never arrived. At their counter, they initially told me that they didn’t know where my luggage was and made me filled out a claim. Few days later I received a notice that my luggage and will be sent to me in Florida. I finally picked it up at the FEDEX on 09/29 center where I found out some irregularities: my suitcase was damaged, my digital camera and camera were missing, few pairs of shoes were missing as well as some souvenirs from my trip. I immediately called the customer service the same day to make aware of the situation but their customer care is in Romania and claimed that they could not do anything. They referred me to their website. I didn’t have time to do so because homework and my business trip the next week from 10/01-10/05. When I got back on 10/06, I filed a claim and Turkish Airlines sent me a standard message reading: "Firstly, we would like to apologize to you for the irregularity you have suffered. Pursuant to the transportation regulations, any irregularities in relation to baggage must be communicated to our Company in writing, within 7 days at the latest. Therefore, we would like to inform you that we could not response your request positively. We wish you not to encounter suchlike irregularities, kind regards". First my luggage arrived 7 days later. Second I contacted their customer service right away and they sent me this non sense.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYaoundé to Washington via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Most arrogant airline"

(Slovakia)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Vienna. Most arrogant airline I have ever seen. Asking people to be at the gate 1 hour prior to boarding, which then usually starts 10-20 minutes prior to departure. Sometimes only at the time of departure. No information from gate staff, never, whatsoever. Never apologizes for delay, simply never. Seat pre-booking doesnt work. E-boarding pass can not be issued for flights starting outside Turkey usually, so you need to pick up at the check in counter anyway and do the queue (we have 2018). Unfortunately, for my route, these guys are the best option in terms of connection and times, but its really a pain and annnoying as hell.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Vienna
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"polite cabin crew"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Flew Turkish Airlines from Cluj to Istanbul. Flight on time, polite cabin crew, decent distance between seats, standard beverage selection, multiple choices for meal (special meals available). Checked in online but no baggage drop-off available at Cluj airport. Had to stay in line with people who checked in at airport counter. On return, in Istanbul automatic drop-off available.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCluj to Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"seated me and my partner apart"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Addis Ababa via Istanbul. Why you fly business you expect a flat bed. Alas, on neither my London to Istanbul flight or Istanbul flight did I get it. Not great. Then with a flight leaving at 10.35am - they decide to serve breakfast (about 11.30). Most of us have got up at 6 am to get this flight - what about serving lunch instead? However, this is all minor stuff - what really annoyed me is for the second leg of my return flight (Istanbul to London) they seated me and my partner apart. This is despite the fact that we booked our tickets ages ago! Forgetting common sense, you would have through it pretty basic - wherever possible, seat people who book together, together. It's not rocket science! Despite a call from Addis to Istanbul (which annoyingly cost me over £20) to their call centre - there is nothing they can do about this! Question - so if the plane doesn't even do flat seats, and then they don't even seat you together - why fly Turkish Business?
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Addis Ababa via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"shrugging off responsibility"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Neveshir. This is a follow-up to my review first posted on 23rd Sept 2018. Well as it turns out, first impressions didn't quite last. Any frequent traveler would have experienced a delay in baggage arrival before, and this had to happen to us on this leg of the trip as well. Simple procedure right? Not with Turkish. While even other budget airlines can provide a proper and decent PIR (Property Irregularity Report), they couldn't. We went to the lost & found offices of 3 airports in turkey - Istanbul, Kayseri and Nevsehir, all of them got us to "contact a different department", bla bla bla, basically shrugging off responsibility and bringing us all over the world. When the baggage finally arrived at our hotel, it was an 18 hour delay. That's normal. What wasn't normal was that there were no forms to sign to acknowledge receipt of the baggage! The handling company said that "we are a third party engaged by the airline" and there was nothing to sign! While outsourcing of such responsibilities are normal, all other courier companies have let me sign a document at the point of collection to acknowledge receipt as well as to document the time of baggage arrival. So the story continues. When we finally managed to get our hands on a PIR, it was a computer generated one with no letterhead, no company stamp and no signature. A 9-year old could have reproduced the same document using MS word. Most importantly, it did not even state the eventual time of baggage arrival. How is any insurance company going to process a claim if a PIR does not state the time of baggage arrival? So now we are going around the world, from one department to another to yet another again, just to get our hands on a proper PIR. Case is not yet closed.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Neveshir
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no