Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1909 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"would not let us go to the gate"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We were stuck in a traffic for 2 hours due to a burning vehicle on a highway. We still arrived at the airport 1 hour before departure and they would not let us go to the gate. After, we have been on the phone with them for 12 hours the next day and they said they can change our plane for $8,900 when I originally bought it for $4,600.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Kyiv via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"constant deterioration of services"

(Netherlands Antilles)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately we witnessed the constant deterioration of services of Turkish Airlines. The cabin staff barely speaks English, do not keep an eye on the clients, the food and especially the drinks are under the services offered 3 years ago. Our overall experience is that they cut costs by eliminating entire categories of drinks, food and in flight entertainment. We only fly with them because we do not have another option from our location.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNiamey to Cluj napoca via Istanbul
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"This seems like a gross exploitation of travelers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The flight Vancouver-Istanbul was 52 minutes delayed. I was told I had to get my boarding pass printed in Istanbul. We arrived at gate at 15.47. According to signs, it is 33 minutes straight to the gate. Boarding was at 16.05. I had to go to the Service desk to get boarding pass re-printed. The clerk went to the back and was gone for about 20 mins. Reasons unknown. Then I had to wait in security again which took another 20 minutes. I ran and got to the gate at 17.05 but nobody was there. Plane was still there. Went to TA customer service desk where they took about 30 mins to write information down and sent me to another desk. I was then informed I will have to re-book flight leaving in the morning and pay for another ticket. I tried to call customer support in Canada, US, UK, Turkey but nobody picked up. The staff in Istanbul quoted me 180 USD for TL1237 next day, which I was forced to pay in order to get out of Istanbul. I had no wifi but when I checked online later, the same flight was Cad$ 150 (about 50% cheaper). This seems like a gross exploitation of travelers in an already vulnerable situation. I was so exhausted by the long flight and stress, I collapsed on the floor. I spent a total of about 7 hrs from time I landed to the time I checked into a hotel. I had not eaten for about 10 hrs by that time. Horribly incompetent and unhelpful staff in Istanbul. The requirement to pay again for an overpriced ticket in Istanbul is outrageous as I already paid for an entire ticket all the way to Vienna. Especially when the delay was caused by actions of Turkish Airlines. This is crooked business practices taking advantage of travelers who are stuck at the airport.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Vienna via Istanbul
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever. We were departing from LAX, supposed to layover in Istanbul, then fly to Amman. During the flight we had to emergency land and the crew would not inform us of what happened. We were already 3-4 hours into the flight and they wanted to fly us back to LAX even though we were over Chicago. Later they told us the window by the pilots had a crack in it, so for safety we were going to emergency land and apparently this is a common issue with their planes. After everyone on the plane was asking to land in Chicago because we were flying over it, they instead landed and stranded us in JFK airport in New York. The crew was going to inform us what to do as the plane landed but never did. 300 people were stuck at JFK and we all had to go to one small terminal in an enclosed space and retrieve all our luggage. This happened around 5AM. It took almost 3 hours to get my family's luggage. Then we had to wait outside for another 3-4 hours to wait for small shuttles that can only fit about one family to take us to a hotel. We ended up booking at a nearby hotel and took an Uber, otherwise we would have to wait even longer in the cold. When my wife and I tried to contact the Turkish Airlines helpline and JFK they were extremely rude and closed the phone multiple times in our faces. We were stuck in New York for 18 hours. Finally, I was able to book a flight for 11pm after countless attempts of trying to get help. We ended up spending $600 in New York because Turkish Airlines refused to help us. $90 for the Uber to and from the hotel which was 10 minutes away. $400 for the hotel. Additional costs for food and another Uber ride ($90) to the airport and back to the hotel trying to get the airline to book us a new flight. We lost an entire day due to Turkish Airlines' negligence. They're extremely rude and don't communicate. Also, I had paid extra to have seats with more legroom. Once we got on the flight our seats weren't where they were supposed to be. We realized they changed the plane without informing us. I talked to a crew member and compared emails of our flight to show this was the case and they confirmed it. So, we lost more money there too. Just now I was trying to delay my return flight (back to LAX) for another week. I called Expedia and they could not help because of Turkish Airlines restrictions and told me to call them. So, I called Turkish Airlines 800 number and the man on the phone was very rude and dismissed any questions I had. He said I had to contact the JFK office to change my flight because when we were stuck in New York, we booked a new ticket (not sure how that’s connected). Even though Turkish Airlines messed up my flight, I had to contact JFK. So he gave me an email address and told me to email them for help. I did and asked to delay my flight. The email bounced back stating I wasn’t an “authenticated sender”. Very frustrating experience!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Amman via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not one was able to get out on time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Four flights on this airline and not one was able to get out on time, especially since they seem more concerned with cargo than passengers or luggage. O'Hare was the worst location both ways ... over an hour at the gate after departure time due to loading cargo going out, making us late and almost everyone missing their connections in Istanbul. Coming into terminal 5, we had to wait for our luggage off the plane for 2.5 hours. Missed local transportation options twice in that time period (every 1.5 hours) and had to sit at Chicago for an additional hour and a half. Only positive was that they didn't balk at giving us a hotel room in Istanbul to wait out the 12 hours, though I doubt I will see my visa fee back to wait at said hotel. Oh yeah, and the customer service line doesn't pick up.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Athens via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"their response is nonsense"

(Russian Federation)

Not Verified | Attracted me by the lowest price, I bought a round trip flight. Then due to the COVID situation in Brazil had to change my layover to Panama and their service told me I am good to go. Then just two hours before the flight boarding assistant told me I can't fly and have to call them. They were switching me back and forth to different operators and finally told me they can't help me and suggested to write a private feedback on the official site. Feedback review took a whole week, their response is nonsense: they apologized for a bad experience and told me I should call to code sharing partner, Copa Airlines, I didn't pay anything to them, I paid Turkish, not Copa.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Panamá via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible customer service. hardly anyone speaks English. I am supposed to fly out of Atlanta to Karachi. First they cancelled our flight than they asked us to call customer service or rebook our tickets to another date. Our initial date to fly out of Atlanta was July 13th, they cancelled it. Which I received an email, When I called their customer support. Called multiple times spoked to 4 or 5 individuals, was very hard to understand them, no clear directions or fixing the issue. I spoke to a lady that reissued our ticked to July 16th and said everything should be good now, But a week later When I went to their website and checked my flight information. I found out that she did not reissued our ticked instate she left the booking uncompleted and their is no way to change your tickets online. I couldn't print my flight information and had to start contacting them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Karachi via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Don't fly them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrific customer service dealings. My sister suppose to fly out of Karachi with her kids to attend our nephews wedding in Los Angeles. First they cancelled their flight than they forced them to book on July 14th flight and said that no other flights are available before 14th. After checking their website I have noticed that they had 4 flights were available before 11th. I contacted their corporate office multiple times and I was advised to wait until next day and they will fix this issue and rebook the family without penalizing them. They have wasted our time until July 6th and until all the flight before 14th are completely booked. I am still waiting for their call but it is too late because they don't have any seats available anymore. She and kids are going to miss the wedding now. Shame on them. Don't fly them.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKarachi to Los Angeles via Istanbul
Date FlownMay 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"he said this is our new price"

(United States)

Not Verified | I bought this ticket for my mom, we changed the ticket two times, first from June 28 to July 17 for $58, then from July 17 to June 28, first they told us over the phone that the difference is $145 and he gave me a reservation number and I should wait for their call to confirm it. After a couple days, I hadn't heard back from them and I called, after an hour waiting on the call, they said the ticket difference is $298. I said you told me $145 two days ago and now your price is this? and he said this is our new price, if you want to change your day, here is the price. The day of my mom's flight, I called to request unsalted food because she has high blood pressure and they don't have it on their menu .. finally, they got the flight after 2.5-3 hours delay without any apologies or providing water or snack for them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Mashhad via Istanbul
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"They refuse to give me a refund"

(United States)

Not Verified | I booked my flight with Turkish Airlines in the summer of 2020. Due to COVID, they cancelled my flight 3 times. Eventually, I just took the voucher, planning to use it next year, and spent a $1000 on another airline for my current trip. So next year comes along, I try to book my ticket in the summer of 2021. They have only 2 flights a week. I spent hours on the website trying to find a flight within $1000. I cannot use the voucher online to pay for the ticket, even though it was issued to me directly by Turkish Airlines. Turkish Airlines doesn't pick up their phone half the time. I wasted around 20 hours on Turkish Airlines trying to find good flights on the website and then on the phone, trying to get a customer service agent to book my ticket online. When I have a flight reservation on hold that is within my budget, Turkish Airlines tells me they can't book my flight on the phone. When the reservation hold has expired, suddenly they can and tell me my options that cost me >$2,500. TLDR; They refuse to give me a refund and refuse to let me book with my voucher.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Karachi via Istanbul
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no